SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTIONS

SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 1 (Introduced by Senator Vendsel)

SENATOR REINHART KRENZ

A memorial resolution in honor of former Senator Reinhart Krenz.

Whereas, Almighty God in His infinite wisdom has called from our midst a former colleague and legislator; and

Whereas, former Senator Reinhart Krenz served as a member of this Senate in the 1945, 1947, 1949, 1951, 1953 and 1955 sessions and due to failing health has declined nomination as a candidate for the Senate this past year; and

Whereas, his dedication to our form of government and his ability to consider legislation on the basis of its merits rather than on the basis of party lines made him truly a great American; and

Whereas, he contributed greatly to the furtherance of our democratic process; and

Whereas, he was a devoted husband and father and respected by all the people of the 43rd legislative district, his untimely passing is not only a great personal loss to his family but to the people of the 43rd legislative district;

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved By The Senate Of The Thirty-fifth Legislative Assembly Of The State Of North Dakota, Assembled This 29th Day Of January 1957:

That we do hereby express and extend to the family of former Senator Reinhart Krenz our deep sympathy and condolence in this hour of sorrow; and

Be It Further Resolved, that an enrolled copy of this resolution be forwarded to Mrs. Reinhart Krenz and family, Sherwood, North Dakota, immediately by special delivery mail.

Filed January 29, 1957.

SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 2 (Introduced by Senate Memorial Resolutions Committee)

MEMORIAL TO DECEASED MEMBERS OF THE SENATE

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of the state of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, since the adjournment of the thirty-fourth legislative assembly, God in His wisdom has seen fit to summon to eternal rest His servants and our former colleagues:

Carroll Day, who served in the twenty-eighth to the thirty-fourth legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the sixth legislative district, died March 3, 1956.

C. W. Fine, who served in the nineteenth session of the legislative assembly in the house of representatives and who, subsequently, served as a member of the senate in the twentieth to the twenty-fifth legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the twentieth legislative district, died March 20, 1956.

Edward Greene, who served in the twenty-fourth and twenty-fifth legislative assemblies, from the eighteenth legislative district, died June 21, 1956.

J. J. Kehoe, who served in the twenty-seventh, twenty-eighth, and twenty-ninth legislative assemblies, from the twenty-second legislative district, died December 10, 1956.

Reinhart Krenz, who served in the twenty-ninth to the thirty-fourth legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the forty-third legislative district, died January 29, 1957.

Robert S. Lewis, who served in the seventh and eighth legislative assemblies from the ninth legislative district, and who, subsequently was elected and served as lieutenant governor of the state of North Dakota during the years 1907, 1908, 1909 and 1910, died May 23, 1956.

Nels Magnuson, who served in the fifteenth, sixteenth and seventeenth sessions of the legislative assemblies in the house of representatives, and who, subsequently, served as a member of the senate in the eighteenth to the twenty-third legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the twenty-eighth legislative district, died October, 1955.

Simon Stewart McDonald, who served in the twenty-third and twenty-fourth legislative assemblies, from the twenty-seventh legislative district, died May 24, 1956.

William Patten, who served in the seventeenth to the twenty-third legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the forty-fourth legislative district, died January 5, 1957.

R. M. Streibel, who served in the twenty-fifth to the thirty-fourth legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the thirty-third legislative district, died August 19, 1956.

Arthur Trovatten, who served in the twenty-third and twenty-fourth legislative assemblies, from the third legislative district, died September 2, 1954.

Whereas, today, we as members of the senate of the thirty-fifth legislative assembly of the state of North Dakota, pause to mourn the passing of our former colleagues and to honor their memories; and

Whereas, these men rendered outstanding service to the people of this state by their contribution to their fellow men and their communities:

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved, By The Senate Of The Thirty-fifth Legislative Assembly Of The State Of North Dakota:

That we express our keen sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of these, our former colleagues.

Be It Further Resolved, that for the perpetuation of their memory, this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and that duly enrolled copies of this resolution be presented by the secretary of state to the surviving families of these deceased senators.

Filed February 26, 1957.