NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Minutes of the

NORTH DAKOTA COMMISSION ON UNIFORM STATE LAWS

National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws Tuesday, July 22, 2018 Mezzanine Ballroom, Seelbach Hilton Louisville, Kentucky

Commissioner Lawrence R. Klemin, Vice Chairman, called the meeting to order at 7:40 a.m.

Members present: Jay E. Buringrud, Jennifer S. N. Clark, Parrell Grossman, Gail H. Hagerty, Lawrence R. Klemin, Bradley Myers, David Nething, Jake Rodenbiker, Jerod E. Tufte, Candace Zierdt

Member absent: David Hogue and Owen L. Anderson

It was moved by Commissioner Hagerty, seconded by Commissioner Nething, and carried on a voice vote to approve as distributed the minutes of the July 15, 2017, meeting of the North Dakota Commission on Uniform State Laws.

Commissioner Clark said North Dakota Century Code Section 54-55-03 provides the offices of Chairman and Secretary are 2-year terms, that traditionally expire at the commission's annual meeting during odd-numbered years. She said typically there would not be a need to elect offices at this year's annual meeting; however, with the death of Commissioner William E. Kretschmar, the position of Chairman is open.

It was moved by Commissioner Nething, seconded by Commissioner Grossman, and carried by unanimous voice vote that Commissioner Klemin be elected Chairman of the Commission.

The commission discussed the proposed *Legislative Plans for 2019*, reviewed the commission's target acts, targets to complete, and new acts, and discussed any additional acts the commission may wish to include in its plan. The commission formulated and submitted a plan to the Uniform Law Commission (<u>Appendix</u>).

Chairman Klemin will present the commission's 2019 legislative plan to the Legislative Management's interim Judiciary Committee on August 7, 2018.

The commission reviewed its 2017-19 biennium budget, noting the annual dues to the commission were funded at 90 percent for 2017 and 2018. The commission noted \$28,720.55 of the budget remains for reimbursement for attendance at the 2018 annual meeting and for any reimbursement for the 2019 annual meeting which is submitted during the 2017-19 biennium.

Chairman Klemin will honor former Commissioner Kretschmar at the annual meeting memorial on July 23, 2018.

No further business appearing, Chairman Klemin adjourned the meeting at 8:15 a.m.

Jennifer S. N. Clark Secretary

ATTACH:1