

North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick President PO Box 100 – 123 Summit Street Underwood, ND 5857 Brandt.Dick@underwoodschool.org 701-442-3274 Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

HB 1281 – Education Tax Credit
Testimony in Opposition
Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized School
January 18, 2021

Chairman Headland and members of the House Finance and Taxation Committee, my name is Michael Heilman and I am the Executive Director of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools (NDSOS). I represent 154 member school districts of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools. I will keep my testimony brief as NDSOS's position is much the same as NDCEL's.

NDSOS is opposed to any tax credits, payments, vouchers or any other use of public dollars to fund private schools or home education as proposed in HB 1281. The concerns with funding or tax credits of this nature are that they put additional burden on the state general fund which may have an impact on funding of public education. Additionally, if public dollars are going to be used to fund private school and/or home education, there should be the same level of accountability and regulation that is in place for public education.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701.527.4621

Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley Mr. John Gruenberg, Supt. Powers Lake

Region 4

Mr. Kelly Koppinger, Supt. New England Mr. Justin Fryer, Supt. Solen

Board of Directors Region 2

Mr. Jeff Hagler, Supt. North Star Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

Region 5

Mr. Joel Lemer, Bd. Member Carrington Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Underwood

Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. Dean Ralston, Supt. Drayton

Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Lisbon