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Senator Connie Triplett - District 18 - Introduces the bill -This bill is to correct a problem that 

was inadvertently created when the law was revised a couple sessions ago by removing some 

of the testing requirements and the problem is that ND lost reciprocity with a number of states 

regarding concealed weapons permits. This bill is intended to fix the problem by providing an 

• alternate test mechanism so those people who want only to have a concealed weapons permit 

to use only within ND wouldn't have to do anything different but someone who wants 

reciprocity with as many states as possible could use the alternate testing method. 

Senator Nething -Asks how does this relate alternative license relate to reciprocity. 

Triplett - She said some states won't give reciprocity unless there is this kind of testing. 

Senator Nething - Asks if she knows of any other states has this type of dual licensing. 

Triplett - Not that she is aware of. 

Senator Fiebiger -Asks how many people would be affected by this. 

Triplett - She does not know. 

Senator Lyson - Asks if we have to have a bill so that other states can come here and ask to 

apply for a license before we get reciprocity with that state. Is that what this bill is for? 
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- Triplett- No, this is for people who live in ND but want their concealed weapons permit to be 

given reciprocity when they are out in the world traveling. To benefit ND. 

Senator Lyson - The bill says the rule must apply to residents of another state to apply for a 

license in this state. 

Triplett - Yes it goes both ways, her intention is for the benefit it gives ND residents. 

Senator Lyson - Doesn't like the way the bill is worded. 

Senator Olafson - How many other states do we have reciprocity with? 

Triplett - Some will answer that question. 

Senator Nething - Would like a couple of examples of who would carry a concealed weapon 

in another state. 

Triplett - People who travel in RV's. 

- Senator Schneider - Asks what kind of testing is it in order to have reciprocity. 

Triplett - Responds, pretty basic, like knowing which end of the gun the bullet comes out of. 

Representative Todd Porter - District 34 -Talks about how we lost reciprocity with a few 

states. Our residents are taking the Utah test because it has more reciprocity than the ND 

license. He says we probably won't ever have reciprocity with Minnesota because of their 
' 

requirements of 24/7 information being made available to their law enforcement community. 

We don't have those capabilities yet, plus they have pretty much locked down their state and 

said they aren't going to have reciprocity with anyone else. So those living on the border have 

to go to MN and take the test. They also have the option of taking the Utah test and Utah does 

have MN reciprocity. There is 24 states that ND has reciprocity with and 25 that we don't. 

Senator Nelson - Asks how the Utah license works . 

• Porter - Explains there is Minnesota requirement that we cannot meet. 
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• Senator Lyson - Explains why the written test was canceled and the shooting test meant 

nothing. If we make a new plan who is going to make these things and what is ii going to look 

like. 

Porter - Said 4 years ago when they changed the practical test and took ii out ii did not have a 

$230,000 positive fiscal note back to the state. He is interested to see why it is needed. In the 

development of this test, the written test and the shooting test, the attorney general has to 

develop it in a manner that would increase the number of states that would recognize that as a 

valid test and increase our reciprocity with those states. It shouldn't go back to an open book 

test or a 7 yard shooting test because there are states that say that is not enough. 

Senator Lyson - Asks if would be better off throwing this out and come up with a better plan 

to say that people who want a permit just for the Brady Bill, have one for people who just want 

• to carry one in their vehicle, and another for those that want to carry it on their person. His 

worry is that the tests are not working. 

Porter - Thinks this does that, the basic conceal and carry cover under tier one. Tier two test 

would be a written and practical test that still gives you the NCIC information but would be a 

higher standard to achieve and to allow you to get reciprocity in other states. 

Senator Schneider - Asks if there is any merit in adopting Utah's standards. 

Porter - Said that would probably be the first place the attorney general looks at to see what 

the standard is. 

Senator Fiebiger - Asks how many people possess a license in ND. 

Porter - Responds a little over 10,000. 

Senator Fiebiger - About changing the time license is valid, changing from 3 years to 10 

years. 

He wonders why the change. 
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Porter - The thought was if someone does something that would require them to turn it in they 

under the responsibility as a permit holder to turn it back in if they have been convicted of a 

revocation type crime. Attorney General's office says that is too long and they will talk about 

that. 

Jerry Kemmet- ND BCI - Neutral - He would like to point out a couple things to consider. 

One is the tenure. The other is the bill says out of state people can appeal to district court and 

you should consider making that ND district court. He said they would lose revenue if it were 

extended to 10 years. They have 10,300 permit holders, 9,776 are ND resident and 614 are 

out of state residents holding permits. He said the problem with Minnesota is that they require 

40 hours in classroom instruction and a proficiency test. 

Senator Lyson - Asks what the proficiency test is in Mn. 

- Kemmet- Believes it is 16 hours of using the weapon, not sure. 

Kathy Roll - Attorney General's office - will provide a 5 year fiscal note. 

Close the hearing on 2415 

• 
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Committee work 

Senator Lyson - He talked with the Attorney General's office and at this point they do not think 

we should make any additions to it. What worries him is a little bit of the wording; it is very 

broad and gives the attorney general a lot of authority. Real strong regulations is what should 

be done. 

Senator Nething - Asked if we still want a study on this. 

Senator Lyson - He thought a study would be good but has decided to work on it till next 

session. 

Senator Olafson - Points out that we were going to change the 10 years to 5 years. 

Senator Lyson - moves the motion do pass on the amendments 

Senator Olafson - seconds 

Verbal vote - all yea on amendments 

Senator Lyson moves do pass as amended 

Senator Olafson seconds 

Discussion - This will be re-referred to appropriations. This should strengthen what we have. 

No matter what we do it will be an improvement on what we have. 
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• Senator Nelson asks about a renewal permit. Will those people have to go through training? 

• 

Senator Lyson - Said a renewal is the same as a regular, they can deny anybody. He is not 

sure they could do this without us putting it there. In the existing law the procedure is the 

same for getting the renewal. 

Vote-6-0 

Senator Lyson will carry 



FISCAL NOTE 
Requested by Legislative Council 

03/19/2009 

• Amendment to: Reen grossed 
SB 2415 

• 

1 A. State fiscal effect: Identify the state fiscal effect and the fiscal effect on agency appropriations compared to 
~ d. I I d d un mo eves an annroonat,ons ant,cioated un er current Jaw. 

2007-2009 Biennium 2009-2011 Biennium 2011-2013 Biennium 
General Other Funds General Other Funds General Other Funds 

Fund Fund Fund 
Revenues $( $( ($82,764 $340,95! ($82,764 $170,478 

Expenditures $( $( $ $246,20! $ $238,447 

Appropriations $( $( $ $246,20! $ $238,447 

1B. Countv, citv, and school district fiscal effect: /dentifv the fiscal effect on the annrooriate oolitica/ subdivision. 
2007-2009 Biennium 2009-2011 Biennium 2011-2013 Biennium 

School School School 
Counties Cities Districts Counties Cities Districts Counties Cities Districts 

2A. Bill and fiscal impact summary: Provide a brief summary of the measure, including description of the 
provisions having fiscal impact (limited to 300 characters). 

The amendment adds a new concealed weapons permit class which requires training and proficiency testing to obtain 
reciprocity with as many states as possible. The amendment increases the permit fee from $25 to $45 to provide 
self-funding for its implementation . 

B. Fiscal impact sections: Identify and provide a brief description of the sections of the measure which 
have fiscal impact. Include any assumptions and comments relevant to the analysis. 

r Subsection 4 of Section 1 changes the permit fee cost to self-fund the program. It also eliminates the $10 portion of 
the $25 fee which is currently deposited in the general fund. 

• 

3. State fiscal effect detail: For information shown under state fiscal effect in 1A, please: 
A. Revenues: Explain the revenue amounts. Provide detail, when appropriate, for each revenue type and 

fund affected and any amounts included in the executive budget. 

The amendment results in an increase in the special fund estimated permit revenues to $340,956 in the 2009-11 
biennium and a reduction in general fund revenue of ($82,764). 

B. Expenditures: Explain the expenditure amounts. Provide detail, when appropriate, for each agency, line 
item, and fund affected and the number of FTE positions affected. 

Each class permit license will have different requirements for approval, and the class I system will require the office to: 

Develop administrative rules, 
Develop training/testing programs, 
Analyze and certify individuals to provide classroom and proficiency training, 
Process the applications, 
Remain current on all state permit system requirements in order to keep the requirements for the alternate permit 
accurate, and 
Require staff to testify in district regarding permit denials. 

This work will require an additional .5 concealed weapon permit administrator FTE and associated expenses. 

C. Appropriations: Explain the appropriation amounts. Provide detail, when appropriate, for each agency 



and fund affected. Explain the relationship between the amounts shown for expenditures and 
appropriations. Indicate whether the appropriation is also included in the executive budget or relates to a 
continuing appropriation . 

• The Executive Recommendation for appropriations and revenues antipated no change in estimated revenues or 
expenditures from current law. 

Name: Kathy Roll gency: Office of Attorney General 
Phone Number: 328-3622 03/19/2009 

• 

• 
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Amendment to: Engrossed 
SB 2415 

FISCAL NOTE 
Requested by Legislative Council 

02/18/2009 

1 A. State fiscal effect: Identify the state fiscal effect and the fiscal effect on agency appropriations compared to 
~ d. I I d . f d d t I un ma eves an annroona ions ant,clfJate un er curren aw. 

2007-2009 Biennium 2009-2011 Biennium 2011-2013 Biennium 
General Other Funds General Other Funds General Other Funds 

Fund Fund Fund 
Revenues $( $0 ($72,896 ($108,647 ($56,600 ($67,464) 

Expenditures $( $0 $230,70€ ($59,500 $163,27! ($5,903) 

Appropriations $( $0 $230,701 ($59,500 $163,27! ($5,903) 

18, County, city, and school district fiscal effect: ldentifv the fiscal effect on the annropriate political subdivision. 
2007-2009 Biennium 2009-2011 Biennium 2011-2013 Biennium 

School School School 
Counties Cities Districts Counties Cities Districts Counties Cities Districts 

2A. Bill and fiscal impact summary: Provide a brief summary of the measure, including description of the 
provisions having fiscal impact (limited to 300 characters). 

This bill adds a new concealed weapons permit category which requires training and testing to obtain the permit. The 
amendment changes the current permit holder renewal period from 10 to 5 years and changes the alternative permit 
renewal period from 3 to 5 years. 

B. Fiscal impact sections: Identify and provide a brief description of the sections of the measure which 
have fiscal impact. Include any assumptions and comments relevant to the analysis. 

Subsection 9 of Section 1 provides for an alternative license which will be renewed every 5 years. In addition, current 
permit renewals will be changed from every 3 to every 5 years, resulting in general fund and special funds revenues 
reductions. 

3. State fiscal effect detail: For information shown under state fiscal effect in 1A, please: 
A. Revenues: Explain the revenue amounts. Provide detail, when appropriate, for each revenue type and 

fund affected and any amounts included in the executive budget. 

The reflected revenue estimates 95% of current concealed weapon permits holders will retain their concealed 
weapons permits at the current level, resulting in a loss in general fund and special funds revenues. An estimated 5% 
of current concealed weapon permit holders will choose to go through the training and testing. 

The amendment results in an increase in the estimated permit revenues in the 2011-13 biennium, reducing the 
general fund revenue loss of ($91,040) to ($56,600) and reducing the special funds revenue loss of ($119,124) to_ 
($67,464), 

B. Expenditures: Explain the expenditure amounts. Provide detail, when appropriate, for each agency, line 
item, and fund affected and the number of FTE positions affected. 

With the loss of special funds revenue the current concealed weapons permit administrator position and related 
expenses will need to be funded from the general fund. Each system will have different requirements for approval, 
and the alternate system will require the agency to develop administrative rules, research all states' permit 
requirements, determine what is required for reciprocity, develop training/testing programs to incorporate as many 
states as possible, process the applications, and remain current on all state permit system requirements in order to 
keep the requirements for the alternate permit accurate. It will also require staff to travel to any district court to testify 
regarding permit denials. This work will require an additional .5 concealed weapon permit administrator FTE. 



I 

' 

The special fund expenditure and appropriation amounts for the 2011-13 biennium are reduced since the amendment 
provides for current permit holder renewals every 5 rather than every 10 years. The National Instant Check System 
check is good for 5 years. 

C. Appropriations: Explain the appropriation amounts. Provide detail, when appropriate, for each agency 
and fund affected. Explain the relationship between the amounts shown for expenditures and 
appropriations. Indicate whether the appropriation is also included in the executive budget or relates to a 
continuing appropriation. 

The Executive Recommendation for appropriations and revenues antipated no change in estimated revenues or 
expenditures from current law. 

Name: Kathy Roll gency: Office of Attorney General 
Phone Number: 328-3622 02/18/2009 



Amendment to: SB 2415 

FISCAL NOTE 
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02/06/2009 

• 1 A. State fiscal effect: Identify the state fiscal effect and the fiscal effect on agency appropriations compared to 
fundina levels and annrooriations anticioated under current law. 

• 

• 

2007-2009 Biennium 2009-2011 Biennium 2011-2013 Biennium 
General Other Funds General Other Funds General Other Funds 

Fund Fund Fund 
Revenues $C $( ($72,896 ($108,647 ($56,600 ($67,464) 

Expenditures $( $( $230,70€ ($59,500 $163,27! ($5,903) 

Appropriations $( $( $230,70€ ($59,500 $163,27! ($5,903) 

18. Coun+>•, citv, and school district fiscal effect: ldentifv the fiscal effect on the annrooriate oolitical subdivision. 
2007-2009 Biennium 2009-2011 Biennium 2011-2013 Biennium 

School School School 
Counties Cities Districts Counties Cities Districts Counties Cities Districts 

2A. Bill and fiscal impact summary: Provide a brief summary of the measure, including description of the 
provisions having fiscal impact (limited to 300 characters). 

This bill adds a new concealed weapons permit category which requires training and testing to obtain the permit. The 
amendment changes the current permit holder renewal period from 1 Oto 5 years and changes the alternative permit 
renewal period from 3 to 5 years. 

B. Fiscal impact sections: Identify and provide a brief description of the sections of the measure which 
have fiscal impact. Include any assumptions and comments relevant to the analysis . 

Subsection 9 of Section 1 provides for an alternative license which will be renewed every 5 years. In addition, current 
permit renewals will be changed from every 3 to every 5 years, resulting in general fund and special funds revenues 
reductions. 

3. State fiscal effect detail: For information shown under state fiscal effect in 1 A, please: 
A. Revenues: Explain the revenue amounts. Provide detail, when appropriate, for each revenue type and 

fund affected and any amounts included in the executive budget. 

The reflected revenue estimates 95% of current concealed weapon permits holders will retain their concealed 
weapons permits at the current level, resulting in a loss in general fund and special funds revenues. An estimated 5% 
of current concealed weapon permit holders will choose to go through the training and testing. 

The amendment results in an increase in the estimated permit revenues in the 2011-13 biennium, reducing the 
general fund revenue loss of ($91,040) to ($56,600) and reducing the special funds revenue loss of ($119,124) to 
($67,464). 

B. Expenditures: Explain the expenditure amounts. Provide detail, when appropriate, for each agency, line 
item, and fund affected and the number of FTE positions affected. 

With the loss of special funds revenue the current concealed weapons permit administrator position and related 
expenses will need to be funded from the general fund. Each system will have different requirements for approval, 
and the alternate system will require the agency to develop administrative rules, research all states' permit 
requirements, determine what is required for reciprocity, develop training/testing programs to incorporate as many 
states as possible, process the applications, and remain current on all state permit system requirements in order to 
keep the requirements for the alternate permit accurate. It will also require staff to travel to any district court to testify 
regarding permit denials. This work will require an additional .5 concealed weapon permit administrator FTE. 

The special fund expenditure and appropriation amounts for the 2011-13 biennium are reduced since the amendment 



• 

• 

• 

provides for current permit holder renewals every 5 rather than every 10 years. The National Instant Check System 
check is good for 5 years. 

C. Appropriations: Explain the appropriation amounts. Provide detail, when appropriate, for each agency 
and fund affected. Explain the relationship between the amounts shown for expenditures and 
appropriations. Indicate whether the appropriation is also included in the executive budget or relates to a 
continuing appropriation. 

The Executive Recommendation for appropriations and revenues antipated no change in estimated revenues or 
expenditures from current law. 

Name: Kathy Roll gency: Office of Attorne General 
Phone Number: 328-3622 Date Prepared: 02109/2009 
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Bill/Resolution No.: SB 2415 

FISCAL NOTE 
Requested by Legislative Council 

01/27/2009 

1 A. State flscal effect: Identify the state fiscal effect and the fiscal effect on agency appropriations compared to 
fundina levels and annronriations anticinated under current law. 

2007-2009 Biennium 2009-2011 Biennium 2011-2013 Biennium 
General Other Funds General Other Funds General Other Funds 

Fund Fund Fund 
Revenues $( $( ($72,896 ($108,647 ($91,040 ($119,124) 

Expenditures $( $( $230,?0E ($59,500 $216,19€ ($59,500) 

Appropriations $( $( $230,?0E ($59,500 $216,19 ($59,500) 

18. Countv, citv, and school district fiscal effect: ldentifv the fiscal effect on the annronriate nolitical subdivision. 
2007-2009 Biennium 2009-2011 Biennium 2011-2013 Biennium 

School School School 
Counties Cities Districts Counties Cities Districts Counties Cities Districts 

2A. Bill and fiscal impact summary: Provide a brief summary of the measure, including description of the 
provisions having fiscal impact (limited to 300 characters). 

This bill adds a new concealed weapons permit category which requires training and testing to obtain the permit. It 
also changes the permit renewal period for current permit holders from every 3 to every 10 years. 

B. Fiscal impact sections: Identify and provide a brief description of the sections of the measure which 
have fiscal impact. Include any assumptions and comments relevant to the analysis . 

Subsection 9 of Section 1 provides for an alternative license which will be renewed every 3 years. In addition, current 
permit renewals will be changed from every 3 to every 10 years, resulting in general fund and special funds revenues 
decreases. 

3. State fiscal effect detail: For information shown under state fiscal effect in 1A, please: 
A. Revenues: Explain the revenue amounts. Provide detail, when appropriate, for each revenue type and 

fund affected and any amounts included in the executive budget. 

The reflected revenue estimates 95% of current concealed weapon permits holders will retain their concealed 
weapons permits at the current level, resulting in a loss in general fund and special funds revenues. An estimated 5% 
of current concealed weapon permit holders will choose to go through the training and testing. 

B. Expenditures: Explain the expenditure amounts. Provide detail, when appropriate, for each agency, line 
item, and fund affected and the number of FTE positions affected. 

With the loss of special funds revenue the current concealed weapons permit administrator position and related 
expenses will need to be funded from the general fund. Each system will have different requirements for approval, 
and the alternate system will require the agency to develop administrative rules, research all states' permit 
requirements, determine what is required for reciprocity, develop training/testing programs to incorporate as many 
states as possible, process the applications, and remain current on all state permit system requirements in order to 
keep the requirements for the alternate permit accurate. It will also require staff to travel to any district court to testify 
regarding permit denials. This work will require an additional .5 concealed weapon permit administrator FTE. 

C. Appropriations: Explain the appropriation amounts. Provide detail, when appropriate, for each agency 
and fund affected. Explain the relationship between the amounts shown for expenditures and 
appropriations. Indicate whether the appropriation is also included in the executive budget or relates to a 
continuing appropriation. 



• 

The Executive Recommendation for appropriations and revenues incorporated no change in estimated revenues or 
expenditures from current law. 

Name: Kathy Roll gency: Office of Attorney General 
Phone Number: 328-3622 01/30/2009 
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Roll Call Vote #: / 

2009 SENATE STANDING COMMITTEE ROLL CALL VOTES 2///,s' 
BILL/RESOLUTION NO. 

Senate JUDICIARY _ __;:.=c;..c;.=-'-'------------------- Committee 

0 Check here for Conference Committee 

Legislative Council Amendment Number 

Action Taken O Do Pass O Do Not Pass rl!Amended 

Motion Made By ~"'71...-- Seconded By 

Senators Yes No Senators Yes No 

Sen. Dave Nethina - Chairman Sen. Tom Flebiaer 

Sen. Curtis Olafson - V. Chair. Sen. Carolvn Nelson 

Sen. Stanlev W. Lvson Sen. Mac Schneider 

Total 

Absent 

(Yes) __________ (N) ____________ _ 

Floor Assignment 

If the vote is on an amendment, briefly indicate intent: 
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If the vote is on an amendment, briefly indicate intent: 
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REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEE (410) 
February 5, 2009 1 :12 p.m. 

Module No: SR-23-1782 
Carrier: Lyson 

Insert LC: 90771.0101 Title: .0200 

REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEE 
SB 2415: Judiciary Committee (Sen. Nethlng, Chairman) recommends AMENDMENTS 

AS FOLLOWS and when so amended, recommends DO PASS and BE 
REREFERRED to the Appropriations Committee (6 YEAS, 0 NAYS, 0 ABSENT AND 
NOT VOTING). SB 2415 was placed on the Sixth order on the calendar. 

Page 2, line 31, replace "ten" with "five" 

Page 3, line 25, replace "three" with "five" 

Renumber accordingly 

(2) DESK. (3) COMM Page No. 1 SR-23-1782 
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Bill/Resolution No. SB 2415 

Senate Appropriations Committee 

D Check here for Conference Committee 

Hearing Date: February 12, 2009 

Recorder Job Number: 9422 and 9424 

Committee Clerk Signature 

Minutes: 

Chairman Holmberg called the committee hearing to order at 10: 15 AM in regards to SB 2415 

relating to a reciprocal licensure to carry a firearm or dangerous weapon concealed. 

Chairman Holmberg: This bill sets up a process regarding reciprocal licenses. As you recall, 

the amendment to the bill reduced the authority of the Attorney General to do the initial 

/
1
.reciprocal agreement with other states, but then the power reverts back to the legislature. 

(Waiting for Sen. Triplett, District 18) 

Senator Christmann asked about the fiscal note. 

Kathy Roll, Attorney General Office The reason the fiscal not is there is because right now 

all concealed weapons permit holders are required to renew every three years. This would 

change those to every 5 years. 

V. Chair Bowman asked if there is a fee increase to cover costs and there would be none at 

this point. 

Chairman Holmberg closed hearing, but opened a few minutes later when Sen. Joe Miller. 

Chairman Holmberg: We have a bill dealing with reciprocal license to carry a firearm or 

dangerous weapon. The committee put together the amendments and these are the 

· -amendments that have the blessing of the committee. 
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Senator Joe Miller, District 16: The amendments simply make right what has already been 

said in law. What we did with the bill, we were trying to deal with the Attorney General's 

authorization to make necessary changes to an agreement of reciprocity with other states 

regarding concealed weapons laws. What we mistakenly did is give the Attorney General too 

much power, and we can't do that, so this amendment will correct that. 

Chairman Holmberg: At the end of that time, any further changes would revert back to the 

legislature. It's just that they're in the process of having to negotiate, and it's very difficult to 

negotiate through statute. So you gave him a window and then we have the opportunity, with 

these amendments, to have that power back. We will continue our hearing on 2415. Welcome 

to Senator Triplett. 

Senator Triplett, District 18, Grand Forks, I am the prime sponsor of the bill. The point of 

A the bill is to provide an alternate form of testing to get a concealed weapons permit to try to get 

Wback some of the reciprocity that was lost when the rule was changed a couple of sessions 

ago to remove some of the testing. There were a couple of states who used to give North 

Dakota reciprocity and then they decided not to give it because of the testing. That is the only 

point of it. That reciprocity for some people they want a concealed weapons permit for the 

ability to move around the state of North Dakota while carrying it. For other people it's an issue 

they want to give to carry concealed weapons while traveling across the country and so it is 

important to them to have reciprocity in as many states as possible. That was the point. After 

our committee passed this out, Senator Lysen prepared some policy amendments. I do not 

object to those. Reviewing his amendments one word on page 3, line 3, the word "alternative" 

is in there I am not sure that needs to be in there anymore. The fiscal note suggests there 

might be few applications for licensing. The state might take a little less in fees. 

-Senator Warner would you have an objection to us raising the fees? 
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Sen Tripplet, Not at all . You can do whatever you want with it. 

Chairman Holmberg closed the hearing on 2415. 

Job #9424 the record of a DO PASS AS AMENDED ON 02-12-09 

Chairman Holmberg reopened the hearing on SB 2415. 

Senator Wardner moved the amendments 0201. Seconded by V. Chair Bowman 

Chairman Holmberg stated those are the ones for Senator Lyson. He was told that is correct. 

All in favor of the amendments say aye. 

Further discussion followed regarding the budget, the rules regarding bearing of arms, and the 

statement was made the intention of the bill is to work together with other states. 

Senator Fischer moved Do Pass. Seconded by Senator Wardner Roll call was taken. 

13 yeas, 0 nays, 1 absent. Senator Lyson from Judiciary will carry the bill . 

• 



90771.02t/ 
Title. 6300 

Prepared by the Legislative Council staff for 
Senator Lyson 

February 9, 2009 

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO ENGROSSED SENATE BILL NO. 2415 

Page 1, line 2, after "concealed" insert "; and to provide application" 

Page 1, line 20, overstrike "The testing procedure for approval of a concealed weapons 
license" 

Page 1, overstrike lines 21 and 22 

Page 1, line 23, overstrike "decisions and attorney general opinions." 

Page 1 , line 24, overstrike "The attorney" 

Page 2, overstrike lines 1 and 2 

Page 2, line 3, overstrike "dollars for conducting this testing." 

Page 3, line 22, overstrike "may" and Insert immediately thereafter "shall" and overstrike "rules 
to carry out this title" and insert immediately thereafter "by rule written and practical 
training and testing for a license so that the license is offered reciprocity or is otherwise 
valid in as many states as possible• 

Page 3, remove lines 23 through 25 

Page 3, remove line 27 

Page 3, line 28, remove "apply to this subsection." and remove "testing, approval of license. 
and" 
- ,_,. · ,,. - r. f '' o- l '' f " • - A ii,+ \A,J\ ~ t° I If , 2.,.L i ~ $ t r ~ (AN\,t;.(' 

\.,o 
Page 3, line 29, remove the underscored comma 

Page 4, line 1, after the underscored period Insert: 

•~ After December 31. 2010, the attorney general may not change or adopt 
rules to Implement this section. but shall recommend legislation to the 
legislative assembly." 

Page 4, after line 3, insert: 

"SECTION 2. APPLICATION. A license issued before the effective date of this 
Act is valid until the license must be renewed or upon issuance of a license to a 
licensee under this Act." 

Renumber accordingly 

Page No. 1 90771.0201 
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REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEE (410) 
February 17, 2009 1 :43 p.m. 

Module No: SR-31-3113 
Carrier: Lyson 

Insert LC: 90771.0202 Tltle: .0300 

REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEE 
SB 2415, as engrossed: Appropriations Committee (Sen. Holmberg, Chairman) 

recommends AMENDMENTS AS FOLLOWS and when so amended, recommends 
DO PASS (13 YEAS, 0 NAYS, 1 ABSENT AND NOT VOTING). Engrossed SB 2415 
was placed on the Sixth order on the calendar. 

Page 1, line 2, after "concealed" insert "; and to provide application" 

Page 1, line 20, overstrike "The testing procedure for approval of a concealed weapons 
license" 

Page 1, overstrike lines 21 and 22 

Page 1, line 23, overstrike "decisions and attorney general opinions." 

Page 1, line 24, overstrike "The attorney" 

Page 2, overstrike lines 1 and 2 

Page 2, line 3, overstrike "dollars for conducting this testing." 

Page 3, line 22, overstrike "may" and insert immediately thereafter "shall" and overstrike "rules 
to carry out this title" and insert immediately thereafter "by rule written and practical 
training and testing for a license so that the license is offered reciprocity or is otherwise 
valid in as many states as possible" 

Page 3, remove lines 23 through 25 

Page 3, remove line 27 

Page 3, line 28, remove "apply to this subsection." and remove "testing. approval of license. 
and" 

Page 3, line 29, after the first "of" insert "f!." and remove the underscored comma 

Page 4, line 1, after the underscored period insert: 

"9. After December 31. 2010. the attorney general may not change or adopt 
rules to implement this section. but shall recommend legislation to the 
legislative assembly." 

Page 4, after line 3, insert: 

"SECTION 2. APPLICATION. A license issued before the effective date of this 
Act is valid until the license must be renewed or upon issuance of a license to a 
licensee under this Act." 

Renumber accordingly 

(2) DESK, (3) COMM Page No. 1 SR-31-3113 
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Minutes: 

Chairman DeKrey: We will open the hearing on SB 2415. 

Rep. Todd Porter: Sponsor, support. Explained the bill. Originally intended to put into place 

a two-tier system for concealed weapons permits. A few sessions ago, we took out the 

• shooting part of the test and made it a written test; so an individual had to go through the 

, background checks and take the written test. In that process we lost approx. six or seven 

states in the reciprocity. One of the lost states was Wyoming. Over the last couple of 

sessions, I've been looking and trying to work with the AG's office to come up with a method to 

have a license that would be recognized or enable more reciprocity. As many of you are 

aware of the Utah license which has a very large number of reciprocity with about 30 states, 

including MN. ND has never had reciprocity with MN. MT has 40 states that they have 

reciprocity with, including MN. We intend to create this second tier for those individuals who 

really want it; a concealed weapons permit that had a high level of reciprocity. There was an 

email that listed the amount of dollars that are actually flowing from ND and going to UT, 

because ND has reciprocity with UT and so ND residents won't have a ND concealed weapons 

- permit, they'll go and get a UT concealed weapons permit; spend the money, send the fee and 

be licensed in UT and have reciprocity in ND, but also have reciprocity with MN, WY and some 
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of the other states. The test in UT does not include a shooting test. It is not about the removal 

of the shooting test. There are different levels, there is a classroom component to the UT test 

and that's all it is. They require a written test with a classroom component, but there isn't a 

shooting component. So that isn't the problem. As we put this together, we did have quite a 

fiscal note on it, and we addressed that by removing the two tier system, because of concerns 

by the AG's office that the two tiered system would take more work. I don't know that has 

necessarily changed. I do know that we are continuing to work with the AG's office to try to 

hone this down to the point where we have something that will work for both tiers. The real 

reason for that single tier is that you can't go in and buy a gun without having the concealed 

weapons permit and take the test immediately. That's a big deal to a lot of North Dakotans. A 

lot of North Dakotans have that concealed weapons permit for that specific reason. If we 

• change it so that they don't have reciprocity and change it for those few that want to travel, 

then we are going to punish the ones that want it just for in-state use. I think we need to do 

just a little more work on it and we can come up with something that's going to work for 

everybody. 

Rep. Delmore: I understand what you're talking about. How many perceive the rules that 

work, are you attempting to model after UT laws. 

Rep. Porter: A couple of things I think as far as the rules go. I think that in this particular 

provision we need to be open to the fact that they don't need to bring them to the 

administrative rules committee, so we can get this done as soon as possible. I think the other 

thing is that they need the flexibility to implement whichever system is works for them. 

Personally, I would pick MT's standard for the second tier, because they have the ultimate in 

• reciprocity. You're never going to 50 states, but they have 40, UT has 30. I definitely think MT 

has done it right rather than UT. 
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Rep. Koppelman: If it was the removal of the shooting requirement that lost us reciprocity 

and yet you're saying that the other states that have reciprocity with these states that we lost 

reciprocity with, I don't understand that. 

Rep. Porter: That falls back to the classroom component. Those states have a classroom 

component which we've never had. We had an open book written test, a background check, 

fingerprints, and approval at the local level from the sheriff, chief of police or both, and then the 

shooting test. We've never had a classroom component. UT has a classroom component that 

consists of 4-8 hours (not sure which) of instruction. The instructor goes through basic 

firearms for that number of classroom hours and then they take a written test, and then you're 

licensed in UT. 

Rep. Koppelman: So apparently it is just the fact that they saw it as less stringent, not any 

• particular component being present or missing. 

Rep. Porter: Yes. I think there may have been a little bit of a misnomer out there that the 

instructor, or the person doing the test on the firing side was actually doing some kind of 

firearms training at the same time, which wasn't necessarily part of the test, but it's not to say 

that in some cases it was or wasn't happening. I think it was the educational component, not 

the shooting part that actually lost us those six states or so. 

Rep. Koppelman: I am sort of concerned and you can certainly respond. Rep. Delmore 

talked about just leaving it open so that the AG can adopt whatever he decides. I know we all 

have great confidence in the AG, but when we draft legislation you kind of wonder about that 

and I'm even more concerned when you say it's not going to go to administrative rules to look 

at it, but that is how legislative oversight happens, and something this important we would want 

- to look at it. If you're worried about the time concerns, we have tightened up the rule-making 
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procedures and lessened the number of days. We've also allow for emergency rules, so I 

would hope that we don't go down that road. Do you have a comment on that? 

Rep. Klemin: I guess I'm looking at this application section. Maybe you can explain what 

happens to people that currently have a concealed weapons permit and what will happen 

when it comes time for those permits to be renewed. 

Rep. Porter: It is my understanding that in discussions with the AG's office; they will just be 

grandfathered in at the level of their proficiency. If you have a previous concealed weapons 

permit where you took the shooting portion of it, you would be grandfathered into that second 

tier. If you have the basic license, and you didn't take the shooting test, you would be brought 

in as a level one, with the ability to go back and get that up to the second tier if you so desire. 

Rep. Klemin: So in this level 2, if you are grandfathered in at what now becomes the level 1, 

• which is previously the only option, then if you wanted to go to the level 2, you would have to 

take the classroom, take the test, and do everything all over again. Do you have to go through 

the process of getting the background check, fingerprints, etc. if you've already done that? 

Rep. Porter: No, you would have to do those things that you didn't do in obtaining that level 1 

certification. If it comes down to adopting UT's standards, and it came down to a 6 hour 

classroom component, and you've already been through the written test, and been through the 

background check and fingerprinting, then all you would have to do is make arrangements to 

pay for and take the classroom component to move up to the next level. 

Rep. Klemin: You just have to take the class and that would be it. 

Rep. Porter: Whatever that new requirement is, yes. I'm not very familiar with MT's 

requirements, and they have the most reciprocity, which I would think we would want to obtain. 

- Rep. Klemin: So what we're doing here is just leaving it up to the AG to decide what the 

requirements should be. 
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Rep. Porter: Yes, well in this bill, the way it is written right now, the Senate moved it back to 

the tier 2 license, so there wouldn't be a basic license any more. So everything would become 

the second tier license. 

Rep. Klemin: Then on the bill the way it is right now, are the existing permit holders still 

grandfathered in. 

Rep. Porter: Yes. 

Rep. Klemin: So they would not have to comply with any other kind of requirements to 

maintain the license they have. 

Rep. Porter: They would not. 

Rep. Klemin: One concern that I would have, it seems like everywhere you go to get 

something done for this, and somebody else charges you a fee. The AG charges a fee, the 

• sheriff charges a fee, the police department charges a fee, and so you end up spending more 

than you really knew you were going to, because we don't talk about those other fees in this 

statute. We only talk about the state's fee. 

Rep. Porter: I think that there is a portion in there for a fee to both the law enforcement and 

the fingerprints. The only thing that I think gets charged is the fingerprints. 

Rep. Klemin: Then you better talk to the Bismarck Police Department, because they charge a 

fee for doing their own local background check. 

Rep. Porter: I certainly would not argue with the fact that going through this process might 

nickel and dime you all the way up. There is no doubt about it. But if you go to UT to get the 

30 states that UT has, there fees are not that inexpensive to get to that licensing level either. 

Rep. Klemin: You don't see too happy with this 2nd engrossment, what are you looking for? 

• Rep. Porter: I'm looking for a two-tiered system so that the individual who doesn't care about 

the reciprocity can still have the fingerprints and still take the written test and go through the 
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background check and still get the concealed weapons permit for the state of ND, that is good 

for approximately 16 states, but also have that firearms number on, so that they can use that 

permit to go down and buy a shotgun that they want to go hunting with over the weekend, and 

avoid the mandatory waiting period. Then to allow those individuals who travel, go to MN to 

hike for the weekend, or that drive down to UT through Wyoming, to be able to still maintain 

their concealed weapons so that those individuals that want that extra tier, that wants those 

extra states can obtain that through North Dakota, rather than spending their money in UT. 

The other thing that is coming up is that there are a lot of states now that are looking at not 

allowing the UT situation to exist. I have heard rumblings about that. Some states are looking 

at cancelling their reciprocity, unless that person is a resident of the state where the permit is 

issued. To deal with from a ND standpoint, even if we have a couple hundred residents that 

• have UT permits, and we can get a permit out there that means reciprocity, I think that would 

be better for us. 

Rep. Delmore: What does it cost in MT; and if you have two tiers, will there be two different 

costs here in ND. I would think that to get reciprocity with 30 states would cost more than just 

having a permit in ND. 

Rep. Porter: I am not aware of what the costs are. I will follow up with MT and MN to see 

what they are charging. 

Rep. Koppelman: Tell me again the numbers, I think you said we have reciprocity with 16 

states now; what was it before you lost some and what you hope it will be when we are done 

with this. 

Rep. Porter: Those are ballpark numbers. Someone from the AG's office has it. I think there 

• were approx. 22 states prior to losing reciprocity, we lost about 6 when we made the change; 

UT is about 30 and MT is around 40. 
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Rep. Koppelman: Is it your hope that we can get up to 30 with these changes. 

Rep. Porter: No, I hope to get to 40. 

Rep. Vig: In subsection here, how many people are going to come to ND to get their permit, 

rather than going through MT or MN, how many out-of-state residents are going to come here. 

Rep. Porter: I don't know. 

Sen. Connie Triplett: Sponsor, support. I was on the Judiciary Committee when they 

changed it and reduced the testing. I wanted to say that it was inadvertent that by making 

those changes we were going to lose reciprocity. I was disappointed to hear that had 

happened as a result of those changes. I agree with the two tier levels, and hope that will fix 

the reciprocity issue. I do believe though that we need to have administrative rules. 

Rep. Delmore: Why are we going from a three year license to five years? 

• Rep. Porter: The current level of reciprocity for federal government, for the purchase of a 

weapon uses a number, a nox number, and it is for five years, and we felt that we should 

match that. That is the most you can have, is a five year license. 

Rep. Klemin: This is kind of an interesting bill; we're just saying that we're not providing 

anything in statute here for reciprocity. We're just leaving ii up to the AG to solve our problem. 

Sen. Triplett: That's not the way the bill was written originally. Rep. Porter and I did not 

choose to make those changes; they were done in committee on the Senate side. More 

details were in the original bill. 

Rep. Klemin: I think this is an unusual bill in that we say there is a problem; AG will fix ii by 

rule. Then we go on and say that after December 31, 2010, you can't do that anymore, you 

have to come back to the legislature with legislation if you want to change the fees in the rule . 

• Sen. Triplett: Yes, ii is confusing. 
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Rep. Klemin: It's getting confusing to me, first, we're telling the AG to adopt rules to get 

reciprocity, and then secondly, at a certain point in time he can't change those rules, he's got 

to come back to the legislature; and then thirdly, this grandfather clause that I was talking 

about earlier, I'm sure that would be a concern of everybody that has a permit or license now. 

It says the license issued before the effective date of this act is valid until the license must be 

renewed. That means to me that you're only temporarily grandfathered. After that, you have 

to comply with whatever additional requirements there are. Is that how you read this? 

Sen. Triplett: Yes, we could certainly look at that, and I think the bill still needs work. 

Rep. Klemin: I think if the current license holders were aware that once their current license 

term expires, which may be tomorrow or could be three years from now, that they will have to 

go through this process again, because it's not going to be valid after that license expires. I 

• think we would have another problem here that being all the people who have licenses now 

that aren't here today who finds out later that oops, that's the end. You have to do a new 

process. 

Sen. Triplett: That's a very good question; I think that is why we need the 2 tier system. 

Rep. Klemin: Or some expansion of the grandfathering clause. 

Sen. Triplett: That would be a possibility also. 

Chairman DeKrey: Thank you. Further testimony in support. Testimony in opposition. We 

will close the hearing. 
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Chairman DeKrey: We will take a look at SB 2415. 

Rep. Klemin: The reason that we have these amendments is that we are trying to get the 

highest number of states in the reciprocity agreement that we can out of this bill. We think we 

- have it written now so that, potentially, we can get reciprocity in 40 states. The way it is with 

our current license, I think it is 24 states. 

Matt Sagsveen, AG's office: Neutral capacity to explain the amendments (attached). The 

most important part of the amendment is that we are taking the classification system for 

concealed weapons licensure to a two tiered structure. The current license is an open book 

test and the amendment will bring that over so that the open book test continues but also 

creates a class 1 license which would mean a class, open book test and require the applicant 

to then state an area of firearms and would also be a shooting test. This would be used to 

create the ability of an applicant to have reciprocity in as many states allowed. There are a 

few reasons why we don't have reciprocity, a large one being our testing process, the applicant 

can be 18 to apply for this permit and MN's age is 21; and the requirement for classroom time. 

- The other primary changes are the fees, which go from $25 to $45. The renewal time would 

be increased from 3 years to 5 years. 
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Rep. Delmore: On page 2, line 8, why doesn't it include domestic violence in there. 

Matt Sagsveen: I believe that if a person has a felony conviction, they are prohibited from 

obtaining a firearm for 5-10 years. 

Rep. Delmore: I understand that, but this doesn't preclude it out. I would assume if someone 

had a problem with alcohol, that this would preclude them. But if we're coming up with a new 

portion of law, I assume if you did a background check that would be one thing that you would 

want to make sure that wasn't missed along the way. 

Matt Sagsveen: I would assume that's correct. I would ask that you hold off on your question 

about the director of BCI comes. 

Rep. Klemin: One of the things we are trying to do is to get reciprocity with MN, which has 

been very difficult to do for those people who live along the eastern part of the state who would 

• like that reciprocity with MN. We think this will do it? Is that right? 

Matt Sagsveen: We have contacted MN, and they have said, as the amendment are written, 

there is a good chance that we can get reciprocity with ND. It's hard to say exactly who is in 

charge of what there; but we tried to incorporate UT, MN and MT law into this bill in an attempt 

to get the most reciprocity as possible. 

Rep. Klemin: One other comment, the current concealed weapons license that we have is 

going to be called the class 2 license under this new system. For those people who are 

satisfied with that class 2 license, which is equivalent to what we have now, they won't have to 

do anything extra. 

Matt Sagsveen: Correct. If you have a class 2 license now, you can continue to apply for that 

class 2 license. If you want to have that additional reciprocity, you can take the additional step 

- and go through the procedure for the class 1 license. 
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Rep. Koppelman: With regard to both of Rep. Klemin's questions, who is it in MN that 

determines reciprocity and can we not talk to that person and find out, instead of waiting two 

years and coming back and say we tried and now we have to do something else. 

Matt Sagsveen: BCI can answer that. 

Jerry Kemmet, BCI: It is handled by the Bureau over in MN and he did contact their attorneys 

over there. We asked them to have it looked over quickly and get back to us with any glaring 

mistakes that jump out to you, that would say we wouldn't have reciprocity with MN. There 

were some changes that we did have to make and the amendments will take care of those. 

Rep. Koppelman: But no guarantees? 

Jerry Kemmet: No guarantees. 

Rep. Koppelman: Regarding the class 1 and class 2 licenses. Is this going to become an 

- economic difference, are we going to end up with fee structure where the class 1 is more 

expensive or more hoops to jump through, or pretty much the same except for whatever extra 

certification would be necessary. 

Matt Sagsveen: The fees will be the same for both licenses; however the procedures will be 

different. 

Rep. Delmore: On page 2, we talked about medical health, alcohol, etc. is there a reason why 

we don't put in domestic violence. I would think that should be included. 

Jerry Kemmet: We could put it in, right now we do have the ability to find those charges of 

domestic violence when we review the records and the FBI check. 

Rep. Delmore: I would like to see it included in the bill. With the new fees, will the fiscal note 

go away. 

- Kathy Roll, AG's Office: I'm handing out an analysis that shows what would be revenues 

and expenditures over the next few years. If you look at the very bottom of the form, under the 
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Fiscal Note Mock-up, under the current biennium there will be a general fund revenue loss 

because it will all go to special fund revenue. 

Rep. Klemin: I move the AG's amendments. 

Rep. Dahl: Second. 

Ch. DeKrey: Voice vote, motion carried. 

Rep. Delmore: I move to further amend the bill, at the top of page 2 of the amendments, 

insert incidents of domestic violence - or evidence of incidents of domestic violence. 

Rep. Wolf: Second. 

Chairman DeKrey: Voice vote. Motion carried. We now have the bill before us as amended. 

What are the committee's wishes in regard to SB 2415. 

Rep. Koppelman: I have another question. It seems to me that the testimony that we heard 

• earlier on this bill was that when we took out the requirement for the shooting test last time, we 

lost reciprocity with several states, and that was the impetus for the legislation. Yet, what 

we're doing here is a lot more complex and involved than our previous requirement before we 

dropped the shooting test requirement. Do we really need to go this far in order to get the 

kind of reciprocity back that we lost. 

Matt Sagsveen: I think we are setting the foundation. I don't think we are making it more 

complicated or more detailed. 

Rep. Hatlestad: Can you tell me why the fee is the same for both classes; yet one carries a 

significantly greater ability to carry your weapon. 

Kathy Roll: There wasn't any discussion about two rates. 

Rep. Klemin: This is intended to be revenue neutral based on the cost of the license per year. 

- So since we're extending the term of the license from 3 to 5 years, the fee went up a little. 
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Rep. Hatlestad: You say revenue neutral, but it's losing money every year, at least the 

general fund is losing. 

Rep. Klemin: In the year 2013, there may be a need to increase the fee as I understood it. 

Rep. Dahl: I move a Do Pass as amended with a rereferral to Appropriations. 

Rep. Delmore: Second. 

13 YES O NO O ABSENT 

DO PASS AS AMENDED WITH A REREFERRAL TO APPROPRIATIONS 

CARRIER: Rep. Klemin 
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PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO REENGROSSED SENATE BILL NO. 2415 

Page 1, line 2, after "licensure" insert "and classification system" and after the semicolon insert 
"to provide an effective date;" 

Page 1, line 8, overstrike "chief" and insert immediately thereafter "director" 

Page 1, line 10, overstrike "chief" and insert immediately thereafter "director by a resident or 
nonresident citizen of the United States" 

Page 1, line 11, after "a." insert "The applicant is at least twenty-one years of age for a class 1 
license or at least eighteen years of age for a class 2 license. 

Page 1, line 14, overstrike "b." and insert immediately thereafter "c." 

Page 1, line 15, overstrike "c." and insert immediately thereafter "d." 

Page 1, line 19, overstrike "attended a" and insert immediately thereafter "successfully 
completed the" 

Page 1, line 20, overstrike "pursuant to rules adopted by the attorney" 

Page 1, line 21, overstrike "general" and insert immediately thereafter "by a certified firearm or 
dangerous weapon instructor" 

Page 1, line 24, overstrike "A weapons instructor certified by" 

Page 2, line 1, overstrike "the attorney general shall conduct the testing procedure." and 
remove the overstrike over "The atterAey" 

Page 2, line 2, remove the overstrike over "geAeral" 

Page 2, line 4, overstrike "The testing procedure is not required for a" 

Page 2, line 5, overstrike "renewal of a concealed weapons license" and insert immediately 
thereafter "may certify a firearm or dangerous weapon instructor based upon criteria 
and guidelines prescribed by the director of the bureau of criminal investigation" 

Page 2, line 6, overstrike "d." and insert immediately thereafter "e." 

Page 2, line 8, after the period insert "To pass a background investigation. an applicant shall 
provide all documentation relating to any court-ordered treatment or commitment for 
mental health or alcohol or substance abuse or incidents of domestic violence. The 
applicant shall provide the director of the bureau of criminal investigation written 
authorizations for disclosure of the applicant's mental health and alcohol or substance 
abuse evaluation and treatment records." 

Page 2, line 9, overstrike "e." and insert immediately thereafter "!," 

Page 2, line 11 , after "2." insert "The attorney general shall offer class 1 and class 2 licenses to 
carry a firearm or dangerous weapon concealed pursuant to the following requirements: 

Page No. 1 90771.0301 
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An applicant for a class 1 license shall successfully participate in a 
classroom instruction that sets forth weapon safety rules and the 
deadly force law of North Dakota. complete an open book test based 
upon a manual. demonstrate familiarity with a firearm or dangerous 
weapon. and complete an actual shooting or certified proficiency 
exercise. Evidence of familiarity with a firearm or dangerous weapon 
to be concealed may be satisfied by one of the following: 

ill Certification of familiarity with a firearm or dangerous weapon 
by an individual who has been certified by the attorney general. 
which may include a law enforcement officer. military or civilian 
firearms instructor. hunter safety instructor. or dangerous 
weapons instructor: 

.(g) Evidence of equivalent experience with a firearm or dangerous 
weapon through participation in an organized shooting 
competition. law enforcement. military service. or dangerous 
weapon course of training: 

Q) Possession of a license from another state to carry a firearm or 
dangerous weapon. concealed or otherwise. which is granted 
by that state upon completion of a course described in 
paragraphs 1 and 2: or 

~ Evidence that the applicant. during military service. was found 
to be qualified to operate a firearm or dangerous weapon. 

b. An applicant for a class 2 license is required to successfully complete 
the open book test offered for the class 1 license . 

c. Licenses issued before August 1. 2009. regardless of the age of the 
license holder. convert to a class 2 license upon renewal and no 
additional testing is required. No additional testing is required to 
renew a class 2 concealed weapons license. A class 1 license may 
be renewed upon successful completion of the class 1 requirements 
within one year before submission of the application for renewal. A 
license issued under this section before August 1. 2009. and a class 2 
license may be upgraded to a class 1 license upon successful 
completion of the class 1 requirements and satisfaction of the age 
requirement. 

Page 2, line 18, overstrike "3." and insert immediately thereafter "4." and overstrike "twenty-five 
dollars. Ten" and insert immediately thereafter "forty-five" 

Page 2, overstrike line 19 and insert immediately thereafter ·, which" 

Page 2, line 20, overstrike "up to a total of" 

Page 2, line 21, overstrike "seventy-five thousand dollars each biennium" and overstrike "Any 
collections from fifteen dollars" 

Page 2, overstrike lines 22 and 23 

Page 2, line 26, overstrike "4." and insert immediately thereafter "5." and overstrike "chief" and 
insert immediately thereafter "director" 

Page No. 2 90771.0301 



• 
Page 3, line 4, overstrike "chief" and insert immediately thereafter "director" 

Page 3, line 7, overstrike "chief" and insert immediately thereafter "director" 

Page 3, line 10, overstrike "5." and insert immediately thereafter "6." and overstrike "chief" and 
insert immediately thereafter "director" 

Page 3, line 13, overstrike "6." and insert immediately thereafter "7." 

Page 3, line 14, overstrike "of the applicant's county of residence" and insert immediately 
thereafter "of Burleigh County" 

Page 3, line 15, overstrike "7." and insert immediately thereafter "8." 

Page 3, line 23, overstrike "8." and insert immediately thereafter "9.", remove the overstrike 
over "ffiEIY", remove "shall", after "adopt" insert "any". remove the overstrike over "R$S" 
and insert immediately thereafter "necessary". remove the overstrike over "le eaFr:y etil 
!his lille", and remove "by rule written and" 

Page 3, remove line 24 

Page 3, line 25, remove "or is otherwise valid In as many states as possible" and remove "The 
rules must allow a" 

Page 3, remove lines 26 through 30 

Page 4, replace lines 1 through 5 with: 

"SECTION 2. EFFECTIVE DA TE. Subsection 5 of section 1 of this Act 
becomes effective on July 1, 2011." 

Renumber accordingly 

Page No. 3 90771.0301 
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Roll Call Vote #: / 

• 2009 HOUSE STANDING COMMITTEE ROLL CALL VOTES 

BILURESOLUTION NO. /J.. t// 5 

HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE 
D Check here for Conference Committee LC Amendment# ------
Action: D DP ffi"' DP / As Amended ~& Rerefer to Approp. 

□ DNP □ DNP / As Amended 

Motion Made By ~- ;.Q~ Seconded By &?f: Pdm17?1 __,, 
Representatives Yes No Representatives Yes No 

Ch. DeKrey ,/ Rep. Delmore ,/ 

Reo. Klemin v Reo. Griffin ,./ 

Rep. Boehning ✓ Rep. Vig ~ 

Reo. Dahl ✓ Reo. Wolf <-/ 

Reo. Hatlestad ,/ Reo. Zaiser ✓ 

• Rep. Kingsbury V 

Rep. Koooelman ✓ 

Reo. Kretschmar ✓ 

Total (Yes) /3 (No) __ 0 __ (Absent) _ 0
_ 

Floor Carrier: f9J· tft421~J 
D Vote is amendment, briefly indicate intent: 
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REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEE (410) 
March 17, 2009 2:21 p.m. 

Module No: HR-48-5128 
Carrier: Klemln 

Insert LC: 90771.0301 Title: .0400 

REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEE 
SB 2415, as reengrossed: Judiciary Committee (Rep. DeKrey, Chairman) recommends 

AMENDMENTS AS FOLLOWS and when so amended, recommends DO PASS and 
BE REREFERRED to the Appropriations Committee (13 YEAS, 0 NAYS, 0 ABSENT 
AND NOT VOTING). Reengrossed SB 2415 was placed on the Sixth order on the 
calendar. 

Page 1, line 2, after "licensure" insert "and classification system" and after the semicolon insert 
"to provide an effective date;" 

Page 1, line 8, overstrike "chief" and insert immediately thereafter "director" 

Page 1, line 10, overstrike "chief" and insert immediately thereafter "director by a resident or 
nonresident citizen of the United States" 

Page 1, line 11, after "a." insert "The applicant is at least twenty-one years of age for a class 1 
license or at least eighteen years of age for a class 2 license. 

Page 1, line 14, overstrike "b." and insert immediately thereafter "c." 

Page 1, line 15, overstrike "c." and insert immediately thereafter "d." 

Page 1, line 19, overstrike "attended a" and insert immediately thereafter "successfully 
completed the" 

Page 1, line 20, overstrike "pursuant to rules adopted by the attorney" 

Page 1, line 21, overstrike "general" and insert immediately thereafter "by a certified firearm or 
dangerous weapon instructor" 

Page 1, line 24, overstrike "A weapons instructor certified by" 

Page 2, line 1, overstrike "the attorney general shall conduct the testing procedure." and 
remove the overstrike over "Ti'le a!I0FAey" 

Page 2, line 2, remove the overstrike over "[!eAeFal" 

Page 2, line 4, overstrike "The testing procedure is not required for a" 

Page 2, line 5, overstrike "renewal of a concealed weapons license" and insert immediately 
thereafter "may certify a firearm or dangerous weapon instructor based upon criteria 
and guidelines prescribed by the director of the bureau of criminal investigation" 

Page 2, line 6, overstrike "d." and insert immediately thereafter "e." 

Page 2, line 8, after the period insert "To pass a background investigation, an applicant shall 
provide all documentation relating to any court-ordered treatment or commitment for 
mental health or alcohol or substance abuse or incidents of domestic violence. The 
applicant shall provide the director of the bureau of criminal investigation written 
authorizations for disclosure of the applicant's mental health and alcohol or substance 
abuse evaluation and treatment records." 

Page 2, line 9, overstrike "e." and insert immediately thereafter "L" 

(2) DESK, (3) COMM Page No. 1 HR-48-5128 
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REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEE (410) 
March 17, 2009 2:21 p.m. 

Module No: HR-48-5128 
Carrier: Klemln 

Insert LC: 90771.0301 Title: .0400 

Page 2, line 11, after "2." insert "The attorney general shall offer class 1 and class 2 licenses to 
carry a firearm or dangerous weapon concealed pursuant to the following 
requirements: 

a. An applicant for a class 1 license shall successfully participate in a 
classroom instruction that sets forth weapon safety rules and the 
deadly force law of North Dakota. complete an open book test based 
upon a manual. demonstrate familiarity with a firearm or dangerous 
weapon. and complete an actual shooting or certified proficiency 
exercise. Evidence of familiarity with a firearm or dangerous weapon 
to be concealed may be satisfied by one of the following: 

ill Certification of familiarity with a firearm or dangerous weapon 
by an individual who has been certified by the attorney general. 
which may include a law enforcement officer. military or civilian 
firearms instructor. hunter safety instructor. or dangerous 
weapons instructor: 

@ Evidence of equivalent experience with a firearm or dangerous 
weapon through participation in an organized shooting 
competition. law enforcement. military service. or dangerous 
weapon course of training: 

@ Possession of a license from another state to carry a firearm or 
dangerous weapon. concealed or otherwise. which is granted 
by that state upon completion of a course described in 
paragraphs 1 and 2: or 

(11 Evidence that the applicant. during military service. was found 
to be qualified to operate a firearm or dangerous weapon. 

b. An applicant for a class 2 license is required to successfully complete 
the open book test offered for the class 1 license. 

c. Licenses issued before August 1. 2009. regardless of the age of the 
license holder. convert to a class 2 license upon renewal and no 
additional testing is required. No additional testing is required to 
renew a class 2 concealed weapons license. A class 1 license may 
be renewed upon successful completion of the class 1 requirements 
within one year before submission of the application for renewal. A 
license issued under this section before August 1. 2009. and a class 
2 license may be upgraded to a class 1 license upon successful 
completion of the class 1 requirements and satisfaction of the age 
requirement. 

Page 2, line 18, overstrike "3." and insert immediately thereafter "4." and overstrike 
"twenty-five dollars. Ten" and insert immediately thereafter "forty-five" 

Page 2, overstrike line 19 and insert immediately thereafter ". which" 

Page 2, line 20, overstrike "up to a total of" 

Page 2, line 21, overstrike "seventy-five thousand dollars each biennium" and overstrike "Any 
collections from fifteen dollars" 

(2) DESK, (3) COMM Page No. 2 HR-48-5128 
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REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEE (410) 
March 17, 2009 2:21 p.m. 

Module No: HR-48-5128 
Carrier: Klemln 

Insert LC: 90771.0301 Tltle: .0400 

Page 2, overstrike lines 22 and 23 

Page 2, line 26, overstrike "4." and insert immediately thereafter "5." and overstrike "chief" and 
insert immediately thereafter "director" 

Page 3, line 4, overstrike "chief" and insert immediately thereafter "director" 

Page 3, line 7, overstrike "chief" and insert immediately thereafter "director" 

Page 3, line 10, overstrike "5." and insert immediately thereafter "6." and overstrike "chief" and 
insert immediately thereafter "director" 

Page 3, line 13, overstrike "6." and insert immediately thereafter "7." 

Page 3, line 14, overstrike "of the applicant's county of residence" and insert immediately 
thereafter "of Burleigh County" 

Page 3, line 15, overstrike "7." and insert immediately thereafter "8." 

Page 3, line 23, overstrike "8." and insert immediately thereafter "9.", remove the overstrike 
over "may", remove "shall", after "adopt" insert "any", remove the overstrike over 
"ftlies" and insert immediately thereafter "necessary", remove the overstrike over "I& 
eaFF)' e1:1t !Ris title", and remove "by rule written and" 

Page 3, remove line 24 

Page 3, line 25, remove "or is otherwise valid in as many states as possible" and remove "The 
rules must allow a" 

Page 3, remove lines 26 through 30 

Page 4, replace lines 1 through 5 with: 

"SECTION 2. EFFECTIVE DATE. Subsection 5 of section 1 of this Act 
becomes effective on July 1, 2011." 

Renumber accordingly 

(2) DESK, (3) COMM Page No. 3 HR-48-5128 
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2009 HOUSE STANDING COMMITTEE MINUTES 

• House Appropriations Committee 

Bill No. SB 2415 

D Check here for Conference Committee 

Hearing Date: 3/23/09 

Recorder Job Number: 11446 

II Committee Clerk Signature A,. A /...,___ ~ ◄c z 
Minutes: 

Chairman Svedjan opened the discussion on Senate Bill 2415. 

Representative DeKrey explained the bill. Last session we removed the testing on a 

concealed carry weapon and that caused states to drop their reciprocity with ND. So your 

license to conceal and carry a dangerous weapon, the number of states you could do that in 

.ropped so this session we came in to recertify that because there were many citizens who 

wanted to conceal carry into Minnesota also and to do that in the committee we came up with 

a two tier system where the license you have now would automatically be in the second tier 

and then you could move up to the top tier if you wanted to with the possibility of having 

reciprocity with up to 40 states. Right now the concealed carry permit is $25. $10 goes into the 

general fund. With this new system that we passed out of Judiciary it would go to $45 and be 

a self funded program. Tier one and tier two licenses would be the same at $45. That is why 

you show a loss of $82,764 every biennium to the general fund. Because they are taking that 

$10 per permit and putting it into the special fund that would self fund and pay for these 

permits. 

Rep.Delzer: Did I hear you right to say that every concealed weapon will fall to the lower level? 



Page 2 
House Appropriations Committee 
Bill No. SB 2415 
Hearing Date: March 23, 2009 

Rep. DeKrey: No. every concealed weapon we have not is automatically grandfathered into 

• the tier two license so your license will basically be the same as it is now. The next time that 

you renew your license, instead of being good for three years, it is going to be good for five 

years and it is going to cost you $45 whether you do the tier one or tier two. 

Rep. Delzer: Which one carries the reciprocity? 

Rep. DeKrey: They all carry it. The second tier license doesn't carry as many states as the 

top tier does. 

Rep. Delzer: Even if we tested when the test was required, we still drop to the lower level 

instead of staying at the top. 

Rep. DeKrey: That is where you are now. The only thing this does is gets us reciprocity back 

on the second tier. 

Chairman Sevdjan: Why would this require another half FTE? 

.ep. DeKrey: that I don't know. We did not ask that question. 

Chairman Svedjan: It is on the fiscal note that it requires another half FTE. 

Rep. Berg: You are generating $340,000 of income. They must have given you some 

explanation on why they need the additional revenue; why we are going from $25 to $45 or is it 

because we are going to 5 year vs. 3 year? 

Rep. DeKrey: Yes. That is added cost. 

Chm .Svedjan: What about the money that used to go into the general fund. 

Rep. DeKrey: that was just accounting decision. 

Rep. Williams: I realize its existing language, could you give me some example of Lines 9 and 

12 can you give me some examples including self protection? 

Rep. DeKrey: In the statue it is just listing what is in the statues for a concealed carry and self 

-rotection is one of them 
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• 

Rep. Kaldor: What was the rationale for not retaining the $10 portion that was going into the 

General Fund? 

Rep. DeKrey: I couldn't tell you. We looked at the policy we were trying to do and the policy 

committee was get a system where those who already have a license in ND would still qualify 

for as many states as they have already before we dropped their testing requirements. 

Individuals wanted to conceal-carry in as many states as possible so that means our language 

it had to have to be similar to Minnesota's language to get the 40 states possible. We still don't 

know that Minnesota will accept it. 

Rep. Kaldor: The General Fund will be kicking in. That $82,000 is now the money that was in 

the General Fund will now be in the Special Funds. 

Rep. DeKrey: I think it was to have the whole program paid for with special funds. 

Chm. Svedjan: They want to self-fund the program. They are asking for .5 FTE and the Fiscal 

.ote outlines what they need to do here so I presume it is going to take $246,000 against 

revenue of $340,000? That is the way it looks to me. 

Kathy Roll, Office of Attorney General: There will be some bienniums when we will not 

receive any revenue because it will be permits that will not come due for renewal. In the 11-13 

biennium there will only be one renewal period so we will only received $170,000. Obviously 

the program costs more than that. It costs the $246,000 plus I assume some inflation amount. 

That's the reason that the rate is increased. The rate is increased for the 09-11 biennium but 

the renewal period changed from three to five years doesn't take effect until the 11-13 

bienniums to allow us to collect those fees so that we can pay those expenses in the 9-11 

bienniums. 

Rep. Nelson: What is the difference between the criteria in Tier 1 and Tier 2 licensure? 

• 
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Rep. DeKrey: Tier II you have to pass an open book test. Tier 1 is an open book test and 

• show familiarization and a shooting test. So they will be writing rules for what the tier I will be. 

Rep. Nelson: Is this meant to be done in one day for the commitment for Tier 1? 

Rep. DeKrey: It depends how well you can shoot. 

Rep. Wald: You didn't discuss the .5 FTE? 

Rep. DeKrey: No we didn't. Not in the policy committee it didn't. 

Do Pass Motion Made By Rep. Berg; Seconded by Rep. Meyer 

Discussion: None 

Vote: 17 Yes 7 No 1 Absent Carrier: Rep. Klemin 

Hearing closed . 

• 
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Date: 3/J-5(o ') 
Roll Call Vote#: --~-~----

2009 HOUSE STANDING COMMITTEE ROLL CALL VOTES 
BILL/RESOLUTION NO. /)-'-/I ~ 

Full House Appropriations Committee 

0 Check here for Conference Committee 

Legislative Council Amendment Number 

Action Taken ~ 

Motion Made By Seconded By -----------

Representatives Yes No Representatives 
Chairman Svedian 
Vice Chairman Kempenich 

Rep. Skarphol Rep. Kroeber 
Rec. Wald Rec. Onstad 
Rep. Hawken Rep. Williams 
Rec. Klein 
Rec. Martinson 

Rep. Delzer Rec. Glassheim 
Rep. Thoreson Rep. Kaldor 
Rec. Bera Rec. Mever 
Rec. Dosch 

Rep. Poller! Rep. Ekstrom 
Rec. Bellew Rep. Kerzman 
Rec. Kreidt Rec. Metcalf 
Rec. Nelson 
Rep. Wieland 

No 

Yes No 

Total 

Absent 

(Yes) ----------- ---------------

Floor Assignment 

If the vote is on an amendment, briefly indicate intent: 
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Roll Call Vote#: -----,,-;;..-;-.'-"'...,...--

2009 HOUSE STANDING COMMITTEE ROLL CALL VOTES 
BILL/RESOLUTION NO. ,af/~ 

Full House Appropriations Committee 

D Check here for Conference Committee 

Legislative Council Amendment Number 

Action Taken LfJ 
Motion Made By ----~~~=-,rf<----- Seconded By 

Representatives Yes No Representatives 
Chairman Svedian / ,/ 
Vice Chairman Kempenich ,/ 

, 
Reo. Skarohol ,/ Reo. Kroeber 
Reo. Wald ✓ V Reo. Onstad 
Rep.Hawken ,/ Reo. Williams 
Rep. Klein ✓ 

Reo. Martinson ,/ 
,, 

Reo. Delzer ,/ Reo. Glassheim 
Reo. Thoreson ,/ ,, Reo. Kaldor 
Rep. Ben::i ✓ Reo. Meyer 
Reo. Dosch ✓ 

Reo. Poller! ,/ Reo. Ekstrom 
Rep. Bellew 1/ Reo. Kerzman 
Reo. Kreidt C ,/ Rep. Metcalf 
Reo. Nelson V 

, 

Reo. Wieland V 

Total (Yes) /7 No 1 
Absent I 
Floor Assignment 

If the vote is on an amendment, briefly indicate intent: 

Yes No 

,/ 
,/ ,, 
,/ 

,/ 
/ 

,/ 

✓, 
,/ 
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REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEE (410) 
March 24, 2009 2:40 p.m. 

REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEE 

Module No: HR-52-5710 
Carrier: Klemln 

Insert LC: . Tltle: . 

SB 2415, as reengrossed: Appropriations Committee (Rep. Svedjan, Chairman) 
recommends DO PASS (17 YEAS, 7 NAYS, 1 ABSENT AND NOT VOTING). 
Reengrossed SB 2415 was placed on the Fourteenth order on the calendar . 

(2) DESK, (3) COMM Page No. 1 HR-52-5710 
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2009 SENATE STANDING COMMITTEE MINUTES 

Bill/Resolution No. SB2415 

Senate Judiciary Committee 

D Check here for Conference Committee 

Hearing Date: 4/17/09 

Recorder Job Number: 11956 

Committee Clerk Signature 

Minutes: 

Senator Lyson, Chairman 

Senator Olafson 

Senator Schneider 

Representative Klemin 

Representative Koppelman 

Representative Delmore 

Senator Lyson asks Representative Klemin to explain the bill and Rep. Klemin asks Matt 

/-Sagsveen from the Attorney General's Office to come up and speak on the bill. Mr. Sagsveen 

says they tried to draft something that would increase the license holder's ability to gain 

reciprocity in as many states as possible. The goal was to do that by creating a two class 

license system. Senator Lyson asks him to start with the amendments and explain them from 

the top. He explains some language changes and an age change to 21 years to get reciprocity 

in Minnesota, you only have to be 18 yrs. for a Class 2 which is the way it currently is in ND. 

Senator Lyson asks if a Class 2 license is like a Brady Bill type. Sagsveen said Class 2 is an 

open book test like we have in ND now. He said a weapons instructor still has to be approved 

by the Attorney General. Also if you have had any court ordered treatment or commitment for 

mental health or alcohol or substance abuse you must provide documentation to BCI. To get 

reciprocity in some other states you must do these steps. Mr. Sagsveen continues with 

explaining what is required such as classroom, open book tests, and demonstrating familiarity 
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Bill/Resolution No. SB2415 
Hearing Date: 4/17/09 

• with firearm or dangerous weapon. Mr. Sagsveen asks Kathy Roll , Financial Administrator 

from the Attorney General's office to discuss the fee structure. She says the intent of the 

change in the fee was to self fund the program. She states right now there is one position that 

handles this and they would need and additional half time FTE. The cost reflected in the fiscal 

note of $246,000 will cover the entire cost of the program including the changes that come 

about with a two tiered system. To fund that the fee was increased from $25 to $45. Mr. 

Sagsveen then talked of the term of the license which was changed from 3 to 5 years. He said 

if an applicant wants to appeal a denial all appeals are made in Burleigh County. 

Representative Koppelman asks Mr. Sagsveen if the Class 2 license is unchanged from the 

one we currently have. Mr. Sagsveen responds correct. Senator Schneider asks about how 

many permits are denied a year. Chief Agent Lonnie Grabowska with BCI, responds, he said 

.most of the time there on average on 3 or 4 a year that are denied. He states most individuals 

that do not get a license is because of a previous disqualifier at the Federal or State level 

because of an offense. Rep. Koppelman asks him if he would anticipate with the new class of 

licenses there would be more denials or would they be just disqualified in the same fashion 

because of stricter criteria. Grabowska responds they would be disqualified and it would be 

the same, because they go through the same background check. The only thing that will be 

different will be the shooting test on the new tier. Probably no real change. Rep. Klemin said 

the goal here is if your satisfied with what you have and you're not concerned with reciprocity 

what we now have will become the Class 2 license and that will all stay the same. We will 

have reciprocity in about 40 states with the new Class 1 license. Senator Lyson that is what 

we were asked to do, get as many states as we could. Senator Schneider motions the Senate 

-ccede to House amendments, seconded by Senator Olafson. 

Roll call vote 6 yes, 0 no Senator Schneider will carry 
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Date: __,_¾+-1/,___,J7'-+-/--'""D-1-'-t--­
/ 

Roll Call Vote#: __ / ____ _ 

Senate 

2009 SENATE CONFERENCE COMMITTEE ROLL CALL VOTES 

BILURESOLUTION NO. 582415 as (re) engrossed 

Judiciary Committee 

· l:8l Check here for Conference Committee 

Action Taken ,SENATE accede to House Amendments 

D SENATE accede to House Amendments and further amend 

D HOUSE recede from House Amendments 

D HOUSE recede from House amendments and amend as follows 

Senate/House Amendments on SJ/HJ pages(s) Jl1 ')"' -- 177 

D Unable to agree, recommends that the committee be discharged and a 
new committee be appointed. 

((Re)Engrossed) _____ was placed on the Seventh order of business on the calendar. 

Motion Made By ~....,, . ~ J11 ~ Seconded By ~~ &1,,,,£-..J 
Senators 

~ 
y N Representatives i 

y 
e 0 

J 
e 

s s 
Senator Lvson-Chair " Reo. Klemin ' 
Senator Olafson V Reo. Konnelman ' . 

Senator Schneider \/ V Reo. Delmore ' 'L 
,, I 

Vote Count _....,0"'-_Yes () No ____ Absent 

5? ~y j >,..,_ Senate Carrier __,,~"""'-"-"d--"""bd"""u~==~'"'"'-...____House Carrier _________ _ 

LC NO .. ____________ of amendment 

LC NO .. ____________ of engrossment 

Emergency clause added or deleted. _________________ _ 

Statement of purpose of amendment. _________________ _ 

N 
0 
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REPORT OF CONFERENCE COMMITTEE (420) 
April 17, 2009 3:08 p.m. 

Module No: SR-67-7619 

REPORT OF CONFERENCE COMMITTEE 
SB 2415, as reengrossed: Your conference committee (Sens. Lyson, Olafson, Schneider 

and Reps. Klemin, Koppelman, Delmore) recommends that the SENATE ACCEDE to 
the House amendments on SJ pages 975-977 and place SB 2415 on the Seventh 
order. 

Reengrossed SB 2415 was placed on the Seventh order of business on the calendar . 

(2) DESK, (2) COMM Page No. 1 SR-67-7619 
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624.714, Minnesota Statutes 2007 

Copyright© 2007 by the Office of Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. 

624.714 CARRYING OF WEAPONS WITHOUT PERMIT; PENALTIES. 

Subdivision !.[Repealed, 2003 c 28 art 2 s 35; 2005 c 83 s I] 

Subd. la. Permit required; penalty. A person, other than a peace officer, as defined in 

section 626.84, subdivision 1, who carries, holds, or possesses a pistol in a motor vehicle, 

snowmobile, or boat, or on or about the person's clothes or the person, or otherwise in possession 

or control in a public place, as defined in section 624. 7181, subdivision I, paragraph (c ), without 

first having obtained a permit to carry the pistol is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. A person who 

is convicted a second or subsequent time is guilty of a felony. 

Subd. lb. Display of permit; penalty. (a) The holder ofa permit to carry must have the 

permit card and a dri~er's license, state identification card, or other government-issued photo 

identification in immediate possession at all times when carrying a pistol and must display the 

permit card and identification document upon lawful demand by a peace officer, as defined in 

section 626.84, subdivision 1. A violation of this paragraph is a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a 

first offense must not exceed $25. Notwithstanding section 609.531, a firearm carried in violation 

of this paragraph is not subject to forfeiture. 

(b) A citation issued for violating paragraph (a) must be dismissed if the person demonstrates, 

in court or in the office of the arresting officer, that the person was authorized to carry the pistol 

at the time of the alleged violation. 

( c) Upon the request of a peace officer, a permit holder must write a sample signature in 

the officer's presence to aid in verifying the person's identity. 

(d) Upon the request ofa peace officer, a permit holder shall disclose to the officer whether 

or not the permit holder is currently carrying a firearm. 

Subd. 2. Where application made; authority to issue permit; criteria; scope. (a) 

Applications by Minnesota residents for permits to carry shall be made to the county sheriff 

where the applicant resides. Nonresidents, as defined in section 171.01 subdivision 42 may 

apply to any sheriff. 

(b) Unless a sheriff denies a permit under the exception set forth in subdivision 6, paragraph 

(a), clause (3), a sheriff must issue a permit to an applicant if the person: 

(1) has training in the safe use of a pistol; 

(2) is at least 21 years old and a citizen or a permanent resident of the United States; 

(3) completes an application for a permit; 

(4) is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under the following sections: 
(i) 5 I 8B.O 1, subdivision 14; 

(ii) 609.224 subdivision 3; 

(iii) 609.2242, subdivision 3; 

(iv) 609. 749 subdivision 8; 
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(v) 624.713; 

(vi) 624.719; 

(vii) 629.715, subdivision 2; 

(viii) 629.72, subdivision 2; or 

(ix) any federal law; and 

(5) is not listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section 299C.091. 

(c) A permit to carry a pistol issued or recognized under this section is a state permit and is 

effective throughout the state. 

(d) A sheriff may contract with a police chief to process permit applications under this 

section. If a sheriff contracts with a police chief, the sheriff remains the issuing authority and 

the police chief acts as the sheriffs agent. If a sheriff contracts with_a police chief, all cifthe 

provisions of this section will apply. 

Subd. 2a. Training in the safe use of a pistol. (a) An applicant must present evidence that 

the applicant received training in the safe use of a pistol within one year of the date of an original 

or renewal application. Training may be demonstrated by: 

(1) employment as a peace officer in the state of Minnesota within the past year; or 

(2) completion of a firearms safety or training course providing basic training in the safe use 

of a pistol and conducted by a certified instructor. 

(b) Basic training must include: 

(1) instruction in the fundamentals of pistol use; 

(2) successful completion of an actual shooting qualification exercise; and 

(3) instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use, including 

self-defense and the restrictions on the use of deadly force. 

(c) The certified instructor must issue a certificate to a person who has completed a firearms 

safety or training course described in paragraph (b ). The certificate must be signed by the 

instructor and attest that the person attended and completed the course. 

(d) A person qualifies as a certified instructor if the person is certified as a firearms instructor 

within the past five years by an organization or government entity that has been approved by the 

Department of Public Safety in accordance with the department's standards. 

(e) A sheriff must accept the training described in this subdivision as meeting the requirement 

in subdivision 2, paragraph (b ), for training in the safe use of a pistol. A sheriff may also accept 
other satisfactory evidence of training in the safe use of a pistol. 

Subd. 3. Form and contents of application. (a) Applications for permits to carry must be an 

official, standardized application forrn, adopted under section 624.7151 and must set forth in 

writing only the following information: 

(I) the applicant's name, residence, telephone number, if any, and driver's license number 

or state identification card number; 

(2) the applicant's sex, date of birth, height, weight, and color of eyes and hair, and 

distinguishing physical characteristics, if any; 

(3) the township or statutory city or home rule charter city, and county, of all Minnesota 

residences of the applicant in the last five years, though not including specific addresses; 

(4) the township or city, county, and state of all non-Minnesota residences of the applicant 

in the last five years, though not including specific addresses; 

(5) a statement that the applicant authorizes the release to the sheriff of commitment 

information about the applicant maintained by the commissioner of human services or any similar 
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agency or department of another state where the applicant has resided, to the extent that the 

information relates to the applicant's eligibility to possess a firearm; and 

(6) a statement by the applicant that, to the best of the applicant's knowledge and belief, the 

applicant is not prohibited by Jaw from possessing a firearm. 

(b) The statement under paragraph (a), clause (5), must comply with any applicable 

requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, sections 2.31 to 2.35, with respect to 

consent to disclosure of alcohol or drug abuse patient records. 

(c) An applicant must submit to the sheriff an application packet consisting only of the 

following items: 

(I) a completed application form, signed and dated by the applicant; 

(2) an accurate photocopy of the certificate described in subdivision 2a, paragraph (c), that is 

submitted as the applicant's evidence of training in the safe use of a pistol; and 

(3) an accurate photocopy of the applicant's current driver's license, state identification card, 

or the photo page of the applicant's passport. 

(d) In addition to the other application materials, a person who is otherwise ineligible for a 

permit due to a criminal conviction but who has obtained a pardon or expungement setting aside 

the conviction, sealing the conviction, or otherwise restoring applicable rights, must submit a 

copy of the relevant order. 

(e) Applications must be submitted in person. 

(t) The sheriff may charge a new application processing fee in an amount not to exceed the 

actual and reasonable direct cost of processing the application or $ I 00, whichever is less. Of this 

amount, $IO must be submitted to the commissioner and deposited into the general fund. 

(g) This subdivision prescribes the complete and exclusive set of items an applicant 

is required to submit in order to apply for a new or renewal permit to carry. The applicant 

must not be asked or required to submit, voluntarily or involuntarily, any information, fees, or 

documentation beyond that specifically required by this subdivision. This paragraph does not 

apply to alternate training evidence accepted by the sheriff under subdivision 2a, paragraph (d) . 

. (h) Forms for new and renewal applications must be available at all sheriffs' offices and the 

commissioner must make the forms available on the Internet. 

(i) Application forms must clearly display a notice that a permit, if granted, is void and 

must be immediately returned to the sheriff if the permit holder is or becomes prohibited by law 

from possessing a firearm. The notice must list the applicable state criminal offenses and civil 

categories that prohibit a person from possessing a firearm. 

(J) Upon receipt of an application packet and any required fee, the sheriff must provide a 
signed receipt indicating the date of submission. 

Subd. 4. Investigation. (a) The sheriff must check, by means of electronic data transfer, 

criminal records, histories, and warrant information on each applicant through the Minnesota 

Crime Information System and, to the extent necessary, the National [nstant Check System. 

The sheriff shall also make a reasonable effort to check other available and relevant federal, 

state, or local record-keeping systems. The sheriff must obtain commitment information from 

the commissioner of human services as provided in section 245.041 or, if the information is 

reasonably available, as provided by a similar statute from another state. 

(b) When an application for a permit is filed under this section, the sheriff must notify the 

chief of police, if any, of the municipality where the applicant resides. The police chief may 

provide the sheriff with any information relevant to the issuance of the permit. 
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(c) The sheriff must conduct a background check by means of electronic data transfer on a 

permit holder through the Minnesota Crime Information System and, to the extent necessary, the 

National Instant Check System at least yearly to ensure continuing eligibility. The sheriff may 

conduct additional background checks by means of electronic data transfer on a permit holder at 

any time during the period that a permit is in effect. 

Subd. 5.[Repealed, 2003 c 28 art 2 s 35; 2005 c 83 s 1) 

Subd. 6. Granting and denial of permits. (a) The sheriff must, within 30 days after the date 

of receipt of the application packet described in subdivision 3: 

(!) issue the permit to carry; 

(2) deny the application for a permit to carry solely on the grounds that the applicant failed to 

qualify under the criteria described in subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or 

(3) deny the application on the grounds that there exists a substantial likelihood that the 

applicant is a danger to self or the public if authorized to carry a pistol under a permit. 

(b) Failure of the sheriff to notify the applicant of the denial of the application within 30 days 

after the date of receipt of the application packet constitutes issuance of the permit to carry and 

the sheriff must promptly fulfill the requirements under paragraph (c). To deny the application, 

the sheriff must provide the applicant with written notification and the specific factual basis 

justifying the denial under paragraph (a), clause (2) or (3), including the source of the factual 

basis. The sheriff must inform the applicant of the applicant's right to submit, within 20 business 

days, any additional documentation relating to the propriety of the denial. Upon receiving any 

additional documentation, the sheriff must reconsider the denial and inform the applicant within 

15 business days of the result of the reconsideration. Any denial after reconsideration must be in 

the same form and substance as the original denial and must specifically address any continued 

deficiencies in light of the additional documentation submitted by the applicant. The applicant 

must be informed of the right to seek de novo review of the denial as provided in subdivision 12. 

(c) Upon issuing a permit to carry, the sheriff must provide a laminated permit card to the 

applicant by first class mail unless personal delivery has been made. Within five business days, the 

sheriff must submit the information specified in subdivision 7, paragraph (a), to the commissioner 

for inclusion solely in the database required under subdivision 15, paragraph (a). The sheriff must 

transmit the information in a manner and format prescribed by the commissioner. 

(d) Within five business days of learning that a pennit to carry has been suspended or 

revoked, the sheriff must submit information to the commissioner regarding the suspension or 

revocation for inclusion solely in the databases required or permitted under subdivision 15. 

(e) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), the sheriff may suspend the application process 

ifa charge is pending against the applicant that, if resulting in conviction, will prohibit the 

applicant from possessing a firearm. 

Subd. 7. Permit card contents; expiration; renewal. (a) Permits to carry must be on 

an official, standardized permit card adopted by the commissioner, containing only the name, 

residence, and driver's license number or state identification card number of the permit holder, 

if any. 

(b) The permit card must also identify the issuing sheriff and state the expiration date of 

the pennit. The permit card must clearly display a notice that a permit, if granted, is void and 

must be immediately returned to the sheriff if the permit holder becomes prohibited by law 

from possessing a firearm. 

(c) A permit to carry a pistol issued under this section expires five years after the date of 
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issue. It may be renewed in the same manner and under the same criteria which the original permit 

was obtained, subject to the following procedures: 

(I) no earlier than 90 days prior to the expiration date on the pennit, the permit holder may 

renew the permit by submitting to the appropriate sheriff the application packet described in 

subdivision 3 and a renewal processing fee not to exceed the actual and reasonable direct cost 

of processing the application or $75, whichever is less. Of this amount, $5 must be submitted 

to the commissioner and deposited into the general fund. The sheriff must process the renewal 

application in accordance with subdivisions 4 and 6; and 

(2) a pennit holder who submits a renewal application packet after the expiration date of 

the permit, but within 30 days after expiration, may renew the permit as provided in clause 

(I) by paying an additional late fee of$ I 0. 

(d) The renewal permit is effective beginning on the expiration date of the prior permit to 

carry. 

Subd. 7a. Change of address; loss or destruction of permit. (a) Within 30 days after 

changing permanent address, or within 30 days of having lost or destroyed the permit card, 

the permit holder must notify the issuing sheriff of the change, loss, or destruction. Failure to 

provide notification as required by this subdivision is a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a first 

offense must not exceed $25. Notwithstanding section 609.531, a fireann carried in violation 

of this paragraph is not subject to forfeiture. 

(b) After notice is given under paragraph (a), a permit holder may obtain a replacement 

permit card by paying$ 10 to the sheriff. The request for a replacement permit card must be made 

on an official, standardized application adopted for this purpose under section 624. 7151 and, 

except in the case of an address change, must include a notarized statement that the pennit card 

has been lost or destroyed. 

Subd. 8. Permit to carry voided. (a) The permit to carry is void at the time that the holder 

becomes prohibited by law from possessing a fireann, in which event the holder must return the 

permit card to the issuing sheriff within five business days after the holder knows or should know 

that the holder is a prohibited person. If the sheriff has knowledge that a permit is void under 

this paragraph, the sheriff must give notice to the permit holder in writing in the same manner as 

a denial. Failure of the holder to return the permit within the five days is a gross misdemeanor 

unless the court finds that the circumstances or the physical or mental condition of the permit 

holder prevented the holder from complying with the return requirement. 

(b) When a permit holder is convicted of an offense that prohibits the permit holder from 

possessing a firearm, the court must take possession of the pennit, if it is available, and send it 

to the issuing sheriff. 

(c) The sheriff of the county where the application was submitted, or of the county of the 

permit holder's current residence, may file a petition with the district court therein, for an order 

revoking a permit to carry on the grounds set forth in subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (3). 

An order shall be issued only if the sheriff meets the burden of proof and criteria set forth in 

subdivision 12. If the court denies the petition, the court must award the permit holder reasonable 

costs and expenses, including attorney fees. 

(d) A permit revocation must be promptly reported to the issuing sheriff. 

Subd. 8a. Prosecutor's duty. Whenever a person is charged with an offense that would, 

upon conviction, prohibit the person from possessing a firearm, the prosecuting attorney must 

ascertain whether the person is a permit holder under this section. If the person is a permit holder, 
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the prosecutor must notify the issuing sheriff that the person has been charged with a prohibiting 

offense. The prosecutor must also notify the sheriff of the final disposition of the case . 

Subd. 9. Carrying pistols about one's premises or for purposes of repair, target practice. 

A permit to carry is not required of a person: 

(a) to keep or carry about the person's place of business, dwelling house, premises or on 

land possessed by the person a pistol; 

(b) to carry a pistol from a place of purchase to the person's dwelling house or place of 

business, or from the person's dwelling house or place of business to or from a place where 

repairing is done, to have the pistol repaired; 

(c) to carry a pistol between the person's dwelling house and place of business; 

(d) to carry a pistol in the woods or fields or upon the waters of this state for the purpose of 

hunting or of target shooting in a safe area; or 

(e) to transport a pistol in a motor vehicle, snowmobile or boat if the pistol is unloaded, 

contained in a closed and fastened case, gunbox, or securely tied package. 

Subd. I 0. False representations. A person who gives or causes to be given any false 

material information in applying for a permit to carry, knowing or having reason to know the 

information is false, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. 

Subd. 11. No limit on number of pistols. A person shall not be restricted as to the number 

of pistols the person may carry. 

Subd. I la. Emergency issuance of permits. A sheriff may immediately issue an emergency 

permit to a person if the sheriff determines that the person is in an emergency situation that may 

constitute an immediate risk to the safety of the person or someone residing in the person's 

household. A person seeking an emergency permit must complete an application form and must 

sign an affidavit describing the emergency situation. An emergency permit applicant does not 

need to provide evidence of training. An emergency permit is valid for 30 days, may not be 

renewed, and may be revoked without a hearing. No fee may be charged for an emergency permit. 

An emergency permit holder may seek a regular permit under subdivision 3 and is subject to 

the other applicable provisions of this section. 

Subd. 12. Hearing upon denial or revocation. (a) Any person aggrieved by denial or 

revocation of a permit to carry may appeal by petition to the district court having jurisdiction 

over the county or municipality where the application was submitted. The petition must list the 

sheriff as the respondent. The district court must hold a hearing at the earliest practicable date and 

in any event no later than 60 days following the filing of the petition for review. The court may 

not grant or deny any relief before the completion of the hearing. The record of the hearing must 

be sealed. The matter must be heard de novo without a jury. 

(b) The court must issue written findings of fact and conclusions of law regarding the issues 

submitted by the parties. The court must issue its writ of mandamus directing that the permit be 

issued and order other appropriate relief unless the sheriff establishes by clear and convincing 
evidence: 

(!) that the applicant is disqualified under the criteria described in subdivision 2, paragraph 

(b ); or 

(2) that there exists a substantial likelihood that the applicant is a danger to self or the public 

if authorized to carry a pistol under a permit. Incidents of alleged criminal misconduct that are not 

investigated and documented may not be considered. 

(c) Ifan applicant is denied a permit on the grounds that the applicant is listed in the criminal 
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gang investigative data system under section 299C.091, the person may challenge the denial, after 

disclosure under court supervision of the reason for that listing, based on grounds that the person: 

(I) was erroneously identified as a person in the data system; 

(2) was improperly included in the data system according to the criteria outlined in section 

299C.09 I, subdivision 2, paragraph (b ); or 

(3) has demonstrably withdrawn from the activities and associations that led to inclusion in 

the data system. 

(d) If the court grants a petition brought under paragraph (a), the court must award the 

applicant or permit holder reasonable costs and expenses including attorney fees. 

Subd. 12a. Suspension as condition of release. The district court may order suspension of 

the application process for a permit or suspend the permit of a permit holder as a condition of 

release pursuant to the same criteria as the surrender of firearms under section 629.715. A permit 

suspension must be promptly reported to the issuing sheriff. If the permit holder has an out-of-state 

permit recognized under subdivision 16, the court must promptly report the suspension to the 

commissioner for inclusion solely in the database under subdivision 15, paragraph (a). 

Subd. 13. Exemptions; adult correctional facility officers. A permit to carry a pistol is 
not required of any officer of a state adult correctional facility when on guard duty or otherwise 

engaged in an assigned duty. 

Subd. 14. Records. (a) A sheriff must not maintain records or data collected, made, or 

held under this section concerning any applicant or permit holder that are not necessary under 

this section to support a permit that is outstanding or eligible for renewal under subdivision 7, 

paragraph (b ). Notwithstanding section 138.163, sheriffs must completely purge all files and 

databases by March I of each year to delete all information collected under this section concerning 

all persons who are no longer current permit holders or currently eligible to renew their permit. 

(b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to records or data concerning an applicant or permit holder 

who has had a permit denied or revoked under the criteria established in subdivision 2, paragraph 

(b ), clause (I), or subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (3), for a period of six years from the date 

of the denial or revocation. 

Subd. 15. Commissioner; contracts; database. (a) The commissioner must maintain an 

automated database of persons authorized to carry pistols under this section that is available 24 

hours a day, seven days a week, only to law enforcement agencies, including prosecutors carrying 

out their duties under subdivision Sa, to verify the validity of a permit. 

(b) The commissioner may maintain a separate automated database of denied applications 

for perrnits to carry and of revoked permits that is available only to sheriffs performing their 

duties under this section containing the date of, the statutory basis for, and the initiating agency 

for any permit application denied or permit revoked for a period of six years from the date of the 

denial or revocation. 

(c) The commissioner may contract with one or more vendors to implement the 

commissioner's duties under this section. 
Subd. 16. Recognition of permits from other states. (a) The commissioner must annually 

establish and publish a list of other states that have laws governing the issuance of perrnits to 

carry weapons that are not substantially similar to this section. The list must be available on the 

Internet. A person holding a carry permit from a state not on the list may use the license or permit 
in this state subject to the rights, privileges, and requirements of this section. 

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), no license or perrnit from another state is valid in this 
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state if the holder is or becomes prohibited by law from possessing a firearm. 
(c) Any sheriff or police chief may file a petition under subdivision 12 seeking an order 
suspending or revoking an out-of-state permit holder's authority to carry a pistol in this state on 

the grounds set forth in subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (3). An order shall only be issued if 

the petitioner meets the burden of proof and criteria set forth in subdivision 12. If the court denies 

the petition, the court must award the permit holder reasonable costs and expenses including 

attorney fees. The petition may be filed in any county in the state where a person holding a 

license or permit from another state can be found. 

(d) The commissioner must, when necessary, execute reciprocity agreements regarding carry 

permits with jurisdictions whose carry permits are recognized under paragraph (a). 
Subd. 17. Posting; trespass. (a) A person carrying a firearm on or about his or her person 

or clothes under a permit or otherwise who remains at a private establishment knowing that the 

operator of the establishment or its agent has made a reasonable request that firearms not be 

brought into the establishment may be ordered to leave the premises. A person who fails to 
leave when so requested is guilty of a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a first offense must not 
exceed $25. Notwithstanding section 609.531, a firearm carried in violation of this subdivision 

is not subject to forfeiture. 
(b) As used in this subdivision, the terms in this paragraph have the meanings given . 

. (I) "Reasonable request" means a request made under the following circumstances: 
(i) the requester has prominently posted a conspicuous sign at every entrance to the 

establishment containing the following language: "(INDICATE IDENTITY OF OPERATOR) 
BANS GUNS IN THESE PREMISES."; or 
(ii) the requester or the requester's agent personally informs the person that guns are 

prohibited in the premises and demands compliance. 
(2) "Prominently" means readily visible and within four feet laterally of the entrance with the 

bottom of the sign at a height of four to six feet above the floor. 

(3) "Conspicuous" means lettering in black aria! typeface at least 1-1/2 inches in height 

against a bright contrasting background that is at least 187 square inches in area. 

(4) "Private establishment" means a building, structure, or portion thereof that is owned, 
leased, controlled, or operated by a nongovernmental entity for a nongovernmental purpose. 

(c) The owner or operator of a private establishment may not prohibit the lawful carry or 
possession of firearms in a parking facility or parking area. 

(d) This subdivision does not apply to private residences. The lawful possessor of a private 
residence may prohibit firearms, and provide notice thereof, in any lawful manner. 
(e) A landlord may not restrict the lawful carry or possession of firearms by tenants or 
their guests. 

(t) Notwithstanding any inconsistent provisions in section 609.605, this subdivision sets 

forth the exclusive criteria to notify a permit holder when otherwise lawful firearm possession is 
not allowed in a private establishment and sets forth the exclusive penalty for such activity. 
(g) This subdivision does not apply to: 

(I) an active licensed peace officer; or 

(2) a security guard acting in the course and scope of employment. 

Subd. 18. Employers; public colleges and universities. (a) An employer, whether public or 
private, may establish policies that restrict the carry or possession of firearms by its employees 

while acting in the course and scope of employment. Employment related civil sanctions may 
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be invoked for a violation. 
(b) A public postsecondary institution regulated under chapter 136F or 137 may establish 

policies that restrict the carry or possession of firearms by its students while on the institution's 

property. Academic sanctions ll)ay be invoked for a violation. 

(c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), an employer or a postsecondary institution may 

not prohibit the lawful carry or possession of firearms in a parking facility or parking area. 

Subd. 19. Immunity. Neither a sheriff, police chief, any employee of a sheriff or police chief 

involved in the permit issuing process, nor any certified instructor is liable for damages resulting 

or arising from acts with a firearm committed by a permit holder, unless the person had actual 

knowledge at the time the permit was issued or the instruction was given that the applicant was 

prohibited by law from possessing a firearm. 

Subd. 20. Monitoring. (a) By March 1, 2004, and each year thereafter, the commissioner 

must report to the legislature on: 
(1) the number of permits applied for, issued, suspended, revoked, and denied, fi.lrther 

categorized by the age, sex, and zip code of the applicant or permit holder, since the previous 

submission, and in total; 

(2) the number of permits currently valid; 

(3) the specific reasons for each suspension, revocation, and denial and the number of 

reversed, canceled, or corrected actions; 
(4) without expressly identifying an applicant, the number of denials or revocations based on 

the grounds under subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (3), the factual basis for each denial or 

revocation, and the result of an appeal, if any, including the court's findings of fact, conclusions of 

law, and order; 

(5) the number of convictions and types of crimes committed since the previous submission, 

and in total, by individuals with permits including data as to whether a fiream1 lawfully carried 

solely by virtue of a permit was actually used in furtherance of the crime; 
(6) to the extent known or determinable, data on the lawful and justifiable use of firearms by 

permit holders; and 

(7) the status of the segregated funds reported to the commissioner under subdivision 21. 

(b) Sheriffs and police chiefs must supply the Department of Public Safety with the basic 

data the department requires to complete the report under paragraph (a). Sheriffs and police chiefs 

may submit data classified as private to the Department of Public Safety under this paragraph. 

(c) Copies of the report under paragraph (a) must be made available to the public at the 
actual cost of duplication. 

(d) Nothing contained in any provision of this section or any other law requires or authorizes 

the registration, documentation, collection, or providing of serial numbers or other data on 

firearms or on firearms 1 owners. 
Subd. 21. Use of fees. Fees collected by sheriffs under this section and not forwarded to 

the commissioner must be used only to pay the direct costs of administering this section. Fee 

money may be used to pay the costs of appeals of prevailing applicants or permit holders under 

subdivision 8, paragraph (c); subdivision 12, paragraph (e); and subdivision 16, paragraph (c). 

Fee money may also be used to pay the reasonable costs of the county attorney to represent the 

sheriff in proceedings under this section. The revenues must be maintained in a segregated fund . 

Fund balances must be carried over from year to year and do not revert to any other fund. As 

part of the information supplied under subdivision 20, paragraph (b ), by January 31 of each year, 
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a sheriff must report to the commissioner on the sheriffs segregated fund for the preceding 

calendar year, including information regarding: 

Page IO of I 0 

(1) nature and amount ofrevenues; 

(2) nature and amount of expenditures; and 
(3) nature and amount of balances. 

Subd. 22. Short title; construction; severability. This section may be cited as the Minnesota 
Citizens' Personal Protection Act of 2003. The legislature of the state of Minnesota recognizes 

and declares that the second amendment of the United States Constitution guarantees the 

fundamental, individual right to keep and bear arms. The provisions of this section are declared to 

be necessary to accomplish compelling state interests in regulation of those rights. The terms of 

this section must be construed according to the compelling state interest test. The invalidation of 
any provision of this section shall not invalidate any other provision. 

Subd. 23. Exclusivity. This section sets forth the complete and exclusive criteria and 
procedures for the issuance of permits to carry and establishes their nature and scope. No sheriff, 

police chief, governmental unit, government official, government employee, or other person or 
body acting under color of law or governmental authority may change, modify, or supplement 
these criteria or procedures, or limit the exercise of a permit to carry. 

Subd. 24. Predatory offenders. Except when acting under the authority of other law, it is a 

misdemeanor for a person required to register by section 243.166 to carry a pistol whether or not 
the carrier possesses a permit to carry issued under this section. If an action prohibited by this 

subdivision is also a violation of another law, the violation may be prosecuted under either law. 
History: 1975 c 378 s 4; 1976 c 269 s 1; I 977 c 349 s 3; 1983 c 264 s 10; 1986 c 444; 1992 

c 571 art 15 s 8,9; 1993 c 326 art 1 s 32; 1994 c 618 art Is 45,46; 1994 c 636 art 3 s 38-40, 1998 

c 254 art 2 s 69; 2003 c 28 art 2 s 4-28,34; 2005 c 83 s 1,3-10 

Please direct all comments concerning issues or legislation 
to your House Member or State Senator. 

For Legislative Staff or for directions to the Capitol, visit the Contact Us page. 

Generalquestions or comments. 
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The following links will direct you to the State and Federal Codes that SCI uses in regulating the < 

Firearms program. 

Utah State Criminal Code - http://www.le.statc.ut.us/-code/code.htm 

"Concealed Weapon Act" Chapter 5 Part 7 (53-5-701 through 53-5-711) -

http://www. le. state. ut. us/ -code/T J TLE53/53 ~ 0 5. h trn 

"Weapons" Chapter 10 Part 5 (76-10-501 through 76-10-530) - http:ifie.utnh,gov!~code/TITL!:.76! 

Secure/Prohibited Areas - Items Prohibited - Penalty (76-8-311.1) -

http://le.utah.gov/-code/TJTLE76/htm/76_08_031101.htm 

Secure/Prohibited Areas - Items Prohibited in correctional and mental health facilities - Penalties 

- t1ttp://le.utah.gov/-code/TITLE76/htm/76_08_"031103.htm 

Justification Excluding Criminal Responsibility Title 76 Chapter 2 Part 4 (76-2-401 through 76-2-4 

http:itwww.le.state.ut.us/-code/TlTLE'/6/l6 ___ 02.t1tm 

Federal Firearms Regulations - ht1p:/!wv1w.atf.trnc1s,9cv/pub/lir,::-explo_ ;::::2::i/2000. ref.tnrn 

ATF Online Learning Center- http://www.atf.treas.f]o'.-ifircarms/ffrraiindex.ht:n 

Utah.gov Horne I Utah.gov Terms of Use I Utah.gov Privacy Policy f Utah.gov Ac 
Copynght © 2009 State of Utah - All rights resurv1:d. 
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UTAH STATE LEGISLATURE Home I Site Map I Calendar J Code/Constitution I House I Senate I Search 

- 53-5-704. Division duties -- Permit to carry concealed firearm •· Certification for 
concealed firearms instructor -- Requirements for issuance -- Violation -- Denial, 
suspension, or revocation -- Appeal procedure. 

(1) (a) The division or its designated agent shall issue a permit to carry a concealed firearm 
for lawful self defense to an applicant who is 21 years of age or older within 60 days after 
receiving an application, unless during the 60-day period the division finds proof that the 
applicant is not of good character. 

(b) The permit is valid throughout the state for five years, without restriction, except as 
otherwise provided by Section 53-5-710. 

(2) (a) An applicant satisfactorily demonstrates good character if the applicant: 
(i) has not been convicted of a felony; 
(ii) has not been convicted of a crime of violence; 
(iii) has not been convicted of an offense involving the use of alcohol; 
(iv) has not been convicted of an offense involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other 

controlled substances; 
(v) has not been convicted of an offense involving moral turpitude; 
(vi) has not been convicted of an offense involving domestic violence; 
(vii) has not been adjudicated by a slate or federal court as mentally incompetent, unless 

the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed; and 
(viii) is qualified to purchase and possess a firearm pursuant to Section 76-10-503 and 

federal law. 
(b) In assessing good character under Subsection (2)(a), the licensing authority shall 

• 

consider mitigating circumstances. 
(3) (a) The division may deny, suspend, or revoke a concealed firearm permit if it has 

reasonable cause to believe that the applicant has been or is a danger to self or others as 
demonstrated by evidence, including: 

(i) past pattern of behavior involving unlawful violence or threats of unlawful violence; 
(ii) past participation in incidents involving unlawful violence or threats of unlawful violence; 

or 
(iii) conviction of an offense in violation of Title 76, Chapter 10, Part 5, Weapons. 
{b) The division may not deny, suspend, or revoke a concealed firearm permit solely for a 

single conviction for an infraction violation of Title 76, Chapter 10, Part 5, Weapons. 
(c) In determining whether the applicant has been or is a danger to self or others, the 

division may inspect: 
(i) expunged records of arrests and convictions of adults as provided in Section 77-18-15; 

and 
(ii) juvenile court records as provided in Section 78A-6-209. 
(d) (i) If a person granted a permit under this part has been charged with a crime of violence 

in any state, the division shall suspend the permit. 
(ii) Upon notice of the acquittal of the person charged, or notice of the charges having been 

dropped, the division shall immediately reinstate the suspended permit. 
(4) A former peace officer who departs full-time employment as a peace officer, in an 

honorable manner, shall be issued a concealed firearm permit within five years of that 
departure if the officer meets the requirements of this section. 

(5) Except as provided in Subsection (6), the licensing authority shall also require the 

• applicant to provide: 
(a) the address of the applicant's permanent residence; 

http://le.utah.gov/~code/TITLE53/htm/53 _ 05 _ 070400.htm 2/2/2009 
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. (b) one recent dated photograph; 
(c) one set of fingerprints; and 

• 
(d} evidence of general familiarity with the types of firearms to be concealed as defined in 

Subsection (7). 
(6) An applicant who is a law enforcement officer under Section 53-13-103 may provide a 

letter of good standing from the officer's commanding officer in place of the evidence required 
by Subsection (5)(d). 

(7) (a) General familiarity with the types of firearms to be concealed includes training in: 
(i) the safe loading, unloading, storage, and carrying of the types of firearms to be 

concealed; and 
(ii) current laws defining lawful use of a firearm by a private citizen, including lawful self­

defense, use of force by a private citizen, including use of deadly force, transportation, and 
concealment. 

(b) Evidence of general familiarity with the types of firearms to be concealed may be 
satisfied by one of the following: 

(i) completion of a course of instruction conducted by a national, state, or local firearms 
training organization approved by the division; 

(ii) certification of general familiarity by a person who has been certified by the division, 
which may include a law enforcement officer, military or civilian firearms instructor, or hunter 
safety instructor; or 

(iii) equivalent experience with a firearm through participation in an organized shooting 
competition, law enforcement, or military service. 

(c) Instruction taken by a student under Subsection (7)(b) shall be in person and not 
through electronic means. 

(8) (a) An applicant for certification as a Utah concealed firearms instructor shall: 

• 
(i) be at least 21 years of age; 
(ii) be currently eligible to possess a firearm under Section 76-10-503 and federal law; 
(iii) have a current National Rifle Association certification or its equivalent as determined by 

the division; and 
(iv) for certificates issued beginning July 1, 2006, have taken a course of instruction and 

passed a certification test as described in Subsection (8)(c). 
(b} An instructor's certification is valid for three years from the date of issuance, unless 

revoked by the division. 
(c) (i) In order to obtain initial certification or renew a certification, an instructor shall attend 

an instructional course and pass a test under the direction of the division. 
(ii) (A) Beginning May 1, 2006, the division shall provide or contract to provide the course , 

referred to in Subsection (8)(c)(i) twice every year. 
(B) The course shall include instruction on current Utah law related to firearms, including 

concealed carry statutes and rules, and the use of deadly force by private citizens. 
(d) (i) Each applicant for certification under this Subsection (8) shall pay a fee of $50.00 at 

the time of application for initial certification. 
(ii) The renewal fee for the certificate is $25. 
(iii) The fees paid under Subsections (8)(d)(i) and (ii) may be used by the division as a 

dedicated credit to cover the cost incurred in maintaining and improving the instruction 
program required for concealed firearm instructors under this Subsection (8). 

(9) A certified concealed firearms instructor shall provide each of the instructor's students 
with the required course of instruction outline approved by the division. 

(10) (a) (i) A concealed firearms instructor is required to provide a signed certificate to a 
person successfully completing the offered course of instruction. 

http://k.utah.gov/-code/TITLE53/htm/53 _ 05 _ 070400.htm 2/2/2009 
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(ii) The instructor shall sign the certificate with the exact name indicated on the instructor's 
· certification issued by the division under Subsection (8). 
A (iii) (A) The certificate shall also have affixed to it the instructor's official seal, which is the 
W exclusive property of the instructor and may not be used by any other person. 

(B) The instructor shall destroy the seal upon revocation or expiration of the instructor's 
certification under Subsection (8). 

(C) The division shall determine the design and content of the seal to include at least the 
following: 

(I) the instructor's name as it appears on the instructor's certification; 
(II) the words "Utah Certified Concealed Firearms Instructor," "state of Utah," and "my 

certification expires on (the instructor's certification expiration date)"; and 
(Ill) the instructor's business or residence address. 
(D) The seal shall be affixed to each student certificate issued by the instructor in a manner 

that does not obscure or render illegible any information or signatures contained in the 
document. 

(b) The applicant shall provide the certificate to the division in compliance with Subsection 
(5)(d). 

(11) The division may deny, suspend, or revoke the certification of a concealed firearms 
instructor if it has reason to believe the applicant has: 

(a) become ineligible to possess a firearm under Section 76-10-503 or federal law; or 
(b) knowingly and willfully provided false information to the division. 
(12) A concealed firearms instructor has the same appeal rights as set forth in Subsection 

(15). 
(13) In providing instruction and issuing a permit under this part, the concealed firearms 

instructor and the licensing authority are not vicariously liable for damages caused by the 

• 
permit holder. 

(14) An individual who knowingly and willfully provides false information on an application 
filed under this part is guilty of a class B misdemeanor, and the application may be denied, or 
the permit may be suspended or revoked. 

(15) (a) In the event of a denial, suspension, or revocation of a permit, the applicant may file 
a petition for review with the board within 60 days from the date the denial, suspension, or 
revocation is received by the applicant by certified mail, return receipt requested. 

(b) The denial of a permit shall be in writing and shall include the general reasons for the 
action. 

(c) If an applicant appeals the denial to the review board, the applicant may have access to 
the evidence upon which the denial is based in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 2, 
Government Records Access and Management Act. 

(d) On appeal to the board, the agency has the burden of proof by a preponderance of the 
evidence. 

(e) (i) Upon a ruling by the board on the appeal of a denial, the division shall issue a final 
order within 30 days stating the board's decision. 

(ii) The final order shall be in the form prescribed by Subsection 63G-4-203(1 )(i). 
(iii) The final order is final agency action for purposes of judicial review under Section 63G-

4-402. 
(16) The commissioner may make rules in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah 

• 

Administrative Rulemaking Act, necessary to administer this chapter. 

Amended by Chapter 3, 2008 General Session 

http://le.utah.gov/-code/TITLE53/htm/53 05 070400.htm 212/2009 
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CHAPTER 14-10 
MINORS 

14-10-01. Minors defined. Minors are persons under eighteen years of age. In this 
code, unless otherwise specified, the term "child" means "minor". Age must be calculated from 
the first minute of the day on which persons are born to the same minute of the corresponding 
day completing the period of minority. 

14-10-02. Adults defined. All persons eighteen years of age and over are adults. 

14-10-03. Minor or person of unsound mind liable for wrongs. A minor or a person 
of unsound mind of whatever degree is liable civilly for a wrong done by the minor or person of 
unsound mind in like manner as any other person. 

14-10-04. Minor's rights of action. A minor may enforce the minor's rights by civil 
action or other legal proceedings in the same manner as an adult, except that a guardian 
ad litem must be appointed to conduct the same. 

14-10-05. Assignment of children prohibited - Penalty. No person, other than the 
parents, may assume the permanent care and custody of a child, unless authorized so to do by 
an order or decree of a court having jurisdiction, except that a parent, upon giving written notice 
to the department of human services, may place that person's own child in the home of the 
child's grandparent, uncle, or aunt for adoption or guardianship by the person receiving the child. 
The child must be considered abandoned if proceedings for the adoption or guardianship of the 
child are not initiated by such relative within one year following the date of notice of placement. 
No parent may assign or otherwise transfer the parent's rights or duties with respect to the care 
and custody of the parent's child. Any such transfer or assignment, written or otherwise, is void. 
This section does not affect the right of the parent to consent in writing to the legal adoption of 
the parent's child, but such written consent does not operate to transfer any right in the child in 
the absence of a decree by a court having jurisdiction. Any person who violates the provisions of 
this section is guilty of a class A misdemeanor. · 

14-10-06. Unlawful to encourage or contribute to the deprivation or delinquency of 
minor - Penalty. 

1. Any individual who by any act willfully encourages, causes, or contributes to the 
delinquency or deprivation of any minor is guilty of a class A misdemeanor. 

2. Any individual who by ;:my act willfully encourages, causes, or contributes to the 
deprivation of a child less than sixteen years of age by causing that child to engage 
in sexual conduct as defined und,ir section 12.1-27.2-01, in any play, motion picture, 
photograph, dance. or other visual representation is guilty of a class C felony. 

3. If an individual is convicted of this section for encouraging, causing, or contributing to 
the consumption or possession of alcoholic beverages by an individual under 
twenty-one years of age, the court shall consider the following in mitigation: 

a. After consuming the aicohol. the underage individual was in need of medical 
assistance as a result of consuming alcohol: and 

b \/1/ithin twt:ve hour.~ ::ifter th2 :_mrJHrage indi 11idual consumed it1e alcohol, the 
cli:deridant conta:::ted lav/ enforcement 01· emerger.cy medical personnel to 
repcrt tkn :h•,:; L,nCcr.;1ge 1:·.cJ:vicl!..1i.:ll v1::1s in 11s0d .:;f rnsdic.::11 assistance as a 
result of c0n~;Lm11nr1 alcohol 

14-10-07. Marriage of minors under supflrvision of juvenile court may be annulled -
Penalty. A minor. while under the supervision or custody of the juvenile court or the 
superintendent of the North Dakota youth correctional center. may not marry without the order of 
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• 

the juvenile court or of the superintendent of the North Dakota youth correctional center, as the 
case may be. Any such marriage made without such order is subject to annulment in a 
proceeding brought in district court by the state's attorney or by any person authorized by law to 
bring such annulment action. A person knowingly aiding, abetting, or encouraging such marriage 
is guilty of a class A misdemeanor. 

14-10-08. Person to whom child confided substituting other child - Penalty. Every 
person to whom an infant has been confided for nursing, education, or any other purpose, who, 
with intent to deceive any parent or guardian of such child, substitutes or produces to such parent 
or guardian another child in the place of the one so confided, is guilty of a class C felony. 

14-10-09. Minor's disability to delegate power and to contract relating to real 
property. A minor cannot give a delegation of power. A person under the age of eighteen may 
not make a contract relating to real property or any interest therein or relating to any personal 
property not in that person's immediate possession or control. 

14-10-10. Contracts of minor. Unless otherwise provided by the laws of this state, a 
minor may make any contract other than contracts specified in section 14-10-09 in the same 
manner as an adult, subject only to the minor's power of disatfirmance. 

14-10-11. Minor's contracts - Disaffirmation. In all cases other than those specified in 
sections 14-10-12 and 14-10-13, the contract of a minor may be disatfirmed by the minor 
personally, either before the minor's majority or within one year's time afterwards, or in case of 
the minor's.death within that period, by the minor's heirs or personal representatives. 

14-10-12. Minor cannot disaffirm contracts for necessaries. A minor cannot disaffirm 
a contract, otherwise valid, to pay the reasonable value of things necessary for the minor's 
support or that of the minor's family. if sush contract is entered into by the minor when not under 
the care of a parent, guardian, or conservator able to provide for such minor or the minor's family. 

14-10-13. Minor may not disaffirm statutory contracts, A minor cannot disatfirm an 
obligation, otherwise valid, entered into by the minor under the express authority or direction of a 
statute. 

14-10-14. Undertaking by minors for release on bail. A minor is capable of entering a 
binding undertaking for the purpose of securing the minor's release on bail in the same manner 
and with the same effect as if the minor were an adult. 

14-10-15. Unborn child - When dC:emed existing person. A child conceived but not 
born is to be deemed an existinq person so far as may Ile necessary for its interests in the event 
of its subsequent birth. 

14-10-16. Identification ,;ards •· Application - Misrepresentation of age - Falsifying 
cards• Penalty. Repealed by S.L 1977. ch. 342, § 2. 

14-10-17. Minors - Treatment for sexually transmitted disease - Drug abuse -
Alcoholism. Any person of lh•l age of fourieen yea,·s or older may contract for and receive 
examination, r;are, or treatment for sexually lr3nsrnittecl disease. al,;oholisrn, or drug abuse 
without permission, &rthor,ry, or consent of a parent or· qu;irdian. 

14-10-17.1. Minor's :.:-ni.:1r~jen,::,-' care . .,\ :1i:.~ll:" r·.ay :o:1trc1ct fer anJ 1·•)ce.v8 emergency 
examination. care. Jr '.teatme:·1t in .:1 iife-!h;·,::-;:1:s1iin!J _.ituat:un '.\'ithc,ut tr,e con::t:nt of the minor's 
parent or guarlii.1r,. If 3 ;ninn1· has dii 2rn~;:uenc:1 rnc•Jical condition or th,:: piJtential for an 
emergency mE:dical r.0:11'.itlcn. i:..or1:_;:;:nt to ::::1..-1i~1·tJency ~xaminatic.n, r-.:are, or trcatrr.ent of the 
minor is implied if ,·~: .. :1.:urij.;!r:. ~tS)S '.:i c,J11~::.r.t '._:·.::: ,1:ir'ur'~; p·,rsnt -:·i" ;,•.:a1·dian ~·Jre unsuccessful. 
This section does not Jut::cri,:e a :r:i: 1rn· to ' . .;iU:t1old (On~;e11t lo emergency excirninat1on, c3re, or 
treatment. 

14-10-18. Blood donations by minors. Repealed by S.L 1983, ch. i.32, § 154. 
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DELAY 5 YEAR RENEWAL UNTIL 2011-13 BIENNIUM, INCREASE RATE TO $45 IN 2009-11 BIENNIUM 

2009-11 Biennium 2011-13 Biennium 2013-15 Biennium 2015-17 Biennium 

# of permits to renew 
Projected 10% increase 

Permit fee 

2007 2008 2009. 

3,444 l_~.444 ,+,\.£3:#41 
3,788 

$ 25 $ 

2010 2011 2012 2013 

3 444 f \l::-1 • • 3·'444,1ffl3;44~'~ , - ·- · · h ·r""" ·, · -· ' 
3,788 3,788 3,788 

45 $ 45 $ 45 $ 

Total estimated revenue 170,478 170,478 170,478 

45 $ 

0 

Biennium special fund revenue 

Estimated budget amounts 

SF - Revenues vs. expenditures 

Estimated carryover 

General Fund revenue loss with House amendments 

Fiscal Note Mock-up 

Revenue 
Appropriations 
Expenditures 

2009-11 Biennium 
GF SF 

(82,764) 340,956 
246,205 
246,205 

340,956 

246,205 

94,751 

94,751 

@2,764) 

2011-13 Biennium 
GF SF 

(82,764) 170,478 
238,447 
·238,447 

170,478 

238,447 

(67,969) 

26,783 

(82,764) 

2014 2015 2016 2017 

3,788 (3F3;'iB8 WJ::'3:qaa'.l 
4,167 4,167 4,167 

45 $ 45 $ 45 $ 45 

0 187,526 187,526 187,526 

. 187,526 

262,291 

(74,765) 

(47,983) 

(82,764) 

375,052 

288,520 

86,531 

38,548 

(82,764) 
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