

North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick President 1929 N. Washington Steet. Ste.A Bismarck, ND 58501 Brandt.Dick@k12.nd.us 701-415-0441 Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

SB 2032 – Testimony in Support House Education Committee Representative Heiner – Chairman March 1, 2023

Chairman Heinert and member of the committee, my name is Michael Heilman. I am the Executive Director of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools (NDSOS). I represent 150-member school districts of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools. NDSOS stands in support of SB 2032.

NDSOS was an active participant in the support and startup of one of the programs that this appropriation supports. A think tank of small school superintendents met with representatives from University of Mary and from those conversation the online elementary education program became a reality in a matter of months. The program had 44 enrollee's the first year. These individuals have been able to stay in their communities and in some cases continue to work as para-educators. What a great way to support our schools and individuals that wish to become teachers.

This bill provides much needed funds to support putting teacher in our classrooms by allowing paraprofessionals working in our schools to become teachers. We think this is a great way to help address the teacher shortage.

NDSOS asks for your support of SB 2032.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701.527.4621

Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley
Mr. John Gruenberg, Supt. Powers Lake

Region 4

Mr. Brian Christopherson, Supt. New Salem Dr. Kelly Peters, Supt. Richardton-Taylor

Board of Directors

Region 2

Mr. Jeff Hagler, Supt. North Star Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

Region 5

Mr. Rick Diegel, Supt. Kidder Co. Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Burleigh County

Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. David Wheeler, Supt. Manvel

Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Lisbon