Tentative Agenda

25.5159.02000



HEALTH CARE COMMITTEE

Wednesday, October 2, 2024 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the <u>minutes of the May 30, 2024, meeting</u>

HEALTH INSURANCE MANDATES

- 9:05 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. John Arnold, Deputy Commissioner, Insurance Department, regarding the recommendations for health insurance mandate cost-benefit analyses
- 9:20 a.m. Committee discussion

REPORTS

- 9:30 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Beth Waldman, Senior Managing Director, Bailit Health Purchasing, of a <u>report</u> from the Health Care Task Force regarding its activities and recommendations to improve health care in the state
- 10:15 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Dr. Dennis Lutz, Professor and Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, regarding a report from the Maternal Mortality Review Committee on the identification of patterns, trends, and policy issues related to maternal mortality
- 10:45 a.m. Break
- 10:55 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Sarah Aker, Executive Director, Medical Services, Department of Health and Human Services, and representatives of Guidehouse, of a report regarding the study of basic care funding rates
- 11:55 a.m. Committee discussion
- 12:00 noon Recess

PRIOR AUTHORIZATION STUDY

1:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Andy Askew, Vice President, Public Policy, Essentia Health, on recently passed legislation in Minnesota regarding prior authorization

CONTRACT NURSING STUDY

- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by Legislative Council staff of a <u>bill draft</u> relating to nursing services agencies
- 1:40 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion regarding the bill draft
- 2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and final motions
- 2:15 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <u>https://video.ndlegis.gov</u>.

Committee Members

Senators: Kyle Davison (Chairman), Sean Cleary, Tim Mathern, Kristin Roers Representatives: Gretchen Dobervich, Clayton Fegley, LaurieBeth Hager, Dawson Holle, Carrie McLeod, Jon O. Nelson, Emily O'Brien, Karen M. Rohr, Mary Schneider, Greg Stemen, Michelle Strinden, Robin Weisz

Staff Contact: Beth Dittus, Counsel