

# **Tentative Agenda**

25.5131.02000

## WATER TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Wednesday, June 5, 2024
Hyatt House, Minot, North Dakota
Thursday, June 6, 2024
Minot Area Workforce Academy, Minot, North Dakota

#### Wednesday, June 5, 2024, Hyatt House, Minot

12:45 p.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the March 5, 2024, meeting

1:00 p.m. Bus tour of Mouse River flood control project in and around Minot

4:00 p.m. Tour ends - Recess

#### Thursday, June 6, 2024, Minot Area Workforce Academy, Minot

8:30 a.m. Reconvene and Chairman remarks

8:35 a.m. Presentation by Mr. David Ashley, Chairman, Souris River Joint Board, regarding an

update on the flood control plan in the Mouse River Basin, funds expended during the

biennium, and requests for the 2023-25 biennium

9:35 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Chris Kadrmas, Director, Finance and Administration Division,

Department of Water Resources and Dr. Andrea Travnicek, Director, Department of

Water Resources, regarding the budget of the Department of Water Resources

10:15 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Jason Tomanek, Bismarck City Administrator, regarding a proposed

flood control project for the city of Bismarck

10:55 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Eric Volk, Executive Director, Rural Water Systems Association,

regarding funding and the status of rural water systems in the state

11:15 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Matt Gardner, Executive Director, North Dakota League of Cities,

regarding funding and the status of municipal water systems in the state

11:35 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Tami Madsen, Executive Director, Western Area Water Supply

Authority, regarding the funding and status of the Western Area Water Supply Project

12:00 noon Recess

1:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Duane DeKrey, General Manager, Garrison Diversion Conservancy

District, regarding funding and the status of the Red River Valley Water Supply Project

1:45 p.m. Presentation by <u>Dr. Andrea Travnicek</u> and <u>Ms. Jen Murray</u>, Manager and Chief

Executive Officer, Southwest Water Authority, regarding funding and the status of the

Northwest Area Water Supply Project and Southwest Pipeline Project

3:05 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Water Resource District Association regarding

Senate Bill No. 2372 (2023)

3:35 p.m. Public comments

3:55 p.m. Committee discussion

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

# A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <a href="https://video.ndlegis.gov">https://video.ndlegis.gov</a>.

### **Committee Members**

Senators: Ronald Sorvaag (Chairman), Michael Dwyer, David Hogue, Larry Luick, Jeffery J. Magrum,

Jim P. Roers

Representatives: Mike Beltz, Jared Hagert, Jorin Johnson, Donald W. Longmuir, Bob Martinson, Jon O.

Nelson, Anna S. Novak, Jeremy Olson, Todd Porter, Matthew Ruby, Steve Swiontek

Staff Contact: Austin Gunderson, Counsel