



Tentative Agenda

25.5165.02000

Revised 9/23/2024

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, September 24, 2024 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the August 14, 2024, meeting

REPORTS

9:05 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Kirsten Baesler, Superintendent of Public Instruction, of a report regarding an update on the strategic vision and the collaborative report of the strategic plans of each steering committee member entity receiving state education funds

9:50 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Stan Schauer, Director of Assessment, Department of Public Instruction, and representative leaders from school districts operating a virtual school of a report regarding a comparison of academic performance of students participating in virtual instruction versus those not participating in virtual instruction and the use of the statewide prekindergarten through grade 12 strategic vision framework goals

- <u>Presentation</u> by a representative from Bismarck Public School District
- Presentation by a representative from Fargo Public School District
- Presentation by a representative from West Fargo Public School District
- <u>Presentation</u> by a representative from Ellendale Public School District
- Presentation by a representative from Mandan Public School District
- Presentation by a representative from Dickinson Public School District
- Presentation by a representative from South Heart Public School District
- Presentation by a representative from Minot Public School District
- Presentation by a representative from TGU Public School District
- Presentation by a representative from Yellowstone Public School District

12:00 noon Recess

1:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Schauer of a report regarding the compilation of test scores of a test aligned to the state content standards in reading, mathematics, and science given annually to students statewide

SCHOOL CHOICE MODELS STUDY

1:45 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative from The Hunt Institute regarding educational opportunities stakeholder listening session and public survey feedback

2:15 p.m. Committee guestion and answer session with a representative from The Hunt Institute

2:30 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

2:45 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Michelle Axtman (Chairman), Todd Beard, Cole Conley, Jay Elkin, Judy Estenson, Justin Gerhardt, Kent Weston

Representatives: LaurieBeth Hager, Patrick Hatlestad, Dori Hauck, Pat D. Heinert, Jim Jonas, Donald W.

Longmuir, Andrew Marschall, David Monson, Eric James Murphy, Mitch Ostlie, David

Richter, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck, Kelby Timmons

Staff Contact: Liz Fordahl, Counsel