

North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick President 1929 N. Washington Steet. Ste.A Bismarck, ND 58501 Brandt.Dick@k12.nd.us 701-415-0441 Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

SB 2269 -Testimony in Support House Education Committee Representative Heinert – Chairperson March 14, 2023

North Dakota Small Organized Schools supports SB 2269. The ND Center for Distance Education has long been an important partner of North Dakota's schools. The ND CDE was once a way for schools to enhance their curriculum or add key electives, today the ND CDE has become the source of required curriculum for some of our schools. As teacher shortages have become more of a factor our schools, especially NDSOS members have found CDE to be a valued partner in the education of North Dakota's students.

NDSOS supports the move of the ND CDE from the office of Career and Technical Education to the office of the Department of Public Instruction. We hope that this move will prove to sustain and enhance the services our schools are familiar with from ND CDE.

NDSOS supports SB 2269 and asks for a do pass recommendation.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701.527.4621

Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley Mr. John Gruenberg, Supt. Powers Lake

Region 4

Mr. Brian Christopherson, Supt. New Salem Dr. Kelly Peters, Supt. Richardton-Taylor

Board of Directors

Region 2

Mr. Jeff Hagler, Supt. North Star Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

Region 5

Mr. Rick Diegel, Supt. Kidder Co. Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Burleigh County

Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. David Wheeler, Supt. Manvel

Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Lisbon