

North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick President PO Box 100 – 123 Summit Street Underwood, ND 5857 Brandt.Dick@underwoodschool.org 701-442-3274 Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

SB 2165 Testimony In Favor House Education Committee Representative Owens – Chairman March 9, 2021

Chairman Owens and members of the House Education Committee, my name is Michael Heilman. I am the Executive Director of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools (NDSOS). I represent 154-member school districts of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools. NDSOS stands in support of SB 2165.

All NDSOS member school budgets were impacted by the federal impact aid dollars associated with the COVID pandemic. For some of our schools, this sudden influx of funds caused their carryover balance to exceed current allowable limits forcing schools to act quickly to use these funds. For our smallest schools the current carryover provision of 35% plus \$50,000 is often the budgetary goal. A single large expenditure in any one of these districts would strain their budgets and could seriously jeopardize cash flow.

SB 2165 provides the opportunity for districts to retain impact aid funds and more importantly, affords them the opportunity to gather input from district stakeholders before making decisions on how to best use these dollars. Our school leaders and school boards would prefer to have time for stakeholder input into the best use of funds to benefit their districts taxpayers and the students they serve.

SB 2165 will also allow much needed time for the 94 transition minimum schools to prepare for and budget for potential losses in revenue as transition minimum funding is gradually phased out. NDSOS supports SB 2165.

Chairman Owens and member of the House Education committee thank you for your support of our schools.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701.527.4621

Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley
Mr. John Gruenberg, Supt. Powers Lake

Region 4

Mr. Kelly Koppinger, Supt. New England Mr. Justin Fryer, Supt. Solen

Board of Directors Region 2

Mr. Jeff Hagler, Supt. North Star Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

Region 5

Mr. Joel Lemer, Bd. Member Carrington Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Underwood

Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. Dean Ralston, Supt. Drayton

Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Lisbon