

2:00 p.m.

2:30 p.m.

Adjourn

Tentative Agenda

25.5127.02000

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Wednesday, June 19, 2024 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Bismarck, North Dakota	
10:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the March 7, 2024, meeting
10:05 a.m.	FIREARM AND DANGEROUS WEAPONS STUDY Comments by interested persons and committee discussion regarding the committee's study of firearms and dangerous weapons
10:20 a.m.	CUSTODIAL INTERROGATIONS STUDY Comments by interested persons and committee discussion regarding the committee's study of custodial interrogations
REPORTS	
10:35 a.m.	Receipt of a <u>report</u> from a representative of the Department of Health and Human Services relating to individuals at the State Hospital who have been committed to the care and custody of the Commissioner of the Department of Health and Human Services
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum relating to executive orders
11:00 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Carey Theil, Executive Director, GREY2K USA Worldwide, regarding remote gambling on greyhound racing
11:10 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
CHARITABLE GAMING STUDY	
11:20 a.m.	Presentation by Senator Myrdal regarding a bill draft [25.0056.03000] relating to the definition of a public-spirited organization
11:30 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
12:00 noon	Recess
BILL DRAFT	
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft [25.0100.01000] relating to the Supreme Court's recommendation to implement the statutory change of drug court to treatment court
1:10 p.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
MUNICIPAL COURT STUDY	
1:30 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Sally Holewa, State Court Administrator, and <u>Ms. Sara Behrens</u> , Staff Attorney, State Court Administrator's office, Supreme Court, and Ms. Stephanie Dassinger Engebretson, Deputy Director, North Dakota League of Cities, regarding a

bill draft relating to the committee's study on municipal courts

Comments by interested persons and committee discussion

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Janne Myrdal (Chairman), Ryan Braunberger, Michael Dwyer, Judy Estenson, Diane Larson, Bob Paulson, Jonathan Sickler

Representatives: Claire Cory, Matt Heilman, Pat D. Heinert, Karen Karls, Jim Kasper, Lawrence R. Klemin, Ben Koppelman, Shannon Roers Jones, Bernie Satrom, Kelby Timmons, Lori VanWinkle

Staff Contact: Christopher S. Joseph, Assistant Legal Division Director