### NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## Tentative Agenda

#### COMMERCE COMMITTEE

Monday and Tuesday, August 11-12, 2003 Dr. Jerry C. Olson Auditorium, Skills and Technology Training Center, Fargo, North Dakota Room 211, Rural Technology Center, Grand Forks, North Dakota

## Monday, August 11, 2003 - Dr. Jerry C. Olson Auditorium, Skills and Technology Training Center, 1305 19th Avenue North, Fargo

Call to order 9:00 a.m. Roll call Consideration of minutes of July 1, 2003, meeting 9:05 a.m. Comments by Chairman Keiser 9:15 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the committee's study of the state's unemployment compensation system, including reserve guidelines for the unemployment trust fund, the system for

> ratesetting, treatment of positive balance and negative balance employers, and the feasibility and desirability of creating an unemployment compensation board

9:30 a.m. Comments by Senator Tony S. Grindberg regarding centers of excellence

9:45 a.m. Presentation by Mr. John Graham, Job Service North Dakota, regarding the

unemployment insurance tax and unemployment trust fund

10:15 a.m. Coffee break

10:30 a.m. Committee discussion and comments by interested persons

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Committee discussion and comments by interested persons

3:00 p.m. Recess

## Tuesday, August 12, 2003 - Room 211, Rural Technology Center, 4300 Dartmouth Drive, **Grand Forks**

9:00 a.m. Comments by Chairman Keiser

9:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Bruce Gjovig, University of North Dakota Center for Innovation,

regarding centers of excellence

9:45 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the University of North Dakota career services

regarding student internships

Presentation by Mr. John Graham, Job Service North Dakota, regarding the 10:00 a.m.

unemployment insurance tax and unemployment trust fund

10:35 a.m. Coffee break

Committee discussion and comments by interested persons 10:50 a.m.

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Committee discussion and comments by interested persons 2:30 p.m. Staff directives and other administrative matters

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

# **Committee Members**

Representatives George Keiser (Chairman), Mark A. Dosch, Mary Ekstrom, Pat Galvin, Eliot Glassheim, Ron Iverson, Kim Koppelman, Dan J. Ruby, Arlo E. Schmidt, Dale C. Severson Senators Dick Dever, April Fairfield, Tim Flakoll, Karen K. Krebsbach