

North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick President PO Box 100 – 123 Summit Street Underwood, ND 5857 Brandt.Dick@underwoodschool.org 701-442-3274 Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

SB 2165 – Related to School District Ending Fund Balance Testimony in Support Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized School January 19, 2021

Chairman Schaible and members of the Senate Education Committee, my name is Michael Heilman. I am the Executive Director of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools (NDSOS). I represent 154member school districts of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools. NDSOS stands in support of SB 2165 with the offered amendment.

Many of the NDSOS member schools have budgets that are under \$5,000,000 and carry overs under \$1,000,000. A single large expenditure in any one of these districts would strain their budgets and seriously jeopardize cash flow. SB 2165 will allow these districts to retain impact aide funds and afford them the opportunity to gather input from district stakeholders before making decisions on how to best use these dollars. Our school leaders and school boards would prefer to have time to allow for stakeholder input, collaboration, and research into the best use of funds to benefit their districts and the students they serve.

SB 2165 will also allow much needed time for the 94 transition minimum schools to prepare, plan and budget for potential losses in revenue as transition minimum funding is gradually phased out. NDSOS supports SB 2165 with offered amendment. Thank you for your support of our schools.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701.527.4621

Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley Mr. John Gruenberg, Supt. Powers Lake

Region 4 Mr. Kelly Koppinger, Supt. New England Mr. Justin Fryer, Supt. Solen **Region 2** Mr. Jeff Hagler, Supt. North Star Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

Region 5 Mr. Joel Lemer, Bd. Member Carrington Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Underwood **Region 3** Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. Dean Ralston, Supt. Drayton

Region 6 Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Lisbon

The mission of NDSOS is to provide leadership for the small/rural schools in North Dakota and to support legislation favorable to their philosophy while opposing legislation that is harmful.

Board of Directors