Revised 6/4/99

NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

BUDGET SECTION

Wednesday, June 9, 1999 Senate Chamber, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of the December 10-11, 1998, meeting Review by the Legislative Council staff of the Legislative Council rules of operation 9:10 a.m. and procedure 9:20 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Office of Management and Budget on the status of the state general fund 10:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. David Sprynczynatyk, State Engineer, State Water Commission, on the status of the statewide water development program, the state water management plan, and the issuance of bonds for flood control projects, the Southwest Pipeline Project, a Devils Lake outlet, and projects included in the statewide water development program Presentation by Mr. John O'Leary, Executive Director, Office of Urban Development, 10:30 a.m. Grand Forks, of a request for approval of a proposed future purchase agreement for the Corporate Center in Grand Forks 11:00 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff on the duties and responsibilities of the Budget Section for the 1999-2001 biennium 11:15 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the following reports: • 1999-2001 biennium report on appropriations and estimated revenues 1999-2001 biennium analysis of legislative changes to the executive budget • (including supplemental and statistical information regarding state appropriations) 12:00 noon Luncheon recess Presentations by representatives of the Industrial Commission and the Indian Affairs 1:00 p.m. Commission on Housing Finance Agency home mortgage finance programs available within Indian reservations in this state Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of background information on the 1:30 p.m. implementation of a grant preapproval process for every state agency Consideration of the following requests that have been authorized by the Emergency 2:00 p.m. Commission and require Budget Section approval: • Office of Intergovernmental Assistance (Request #1213) - To increase federal funds spending authority and the grants line item by \$2 million for the low-income home energy assistance program (\$1 million) and the weatherization assistance program (\$1 million)
 - **Public Service Commission (Request #1215)** To increase federal funds spending authority and the operating expenses line item by \$35,000 for

contracted services to eliminate safety hazards at an abandoned underground mine

- State Radio Communications (Request #1217) To transfer \$204,891 to the operating expenses line item from equipment (\$158,891) and salaries and wages (\$46,000) for expenses relating to the mobile data terminal project
- **Bismarck State College (Request #1219)** To increase other funds spending authority by \$60,000 of excess tuition income for salaries and wages (\$40,000) and operating expenses (\$20,000) (Request was approved by the Emergency Commission subject to approval by the State Board of Higher Education.)
- Parks and Recreation Department (Request #1220) To increase federal funds spending authority and the natural resources line item by \$250,000 for improvements of the On-A-Slant Mandan Indian Village at Fort Lincoln State Park
- Job Service North Dakota (Request #1221) To increase the other funds spending authority and the new jobs program line item by \$12,900 of additional administrative revenue relating to the new jobs program
- Job Service North Dakota (Request #1222) To increase federal funds spending authority and the grants line item by \$404,000 for providing classroom training, relocation, and job search assistance for trade-affected North Dakota workers
- Game and Fish Department (Request #1225) To increase federal funds spending authority and the Lonetree Reservoir line item by \$65,000 for the operation and management of the Lonetree area
- 4:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of correspondence from ethanol plants receiving production incentives from the state
- 4:05 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 4:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

- Representatives Jack Dalrymple (Chairman), Ole Aarsvold, LeRoy G. Bernstein, James Boehm, Merle Boucher, Rex R. Byerly, Ron Carlisle, Al Carlson, Jeff Delzer, John Dorso, Pam Gulleson, Serenus Hoffner, Robert Huether, James Kerzman, Edward Lloyd, David Monson, Ronald Nichols, Jim Poolman, Ken Svedjan, Mike Timm, Ben Tollefson, Francis J. Wald, Janet Wentz
- Senators John Andrist, Bill L. Bowman, Tony Grindberg, Joel C. Heitkamp, Ray Holmberg, Aaron Krauter, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Pete Naaden, Gary J. Nelson, David E. Nething, Larry J. Robinson, Ken Solberg, Rod St. Aubyn, Harvey D. Tallackson, Steve Tomac