

# North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick President 1929 N. Washington Steet. Ste.A Bismarck, ND 58501 Brandt.Dick@k12.nd.us 701-415-0441 Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

HB 1349 – Testimony in Support House Education Committee Representative Heinert– Chairman February 1, 2023

Representative Heinert and members of the House Education Committee, my name is Michael Heilman. I am the Executive Director of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools (NDSOS). I represent 150-member school districts of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools. NDSOS stands in support to HB 1349.

This bill is quite simple and easy to support. The cost districts have incurred related to serving all of our students have increased just like most other goods and services. This certainly is no different for student with special needs. This bill will increase the weighting factor from .0820 to .125 an increase of .043. This would mean approximately \$430 additional for each student. This is not a large dollar amount but will help districts small and large serve our most vulnerable and fragile learners. This may be enough to supplement the purchase of programming or support services for a group or an individual student.

NDSOS supports a do pass recommendation on HB 1349.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701.527.4621

# Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley
Mr. John Gruenberg, Supt. Powers Lake

## Region 4

Mr. Brian Christopherson, Supt. New Salem Dr. Kelly Peters, Supt. Richardton-Taylor

# **Board of Directors**

#### Region 2

Mr. Jeff Hagler, Supt. North Star Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

## Region 5

Mr. Rick Diegel, Supt. Kidder Co. Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Burleigh County

#### Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. David Wheeler, Supt. Manvel

## Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Lisbon