

North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick
President
PO Box 100 – 123 Summit Street
Underwood, ND 5857
Brandt.Dick@underwoodschool.org
701-442-3274

Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

Chairmen Owens and members of the House Education Committee, my name is Michael Heilman and I am the Executive Director of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools (NDSOS). You are probably more familiar with my predecessor Mr. Elroy Burkle. I will not claim to have his grasp of school transportation funding but will use his expertise and past work to support my testimony.

Transportation is not an issue for just our small schools, it is a significant expense for all school districts providing transportation. The 154-member schools of NDSOS reflect most of the smallest and a few of the larger districts in the state.

The funding level in HB 1027 is identical to the funding level from the 2019 and 2017 legislative sessions. This is understandable given the current economic climate; however, transportation expenses continue to increase and NDSOS would support and greatly appreciate any increase to transportation funding.

The included tables reflect the historical funding for transportation and comparative funding for foundation aid from 2009 to 2021. State support for transportation goes back many decades and has gone from a high of 69.14% (92-93) to 39.67% in 18-19. While the state support for all programs (pupil aid, transportation, career and technical education, special education and other) has increased to 61%.

NDSOS supports HB 1027 with the recommended adjustments by Senator Schaible on page one to ensure that the next biennium reflects the better of the 2018-19 school year, or the prior year, whichever is greater.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701.527.4621

Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley Mr. John Gruenberg, Supt. Powers Lake

Region 4

Mr. Kelly Koppinger, Supt. New England Mr. Justin Fryer, Supt. Solen

Board of Directors Region 2

Mr. Jeff Hagler, Supt. North Star Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

Region 5

Mr. Joel Lemer, Bd. Member Carrington Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Underwood

Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. Dean Ralston, Supt. Drayton

Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Lisbon