

North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick President 1929 N. Washington Steet. Ste.A Bismarck, ND 58501 Brandt.Dick@k12.nd.us 701-415-0441 Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

SB 2188 Testimony in Opposition Senate Education Committee Senator Larson – Chairperson January 17, 2023

Senator Larson and members of the Senate Judiciary Committee, my name is Michael Heilman. I am the Executive Director of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools (NDSOS). I represent 150-member school districts of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools. NDSOS stands in opposition SB 2188.

Most, if not all the sections of this bill are currently covered in ND Century Code, are part of the approval and accreditation process, or are standard operating procedures for schools. North Dakota School Boards Association does an excellent job informing districts of required polices that cover much of what is in this bill.

Schools encourage parental involvement through orientation sessions, focus groups, parent advisory committees, parent teacher conference, fine arts and athletic booster groups. Information is shared via multiple forms of messaging, including emails, power school, websites, instant messaging, Facebook, twitter and school board meetings just to mention a few ways parents are informed and encouraged to be involved in their children's education.

NDSOS also has reservations about the last section of the bill related to collection of district-level data. We would question how this section of the bill might impact the collection of interim assessment data, standardized test data, report cards, student progress reports, teacher grade books, athletic team data, behavioral/disciplinary data just to name a few.

With existing laws and regulations NDSOS believes this legislation is unnecessary and stands in opposition to this SB 2188.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701.527.4621

Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley Mr. John Gruenberg, Supt. Powers Lake

Region 4

Mr. Brian Christopherson, Supt. New Salem Dr. Kelly Peters, Supt. Richardton-Taylor

Board of Directors

Region 2

Mr. Jeff Hagler, Supt. North Star Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

Region 5

Mr. Rick Diegel, Supt. Kidder Co. Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Burleigh County

Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. David Wheeler, Supt. Manvel

Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Lisbon