

Tentative Agenda

25.5034.02000

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, August 2, 2023
Rooms 218 and 219, Klinefelter Hall, Dickinson State University, Dickinson, North Dakota
Thursday, August 3, 2023
Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck, North Dakota

Wednesday, August 2, 2023, Rooms 218 and 219, Klinefelter Hall, Dickinson State University, Dickinson (Times are Mountain Daylight Time)

10.00 a.m. Can to order	10:00 a.m.	Call to order
-------------------------	------------	---------------

Roll call

Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the Legislative

Management

Comments by the Chairman

10:05 a.m. Presentation by a representative of Dickinson State University of an overview of the

institution

10:45 a.m. Tour of Dickinson State University and the Southwest Area Career and Technical

Education Academy

12:30 p.m. Break

1:15 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding state

student financial assistance programs

2:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact

regarding student financial aid programs in other states, including Minnesota's North

Star Promise program

2:30 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by representatives of the University System regarding potential actions to

respond to the Minnesota North Star Promise program

3:45 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding

the committee's duties and responsibilities

3:50 p.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's assigned studies and

duties

4:00 p.m. Recess

Thursday, August 3, 2023, Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck (Times are Central Daylight Time)

9:00 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the University System regarding:

· The current state of the University System; and

Current trends in higher education

9:45 a.m. Presentation by a representative of Bismarck State College of an overview of the

institution

10:30 a.m. Tour of Bismarck State College and the Bismarck Career Academy

12:00 noon Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Landon Bahl, Larry Bellew, Claire Cory, Jay Fisher, Karla Rose Hanson, Matt Heilman, Dennis Johnson, Bob Martinson, Mike Nathe, Mike Schatz, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck, Steve Swiontek

Senators: Sean Cleary, Robert Erbele, Karen K. Krebsbach, Curt Kreun, Jonathan Sickler, Ronald Sorvaag

Staff Contact: Alex J. Cronquist, Senior Fiscal Analyst