Thank you Madam Chair and the Human Services Committee. I am Lorraine Berger from District 34. I am speaking in favor of SB 2388. First of all I would like to thank everyone for making time to be here today and for allowing me to speak. Thank you to the sponsoring legislators for helping to correct this law.

So in the fall of 2021, I was seen on camera from the dispensary handing a closed cannabis box to my daughter. Once in Bismarck, once in Grand Forks. My daughter is 38 and a heroin addict. I had done a lot of research and cannabis can truly help addicts, so she would read the boxes-the THC levels, etc.-any information I could give her at this time was good. She actually had her own appointment made for a medical card.

I realize that this was against the rules, but I truly believe that I made an honest mistake, not realizing at that time-handing a closed box to my daughter-would get my card revoked permanently. It seems the penalty does not fit the crime. I would have understood a suspension. I made several attempts by email and phone to talk to Mr Wahl about what happened and was only told there's no way for me to get it back, ever, in this state.

My health has suffered immensely since my card was taken from me. I now take 14 pills a day and see a psychologist. The medication I'm taking now does not even compare to what the medical marijuana was doing for me. I have been working at the hospital lab for the last 7 years. My husband and I are business owners. I have absolutely no criminal history! I feel that the penalties of never being allowed to have medical marijuana card again are too severe.

I am respectfully requesting that this law be amended for the sake of my health and those who may not know that something as simple as allowing someone else to hold a box could have serious consequences. I would understand if I would have opened a container and gave it to someone or smoked with someone or have even been charged with something, but the only thing that I did wrong was to hand my daughter a sealed box of my cannabis. Yes she put a box on her driver's side door storage. The cameras did not pick up her handing back the sealed boxes. It truly was an honest mistake on my part. I did not know or remember how strict the laws were.

I believe that I am the first in North Dakota to attempt this change and I believe the severity of what you do with the violations should be taken into consideration, If you have a criminal history of selling or anything of that sort, then I understand it, but to simply hand a closed box to my 38-year-old daughter just seems so unfair.

There is no compassion from anyone that I have contacted except for my legislatures who can actually understand what I am talking about. If it was legalized for medication, it should take more than handing a closed box to your own adult daughter to be disqualified from the program.

I am one of the patients that have extreme anxiety and depression and I found that cannabis worked extremely well. The punishment does not fit "the crime". People can make mistakes-honest mistakes and I feel it would be shameful to have to move out of North Dakota to be able to get the medicine that I need. I ask for your support and pass SB 2388.

Thank you and I stand for questions.