Sixty-eighth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 3, 2023

HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001 (Memorial Resolutions Committee)

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:

Lynn William Aas, who served in the 40th, 41st, 50th, and 51st Legislative Assemblies, from District 5, died October 28, 2021;

James Edward Froeber, who served in the 43rd Legislative Assembly, from District 5, died January 23, 2022;

Stephen Thomas "Bud" Gorman, Jr., who served in the 50th through the 54th Legislative Assemblies, from District 46, died October 29, 2021;

Jayson Leroy Graba, who served in the 49th through the 51st Legislative Assemblies, from District 43, died October 9, 2022;

George Joseph Keiser, who served in the 53rd through the 67th Legislative Assemblies, from District 47, died December 22, 2021;

Matthew M. Klein, who served in the 53rd through the 64th Legislative Assemblies, from District 40, died January 30, 2023;

Richard F. "Dick" Larsen, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 7, died August 27, 2022;

Ellis Gene Martin, who served in the 45th Legislative Assembly, from District 43, and in the 48th Legislative Assembly, from District 17-18, died September 22, 2022;

Stuart J. McDonald, who served in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, died October 2, 2021;

Marshall W. Moore, who served in the 47th through the 50th Legislative Assemblies, from District 44, died March 12, 2022;

Marvin Orlen "Marv" Mutzenberger, who served in the 52nd through the 54th Legislative Assemblies, from District 32, died July 19, 2021;

Donna Lou Speer Nalewaja, who served in the 48th and 49th Legislative Assemblies, from District 45, died September 30, 2021;

Carol Ann Oline Niemeier, who served in the 55th through the 58th Legislative Assemblies, from District 20, died December 14, 2021;

Duane Rau, who served in the 43rd through the 45th Legislative Assemblies, from District 29, died March 8, 2022;

Arlo E. Schmidt, who served in the 54th through the 56th Legislative Assemblies, from District 12, and in the 57th through the 61st Legislative Assemblies, from District 7, died November 30, 2022;

Calvin A. "Kelly" Shockman, who served in the 48th through the 51st Legislative Assemblies, from District 28, died December 11, 2021;

William Horton "Bill" Starke, who served in the 49th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 12, died May 19, 2022;

Wayne K. Stenehjem, who served in the 45th and 46th Legislative Assemblies, from District 42, died January 28, 2022;

Earl S. Strinden, who served in the 40th through the 47th Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, and in the 48th through the 50th Legislative Assemblies, from District 17-18, died October 18, 2022;

Gerald Orlando Sveen, who served in the 53rd through the 56th Legislative Assemblies, from District 6, died September 23, 2021;

Elwood Clifton "Woody" Thorpe, who served in the 52nd and 53rd and in the 55th through the 61st Legislative Assemblies, from District 5, died March 29, 2021;

Benjamin C. "Ben" Tollefson, who served in the 49th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 40-50, and in the 53rd through the 56th Legislative Assemblies, from District 38, died December 16, 2021;

Francis E. "Hank" Weber, who served in the 38th Legislative Assembly, from District 11, and in the 40th through the 46th Legislative Assemblies, from District 22, died October 27, 2022;

Alon Carl Wieland, who served in the 58th through the 63rd Legislative Assemblies, from District 13, died January 22, 2022;

Joseph Richard Whalen, who served in the 47th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 39, died May 25, 2021;

Gerry Lynn Wilkie, who served in the 50th through the 55th Legislative Assemblies, from District 9, died July 18, 2021; and

WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House of Representatives colleagues and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of these deceased Representatives.

Speaker of the House

Chief Clerk of the House

Filed in this office this ______day of ______, 2023,

at _____ o'clock _____M.

Secretary of State