## **Testimony**



## **SENATE BILL NO. 2012**

## Senate Appropriations - Human Resources Division January 24, 2023

Senator Dever and members of the Senate Appropriations Committee – Human Resources

Division. The Valley Prosperity Partnership (VPP) is a membership organization led by business

executives – joined by leaders from higher education, economic development, and chambers of

commerce – to advance and advocate for shared strategic economic development

opportunities that will strengthen and diversify the Red River Valley region and the entirety of

North Dakota.

Employers of all sizes in all sectors of North Dakota's economy depend on working parents. Working parents, in turn, depend upon childcare. Without it, many parents – particularly mothers – cannot join or rejoin the labor force.

Quality childcare is an early learning setting for young children that creates a foundation for future learning, including school readiness. This makes childcare a two-generation support for working families, helping parents return to the workforce while also giving kids a future-learning jump start.

The VPP supports SB2012 and strongly endorses funding for childcare that will positively impact availability, affordability, and workforce. Closing the childcare gap is a top priority for the VPP and employers throughout North Dakota.

## **Valley Prosperity Partnership Steering Committee**

Brian Johnson, CEO, Choice Bank, Co-Chair Valley Prosperity Partnership\*

Judd Graham, Market President Dacotah Bank - Fargo Co-Chair Valley Prosperity Partnership\*

Jonathan Holth, JLG Architects Vice Co-Chair\*

Marshal Albright, President & CEO Cass County Electric Cooperative,

Andrew Armacost, President University of North Dakota

Steve Burian, President & CEO Burian & Associates

Dan Conrad, President & CEO Blue Cross Blue Shield North Dakota

David Cook, President North Dakota State University

Tim Curoe, CEO RD Offutt Company

Mylo Einarson, President & CEO Nodak Electric Cooperative

Chad Flanagan, Partner Eide Bailly

Rod Flanigan, President North Dakota State College of Science

Todd Forkel, CEO Altru Health System

Shannon Full, President/CEO Fargo Moorhead West Fargo Chamber of Commerce\*

Shawn Gaddie, Director of Infrastructure Management Services, AE2S AE2S Jim Galloway, Principal JLG Architects

Kevin Hanson, President & CEO Gate City Bank

Tiffany Lawrence, CEO & President Sanford Fargo

Keith Lund, President & CEO Grand Forks Region EDC\*

William C. Marcil, Sr. Chairman Forum Communications Company

Pat McAdaragh, President & CEO Midco

Jeff Melgaard, Vice President Construction Engineers

Tammy Peterson, Grand Forks Region President & Ag Banking Director Bremer Bank

Joe Raso, President & CEO Greater Fargo Moorhead EDC\*

Jim Roers, President & CEO Roers Construction & Development

Richard Solberg, Chairman & CEO Bell State Bank & Trust

David White, President Border States Electric

Barry Wilfahrt, President & CEO The Chamber Grand Forks/East Grand Forks\*

Chris Wolf, North Valley Market President Alerus Financial

Delore Zimmerman, Executive Director\*

<sup>\*</sup> Member Executive Committee