Introduced by

Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO

SENATE BILL NO. 2188

-

Senators Patten, Kessel, Sickler

Representatives Bosch, Novak, Porter

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 54-63.1-03 of the North Dakota Century Code,
- 2 relating to the membership of the clean sustainable energy authority; and to provide a transfer.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

- 4 SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 54-63.1-03 of the North Dakota Century Code is
- 5 amended and reenacted as follows:

6 54-63.1-03. Clean sustainable energy authority - Membership - Meetings.

- 7 1. The clean sustainable energy authority consists of seventeeneighteen members,
- 8 including nine voting members and <u>eightnine</u> nonvoting technical advisors.
- 9 2. The nine voting members consist of:
- 10 a. Two members, one from the senate and one from the house of representatives,
 11 appointed by the legislative management to serve as co-chairmen:
 - 1 appointed by the legislative management to serve as co-chairmen;
- b. Two members appointed by the lignite research council;
- 13 c. Two members appointed by the oil and gas research council;
- 14 d. Two members appointed by the renewable energy council; and
- e. One member appointed by the western Dakota energy association.
- 16 3. The eight<u>nine</u> nonvoting technical advisors consist of:
- 17 a. One member appointed by the North Dakota outdoor heritage fund advisory18 board;
- 19 b. The commissioner of commerce or the commissioner's designee;
- 20 c. The director of the department of environmental quality or the director's designee;

Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly

1	d.	The director of the department of water resources or director's designee;
2	<u>e.</u>	The director of mineral resources or the director's designee;
3	e.<u>f.</u>	The director of the North Dakota pipeline authority or the director's designee;
4	<u>f.g.</u>	The director of the North Dakota transmission authority or the director's designee;
5	g.<u>h.</u>	The director of the state energy research center or the director's designee; and
6	h. i.	The president of the Bank of North Dakota or the president's designee.
7	4. Th	e term of office for each co-chairman is two years. The term of office for the other
8	VO	ting members is four years, and the other voting members may not serve more than
9	two	o consecutive terms. The terms of office for the voting members commence on July
10	firs	t. The initial terms for the voting members of the authority must be staggered
11	fol	owing a method determined by the authority.
12	5. Th	e authority shall meet at least semiannually. The co-chairmen shall call a meeting
13	up	on written request from three voting members of the authority. Five voting members
14	is a	a quorum at any meeting.
15	6. Th	e authority may not forward a recommendation to the commission unless the
16	rec	commendation fulfills the purposes of this chapter and is approved by a majority of
17	the	e voting members of the authority.
18	SECTION 2. TRANSFER - STRATEGIC INVESTMENT AND IMPROVEMENTS FUND -	
19	CLEAN SUSTAINABLE ENERGY GRANTS AND LOANS. During the biennium beginning	
20	July 1, 2025	, and ending June 30, 2027, the office of management and budget shall transfer the
21	sum of \$130,000,000 from the strategic investment and improvements fund to the clean	
22	sustainable energy fund, as follows:	
23	1. \$3	0,000,000 for grants; and
24	2. <mark>\$1</mark>	00,000,0000 <u>\$100,000,000</u> to repay a line of credit and to provide funding for loans.