Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

SENATE BILL NO. 2188

Introduced by

Senators Patten, Kessel, Sickler

Representatives Bosch, Novak, Porter

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 54-63.1-03 of the North Dakota Century Code,
- 2 relating to the membership of the clean sustainable energy authority; and to provide a transfer.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

- 4 **SECTION 1. AMENDMENT.** Section 54-63.1-03 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:
- 6 54-63.1-03. Clean sustainable energy authority Membership Meetings.
- 7 1. The clean sustainable energy authority consists of <u>seventeeneighteen</u> members, including nine voting members and <u>eight</u>nine nonvoting technical advisors.
- 9 2. The nine voting members consist of:
- a. Two members, one from the senate and one from the house of representatives,
 appointed by the legislative management to serve as co-chairmen;
- b. Two members appointed by the lignite research council;
- 13 c. Two members appointed by the oil and gas research council;
- d. Two members appointed by the renewable energy council; and
- e. One member appointed by the western Dakota energy association.
- 16 3. The eightnine nonvoting technical advisors consist of:
- 17 a. One member appointed by the North Dakota outdoor heritage fund advisory
 18 board;
- b. The commissioner of commerce or the commissioner's designee;
- c. The director of the department of environmental quality or the director's designee;
- d. <u>The director of the department of water resources or director's designee;</u>
- 22 <u>e.</u> The director of mineral resources or the director's designee;
- 23 e.f. The director of the North Dakota pipeline authority or the director's designee;
- 24 f.g. The director of the North Dakota transmission authority or the director's designee;

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

- The director of the state energy research center or the director's designee; and h.i. The president of the Bank of North Dakota or the president's designee.
 - 4. The term of office for each co-chairman is two years. The term of office for the other voting members is four years, and the other voting members may not serve more than two consecutive terms. The terms of office for the voting members commence on July first. The initial terms for the voting members of the authority must be staggered following a method determined by the authority.
 - 5. The authority shall meet at least semiannually. The co-chairmen shall call a meeting upon written request from three voting members of the authority. Five voting members is a quorum at any meeting.
- 11 6. The authority may not forward a recommendation to the commission unless the
 12 recommendation fulfills the purposes of this chapter and is approved by a majority of
 13 the voting members of the authority.
- SECTION 2. TRANSFER STRATEGIC INVESTMENT AND IMPROVEMENTS FUND CLEAN SUSTAINABLE ENERGY GRANTS AND LOANS. During the biennium beginning
 July 1, 2025, and ending June 30, 2027, the office of management and budget shall transfer the
 sum of \$130,000,000 from the strategic investment and improvements fund to the clean
 sustainable energy fund, as follows:
- 19 1. \$30,000,000 for grants; and
- 20 2. \$100,000,0000 to repay a line of credit and to provide funding for loans.