Sixty-eighth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 8001

Introduced by

Memorial Resolutions Committee

1 A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of North Dakota.

2 **WHEREAS**, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:

3 Jayson Leroy Graba, who served in the 52nd and 53rd Legislative Assemblies, from

4 District 43, died October 9, 2022;

5 James O. "Jim" Kusler, who served in the 48th and 49th Legislative Assemblies, from

6 District 33, died November 7, 2021;

7 Richard F. "Dick" Larsen, who served in the 40th Legislative Assembly, from District 18, died

8 August 27, 2022;

9 Marvin Orlen "Marv" Mutzenberger, who served in the 55th and 56th Legislative Assemblies,

10 from District 32, died July 19, 2021;

11 Donna Lou Speer Nalewaja, who served in the 50th through the 55th Legislative Assemblies,

12 from District 45, died September 30, 2021;

13 James George Smykowski, who served in the 43rd through the 46th Legislative Assemblies,

14 from District 26, died December 9, 2021;

15 Wayne K. Stenehjem, who served in the 47th through the 56th Legislative Assemblies, from

16 District 42, died January 28, 2022;

17 Harvey Dean Tallackson, who served in the 45th through the 60th Legislative Assemblies,

18 from District 16, died July 27, 2022;

Benjamin C. "Ben" Tollefson, who served in the 57th through the 60th Legislative Assemblies,

20 from District 38, died December 16, 2021;

John Thomas "Jack" Traynor, who served in the 52nd through the 59th Legislative

22 Assemblies, from District 15, died July 11, 2021;

Francis E. "Hank" Weber, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 11, died
October 27, 2022;

Sixty-eighth Legislative Assembly

- 1 Stanley "Stan" Wright, who served in the 43rd through the 50th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 2 District 4, died December 11, 2021; and
- 3 **WHEREAS**, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former Senate colleagues and to

4 honor their memories; and

- 5 **WHEREAS**, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by
- 6 their contributions to public service;

7 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

- 8 That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people
- 9 of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and
- 10 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of
- 11 respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and
- 12 that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of
- 13 these deceased Senators.