25.0563.02001 Title. Prepared by the Legislative Council staff for Senate Appropriations -Education and Environment Division Committee February 18, 2025

Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO FIRST ENGROSSMENT

## **ENGROSSED SENATE BILL NO. 2188**

Introduced by

Senators Patten, Kessel, Sickler

Representatives Bosch, Novak, Porter

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 54-63.1-03 of the North Dakota Century Code,
- 2 relating to the membership of the clean sustainable energy authority; and to provide a transfer.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

4	SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 54-63.1-03 of the North Dakota Century Code is				
5	amended and reenacted as follows:				
6	54-63.1-03. Clean sustainable energy authority - Membership - Meetings.				
7	1.	The clean sustainable energy authority consists of seventeeneighteen members,			
8		incl	uding nine voting members and <u>eightnine</u> nonvoting technical advisors.		
9	2.	The	e nine voting members consist of:		
10		a.	Two members, one from the senate and one from the house of representatives,		
11			appointed by the legislative management to serve as co-chairmen;		
12		b.	Two members appointed by the lignite research council;		
13		C.	Two members appointed by the oil and gas research council;		
14		d.	Two members appointed by the renewable energy council; and		
15		e.	One member appointed by the western Dakota energy association.		
16	3.	The	e eightnine nonvoting technical advisors consist of:		
17		a.	One member appointed by the North Dakota outdoor heritage fund advisory		
18			board;		
19		b.	The commissioner of commerce or the commissioner's designee;		

Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly

н			The director of the department of environmental quality or the director's designee;			
1						
2		d.	The director of the department of water resources or director's designee;			
3		<u>e.</u>	The director of mineral resources or the director's designee;			
4	X	e. <u>f.</u>	The director of the North Dakota pipeline authority or the director's designee;			
5	4	<del>f.<u>g.</u></del>	The director of the North Dakota transmission authority or the director's designee;			
6	ę	<del>].<u>h.</u></del>	The director of the state energy research center or the director's designee; and			
7		<del>h.<u>i.</u></del>	The president of the Bank of North Dakota or the president's designee.			
8	4.	The t	term of office for each co-chairman is two years. The term of office for the other			
9		votin	g members is four years, and the other voting members may not serve more than			
10		two o	consecutive terms. The terms of office for the voting members commence on July			
11		first.	The initial terms for the voting members of the authority must be staggered			
12		follow	ving a method determined by the authority.			
13	5.	The	authority shall meet at least semiannually. The co-chairmen shall call a meeting			
14		upon	written request from three voting members of the authority. Five voting members			
15		is a d	quorum at any meeting.			
16	6.	The	authority may not forward a recommendation to the commission unless the			
17		reco	mmendation fulfills the purposes of this chapter and is approved by a majority of			
18		the v	roting members of the authority.			
19	SEC	TION	2. TRANSFER - STRATEGIC INVESTMENT AND IMPROVEMENTS FUND -			
20	CLEAN	SUST	AINABLE ENERGY GRANTS AND LOANS. During the biennium beginning			
21	July 1, 2	2025, a	and ending June 30, 2027, the office of management and budget shall transfer the			
22	sum of \$130,000,000 \$55,000,000 from the strategic investment and improvements fund to the					
23	clean sustainable energy fund, as follows:					
24	1.	<del>\$30,</del>	<del>000,000</del> \$15,000,000 for grants; and			
25	2.	\$100	0.000.000\$40.000.000 to repay a line of credit and to provide funding for loans.			

25.0563.02001