

Senate Appropriations Committee

House Bill 1199 January 30, 2023

Chairman Senator Bekkedahl and members of the Senate Appropriations Committee. The Valley Prosperity Partnership (VPP) is a membership organization led by business executives – joined by leaders from higher education, economic development, and chambers of commerce – to advance and advocate for shared strategic economic development opportunities that will strengthen and diversify the Red River Valley region and the entirety of North Dakota.

The VPP greatly appreciates the funding that the Legislature appropriated in the 2021 session for career & workforce academies in the state, which included the Career Impact Academy in Grand Forks and the Career Innovation Center (CIC) in Fargo. The centers will allow learners to explore local career fields in high demand and earn certifications or college credit, introducing them to regional industry and colleges, which helps strengthen workforce pipelines throughout the state.

Due to delays in appropriated funds from federal coronavirus capital projects centers throughout the state have been put on hold. Therefore, the VPP supports the extension of a line of credit from the Bank of North Dakota to the department of career and technical education for the purpose of providing grants to entities approved by the state board for career and technical education to build career academies through the statewide area and career center initiative grant program. This funding will put centers from throughout the state that have already earned significant commitments of local funds back on track to help fill the workforce gap in North Dakota.

Valley Prosperity Partnership Steering Committee

Brian Johnson, CEO, Choice Bank, Co-Chair Valley Prosperity Partnership*

Judd Graham, Market President Dacotah Bank - Fargo Co-Chair Valley Prosperity Partnership*

Jonathan Holth, JLG Architects Vice Co-Chair*

Marshal Albright, President & CEO Cass County Electric Cooperative,

Andrew Armacost, President University of North Dakota

Steve Burian, President & CEO Burian & Associates

Dan Conrad, President & CEO Blue Cross Blue Shield North Dakota

David Cook, President North Dakota State University

Tim Curoe, CEO RD Offutt Company

Mylo Einarson, President & CEO Nodak Electric Cooperative

Chad Flanagan, Partner Eide Bailly

Rod Flanigan, President North Dakota State College of Science

Todd Forkel, CEO Altru Health System

Shannon Full, President/CEO Fargo Moorhead West Fargo Chamber of Commerce*

Shawn Gaddie, Director of Infrastructure Management Services, AE2S AE2S Jim Galloway, Principal JLG Architects

Kevin Hanson, President & CEO Gate City Bank

Tiffany Lawrence, CEO & President Sanford Fargo

Keith Lund, President & CEO Grand Forks Region EDC*

William C. Marcil, Sr. Chairman Forum Communications Company

Pat McAdaragh, President & CEO Midco

Jeff Melgaard, Vice President Construction Engineers

Tammy Peterson, Grand Forks Region President & Ag Banking Director Bremer Bank

Joe Raso, President & CEO Greater Fargo Moorhead EDC*

Jim Roers, President & CEO Roers Construction & Development

Richard Solberg, Chairman & CEO Bell State Bank & Trust

David White, President Border States Electric

Barry Wilfahrt, President & CEO The Chamber Grand Forks/East Grand Forks*

Chris Wolf, North Valley Market President Alerus Financial

Delore Zimmerman, Executive Director*

^{*} Member Executive Committee