Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001

Introduced by

Memorial Resolutions Committee

1 A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.

2 **WHEREAS**, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:

3 Joshua David Christy, who served in the 68<sup>th</sup> and 69<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from

- 4 District 27, died February 18, 2025;
- 5 Judy Lee DeMers, who served in the 48<sup>th</sup> through the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from

6 District 17-18, and in the 53<sup>rd</sup> through the 56<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, died

7 March 12, 2024;

Alan Gail Erickson, who served in the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 3, died May 7,
2024;

10 Odell Donald Flaagan, who served in the 50<sup>th</sup> through the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from

11 District 23, died April 30, 2024;

12 William Frederick Gackle, who served in the 38<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 24, and

13 in the 40<sup>th</sup> through the 46<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 28, died July 30, 2023;

14 Moine Ray Gates, who served in the 47<sup>th</sup> through the 53<sup>rd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from

15 District 43, died April 27, 2023;

16 Kathy Hawken, who served in the 55<sup>th</sup> through the 64<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from

17 District 46, died December 2, 2023;

Neil Barry Hensrud, who served in the 44<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 18, died
January 22, 2025;

James Eugene "Jim" Kieffer, who served in the 42<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 22,

21 died September 13, 2023;

22 Richard William Kloubec, who served in the 43<sup>rd</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 21, in

the 45<sup>th</sup> through the 47<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 46, and in the 48<sup>th</sup> through the

24 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 51, died June 7, 2023;

## Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly

1 Charles Franklin Mertens, who served in the 42<sup>nd</sup> through the 51<sup>st</sup> Legislative Assemblies, 2 from District 15, died April 13, 2024; 3 David Henry Montplaisir, Sr., who served in the 39<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 10, 4 died October 2, 2023; 5 Donald B. Moore, who served in the 42<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assembly and in the 47<sup>th</sup> through the 6 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 28, died November 30, 2023; 7 Robert Keith "Bob" Muhs, Sr., who served in the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 7, 8 died July 24, 2023; 9 Rosemarie C. Myrdal, who served in the 49<sup>th</sup> through the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from 10 District 11, died October 11, 2023; 11 Mark S. Owens, who served in the 59<sup>th</sup> and 60<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, 12 and in the 62<sup>nd</sup> through the 67<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 17, died April 28, 2024; 13 Winston Monroe "Cash" Register, who served in the 41<sup>st</sup> Legislative Assembly, from 14 District 18, died March 28, 2024; 15 Neil Hubert Romfo, who served in the 47<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 10, died 16 April 29, 2023; 17 Daniel Frederick Rylance, who served in the 44<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 18, and 18 in the 45<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 43, died November 28, 2023; 19 Randy A. Schobinger, who served in the 54<sup>th</sup> through the 59<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from 20 District 3, and in the 65<sup>th</sup> through the 68<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 40, died 21 August 13, 2024; 22 Charles Leo Scofield, who served in the 43<sup>rd</sup> through the 46<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from 23 District 1, died November 22, 2024; 24 Dorvan Solberg, who served in the 56<sup>th</sup> through the 60<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from 25 District 2, died January 21, 2024; 26 Herbert A. "Herb" Urlacher, who served in the 51<sup>st</sup> and 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from 27 District 38, and in the 53<sup>rd</sup> through the 60<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 36, died 28 October 29, 2023; 29 Gary M. "Slim" Williamson, who served in the 39<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 29, 30 and in the 40<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 5, died June 24, 2023; and

Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly

- 1 WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House of Representatives
- 2 colleagues and to honor their memories; and
- 3 WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by
- 4 their contributions to public service;

## 5 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF

## 6 NORTH DAKOTA:

- 7 That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people
- 8 of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and
- 9 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of
- 10 respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of
- 11 Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the
- 12 surviving families of these deceased Representatives.