

North Dakota Legislative Council

STATE CAPITOL, 600 EAST BOULEVARD, BISMARCK, ND 58505-0360

☎701.328.2916
♣701.328.3615
www.legis.nd.gov
lcouncil@nd.gov

June 22, 2021

MEETING NOTICE

Senator Erin Oban, Chairman, has called a meeting of the EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE.

Date: Tuesday, July 20, 2021

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Video: This meeting can be viewed online at https://video.legis.nd.gov/

- **Agenda:** Presentation of background information, testimony, and committee discussion relating to House Concurrent Resolution No. 3009, which directs a study of provisions of the North Dakota Century Code relating to compulsory school attendance, including a comparison of compulsory school attendance laws in other states; Section 2 of Senate Bill No. 2332, which directs a study of criteria for alternative teacher licensure; Section 1 of House Bill No. 1111, which directs a study of competency-based learning and schools participating in innovative education programs, including a review of the progress of schools and districts in the state which have received waivers under Section 15.1-06-08.1 to participate in innovative education programs under Section 15.1-06-08.2, waivers to participate in innovative education programs that incorporate competency-based learning initiatives, the schools and districts participating in innovative education programs, and the schools and districts that have received waivers to participate in innovative education programs, best practices, and whether the competency-based learning initiatives implemented under the innovative education programs can be duplicated and expanded for implementation statewide; the receipt of reports; and other committee matters
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- **Committee Members:** Senators Erin Oban, David A. Clemens, Cole Conley, Jay R. Elkin, Doug Larsen, Diane Larson, Richard Marcellais, Michael A. Wobbema; Representatives LaurieBeth Hager, Patrick Hatlestad, Pat D. Heinert, Jeff A. Hoverson, Donald Longmuir, Andrew Marschall, David Monson, David Richter, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck

Staff Contact: Dustin Assel, Counsel

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

/S/ John Bjornson Director

JB/JJB