



Tentative Agenda

25.5149.02000

Revised 6/25/2024

SCHOOL FUNDING TASK FORCE

Wednesday, June 26, 2024 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the February 21, 2024, meeting

10:05 a.m. <u>Presentations</u> by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction regarding:

- The excess ending fund balance deduction, including the impact of the state school aid formula on school districts' ending fund balances;
- School districts that continue to not be on the formula during the 2023-25 biennium and a review of the impacts of school districts that are off of the funding formula as they transition onto the formula;
- · School district weighting factors for consolidated districts with multiple buildings;
- The 12 percent limit on property tax assessment increases and a comparison of property tax levies to property tax deducts when all school districts are required to deduct 60 mills in the state school aid formula; and
- A review of the in lieu of property tax revenue deduction for the homestead and disabled veterans' property tax credits to determine whether it may be appropriate to include the property value subject to the credits in the 60-mill deduction rather than deducting a portion of the in lieu of revenue in the state school aid formula

10:45 a.m. Comments by interested persons and task force discussion

11:10 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools regarding a <u>proposal</u> to <u>integrate</u> transportation funding into the state school aid

formula

11:40 a.m. Comments by interested persons and task force discussion

12:00 noon Recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation by representatives of a school construction coalition regarding an update

on the work of the coalition

1:20 p.m. Presentation by Representative Richter regarding an exemption for in lieu of revenue in

the state school aid formula and a provision to allow school districts to use the funding for school construction, including funding scenarios, local contributions, and information

related to selected schools

2:40 p.m. Comments by interested persons and task force discussion

3:00 p.m. Task force discussion and staff directives

3:30 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Donald Schaible (Chairman), Jay Elkin, David S. Rust

Representatives: Pat D. Heinert, Jim Jonas, Eric James Murphy, Anna S. Novak, David Richter, Mark

Sanford, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck

Citizen Members: Levi Bachmeier, Brandt Dick, Rick Diegel, Steve Holen, Stephanie Hunter, Mike

Lautenschlager, Maria Neset, Luke Schaefer, Adam Tescher

Staff Contact: Sheila M. Sandness, Senior Fiscal Analyst