



## **Tentative Agenda**

27.5007.02000

Revised 6/19/2025

## **BUDGET SECTION**

Wednesday, June 25, 2025 Senate Chamber, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota

Legislative Management

10:05 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum regarding the duties

and responsibilities of the Budget Section

10:10 a.m. Presentations by representatives of the Office of Management and Budget regarding:

· Status of the general fund

Report on any tobacco settlement proceeds

- Reports from state agencies applying for federal grants estimated to be \$25,000 or more pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Section 54-27-27
- Irregularities in the fiscal practices of the state pursuant to Section 54-14-03.1
- The status of the 2023-25 biennium new and vacant FTE funding pool

★10:30 a.m. Budget Section cor

Budget Section consideration of the following state agency requests pursuant to Chapter 54-16 authorized by the Emergency Commission which require Budget Section approval:

- Center for Distance Education (Request #2149) The request is to increase special funds spending authority by \$250,000 in the center for distance education line item to accept and expend a \$250,000 passthrough grant from the Department of Public Instruction to be used for digital courses and student scholarships.
- Department of Public Instruction (Request #2150) The request is to increase
  federal funds spending authority by \$14.5 million in the grants other grants line item
  to accept and expend various federal funds to reimburse school districts for expenses
  that qualify for federal funding, including meals for low-income students, education for
  special needs students, and professional development for educators.
- Office of Management and Budget (Request #2151) The request is for \$189,750 from the state contingencies appropriation to replace federal funding for contracts entered for various initiatives to be funded through the Governor's Emergency Education Relief Fund for which federal funding is no longer available.

10:45 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum regarding changes to the Emergency Commission and Budget Section approval process

10:55 a.m. Presentation of a report from the Legacy and Budget Stabilization Fund Advisory Board regarding the status of the legacy fund and budget stabilization fund investments

11:05 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of Job Service North Dakota on the actual job insurance trust fund balance and the targeted modified average high-cost multiplier pursuant to Section 52-02-17
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Department of Health and Human Services regarding the status of the opioid settlement fund and spending decisions made by the department and political subdivisions pursuant to Section 50-36-04
11:25 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Department of Mineral Resources of an update on the status of oil and gas development in the state
11:55 a.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
12:00 noon	Adjourn

<sup>\*</sup>This item includes a request for Budget Section action.

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <a href="https://video.ndlegis.gov">https://video.ndlegis.gov</a>.

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: Don Vigesaa (Chairman), Bert Anderson, Mike Berg, Glenn Bosch, Mike Brandenburg, Gretchen Dobervich, Jay Fisher, Karla Rose Hanson, Zachary Ista, Keith Kempenich, Mike Lefor, Scott Louser, Bob Martinson, Lisa Meier, Alisa Mitskog, David Monson, Eric J. Murphy, Mike Nathe, Jon O. Nelson, Emily O'Brien, Brandy L. Pyle, David Richter, Mark Sanford, Gregory Stemen, Steve Swiontek, Scott Wagner, Robin Weisz

Senators: Brad Bekkedahl, Josh Boschee, Randy A. Burckhard, Sean Cleary, Cole Conley, Kyle Davison, Dick Dever, Michael Dwyer, Robert Erbele, Kathy Hogan, David Hogue, Jerry Klein, Jeffery J. Magrum, Tim Mathern, Scott Meyer, Donald Schaible, Jonathan Sickler, Ronald Sorvaag, Paul J. Thomas, Terry M. Wanzek

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor