

# North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick
President
PO Box 100 – 123 Summit Street
Underwood, ND 5857
Brandt.Dick@underwoodschool.org
701-442-3274

Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

HB 1339 – Related to Dangerous Weapons at a public gathering
Testimony in opposition
Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized School
February 13, 2021

Chairman Klemin and members of the House Judiciary Committee, my name is Michael Heilman. I am the Executive Director of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools (NDSOS). I represent 154-member school districts of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools. NDSOS stands in opposition to of HB 1339 as it is currently written.

The bill as written eliminates language that is commonly used in school districts to define dangerous weapons, for example this excerpt is from a school's actual policy and is common/similar for many schools:

"Weapon includes, but is not limited to any knife, razor, ice pick, explosive, smoke bomb, incendiary device, firearm, slingshot, bludgeon, brass knuckles or artificial knuckles of any kind, or any object that can reasonably be considered a weapon, dangerous instrument, or look-alike."

Clarifying language of this type is often used in school policy to avoid confusion and/or litigation.

The second concern is the language in Section 2., 62.1-02-05 subsection 1 line seven that references a school building. There are many school sponsored and/or sanctioned events that do not take place in a school building. This language should include all school sponsored or sanctioned events.

NDSOS stands in strong opposition to this bill without changes that reflect the intent of the two concerns raised in this testimony.

Thank you Chairman Klemin and member of the House Judiciary Committee.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701.527.4621

# Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley
Mr. John Gruenberg, Supt. Powers Lake

## Region 4

Mr. Kelly Koppinger, Supt. New England Mr. Justin Fryer, Supt. Solen

# **Board of Directors**

#### Region 2

Mr. Jeff Hagler, Supt. North Star Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

## Region 5

Mr. Joel Lemer, Bd. Member Carrington Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Underwood

#### Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. Dean Ralston, Supt. Drayton

## Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Lisbon