



Tentative Agenda

25.5134.02000

Revised 6/18/2024

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Friday, June 21, 2024 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:30 a.m.	Call to order Roll call
	Consideration of the minutes of the March 27, 2024, meeting
AGRICULTURAL COMMODITY STORAGE STRUCTURE PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION STUDY	
9:35 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of an update to a memorandum entitled <u>Property Classifications for Property Tax Assessment Purposes - Definition of Agricultural Property</u>
9:40 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the North Dakota League of Cities regarding information collected related to valuing agricultural storage structures
9:55 a.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the agricultural commodity storage structure property tax exemption study
10:10 a.m.	Committee discussion
10:25 a.m.	ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TAX INCENTIVE STUDY Presentation by Mr. Ron Ness, President, North Dakota Petroleum Council, regarding the oil and gas production and oil extraction tax incentives selected for study
10:40 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Kent Satrang, Chief Executive Officer, Petro Serve USA, regarding the biodiesel fuel industry and biodiesel fuel credits
10:55 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of Archer Daniels Midland Company, regarding the biodiesel fuel industry and biodiesel fuel credits
11:10 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Nancy Johnson, Executive Director, North Dakota Soybean Growers Association, regarding the use of soybeans in the biodiesel industry and the biodiesel fuel credits
11:25 a.m.	Break
11:35 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Barry Coleman, Executive Director, Northern Canola Growers Association, regarding the use of canola in the biodiesel industry and the biodiesel fuel credits
11:50 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Jeff Zueger, Chief Executive Officer, Harvestone Low Carbon Partners, regarding the carbon dioxide capture and injection industry and the carbon dioxide capture and injection sales tax exemption
12:05 p.m.	Comments from interested persons regarding the economic development incentives selected for study
12:15 p.m.	Committee discussion

SPECIAL ASSESSMENTS AGAINST POLITICAL SUBDIVISION PROPERTY STUDY

12:30 p.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the special assessments against political

subdivision property study

12:40 p.m. Committee discussion

REPORTS

12:50 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Shelli Myers, State Supervisor of Assessments, Tax Department,

of a statewide property tax increase report

1:05 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Tax Department of a report regarding findings

and recommendations on the study of property tax transparency required by House Bill

No. 1245 (2023)

1:20 p.m. Committee discussion and directives

1:30 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Representatives: Jared Hagert (Chairman), Jason Dockter, Jim Grueneich, Patrick Hatlestad, Craig

Headland, Donna Henderson, Jim Kasper, Ben Koppelman, Mike Motschenbacher,

Randy A. Schobinger, Vicky Steiner

Senators: Justin Gerhardt, Jordan L. Kannianen, Randy D. Lemm, Merrill Piepkorn, Mark F. Weber

Staff Contact: Megan J. Gordon, Code Revisor