Introduced by

Prepared by the Legislative Council staff for Senate Appropriations -Education and Environment Division Committee

February 18, 2025

Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO FIRST ENGROSSMENT

ENGROSSED SENATE BILL NO. 2188

Senators Patten, Kessel, Sickler

Representatives Bosch, Novak, Porter

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 54-63.1-03 of the North Dakota Century Code,
- 2 relating to the membership of the clean sustainable energy authority; and to provide a transfer.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

4	SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 54-63.1-03 of the North Dakota Century Code is			
5	amended and reenacted as follows:			
6	54-63.1-03. Clean sustainable energy authority - Membership - Meetings.			
7	1.	The	clean sustainable energy authority consists of seventeeneighteen members,	
8		inclu	iding nine voting members and eight <u>nine</u> nonvoting technical advisors.	
9	2.	The	nine voting members consist of:	
10		a.	Two members, one from the senate and one from the house of representatives,	
11			appointed by the legislative management to serve as co-chairmen;	
12		b.	Two members appointed by the lignite research council;	
13		C.	Two members appointed by the oil and gas research council;	
14		d.	Two members appointed by the renewable energy council; and	
15		e.	One member appointed by the western Dakota energy association.	
16	3.	The	eightnine nonvoting technical advisors consist of:	
17		a.	One member appointed by the North Dakota outdoor heritage fund advisory	
18			board;	
19		b.	The commissioner of commerce or the commissioner's designee;	

Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly

C.	The director of the department of environmental quality or the director's designee;		
d.	The director of the department of water resources or director's designee;		
<u>e.</u>	The director of mineral resources or the director's designee;		
e.<u>f.</u>	The director of the North Dakota pipeline authority or the director's designee;		
f. g.	The director of the North Dakota transmission authority or the director's designee;		
g.<u>h.</u>	The director of the state energy research center or the director's designee; and		
<u>h.i.</u>	The president of the Bank of North Dakota or the president's designee.		
4. Th	e term of office for each co-chairman is two years. The term of office for the other		
VO	ting members is four years, and the other voting members may not serve more than		
two consecutive terms. The terms of office for the voting members commence on July			
firs	st. The initial terms for the voting members of the authority must be staggered		
fol	lowing a method determined by the authority.		
5. Th	e authority shall meet at least semiannually. The co-chairmen shall call a meeting		
up	on written request from three voting members of the authority. Five voting members		
is	a quorum at any meeting.		
6. Th	e authority may not forward a recommendation to the commission unless the		
ree	commendation fulfills the purposes of this chapter and is approved by a majority of		
the	e voting members of the authority.		
SECTION 2. TRANSFER - STRATEGIC INVESTMENT AND IMPROVEMENTS FUND -			
CLEAN SU	STAINABLE ENERGY GRANTS AND LOANS. During the biennium beginning		
July 1, 2025	, and ending June 30, 2027, the office of management and budget shall transfer the		
sum of <u>\$130,000,000</u> \$55,000,000 from the strategic investment and improvements fund to the			
clean sustainable energy fund, as follows:			
1. \$3	0,000,000 <u>\$15,000,000</u> for grants; and		
2. <mark>\$1</mark>	00,000,000 <u>\$40,000,000</u> to repay a line of credit and to provide funding for loans.		
	d. <u>e.</u> f.g. g-h. h.j. 4. Th vo two firs fol 5. Th up is a 6. Th rec the SECTIC CLEAN SUS July 1, 2025 sum of \$130 clean sustai 1. \$3		