February 7, 2019

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO ENGROSSED SENATE BILL NO. 2213

Page 1, line 1, replace "section" with "sections 61-24.5-03, 61-24.5-04, 61-24.5-07, 61-24.5-08, and"

Page 1, line 2, after "to" insert "the southwest water authority and"

Page 1, after line 3, insert:

"SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 61-24.5-03 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

61-24.5-03. Southwest water authority created.

The southwest water authority shall consists of that part of the state which is included within the boundaries of Dunn, Stark, Golden Valley, Billings, Slope, Bowman, Adams, Grant, Hettinger, Morton, and Mercer Counties and all of Morton County outside the boundaries of Mandan.

Such The authority is a governmental agency, body politic and corporate with the authority to exercise the powers specified in this chapter, or which reasonably may be reasonably implied.

Any county adjoining the authority as herein created, or as hereafter composed, may join suchthe authority upon application of its board of county commissioners and the approval of suchthe application by the board of directors of the authority. The board of directors, as a condition of approval of suchan application, may require equitable payments as may be equitable to equalize the burden of suchthe county with the obligations paid or assumed by the other counties in the authority.

SECTION 2. AMENDMENT. Section 61-24.5-04 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

61-24.5-04. Board of directors - Officers - Meetings - Compensation.

The authority must be governed by a board of directors who must be chosen in accordance with this chapter. One director must be elected from each county within the authority, and two directors must be elected in the city offrom Dickinson, and one-director must be elected in the city of Mandan. The director from Stark County may not be a resident of the city of Dickinson. The director from Morton County may not be a resident of Mandan. The board shall elect from the directors a chairman, vice chairman, and secretary. A majority of the directors constitutes a quorum for the purpose of conducting the business of the board. The board shall meet at the time and place designated by the secretary. Board members are entitled to receive as compensation an amount determined by the board not to exceed the amount per day provided members of the legislative management under section 54-35-10 and must be reimbursed for their mileage and expenses in the amount provided for by sections 44-08-04 and 54-06-09.

SECTION 3. AMENDMENT. Section 61-24.5-07 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

61-24.5-07. Election of city directors of the southwest water authority.

Any personindividual who is a resident and qualified elector of the city of Dickinson or Mandan who aspires to the office of director of the southwest water authority shall, before four p.m. on the sixty-fourth day before the election, file with the city auditor a petition signed by not less than ten percent of the number of qualified electors who voted for that office in the last city election, except that the petition for the first election must be signed by not less than two hundred qualified electors. Signers of a petition must reside within the corporate limits of the city, and each signer of the petition shall include with the signer's name the signer's mailing address. The petition must include the candidate's name, post-office address, and the title of the office of the southwest water authority for which the candidate is seeking election.

The petition must be accompanied by an affidavit substantially as follows:

State of North Dakota)	
) ss.	
City of)	
Ι,	being sworn, say that I res	ide in the city of
and State of North Dakota; that I am a qualified elector therein; that I am a candidate for		
the office of director of the Southwest Water Authority to be elected at the municipal		
election to be held on	,, and	d I request that my name be printed
upon the election ballot as provided by law, as a candidate for the office.		
Subscribed and sv	vorn to before me on	··
		Notary Public

Upon receipt of the petition, the city auditor shall without fee place the name of the aspirant on the election ballot as a candidate for the office of director. The candidate or candidates, depending on whether one or two directors are being elected, receiving the highest number of votes are elected. The provisions of chapter 40-21 govern the election of directors from the city of Dickinson or Mandan for the southwest water authority.

SECTION 4. AMENDMENT. Section 61-24.5-08 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

61-24.5-08. Term of office of directors - Oath of office - Bonds.

Members of the board of directors of the authority hold office for a term of four years, until a successor has been duly elected and qualified. If the office of any director becomes vacant by reason of the failure of any director elected at any election to qualify or for any other reason, the director's successor must be appointed to fill the vacancy by the board of county commissioners of the county in which the vacancy occurs, or by the governing body of the city of Dickinson or Mandan, as appropriate. A

- director appointed to fill a vacancy shall hold office for the unexpired term of the director whose office has become vacant, and until a successor has been elected and qualified.
- Members of the board of directors elected from a county must be elected at the primary election and assume office on the first Monday in July following their election. Members of the board of directors elected from the city of Dickinson or Mandan must be elected at the municipal election and assume office on the first Monday in July following their election.

In 2002 all directors' terms are deemed to have expired, and each county shall-elect one director to serve on the board of directors and the city of Dickinson shall elect-two directors to serve on the board of directors. In 2002 one director from the city of Dickinson and directors from Adams, Billings, Dunn, Grant, Oliver, and Slope Counties-must be elected for two-year terms and in 2004 and thereafter must be elected for four-year terms. In 2010 the director from the city of Mandan must be elected to a four-year term. All subsequent directors elected must be elected for four-year terms.

3. Before assuming the duties of the office of director, each director shall take and subscribe to the oath of office prescribed by law for civil officers. The authority treasurer must be bonded in an amount as the board may prescribe."

Renumber accordingly