CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS, DISAPPROVED

CHAPTER 619

LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION COMMISSION

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 7, chapter 590, 1969 Session Laws, proposed by the Forty-first Legislative Assembly of the state of North Dakota for an amendment to section 45 of the Constitution of the state of North Dakota, providing for creation of a Legislative Compensation Commission to establish compensation for members of the Legislative Assembly.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT.) Section 45 of the Constitution of the state of North Dakota is hereby amended and reenacted to read as follows:

Section 45. There is hereby established a Legislative Compensation Commission to establish salaries and expense allowances for the members of the Legislative Assembly.

The Compensation Commission shall consist of five members appointed by the governor for terms, and with powers, duties, and functions as prescribed by law.

Disapproved November 3, 1970.

82,145 to 99,402

NOTE: This was constitutional measure No. 1 on the general election ballot.

CHAPTER 620

REMOVAL OF TERM LIMITATION ON STATE TREASURER

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 24, chapter 593, 1969 Session Laws, proposed by the Forty-first Legislative Assembly of the state of North Dakota, to provide for the amendment of section 82 of the Constitution of the state of North Dakota, relating to removal of the limitation of the number of terms which may be served by the State Treasurer.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT.) Section 82 of the Constitution of the state of North Dakota is hereby amended and reenacted to read as follows:

Section 82. There shall be chosen by the qualified electors of the state at the times and places of choosing members of the legislative assembly, a secretary of state, auditor, treasurer, superintendent of public instruction, commissioner of insurance, an attorney general, a commission of agriculture and labor, and a tax commissioner, who shall have attained the age of twenty-five years and shall have the qualifications of state electors. They shall severally hold their offices at the seat of government for the term of four years, and until their successors are elected and duly qualified.

The tax commissioner shall be elected on a no-party ballot and he shall be nominated and elected in the manner now provided for the nomination and election of the superintendent of public instruction.

The board of railroad commissioners shall hereafter be known as the public service commission and the members of the board of railroad commissioners as public service commissioners and the powers and duties now or hereafter granted to and conferred upon the board of railroad commissioners are hereby transferred to the public service commission. The public service commissioners shall have the qualifications of state electors, have attained the age of twenty-five years, be chosen by the qualified electors of the state at the times and places of choosing members of the legislative assembly, hold office at the seat of government and until their successors are elected and duly qualified. As each of the three public service commissioners now holding office completes his term, his successor shall be elected for a term of six years.

The legislative assembly may by law provide for a department of labor, which, if provided for, shall be separate and distinct from the department of agriculture, and shall be administered by a public official who may be either elected or appointed, whichever the legislative assembly shall declare; and if such a department is established the commissioner of agriculture and labor provided for above shall become the commissioner of agriculture.

Disapproved November 3, 1970. NOTE: This was constitutional measure No. 2 on the general election ballot.

85,763 to 96,712