

Tentative Agenda

25.5160.02000

JUVENILE JUSTICE COMMITTEE

Tuesday, September 17, 2024 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Bismarck, North Dakota	
10:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the June 18, 2024, meeting
JUVENILE DELINQUENCY CODE STUDY	
10:05 a.m.	Committee discussion regarding a <u>bill draft</u> related to establishing concurrent jurisdiction on military installations
10:20 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Derek Steiner, Cass County Assistant State's Attorney, and Mr. Travis Finck, Executive Director, Commission on Legal Counsel for Indigents, of a <u>bill draft</u> relating to juvenile fitness to proceed and remediation of juveniles
10:50 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
11:05 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Steiner of a <u>bill draft</u> relating to juvenile court proceedings, collateral consequences the juvenile court may order, delinquent acts, and child registration requirements
11:25 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
BILL DRAFT	
11:40 a.m.	Committee discussion regarding a bill draft related to reinstating parental rights that have been terminated by a court
12:00 noon	Recess
CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD CHECK STUDY	
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Steven Harstad, Chief Agent, Bureau of Criminal Investigation, regarding the state's criminal background check requirements compared to the requirements in other states
1:30 p.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
RE-ENTRY OUTCOMES STUDY	
1:40 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Steven Hall, Director of Transitional Planning Services, Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, regarding a <u>status update</u> , findings, and recommendations from the working group on improving re-entry outcomes for incarcerated adults and youth
2:20 p.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
COMMITTEE DISCUSSION	
2:30 p.m.	Final committee discussion and directives
2:40 p.m.	Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Representatives: Michelle Strinden (Chairman), Karen A. Anderson, Claire Cory, Jayme Davis, Karla

Rose Hanson, Zachary Ista, Lawrence R. Klemin, Shannon Roers Jones, Lori

VanWinkle

Senators: David A. Clemens, Kathy Hogan, Diane Larson, Judy Lee

Staff Contact: Christopher S. Joseph, Assistant Legal Division Director