Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## **SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 8001**

Introduced by

Memorial Resolutions Committee

- 1 A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of North Dakota.
- WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:
- 3 Dwight Cook, who served in the 55<sup>th</sup> through the 66<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 4 District 34, died January 7, 2024;
- Judy Lee DeMers, who served in the 48<sup>th</sup> through the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 6 District 17-18, and in the 53<sup>rd</sup> through the 56<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, died
- 7 March 12, 2024;
- 8 Richard Wayne Goldberg, who served in the 40<sup>th</sup> through the 43<sup>rd</sup> Legislative Assemblies,
- 9 from District 21, died July 18, 2023;
- Daniel Fred Jerome, who served in the 52<sup>nd</sup> and 53<sup>rd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 9.
- 11 died May 25, 2024;
- Douglas Allen Larsen, who served in the 67<sup>th</sup> and 68<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 13 District 34, died October 1, 2023;
- Donald B. Moore, who served in the 42<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assembly and in the 47<sup>th</sup> through the
- 15 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 28, died November 30, 2023;
- David E. "Dave" Nething, who served in the 40<sup>th</sup> through the 44<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies,
- 17 from District 29, in the 45<sup>th</sup> through the 57<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 48, and in the
- 18 58<sup>th</sup> through the 62<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 12, died December 2, 2024;
- Randy A. Schobinger, who served in the 54<sup>th</sup> through the 59<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 20 District 3, and in the 65th through the 68th Legislative Assemblies, from District 40, died
- 21 August 13, 2024;
- Herbert A. "Herb" Urlacher, who served in the 51st and 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from
- 23 District 38, and in the 53<sup>rd</sup> through the 60<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 36, died
- 24 October 29, 2023; and

- 1 **WHEREAS**, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former Senate colleagues and to
- 2 honor their memories; and
- 3 **WHEREAS**, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by
- 4 their contributions to public service;
- 5 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:
- That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people
- 7 of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and
- 8 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of
- 9 respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and
- 10 that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of
- 11 these deceased Senators.