Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 7, 2025

HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001 (Memorial Resolutions Committee)

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:

Joshua David Christy, who served in the 68th and 69th Legislative Assemblies, from District 27, died February 18, 2025;

Judy Lee DeMers, who served in the 48th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 17-18, and in the 53rd through the 56th Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, died March 12, 2024;

Alan Gail Erickson, who served in the 52nd Legislative Assembly, from District 3, died May 7, 2024;

Odell Donald Flaagan, who served in the 50th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 23, died April 30, 2024;

William Frederick Gackle, who served in the 38th Legislative Assembly, from District 24, and in the 40th through the 46th Legislative Assemblies, from District 28, died July 30, 2023;

Moine Ray Gates, who served in the 47th through the 53rd Legislative Assemblies, from District 43, died April 27, 2023;

Kathy Hawken, who served in the 55th through the 64th Legislative Assemblies, from District 46, died December 2, 2023;

Neil Barry Hensrud, who served in the 44th Legislative Assembly, from District 18, died January 22, 2025:

James Eugene "Jim" Kieffer, who served in the 42nd Legislative Assembly, from District 22, died September 13, 2023;

Richard William Kloubec, who served in the 43rd Legislative Assembly, from District 21, in the 45th through the 47th Legislative Assemblies, from District 46, and in the 48th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 51, died June 7, 2023;

Charles Franklin Mertens, who served in the 42nd through the 51st Legislative Assemblies, from District 15, died April 13, 2024;

David Henry Montplaisir, Sr., who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 10, died October 2, 2023;

Donald B. Moore, who served in the 42nd Legislative Assembly and in the 47th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 28, died November 30, 2023;

Robert Keith "Bob" Muhs, Sr., who served in the 52nd Legislative Assembly, from District 7, died July 24, 2023;

Rosemarie C. Myrdal, who served in the 49th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 11, died October 11, 2023;

Mark S. Owens, who served in the 59th and 60th Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, and in the 62nd through the 67th Legislative Assemblies, from District 17, died April 28, 2024;

H.M.R. NO. 7001 - PAGE 2

Winston Monroe "Cash" Register, who served in the 41st Legislative Assembly, from District 18, died March 28, 2024;

Neil Hubert Romfo, who served in the 47th Legislative Assembly, from District 10, died April 29, 2023;

Daniel Frederick Rylance, who served in the 44th Legislative Assembly, from District 18, and in the 45th Legislative Assembly, from District 43, died November 28, 2023;

Randy A. Schobinger, who served in the 54th through the 59th Legislative Assemblies, from District 3, and in the 65th through the 68th Legislative Assemblies, from District 40, died August 13, 2024;

Charles Leo Scofield, who served in the 43rd through the 46th Legislative Assemblies, from District 1, died November 22, 2024;

Dorvan Solberg, who served in the 56th through the 60th Legislative Assemblies, from District 2, died January 21, 2024;

Herbert A. "Herb" Urlacher, who served in the 51st and 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 38, and in the 53rd through the 60th Legislative Assemblies, from District 36, died October 29, 2023;

Gary M. "Slim" Williamson, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 29, and in the 40th Legislative Assembly, from District 5, died June 24, 2023; and

WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House of Representatives colleagues and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of these deceased Representatives.

H.M.R. NO. 7001 - PAGE 3

	Speaker of the House
	Chief Clerk of the House
Filed in this office this day of	, 2025,
<u> </u>	·
at o'clockM.	
	Secretary of State
	•