Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## **HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3024**

Introduced by

Representative Kempenich

- 1	A concurrent resolution diging the officed states congress to transfer the management of all
2	national grassland property within the state from the United States Forest Service to the Natural
3	Resources Conservation Service.
4	WHEREAS, North Dakota is home to over 1 million acres of land within national grasslands
5	administered by the United States Forest Service; and
6	WHEREAS, the United States Forest Service provides sustainable management,
7	conservation, use, and stewardship of natural and cultural resources in national forests in the
8	United States; and
9	WHEREAS, the Bankhead-Jones Farm Tenant Act [50 Stat. 522, 7 U.S.C. 1010, et seq.],
10	which created the national grasslands, was intended to assist in controlling soil erosion,
11	reforestation, preserving natural resources, developing and protecting recreational facilities,
12	mitigating floods, developing energy resources, conserving surface and surface moisture,
13	protecting the watersheds of navigable streams, and protecting public lands; and
14	WHEREAS, the Natural Resources Conservation Service assists local operations to sustain
15	productive agricultural lands and improve the quality of air, water, soil, and habitat; and
16	WHEREAS, the mission of the Natural Resources Conservation Service is closely aligned
17	to implement the intent of the Bankhead-Jones Farm Tenant Act and manage the national
18	grasslands within this state;
19	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF
20	NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:
21	That the Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly urges Congress to transfer the management of all
22	national grassland lands within the state from the United States Forest Service to the Natural
23	Resources Conservation Service; and

Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly

- 1 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution
- 2 to the President of the United States, the Secretary of the Interior, and each member of the
- 3 North Dakota Congressional Delegation.