## LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION LEVELS IN OTHER STATES

The following tables (attached as an appendix) provide information regarding legislative compensation levels in other states as prepared by the National Conference of State Legislatures:

Table 1	State Legislator Compensation and Living Expense Allowances During Session 2014
Table 2A	Additional Compensation for House/Assembly Leaders 2014
Table 2B	Additional Compensation for Senate Leaders 2014
Table 3	Additional Compensation for Committee Chairs 2014
Table 4	Setting State Legislators' Compensation 2014
Table 5	State Legislators' Mileage, Phone, and Credit Card Allowances 2014
Table 6	State Legislators' Transportation Benefits 2014
Table 7	Office Supplies, District Offices, and Staffing Allowances 2014
Table 8A	Health, Dental, and Vision Insurance Benefits for State Legislators 2014
Table 8B	Disability Benefits for State Legislators 2014
Table 8C	Life Insurance Benefits for State Legislators 2014
Table 9	State Retirement Provisions for State Legislators 2014

ATTACH:1

State	Base Salary	Session Per Diem Rate
Alabama	\$10/day (C)	\$4,308/month plus \$50/day for three days during each
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	week that the legislature actually meets during any
		session (U).
Alaska	\$50,400/year	\$234/day (depending on the time of year); tied to the
		federal rate. Legislators who reside in the Capitol area
		receive 75% of the federal rate.
Arizona	\$24,000/year	\$35/day for the first 120 days of the regular session and
		for special sessions and \$10/day thereafter. Members
		residing outside Maricopa County receive an additional
		\$25/day for the first 120 days of the regular session and
		for special sessions and an additional \$10/day thereafter
		(V). Set by statute.
Arkansas	\$15,869/year	\$148/day (V) plus mileage; tied to the federal rate.
California	\$90,526/year	\$141.86/day for each day in session.
Colorado	\$30,000/year	\$183/day for members who live more than 50 miles
		from the Capitol; \$45/day for members who live 50 or
		fewer miles from the Capitol.
Connecticut	\$28,000/year	No per diem is paid.
Delaware	\$44,041/year	\$7,334 expense allowance annually.
Florida	\$29,697/year	\$129/day based on the number of days in session. Travel
	¢17.041.60/	vouchers are filed to substantiate.
Georgia	\$17,341.68/year	\$173/day (U); set by the Legislative Services
TT ''	Ф <b>ГЛ ОГО</b> /	Committee.
Hawaii	\$57,852/year	\$175/day for members living outside Oahu during
Idaho	\$16 129/waar	session; \$10/day for members living on Oahu.
Idano	\$16,438/year	\$122/day for members establishing a second residence in Boise; \$49/day if no second residence is established
		and up to \$25/day travel (V). Set by the compensation
		commission.
Illinois	\$67,836/year;	\$111/per session day.
minors	members are	
	required to forfeit	
	one day of	
	compensation per	
	month	
Indiana	\$24,140.16/year	\$156/day (U); tied to the federal rate.
Iowa	\$25,000/year	\$135/day (U); \$101.25/day for Polk County legislators
		(U). Set by the legislature to coincide with the federal
		rate. State mileage rates apply.
Kansas	\$88.66/day (C)	During interim committee meetings, members receive
		\$129/day, tied to federal rate, plus round trip tolls and
		mileage reimbursement at 56¢. All legislators receive
		\$354.15 (U) for 20 pay periods (\$7,083), considered
IZ ( 1	¢1.700.51/ /1	taxable income.
Kentucky	\$1,788.51/month	\$188.22/day (U); tied to the federal rate (110% of the
I ouision -	¢16,000/1	federal per diem rate).
Louisiana	\$16,800/year plus	\$153/day (U); tied to the federal rate.
	additional	

2014 State Legislator Compensation—Living Expense Allowances During Session

State	Base Salary	Session Per Diem Rate
	\$6,000/year (U)	
	expense	
	allowance	
Maine	\$13,852/year for	\$38/day for lodging, or mileage and tolls in lieu of
	first regular	housing (at a rate of \$0.44/mile up to \$38/day) plus
	session;	\$32/day for meals. Set by statute.
	\$9,661/year for	
	second regular	
	session	
Maryland	\$43,500/year	\$101/day for lodging; \$42/day for meals. Tied to the
	¢(0,0 <b>22</b> ,(0)	federal rate and the compensation commission.
Massachusetts	\$60,032.60/year	\$10-\$100/day, depending on distance from the State
N(: 1 :	Ф <b>7</b> 1 (05/	House (V); set by the legislature.
Michigan	\$71,685/year	10,800/year expense allowance for session and interim
Minnagata	\$21.140.00/mage	(V); set by the compensation commission. $\mathbb{S}^{\mathbb{N}}(A_{22})$ for constant of $\mathbb{S}^{\mathbb{N}}(A_{22})$ for representatives
Minnesota	\$31,140.90/year	\$86/day for senators and \$66/day for representatives, per approval of the committee chair or leadership (U).
		Set by the legislature.
Mississippi	\$10,000/year	\$123/day.
Missouri	\$35,915/year	\$103.20/day (U); tied to the federal rate. Verification of
WIISSOUT	\$55,7157 <b>y</b> 001	per diem is by roll call.
Montana	\$82.64/day (L)	\$109.78/day (U).
Nebraska	\$12,000/year	\$129/day for members residing 50 miles or more from
	+,-,-,-,,	the Capitol; \$46/day for members inside the 50-mile
		radius.
Nevada	\$146.29/day for	\$152/per day.
	maximum of 60	
	days of session	
New	\$200/two-year	No per diem is paid.
Hampshire	term	
New Jersey	\$49,000/year	No per diem is paid.
New Mexico	None	\$159/day (V); tied to the federal rate.
New York	\$79,500/year	\$172/full day (including overnight); \$61/partial day.
North	\$13,951/year	\$104/day (U); set by statute. \$559/month expense
Carolina	φ1( <b>0</b> /1 1 :	allowance.
North Dakota	\$162/day during	Lodging reimbursement up to 30 times 70% of the daily
	legislative sessions (C);	lodging rate ( $$1,569$ per month as of $10/1/2013$ ) (V).
	\$162/day for	
	attending interim	
	committee	
	meetings	
Ohio	\$60,583.70/year	No per diem is paid.
Oklahoma	\$38,400/year	\$153/day (U); tied to the federal rate.
Oregon	\$22,596/year	\$129/day (U); tied to the federal rate
Pennsylvania	\$84,012/year	\$157/day.
Rhode Island	\$14,947.34/year	No per diem is paid.
South	\$10,400/year	\$140/day for meals and housing for each statewide
Carolina		session day and committee meeting; tied to the federal
Carolina		session day and committee meeting; tied to the federal

State	<b>Base Salary</b>	Session Per Diem Rate
		rate.
South Dakota	\$6,000/session; \$129/day for interim committees	\$110/legislative day (U); set by the legislature.
Tennessee	\$20,203/year	\$188/legislative day (U); tied to federal rate.
Texas	\$7,200/year	\$150/day (U); set by ethics commission.
Utah	\$273/day (C)	\$115/day (U) lodging allotment for each calendar day, tied to the federal rate; \$61/day meals (U).
Vermont	\$660.06/week during the legislative session only	\$107/day for lodging (overnight stay) or \$61/day for meals and mileage if commuting.
Virginia	\$18,000/year for the Senate; \$17,640/year for the House	\$180/day for senators; \$170/day for House members.
Washington	\$42,106/year	\$90/day.
West Virginia	\$20,000/year	\$131/day during session (U); set by the compensation commission.
Wisconsin	\$49,943/year	\$88/day maximum (U); set by the compensation commission (90% of the federal rate). Per diem authorized under 13.123 (1), Wis. Statutes, and Leg. Joint Rule 85. 20.916(8) State Statutes. Joint Committee on Employment Relations (JCOER) establishes the maximum amount according to recommendations of the Director of the Office of State Employment Relations. The leadership of each house determines, within that maximum, what amount to authorize for the session.
Wyoming	\$150/day during session	\$109/day (V), including travel days for those outside of Cheyenne; set by the legislature.

		for House and Assem		
State	Presiding Officer	Majority Leader	Minority Leader	Other House or Assembly
AL	\$2/day plus \$1,500/month expense allowance	None	None	None
AK	\$500/year	None	None	None
AZ	Generally approved for additional interim per diem	Generally approved for additional interim per diem	Generally approved for additional interim per diem	None
AR	None	None	None	None
CA	\$109,584/year each for the speaker of the Assembly and pro tem of the Senate	\$102,437/year	\$109,584/year	\$102,437/year for the second ranking minority leaders
СО	\$99/day salary during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership matters	\$99/day salary during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership matters	\$99/day salary during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership matters	\$99/day salary during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership matters
СТ	\$10,689/year	\$8,835/year	\$8,835/year	\$6,446/year each for the deputy speaker, deputy majority and minority leaders, assistant majority and minority leaders; \$4,241/year each for the majority and minority whips
DE	\$19,893/year	\$12,376/year	\$12,376/year	\$7,794/year each for the majority and minority whips
FL	\$11,484/year	None	None	None
GA	\$6,811/month	\$200/month	\$200/month	\$200/month for the governor's floor leader; \$100/month for the assistant floor leader; \$400/month for the speaker pro tem
HI	\$7,500/year salary differential for the presiding officer	None	None	None
ID	None	None	None	None
IL	\$27,477/year	\$23,230/year	\$27,477/year	\$19,791/year each for the deputy majority and minority leaders;

2014 State Legislator Compensation—Additional Compensation for House and Assembly Leaders

State	Presiding Officer	Majority Leader	Minority Leader	Other House or
				Assembly
				\$18,066/year each
				for the assistant
				majority and
				minority leaders and
				majority and
				minority conference
DI	<b>#=</b> 000/	ф <u>я</u> <u>я</u> оо /	<i><b></b></i>	chairs
IN	\$7,000/year	\$5,500/year	\$6,000/year	\$5,000/year each for
				the speaker pro tem
				and majority caucus
				chair; \$4,500/year
				for the minority caucus chair;
				\$3,500/year each for
				the assistant
				minority floor leader
				and majority whip;
				\$1,000/year for the
				assistant majority
				floor leader;
				\$1,500/year for the
				minority whip
IA	\$11,593/year	\$11,593/year	\$11,593/year	\$1,243/year for the
	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	, ,, ,	, ,, j	speaker pro tem
KS	\$14,039.22/year	\$12,665.64/year	\$12,665.64/year	\$7,165.34/year each
				for the assistant
				majority and
				minority leaders and
				speaker pro tem
KY	\$47.35/day	\$37.40/day	\$37.40/day	\$28.66/day each for
				the majority and
				minority caucus
				chairs and whips
LA	\$32,000*/year	None	None	\$24,500*/year for
	1 700 (			the speaker pro tem
ME	150% of base	125% of base	112.5% of base	None
	salary/year	salary/year	salary/year	
MD	\$13,000/year	None	None	None
MA	\$35,000/year	\$22,500/year	\$22,500/year	\$15,000/year each
				for the assistant
				majority and
				minority leaders
				(and second and third assistants) and
				speaker pro tem
MI	\$27,000/year	Position does not	\$22,000/year	\$5,513/year for the
1011	φ27,000/year	exist	φ22,000/ year	speaker pro tem;
		CAISt		\$10,000/year for the
				\$10,000/year for the

State	Presiding Officer	Majority Leader	Minority Leader	Other House or
				Assembly minority floor leader; \$12,000/year for the majority floor leader
MN	40% of base salary/year	40% of base salary/year	40% of base salary/year	None
MS	\$60,000/year total salary for the speaker of the House	None	None	\$15,000/year for the speaker pro tem
MO	\$208.34/month	\$125/month	\$125/month	None
MT	\$5/day during session	None	None	None
NE	None	None	None	None
NV	\$900/year	\$900/year	\$900/year	\$900/year for the speaker pro tem
NH	\$50/two-year term	None	None	None
NJ	1/3 above annual salary	None	None	None
NM	None	None	None	None
NY	\$41,500/year	\$34,500/year	\$34,500/year	\$9,000– \$25,000/year for 31 leaders
NC	\$38,151/year and \$16,956/year expense allowance	\$17,048/year and \$7,992/year expense allowance	\$17,048/year and \$7,992/year expense allowance	\$21,739/year and \$10,032/year expense allowance for the speaker pro tem
ND	\$15/day during legislative sessions	\$15/day during legislative sessions; \$325 per month during term of office	\$15/day during legislative session; \$325 per month during term of office	\$10/day for assistant leaders during legislative sessions
ОН	\$94,437.36/year for the speaker	\$86,165/year for the speaker pro tem; \$81,163/year for the majority floor leader; \$76,169/year for the assistant majority floor leader; \$71,173/year for the majority whip; \$66,175/year for the assistant majority whip	\$86,164.76/year for the minority leader	Compensation for committee leadership
OK	\$17,932/year	\$12,364/year	\$12,364/year	\$12,364/year for the speaker pro tem
OR	\$22,596/year in additional salary for the speaker	None	None	None

State	Presiding Officer	Majority Leader	Minority Leader	Other House or
PA	\$46,022/year	\$36,819/year	\$36,819/year	Assembly \$27,942/year each for the majority and minority whips; \$17,422/year each for the majority and minority caucus chairs; \$11,506/year each for the majority and minority caucus secretaries, policy chairs, and administrators
RI	Speaker of the House receives double the annual rate for representatives	None	None	None
SC	\$11,000/year	None	None	\$3,600/year for the speaker pro tem
SD	None	None	None	None
TN	\$60,609/year	None	None	None
TX	None	None	None	None
UT	\$3,000/year	\$2,000/year	\$2,000/year	\$2,000/year each for the whips and assistant whips
VT	\$730.66/week during session plus an additional \$11,296/year salary	None	None	None
VA	\$8,000/year addition to base salary	\$4,000/year addition to base salary	\$4,000/year addition to base salary	None
WA	\$8,000/year	None	\$4,000/year	None
WV	\$150/day for the speaker when attending to legislative business	\$50/day during session	\$50/day during session	\$150/day for the chairman of Finance and Judiciary, up to 30 days, when the legislature is not in session or meeting for interims. \$150/day for up to six more people named by the presiding officer, for up to 30 days, when the legislature is not in session or meeting for interims.
WI	\$25/month	None	None	None

State	Presiding Officer	Majority Leader	Minority Leader	Other House or
				Assembly
WY	\$3/day during	\$600/month when	\$600/month when	None
	session; \$918/month	not in session	not in session	
	when not in session			

State	Presiding Officers	Majority leaders	<b>Minority leaders</b>	Other Senate
				leaders
AL	\$2/day plus	None	None	None
	\$1,500/month			
	expense allowance			
AK	\$500/year	None	None	None
AZ	Generally approved	Generally approved	Generally approved	None
	for additional	for additional	for additional	
	interim per diem	interim per diem	interim per diem	
AR	None	None	None	None
CA	\$109,584/year for	\$102,437/year for	\$109,584/year for	\$102,437/year for
	the Senate president	the majority floor	the minority leader	the second ranking
	pro tem	leader		minority leader
CO	\$99/day salary per	\$99/day salary per	\$99/day salary per	None
	diem for the Senate	diem for the Senate	diem for the Senate	
	president during	majority leader	minority leader	
	interim when	during interim when	during interim when	
	attending to matters	attending to matters	attending to matters	
	pertaining to the	pertaining to the	pertaining to the	
	General Assembly	General Assembly	General Assembly	
СТ	\$10,689/year	\$8,835/year	\$8,835/year	\$6,446/year each for the deputy minority
				and majority leaders;
				\$4,241/year each for
				the assistant majority
				and minority leaders
				and majority and
				minority whips
DE	\$19,983/year	\$12,376/year	\$12,376/year	\$7,794/year each for
				the majority and
<b></b>	<u> </u>			minority whips
FL	\$11,484/year	None	None	None
GA	None	\$200/month	\$200/month	\$400/month for the
				president pro tem;
				\$200/month for the
				administrative floor
				leader; \$100/month
				for the assistant
				administrative floor leader
TII	\$7.500/waar calama	None	Nono	
HI	\$7,500/year salary differential for the	None	None	None
	presiding officer			
ID	None	None	None	None
IL	\$27,477/year	\$20,649/year	\$27,477/year	\$20,649/year each
				for the deputy
				minority leader,
				assistant majority
				and minority leaders,

2014 State Legislator Compensation—Additional Compensation for Senate leaders

State	Presiding Officers	Majority leaders	Minority leaders	Other Senate
				leaders and majority and
				minority caucus
				chairs
IN	\$7,000/year for the	\$5,500/year for the	\$6,000/year for the	\$3,000/year for the
	president pro tem	majority floor leader	minority floor leader	assistant president
	prostatile pro term			pro tem; \$3,500/year
				for the assistant
				majority floor leader;
				\$1,500/year each for
				the majority and
				minority floor
				leaders Emeritus;
				\$5,500/year for the
				majority caucus
				chair; \$1,000/year
				each for the assistant
				majority caucus
				chair and assistant
				minority whip;
				\$4,000/year for the
				majority whip;
				\$2,000/year each for
				the assistant majority
				whip, co-minority
				whip, and assistant minority caucus
				chair; \$5,000/year
				each for the assistant
				minority floor leader
				and minority caucus
				chair
IA	\$11,593/year	\$11,593/year	\$11,593/year	\$1,243/year for the
	\$11,090, <b>j cu</b>	\$11,09579 <b>0</b> 41	\$11,0957 <b>J u</b>	president pro tem
KS	\$14,039.22/year	\$12,665.64/year	\$12,665.64/year	\$7,165.34/year each
115	\$11,009. <b>22</b> / your	\$12,000.0 h your	\$12,000.0 h jour	for the assistant
				majority and
				minority leaders and
				vice president
KY	\$47.35/day	\$37.40/day	\$37.40/day	\$28.66/day each for
-				the majority and
				minority caucus
				chairs and whips
LA	\$32,000/year	None	None	\$24,500/year for the
				president pro tem
ME	150% of base	125% of base	112.5% of base	None
	salary/year	salary/year	salary/year	
MD	\$13,000/year	None	None	None
MA	\$35,000/year	\$22,500/year	\$22,500/year	\$15,000/year each

State	Presiding Officers	Majority leaders	Minority leaders	Other Senate leaders
				for the assistant majority and minority leaders (and second and third assistants) and president pro tem
MI	\$4,962/year	\$23,400/year	\$19,800/year	\$10,800/year for the majority floor leader; \$9,000/year for the minority floor leader
MN	None	40% of base salary/year of additional compensation	40% of base salary/year of additional compensation	\$4,152/year each for the assistant majority leader, and tax and finance committee chairs
MS	\$60,000/year total salary for the lieutenant governor; \$15,000/year for the president pro tem	None	None	None
MO	None	None	None	None
MT	\$5/day during session	None	None	None
NE	None	None	None	None
NV	\$900/year	\$900/year	\$900/year	\$900/year for the president pro tem
NH	\$50/two-year term	None	None	None
NJ	1/3 above annual salary	None	None	None
NM	None	None	None	None
NY	\$41,500/year	\$34,500/year	\$34,500/year	\$13,000– \$34,000/year for 24 other leaders
NC	\$38,151/year plus \$16,956/year expense allowance	\$17,048/year plus \$7,992/year expense allowance	\$17,048/year plus \$7,992/year expense allowance	\$21,739/year plus \$10,032/year expense allowance for the deputy pro tem
ND	None	\$15/day during legislative sessions; \$325 per month during term of office	\$15/day during legislative sessions; \$325 per month during term of office	\$10/day during legislative sessions for assistant leaders
ОН	\$94,437.36/year for the president	\$86,164.76/year for the president pro tem; \$81,163.21/year for	\$86,164.76/year for the minority leader	Compensation for committee leadership (see committee chair

State	Presiding Officers	Majority leaders	Minority leaders	Other Senate leaders
		the majority floor leader; \$76,168.69/year for the majority whip		table)
OK	\$17,932/year	\$12,364/year	\$12,364/year	None
OR	\$21,596/year additional salary for the president	None	None	None
РА	\$47,136/year	\$37,710/year	\$37,710/year	\$27,942/year each for majority and minority whips; \$17,422/year each for majority and minority caucus chairs; \$11,506/year each for majority and minority caucus secretaries, policy chairs and caucus administrators
RI	Senate president receives double the annual rate for Senators	None	None	None
SC	Lieutenant governor holds this position	None	None	President pro tem, \$11,000/year
SD	None	None	None	None
TN	\$60,609/year base salary	None	None	None
ΤX	None	None	None	None
UT	\$3,000/year	\$2,000/year	\$2,000/year	\$2,000/year each for majority and minority whips and assistant majority and minority whips
VT	\$61,776/year for the lieutenant governor who holds this position	None	None	None
VA	None	\$200/day only for days that official meetings are attended	\$200/day only for days that official meetings are attended	\$200/day for president pro tem only for days that official meetings are attended
WA	Lieutenant governor holds this position	\$50,106/year (\$8,000/year additional to base salary)	\$46,106/year (\$4,000/year additional to base salary)	None

State	Presiding Officers	Majority leaders	Minority leaders	Other Senate
				leaders
WV	\$150/day during session	\$50/day during session	\$50/day during session	\$150/day for the chairman of Finance and Judiciary, up to 30 days, when the legislature is not in session or meeting for interims. 150/day for up to six more people named by the presiding officer, for up to 30 days, when the legislature is not in session or meeting for interims.
WI	None	None	None	None
WY	\$3/day during session; \$918/month when not in session	\$600/month when not in session	\$600/month when not in session	None

Table 3

al
al
ng
lative
ecial
ives
e

2014 Legislator Compensation—Additional Compensation for Committee Chairs

State	Additional Compensation for Committee Chairs
Oklahoma	\$12,364/year for Appropriations and Budget Committee chairs
Oregon	None
Pennsylvania	None
Rhode Island	None
South	\$600/interim expense allowance for committee chairs of the House and Senate
Carolina	
South Dakota	None
Tennessee	None
Texas	None
Utah	\$2,000/year for the Executive Appropriations chair (co-chair)
Vermont	None
Virginia	None
Washington	None
West Virginia	\$150/day (maximum 30 days) for Finance and Judiciary chairs
Wisconsin	None
Wyoming	\$600/month for interim committee chairs when not in session

	Legislator Compensation—How Legislative Salaries Are Determined
State	How Legislative Salaries Are Determined
	(Constitution, Statutes, Compensation Commission, Etc.)
Alabama	Constitutional Amendment 57
Alaska	Compensation Commission; Alaska Statutes §24.10.100, §24.10.101,
	§§39.23.200–39.23.260
Arizona	Compensation Commission sends to a public vote; Arizona Revised Statutes 41-
	1103 and 41-1904
Arkansas	Amendment 70; Arkansas Stat. Ann. §10-2-212 et seq.
California	State Constitution Article III §8, which establishes a compensation commission
Colorado	Colorado Statute 2-2-307 (1)
Connecticut	Connecticut Gen. Stat. Ann. §2-9a; General Assembly takes independent action
	pursuant to recommendations of a compensation commission
Delaware	Delaware Code Ann. Title 29 §710 et seq., §§3301–3304; implemented
	automatically if not rejected by resolution
Florida	Florida Statutes §11.13(1); statute provides members same percentage increase as
	state employees
Georgia	Georgia Code Ann. §45-7-4 and §28-1-8
Hawaii	Hawaii State Constitution Article XVI §3.5; Legislative Salary Commission
	recommendations take effect unless rejected by concurrent resolution
Idaho	Idaho Code 67-406a and 406b; Citizen's Committee on Legislative
	Compensation makes recommendations that the legislature can reduce or reject,
	but not increase
Illinois	25 ILCS 120—Compensation Review Act and 25 ILCS 115—General Assembly
	Compensation Act
Indiana	IC 2-3-1-1: an amount equal to 18% of the annual salary of a judge under IC 33-
	38-5-6, as adjusted under IC 33-38-5-8.1
Iowa	Iowa Code Ann. §2.10 and §2A.1–2A.5
Kansas	Kansas Stat. Ann. §46-137a et seq., §75-3212
Kentucky	Kentucky Rev. Stat. Ann. §6.226-229. The Kentucky committee has not met
	since 1995; the most recent pay raise was initiated and passed by the General
	Assembly.
Louisiana	Louisiana Rev. Stat. 24:31 and 31.1
Maine	Maine Constitution Article IV, part third, §7 and 3 MRSA, §2 and 2-A. Increase
	in compensation is presented to the legislature as legislation; the legislature must
	enact and the governor must sign into law. Takes effect only for subsequent
	legislatures.
Maryland	Article III, §15. Commission meets before each four-year term of office and
	presents recommendations to the General Assembly for action.
	Recommendations may be reduced or rejected.
Massachusetts	Massachusetts Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 3, §§9, 10. In 1998, the voters passed a
	legislative referendum that, starting with the 2001 session, members will receive
	an automatic increase or decrease according to the median household income for
	the commonwealth for the following two-year period.

2014 Legislator Compensation—How Legislative Salaries Are Determined

State	How Legislative Salaries Are Determined (Constitution, Statutes,	
	Compensation Commission, Etc).	
Michigan	Article IV §12. Compensation Commission recommends legislature by majority	
	vote; must approve or reduce for change to be effective for the session	
	immediately following the next general election.	
Minnesota	Minnesota Stat. Ann §3.099 et seq., §15A.082. The Council submits salary	
	recommendations to the presiding officers by May 1 in odd-numbered years.	
Mississippi	Mississippi Code Ann. 5-1-41	
Missouri	Article III §§16, 34; Missouri Ann. Stat. §21.140. Recommendations are adjusted	
	by the legislature or governor if necessary.	
Montana	Montana Laws 5-2-301; tied to executive broadband pay plan	
Nebraska	Nebraska Const. Art. III, §7; Nebraska Rev. Stat. 50-123.01	
Nevada	<u>§§18.210–218.225</u>	
New	Article XV, part second	
Hampshire		
New Jersey	Article IV Sec. IV 7, 8; NJSA 52:10A-1; NJSA 52:14-15.111–114	
New Mexico	Article IV §10, 2-1-8 NMSA	
New York	Constitution Article 3 §6; Consolidated Laws of NY—Legislative Law, Section 5	
North	N.C.G.S. 120-3	
Carolina	NDCC 54-03-10 and 54-03-20	
North Dakota		
Ohio Oklahoma	Article II §31; Ohio Rev. Code Ann. title 1 ch. 101.27–272	
Oktationita	Oklahoma Stat. Ann. title 74 §291 et seq., Article V §21, Title 74 §291.2 et seq.; Legislative Compensation Board	
Oregon	Oregon Rev. Stat. §171.072	
Pennsylvania	Pennsylvania Cons. Stat. Ann. 46 PS §5, 65; PS §366.1 et seq. Legislators receive	
1 emisyivama	an annual cost-of-living increase that is tied to the Consumer Price Index.	
Rhode Island	Article VI §3	
South	South Carolina Code Ann. 2-3-20 and the annual General Appropriations Act	
Carolina		
South Dakota	Article III §6 and Article XXI §2; S.D. Codified Laws Ann. §20402 et seq.	
Tennessee	Article II §23; Tennessee Code Ann. §3-1-106 et seq.	
Texas	Article III §24. In 1991, a constitutional amendment was approved by voters to	
	allow the Ethics Commission to recommend the salaries of members. Any	
	recommendations must be approved by voters to be effective. The provision has	
	yet to be used.	
Utah	Article VI §9; Utah Code Ann. §36-2-2 et seq.	
Vermont	Vermont Stat. Ann. title 32 §§1051 and 1052	
Virginia	Article IV §5, Virginia Code Ann. §§30-19.11–30-19.14	
Washington	Article II §§23 and 43.03.060, Washington Rev. Code Ann. §43.03.028. The	
	salary commission sets salaries of the legislature and other state officials based on	
***	market study and input from citizens.	
West Virginia	Article 6 §33, West Virginia Code §4-2A-1 et seq.; submits by resolution and	
	must be concurred by at least four members of the commission. The legislature	
	must enact the resolution into law and may reduce, but shall not increase, any	
	item established in such resolution.	

State	How Legislative Salaries Are Determined (Constitution, Statutes,	
	Compensation Commission, Etc).	
Wisconsin	Wisconsin Statutes §§20.923 and 230.12, created by Chapter 90, Laws of 1973,	
	and amended by 1983 Wisconsin Acts 27 and 33. Generally, compensation is	
	determined as part of the state compensation plan for non-represented employees	
	and is approved by vote of the joint committee on employment relations.	
Wyoming	Wyoming Stat. §§28-5-101–28-5-105	

State	e Legislator Compensation—N Mileage Allowance	Phone Allowance	Credit Card
State	Mileage Allowallee		Allowance
Alabama	10¢/mile for a single roundtrip per session; 48.5¢/mile for interim committee attendance	Yes—official business only	No
Alaska	56¢/mile for travel approved	Yes—legislative business only	No
Arizona	44.5¢/mile on actual miles	Phone cards allowed for certain districts; none used at this time	No
Arkansas	56¢/mile	No	No
California	53¢/mile	No	No
Colorado	50¢/mile; state reimbursement rate is 90% of the federal rate	Yes— official business only	No
Connecticut	56¢/mile	Yes—official business only; charges for personal calls are reimbursed by the legislator	No
Delaware	40¢/mile set by Del. Code Ann. Title 29 §7102	Yes—official business only	No
Florida	44.5¢/mile for business travel	No	Yes—official business only
Georgia	50¢/mile; Ga. Code Ann. §50-19-7 sets rate of reimbursement at the same mileage rate established by the U.S. General Services Administration	No	No
Hawaii	Members can file a claim for mileage reimbursement based on the federal mileage reimbursement rate.	Senate members may claim cell phone service expenses related to official legislative business, paid from the member's annual allowance for legislative expenses	State credit card for airfare only for non-Oahu House members who travel to the Capitol on Oahu; no state credit card for senators
Idaho	1 roundtrip/week at the state rate	No	No
Illinois	39¢/mile	No	No
Indiana	56¢/mile	No	No
Iowa	39¢/mile	No	No
Kansas	56¢/mile; set by the Department of Administration	Yes	May request Visa card; state pays annual fee only
Kentucky	55.5¢/mile	No	No
Louisiana	56 ¢/mile; tied to the federal rate	Yes —district office line with one extension	No
Maine	44¢/mile	No	No

2014 State Legislator Compensation—Mileage, Phone, and Credit Card Allowances

State	Mileage Allowance	Phone Allowance	Credit Card
Maryland	55.5¢/mile. \$500 annual allowance for in-district travel as taxable income; members may decline the	No	Allowance No
Massachusetts	allowance Between \$10–\$100 reimbursed per trip, determined by distance from the state House	No	No
Michigan	56¢/mile	Yes—official business only	No
Minnesota	House: during session, members can request up to 1 round trip/week if they live more than 50 miles from the Capitol; \$100–\$1,650/month for mileage reimbursement for travel in the legislative district during interim Senate: a reasonable allowance	Yes House members: \$75/month communications allowance Senators: \$200/month communications reimbursement	No
Mississippi	Determined by Federal Register and legislature	No	No
Missouri	37¢/mile	Yes—phone card issued but expenditures deducted from monthly expense allowance	No
Montana	56¢/mile, based on IRS rate; reimbursement for actual mileage traveled in connection with legislative business	Yes—leadership positions only	No
Nebraska	55¢/mile; tied to federal rate	Yes—official business only	No
Nevada	Federal rate, currently 56¢/mile	Yes—\$2,800/year allowance	No
New Hampshire	Round trip home to the state House at 38¢/mile for the first 45 miles and 19¢/mile thereafter, or members will be reimbursed for actual expenses and mileage will be paid at the maximum IRS mileage rate	No	No
New Jersey	None	No	Gas card if using state-leased or state-owned vehicle
New Mexico	55¢/mile; tied to the federal rate	No	No
New York	Varies (V); tied to the	Yes-official business only	No

State	Mileage Allowance	Phone Allowance	Credit Card Allowance
	federal GSA rate, currently 55.5¢/mile		
North Carolina	29¢/mile; 1 round trip/week during session; 1 round trip for attendance at interim committee meetings	Yes—\$2,275/year for postage, stationery and telephone	No
North Dakota	56¢/mile; 1 round trip/week during session	No	No
Ohio	52¢/mile; 1 round trip/week from home to the state House for legislators outside Franklin County only	Yes—state-related phone calls only	No
Oklahoma	56¢/mile; tied to the federal rate	Yes—\$1,500/year for electronic communications such as cell phone bills as well as office expenses	No
Oregon	56¢/mile	Yes—state-provided office and district office phone for legislative business only	No
Pennsylvania	56¢/mile; tied to the federal rate	No	No
Rhode Island	56.5¢/mile to and from session	No	No
South Carolina	Current IRS rate	Yes Senate: \$3,400/year for postage, stationery and telephone House: \$1,800/year for telephone and \$1,100/year for postage	No
South Dakota	37 ¢/mile for 1 round trip from Pierre to home each weekend; one trip is also paid at 5¢/mile. During the interim, $37 $ ¢/mile for scheduled committee meetings.	Yes—telephone allowance of \$600/6 months for legislators and \$900/6 months for leadership	No
Tennessee	47¢/mile	Yes—phone card	No
Texas	50¢/mile; set by the General Appropriations bill. \$1.24/mile for single-, twin- and turbo engines.	No	Eligible for MasterCard for official use
Utah	56¢/mile, round trip from home to the Capitol	Yes—state-paid mobile phone or reimbursement for personal phone at same rate as state-paid plan	No
Vermont	Federal mileage rate, now about 56¢/mile; state	Yes	No

State	Mileage Allowance	Phone Allowance	Credit Card
			Allowance
	employee reimbursement		
	rate		
Virginia	56¢/mile	Yes	No
Washington	56¢/mile	Yes—business calls only	No
West Virginia	48.5¢/mile based on the	Yes	No
	Dept. of Adm. travel		
	regulations		
Wisconsin	51¢/mile; 1 round trip/week	Members office expenses,	No
	to the Capitol	including phone expense, are	
		limited to the amount of	
		each member's office	
		budget, as established by the	
		committees on the Senate	
		and Assembly organization	
Wyoming	55¢/mile	Yes—phone card for official	No
		business only with a limit of	
		\$2,000/2 years	

State	ate Legislature Compensation—Forms of Transportation Offered Form of Transportation
Alabama	None.
Alaska	None.
Arizona	Access to motor pool for approved legislative travel.
Arkansas	None.
	One round-trip flight for each week of session. Use of a pool car for members
California	who fly to Sacramento.
Colorado	None.
Connecticut	None.
Delaware	None.
Florida	Rental cars for official business.
Georgia	None.
Hawaii	Round-trip airfare for non-Oahu legislators to travel from their home island to the Capitol on Oahu.
Idaho	None.
Illinois	None.
Indiana	None.
Iowa	None.
Kansas	None.
Kentucky	State cars are available but not assigned to members.
Louisiana	None.
Maine	None.
Maryland	None.
Massachusetts	None.
Michigan	None.
Minnesota	Car rental is available with prior approval.
Mississippi	None.
Missouri	None.
Montana	Limited access to state-owned cars.
Nebraska	None.
Nevada	Motor pool or private car. Legislative police shuttle to and from Reno airport.
New Hampshire	None.
New Jersey	Cars for some top leadership positions.
New Mexico	None.
New York	Cars for top leadership.
North Carolina	None.
North Dakota	None.
Ohio	None.
Oklahoma	None.
Oregon	None.
Pennsylvania	Mileage basis or car from the Department of General Services fleet.
r chilisyiyailla	

2014 State Legislature Compensation—Forms of Transportation Offered

State	Form of Transportation
South Carolina	None.
South Dakota	None.
Tennessee	None.
Texas	None.
Utah	None.
Vermont	None.
Virginia	None.
Washington	None.
West Virginia	None.
Wisconsin	None.
Wyoming	None.

Alabama None, although annual appropriation to certain positions may be allocated.   Senators receive up to \$20,000/ year and representatives receive up to \$16,000/year for postage per their choice for postage, stationery and other legislative expenses. Staffing allowance is determined by the rules and presiding officers, depending on the time of year.   Arizona None.   Legislators receive a maximum reimbursement of \$14,400/year for legislative expenses. Committee chairs, vice chairs and standing subcommittee chairs may claim additional reimbursement up to \$3,600/year.   California Assembly members have a base allowance of \$263,000/year to cover these expenses. Senate member expenses are paid directly and maintained by the Senate Rules Committee.   Colorado None.   Connecticut Senators receive \$5,500/year and representatives receive \$4,500/year in unvouchered expense allowance.   Delaware Office supplies are distributed out of the general House supply budget.   Florida Senators receives \$7,000/year reimbursable expense account. If members request, and provide receipts, they are reimbursed for personal services, office equipment, rent, supplies, transportation, telecommunications, etc.   Hawaii St diffing allowance.   Stator for the January-April legislative session.   Idaho \$1,875/year for unvouchered constituent expense. No staffing allowance.   Iminiois Seaators receive \$3,003/year and representatives \$69,409/year for o	State	Office Supplies, District Offices and Staffing	
Senators receive up to \$20,000/ year and representatives receive up to \$16,000/year for postage per their choice for postage, stationery and other legislative expenses. Staffing allowance is determined by the rules and presiding officers, depending on the time of year.   Arizona None.   Arizona None.   Arkansas Legislators receive a maximum reimbursement of \$14,400/year for legislative expenses. Committee chairs, vice chairs and standing subcommittee chairs may claim additional reimbursement up to \$3,600/year.   California Assembly members have a base allowance of \$263,000/year to cover these expenses. Senate member expenses are paid directly and maintained by the Senate Rules Committee.   Colorado None.   Connecticut Senators receive \$5,500/year and representatives receive \$4,500/year in unvouchered expense allowance.   Delaware Office supplies are distributed out of the general House supply budget.   Florida Senate: \$2,921/month for district office expenses. House: \$2,482/month for district office expenses.   Georgia Legislators have \$7,000/year reimbursable expense account. If members request, and provide receipts, they are reimbursed for personal services, office equipment, rent, supplies, transportation, telecommunications, etc.   Hawaii No district offices. The allocation for session staffing allowance.   Illinois Senators receive \$3,03/year and representatives \$6,409/year for office expenses. No staffing allowance.			
ArkansasLegislators receive a maximum reimbursement of \$14,400/year for legislative expenses. Committee chairs, vice chairs and standing subcommittee chairs may claim additional reimbursement up to \$3,600/year.CaliforniaAssembly members have a base allowance of \$263,000/year to cover these expenses. Senate member expenses are paid directly and maintained by the Senate Rules Committee.ColoradoNone.ConnecticutSenators receive \$5,500/year and representatives receive \$4,500/year in unvouchered expense allowance.DelawareOffice supplies are distributed out of the general House supply budget.FloridaSenate: \$2,921/month for district office expenses. House: \$2,482/month for district office expenses.GeorgiaLegislators have \$7,000/year reimbursable expense account. If members request, and provide receipts, they are reimbursed for personal services, office equipment, rent, supplies, transportation, telecommunications, etc.HawaiiNo district offices. The allocation for session staffing is approximately \$5,000- \$8,000/month for the January-April legislative session.Idaho\$1,875/year for unvouchered constituent expense. No staffing allowance.Senators receive \$83,063/year and representatives \$69,409/year for office expenses, including district offices and staffing.IndianaThese expenses come out of one main Senate budget. No district offices.Iowa\$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No staffing allowance.IndianaThese expenses come out of one resonal outpersentatives share staff allowances or \$2,000/month secretaries during session only.Kentucky\$1,788.51/year for district e		Senators receive up to \$20,000/ year and representatives receive up to \$16,000/year for postage per their choice for postage, stationery and other legislative expenses. Staffing allowance is determined by the rules and presiding	
Arkansasexpenses. Committee chairs, vice chairs and standing subcommittee chairs may claim additional reimbursement up to \$3,600/year.CaliforniaAssembly members have a base allowance of \$263,000/year to cover these expenses. Senate member expenses are paid directly and maintained by the Senater Rules Committee.ColoradoNone.ConnecticutSenators receive \$5,500/year and representatives receive \$4,500/year in unvouchered expense allowance.DelawareOffice supplies are distributed out of the general House supply budget.FloridaSenate: \$2,921/month for district office expenses. House: \$2,482/month for district office expenses.GeorgiaLegislators have \$7,000/year reimbursable expense account. If members request, and provide receipts, they are reimbursed for personal services, office equipment, rent, supplies, transportation, telecommunications, etc.Hawaii\$1,875/year for unvouchered constituent expense. No staffing allowance.IllinoisSenators receive \$3,063/year and representatives \$69,409/year for office expenses, including district offices and staffing.IndianaThese expenses come out of one main Senate budget. No district offices.Iowa\$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No staffing allowance.LouisianaAllowed \$50,080/month. Senators and representatives receive an additional \$1,788,51/year for district expenses during interim.LouisianaAllowed \$50/month. Senators and representatives receive an additional \$1,788,51/year for district expenses during interim.LouisianaSinger for district expenses during interim.Allowed \$500/month supplemental allowan	Arizona	None.	
Californiaexpenses. Senate member expenses are paid directly and maintained by the Senate Rules Committee.ColoradoNone.ConnecticutSenators receive \$5,500/year and representatives receive \$4,500/year in unvouchered expense allowance.DelawareOffice supplies are distributed out of the general House supply budget.FloridaSenate: \$2,921/month for district office expenses. House: \$2,482/month for district office expenses.GeorgiaLegislators have \$7,000/year reimbursable expense account. If members request, and provide receipts, they are reimbursed for personal services, office equipment, rent, supplies, transportation, telecommunications, etc.HawaiiNo district offices. The allocation for session staffing is approximately \$5,000- \$8,000/month for the January-April legislative session.Idaho\$1,875/year for unvouchered constituent expense. No staffing allowance.IllinoisSenators receive \$83,063/year and representatives \$69,409/year for office expenses, including district offices and staffing.IndianaThese expenses come out of one main Senate budget. No district offices.Iowa\$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No staffing allowance.LouisianaAllowed \$7,083/year, which is taxable income for the legislators are provided with sceretaries during session only.Kentucky\$1,51/year for district expenses during interim.Allowed \$500/month. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of \$2,000/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of \$2,000/month supplemental allowa	Arkansas	expenses. Committee chairs, vice chairs and standing subcommittee chairs may claim additional reimbursement up to \$3,600/year.	
ConnecticutSenators receive \$5,500/year and representatives receive \$4,500/year in unvouchered expense allowance.DelawareOffice supplies are distributed out of the general House supply budget.FloridaSenate: \$2,921/month for district office expenses. House: \$2,482/month for district office expenses.GeorgiaLegislators have \$7,000/year reimbursable expense account. If members request, and provide receipts, they are reimbursed for personal services, office equipment, rent, supplies, transportation, telecommunications, etc.HawaiiNo district offices. The allocation for session staffing is approximately \$5,000- \$8,000/month for the January-April legislative session.Idaho\$1,875/year for unvouchered constituent expense. No staffing allowance.Senators receive \$83,063/year and representatives \$69,409/year for office expenses, including district offices and staffing.IndianaThese expenses come out of one main Senate budget. No district offices.Iowa\$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No staffing allowance.Kansasallowances vary for leadership, which has its own budget. Legislators are provided with secretaries during session only.Kentucky\$1,788.51/year for district expenses during interim.LouisianaAllowed \$500/month. Senators and representatives receive an additional \$1,500/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of \$2,000/month starting salary up to \$3,000/month, with annual increases.MaineNone; however, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general legislative acc	California	expenses. Senate member expenses are paid directly and maintained by the	
Connecticulunvouchered expense allowance.DelawareOffice supplies are distributed out of the general House supply budget.FloridaSenate: \$2,921/month for district office expenses. House: \$2,482/month for district office expenses.GeorgiaLegislators have \$7,000/year reimbursable expense account. If members request, and provide receipts, they are reimbursed for personal services, office equipment, rent, supplies, transportation, telecommunications, etc.HawaiiNo district offices. The allocation for session staffing is approximately \$5,000- \$8,000/month for the January-April legislative session.Idaho\$1,875/year for unvouchered constituent expense. No staffing allowance.IllinoisSenators receive \$83,063/year and representatives \$69,409/year for office expenses, including district offices and staffing.IndianaThese expenses come out of one main Senate budget. No district offices.Iowa\$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No staffing allowance.KansasAllowed \$7,083/year, which is taxable income for the legislators. Staffing allowances vary for leadership, which has its own budget. Legislators are provided with secretaries during session only.Kentucky\$1,788.51/year for district expenses during interim.LouisianaNone; however, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general legislative account.MaineNone; however, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general legislative account.Maryland\$18,265/year for normal expenses of an office with limits on postage, telephone and publications; members must document expenses. Legislators	Colorado	None.	
FloridaSenate: \$2,921/month for district office expenses. House: \$2,482/month for district office expenses.GeorgiaLegislators have \$7,000/year reimbursable expense account. If members request, and provide receipts, they are reimbursed for personal services, office equipment, rent, supplies, transportation, telecommunications, etc.HawaiiNo district offices. The allocation for session staffing is approximately \$5,000- \$8,000/month for the January-April legislative session.Idaho\$1,875/year for unvouchered constituent expense. No staffing allowance.IllinoisSenators receive \$83,063/year and representatives \$69,409/year for office expenses, including district offices and staffing.IndianaThese expenses come out of one main Senate budget. No district offices.Iowa\$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No staffing allowance.KansasAllowed \$7,083/year, which is taxable income for the legislators. Staffing allowances vary for leadership, which has its own budget. Legislators are provided with secretaries during session only.Kentucky\$1,788.51/year for district expenses during interim.LouisianaAllowed \$500/month. Senators and representatives receive an additional \$1,500/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of \$2,000/month starting salary up to \$3,000/month, with annual increases.MaineNone; however, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general legislative account.Maryland\$18,265/year for normal expenses of an office with limits on postage, telephone and publications; members must	Connecticut		
Floridadistrict office expenses.GeorgiaLegislators have \$7,000/year reimbursable expense account. If members request, and provide receipts, they are reimbursed for personal services, office equipment, rent, supplies, transportation, telecommunications, etc.HawaiiNo district offices. The allocation for session staffing is approximately \$5,000- \$8,000/month for the January-April legislative session.Idaho\$1,875/year for unvouchered constituent expense. No staffing allowance.IllinoisSenators receive \$83,063/year and representatives \$69,409/year for office expenses, including district offices and staffing.IndianaThese expenses come out of one main Senate budget. No district offices.Iowa\$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No staffing allowance.KansasAllowed \$7,083/year, which is taxable income for the legislators. Staffing allowances vary for leadership, which has its own budget. Legislators are provided with secretaries during session only.Kentucky\$1,788.51/year for district expenses during interim.LouisianaAllowed \$500/month. Senators and representatives receive an additional \$1,500/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of \$2,000/month starting salary up to \$3,000/month, with annual increases.MaineNone; however, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general legislative account.Maryland\$18,265/year for normal expenses of an office with limits on postage, telephone and publications; members must document expenses. Legislators must use \$5,800 for clerical services. Sena	Delaware	Office supplies are distributed out of the general House supply budget.	
Georgiarequest, and provide receipts, they are reimbursed for personal services, office equipment, rent, supplies, transportation, telecommunications, etc.HawaiiNo district offices. The allocation for session staffing is approximately \$5,000- \$8,000/month for the January-April legislative session.Idaho\$1,875/year for unvouchered constituent expense. No staffing allowance.IllinoisSenators receive \$83,063/year and representatives \$69,409/year for office expenses, including district offices and staffing.IndianaThese expenses come out of one main Senate budget. No district offices.Iowa\$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No staffing allowance.KansasAllowed \$7,083/year, which is taxable income for the legislators. Staffing allowances vary for leadership, which has its own budget. Legislators are provided with secretaries during session only.Kentucky\$1,788.51/year for district expenses during interim.LouisianaAllowed \$500/month. Senators and representatives receive an additional \$1,500/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of \$2,000/month starting salary up to \$3,000/month, with annual increases.MaineNone; however, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general legislative account.Maryland\$18,265/year for normal expenses of an office with limits on postage, telephone and publications; members must document expenses. Legislators must use \$5,800 for clerical services. Senators receive one administrative assistant and session secretary.MassachusettsAllowed \$7,200/year for o	Florida		
Hawan\$8,000/month for the January–April legislative session.Idaho\$1,875/year for unvouchered constituent expense. No staffing allowance.IllinoisSenators receive \$83,063/year and representatives \$69,409/year for office expenses, including district offices and staffing.IndianaThese expenses come out of one main Senate budget. No district offices.Iowa\$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No staffing allowance.Iowa\$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No staffing allowance.KansasAllowed \$7,083/year, which is taxable income for the legislators. Staffing allowances vary for leadership, which has its own budget. Legislators are provided with secretaries during session only.Kentucky\$1,788.51/year for district expenses during interim.LouisianaAllowed \$500/month. Senators and representatives receive an additional \$1,500/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of \$2,000/month starting salary up to \$3,000/month, with annual increases.Maine\$18,265/year for normal expenses of an office with limits on postage, telephone and publications; members must document expenses. Legislators must use \$5,800 for clerical services. Senators receive one administrative assistant and session secretary.MassachusettsAllowed \$7,200/year for office expenses.	Georgia	request, and provide receipts, they are reimbursed for personal services, office	
IllinoisSenators receive \$83,063/year and representatives \$69,409/year for office expenses, including district offices and staffing.IndianaThese expenses come out of one main Senate budget. No district offices.Iowa\$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No staffing allowance.KansasAllowed \$7,083/year, which is taxable income for the legislators. Staffing allowances vary for leadership, which has its own budget. Legislators are provided with secretaries during session only.Kentucky\$1,788.51/year for district expenses during interim.LouisianaAllowed \$500/month. Senators and representatives receive an additional \$1,500/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of \$2,000/month starting salary up to \$3,000/month, with annual increases.Maine\$18,265/year for normal expenses of an office with limits on postage, telephone and publications; members must document expenses. Legislators must use \$5,800 for clerical services. Senators receive one administrative assistant and session secretary.MassachusettsAllowed \$7,200/year for office expenses.	Hawaii		
Illinoisexpenses, including district offices and staffing.IndianaThese expenses come out of one main Senate budget. No district offices.Iowa\$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No staffing allowance.KansasAllowed \$7,083/year, which is taxable income for the legislators. Staffing allowances vary for leadership, which has its own budget. Legislators are provided with secretaries during session only.Kentucky\$1,788.51/year for district expenses during interim.LouisianaAllowed \$500/month. Senators and representatives receive an additional \$1,500/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of \$2,000/month starting salary up to \$3,000/month, with annual increases.MaineNone; however, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general legislative account.Maryland\$18,265/year for normal expenses of an office with limits on postage, telephone and publications; members must document expenses. Legislators must use \$5,800 for clerical services. Senators receive one administrative assistant and session secretary.MassachusettsAllowed \$7,200/year for office expenses.	Idaho	\$1,875/year for unvouchered constituent expense. No staffing allowance.	
Iowa\$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No staffing allowance.KansasAllowed \$7,083/year, which is taxable income for the legislators. Staffing allowances vary for leadership, which has its own budget. Legislators are provided with secretaries during session only.Kentucky\$1,788.51/year for district expenses during interim.LouisianaAllowed \$500/month. Senators and representatives receive an additional \$1,500/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of \$2,000/month starting salary up to \$3,000/month, with annual increases.MaineNone; however, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general legislative account.Maryland\$18,265/year for normal expenses of an office with limits on postage, telephone and publications; members must document expenses. Legislators must use \$5,800 for clerical services. Senators receive one administrative assistant and session secretary.MassachusettsAllowed \$7,200/year for office expenses.	Illinois		
Iowaexpenses. No staffing allowance.KansasAllowed \$7,083/year, which is taxable income for the legislators. Staffing allowances vary for leadership, which has its own budget. Legislators are provided with secretaries during session only.Kentucky\$1,788.51/year for district expenses during interim.Kentucky\$1,788.51/year for district expenses during interim.LouisianaAllowed \$500/month. Senators and representatives receive an additional \$1,500/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of \$2,000/month starting salary up to \$3,000/month, with annual increases.MaineNone; however, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general legislative account.Maryland\$18,265/year for normal expenses of an office with limits on postage, telephone and publications; members must document expenses. Legislators must use \$5,800 for clerical services. Senators receive one administrative assistant and session secretary.MassachusettsAllowed \$7,200/year for office expenses.	Indiana	These expenses come out of one main Senate budget. No district offices.	
Kansasallowances vary for leadership, which has its own budget. Legislators are provided with secretaries during session only.Kentucky\$1,788.51/year for district expenses during interim.LouisianaAllowed \$500/month. Senators and representatives receive an additional \$1,500/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of \$2,000/month starting salary up to \$3,000/month, with annual increases.MaineNone; however, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general legislative account.Maryland\$18,265/year for normal expenses of an office with limits on postage, telephone and publications; members must document expenses. Legislators must use \$5,800 for clerical services. Senators receive one administrative assistant and session secretary.MassachusettsAllowed \$7,200/year for office expenses.	Iowa		
LouisianaAllowed \$500/month. Senators and representatives receive an additional \$1,500/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of \$2,000/month starting salary up to \$3,000/month, with annual increases.MaineNone; however, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general legislative account.Maryland\$18,265/year for normal expenses of an office with limits on postage, telephone and publications; members must document expenses. Legislators must use \$5,800 for clerical services. Senators receive one administrative assistant and session secretary.MassachusettsAllowed \$7,200/year for office expenses.	Kansas	allowances vary for leadership, which has its own budget. Legislators are	
Louisiana\$1,500/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of \$2,000/month starting salary up to \$3,000/month, with annual increases.MaineNone; however, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general legislative account.Maryland\$18,265/year for normal expenses of an office with limits on postage, telephone and publications; members must document expenses. Legislators must use \$5,800 for clerical services. Senators receive one administrative assistant and session secretary.MassachusettsAllowed \$7,200/year for office expenses.	Kentucky	\$1,788.51/year for district expenses during interim.	
Marinegeneral legislative account.Maryland\$18,265/year for normal expenses of an office with limits on postage, telephone and publications; members must document expenses. Legislators must use \$5,800 for clerical services. Senators receive one administrative assistant and session secretary.MassachusettsAllowed \$7,200/year for office expenses.	Louisiana	\$1,500/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of	
Marylandand publications; members must document expenses. Legislators must use \$5,800 for clerical services. Senators receive one administrative assistant and session secretary.MassachusettsAllowed \$7,200/year for office expenses.	Maine		
		and publications; members must document expenses. Legislators must use \$5,800 for clerical services. Senators receive one administrative assistant and	
Michigan \$51,900 per majority Senator for office budget and \$51,900 for minority	Massachusetts	Allowed \$7,200/year for office expenses.	
	Michigan	\$51,900 per majority Senator for office budget and \$51,900 for minority	

2014 State Legislator	<b>Compensation—Office Suppl</b>	ies, District Offices and Staffing

State	Office Supplies, District Offices and Staffing	
	Senator for office budget.	
Minnesota	Supplies provided in the Capitol. In the House, staffing is provided centrally. Senators have one legislative assistant and are given \$75/week for interns. No district offices.	
Mississippi	\$1,500/month out of session.	
Missouri	\$700/month to cover all reasonable and necessary business expenses.	
Montana	None.	
Nebraska	No allowance; however, each member is provided with two full-time Capitol staff year-round.	
Nevada	None.	
New Hampshire	None.	
New Jersey	Allowed \$1,250 for office supplies. Equipment and furnishings are supplied through a district office program, and there is \$110,000/year for district office personnel. The state provides stationery for each legislator and \$10,000 for postage stamps.	
New Mexico	None.	
New York	Staff allowance (district and Capitol) is set by the majority leader for majority members and by the minority leader for minority members. Geographic location, seniority and leadership responsibilities will cause variations.	
North Carolina	Non-leaders receive \$6,708/year for any legislative expenses not otherwise provided. Full-time secretarial assistance is provided during session.	
North Dakota	None.	
Ohio	None.	
Oklahoma	Each member is given a \$1,500/year allotment. This may be spent on electronic communications such as cell phone bills as well as office expenses.	
Oregon	\$36,367/year for session staffing and \$2,692.80 for services and supplies. For interim periods, legislators receive \$68,538/biennium to spend as they choose. They also receive an additional \$450–\$750/month during interim only, as a district allowance, depending on geographic size of district.	
Pennsylvania	Staffing is determined by leadership.	
Rhode Island	None.	
South Carolina	Senate: \$3,400/year for postage, stationery and telephone. House: \$1,800/year for telephone and \$600/year for postage. Legislators also receive \$1,000/month for district expenses that is treated as income.	
South Dakota None.		
Tennessee	Allowed \$1,000/month for expenses in district (U).	
Texas	Approved allowance for staff salaries, supplies, stationery, postage, district office rental, telephone expense, etc. Senate and House allocations are not the same.	
Utah	None.	
Vermont	None.	
Virginia	Legislators receive \$1,250/month and leadership receives \$1,750/month as an office expense allowance. Legislators receive a staffing allowance of \$56,000/year; leadership receives \$74,879/year.	

State	Office Supplies, District Offices and Staffing	
Washington	Senate: \$7,800/year for legislative expenses, for which the legislator has not been otherwise entitled to reimbursement. No staffing allowance.	
West Virginia	None.	
Wisconsin	\$15,000/two-year session in the Assembly. No available staffing at district office. \$45,000/two-year period for office expenses. \$191,700/two-year period for staffing allowance.	
Wyoming	\$750/quarter through the constituent service allowance.	

State	Health	Dental	Vision
AL	Same as state employees; optional at legislators' expense	Same as state employees; optional at legislators' expense	Not available
AK	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	The state pays a portion; legislators pay a portion	Optional at legislators' expense, unless included in health insurance
AZ	The state pays a portion; legislators pay a portion; same as state employee plan	Optional at legislators' expense; same as state employees' plan	Optional at legislators expense; same as state employees' plan
AR	The state pays \$410 monthly; legislators pay the balance depending on the plan chosen	Optional at legislators' expense	Vision screening with co- pay, once/2 years with health plan; additional coverage optional at legislators' expense
СА	The state pays a portion (20% less than the contribution paid for state managerial employees); legislators pay a portion	Legislators pay 10% of the basic dental premium; enhanced coverage is available at an additional cost.	Legislators pay 10% of the basic vision premium; enhanced coverage is available at an additional cost to the Member.
CO	The state pays portion, and legislators pay portion; amount differs according to plan selected	The state pays portion, legislators pay portion; amount differs according to plan selected	Not available
СТ	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	Some health insurance plans include discounts on eyewear
DE	The state pays portion, and legislator pay a portion	Optional at legislators' expense	Optional at legislators' expense
FL	Legislators pay \$50/month for individual coverage and \$180/month for family coverage	The state pays the full amount	Optional at legislators' expense
GA	Same as the state employee plan: the state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	Legislators pay; this is an optional benefit offered once/year during open enrollment	Legislators pay; this is an optional benefit offered once/year during open enrollment
н	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion; same healthcare options as legislative employees	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion; same dental care options as legislative employees	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion; same eye care options as legislative employees
ID	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion

2014 State Legislator Compensation—Health, Dental and Vision Benefits

State	Health	Dental	Vision
IL	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion
IN	Same health coverage as state employees	Same dental coverage as state employees	Same vision coverage as state employees
IA	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	Not available
KS	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	The state pays for legislators; legislators pay dependent coverage	Optional at legislators' expense
KY	Same as the state employee plan	Optional at legislators' expense	Optional at legislators' expense
LA	The state pays 50%, and legislators pay 50%	The state pays 50%, and legislators pay 50%; senators pay 100%	Legislators pay 100%
ME	HMO plan is the same as provided to state employees. The state pays 95% or 100% of legislator coverage (depending on legislator's completion of the health assessment) and 50% of dependent coverage	Optional; same as for state employees; the state pays 100% of legislators' coverage	Optional at legislators' expense
MD	Same as the state employee plan. The state pays 80–85% depending on the plan selected; legislator pays 20% for PPO, 17% for POS or 15% for HMO	Optional; same as state employee plan; the state pays 50%	Covered under the medical plan
МА	The state pays a portion (currently 80%), and legislators pay a portion	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion
MI	Health, vision, life, cancer and prescription offered via cafeteria plan	Included in cafeteria plan	Included in cafeteria plan
MN	The state pays 100% for single coverage and 90% of family coverage	The state pays 81% for single coverage and 60% for family coverage	The same optional coverage as state employees; STD; LTD; optional life for member, spouse, and child; AD&D and long-term care

State	Health	Dental	Vision
MS	The state pays the full amount of legislator-only premiums	Optional at legislators' expense	Optional at legislators' expense
МО	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	Optional at legislators' expense	Optional at legislators' expense
MT	The state pays the full amount; dependents are not covered	The state pays the full amount; dependents are legislators' responsibility	Optional at legislators' expense
NE	Optional at legislators' expense	Optional at legislators' expense	Optional at legislators' expense
NV	Optional at legislators' expense	Optional at legislators' expense	Optional at legislators' expense
NH	Optional at legislators' expense	Optional at legislators' expense	Not available
NJ	Same as state employees; members appointed or elected after 5/21/10 are not eligible for coverage	Same as state employees; members appointed or elected after 5/21/10 are not eligible for coverage	Same as state employees; members appointed or elected after 5/21/10 are not eligible for coverage
NM	Not available	Not available	Not available
NY	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	The state pays the full cost	The state pays the full cost
NC	The state pays the full amount for the PPO 70/30 plan. For the 80/20 plan, legislators pay a variety of rates depending on participation in wellness activities. Optional family coverage for both plans is at legislators' expense.	Optional at legislators' expense	Optional at legislators' expense
ND	The state pays for legislators choosing the state health plan	Optional at legislators' expense	Optional at legislators' expense
ОН	The state pays 85%, and legislators pay 15%	The state pays the full amount	The state pays the full amount
ОК	Health insurance allowance ranging from \$608.57/month for legislators only to \$1,596.95/month for entire family	Same as the state employees benefit plan	Same as the state employees benefit plan

State	Health	Dental	Vision
OR	Consistent with state employees—the state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	Consistent with state employees—the state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	Consistent with state employees—the state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion
РА	Legislators pay 1% of salary toward benefits	Legislators pay 1% of salary toward benefits	Legislators pay 1% of salary toward benefits
RI	Legislators receive the same health insurance as state employees	Legislators receive the same dental insurance as state employees	Legislators receive same vision insurance as state employees
SC	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	Not available
SD	Not available	Not available	Not available
TN	The state pays 80%, and legislators pay 20%	Optional at legislators' expense	Not available
ТХ	The state pays the full amount; same as state employees	Optional at legislators' expense	Included in health coverage
UT	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion; similar to state employees	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion; similar to state employees	Optional group discounts; similar to state employees
VT	Optional at legislators' expense	Not available	Not available
VA	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion
WA	Same as state employees	Same as state employees	Included in medical
WV	Optional at legislators' expense	Optional at legislators' expense	Optional at legislators' expense
WI	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion; single or family coverage with premiums from \$84–\$576/month; 26 health insurance carriers offer plans across the state	Some HMOs offer coverage	Not available
WY	Not available	Not available	Not available

State	Disability Insurance
Alabama	Not available
Alaska	Optional; if selected is included in health insurance
Arizona	The state pays a portion; legislators pay a portion
Arkansas	Supplemental (AFLAC, etc.) optional at legislators' expense
California	Assembly members do not have disability insurance coverage; senators are covered by a long-term disability insurance policy
Colorado	Not available
Connecticut	Optional at legislators' expense
Delaware	Not available
Florida	The state pays the full amount
Georgia	The state pays a portion; legislators pay a portion
Hawaii	The state pays a portion; legislators pay a portion
Idaho	The state pays a portion; legislators pay a portion
Illinois	The state pays the full amount
Indiana	State legislators are not offered disability insurance
Iowa	The state pays the full amount
Kansas	The state pays the full amount
Kentucky	Optional at legislators' expense
Louisiana	Optional at legislators' expense
Maine	Not available
Maryland	Not available
Massachusetts	Optional at legislators' expense
Michigan	Not available
Minnesota	Optional at legislators' expense
Mississippi	Optional at legislators' expense
Missouri	The state pays the full amount
Montana	Not available
Nebraska	Optional at legislators' expense
Nevada	Optional at legislators' expense
New Hampshire	Not available
New Jersey	Temporary disability insurance is not available to members. Some members have permanent disability options available through their pension plan; those not eligible for pension are offered long-term disability insurance unless they are already retired from a public pension plan.
New Mexico	Not available
New York	The state pays the full amount
North Carolina	Optional at legislators' expense

2014 Legislator Compensation—Disability Insurance Offered to State Legislators

Optional at legislators' expense
Not available
Same as state employees benefit plan
Consistent with all other state employees, available as a legislator-paid option
Legislators are not eligible for disability insurance
Optional at legislators' expense
The state pays a portion, legislators pay a portion
The state pays the full amount for accidental death/dismemberment insurance only
Not available
Optional at legislators' expense
The state pays the full amount
Not available
The state pays the full amount; only permanent disability retirement through retirement system
The state pays a portion, legislators pay a portion
Not available
Optional at legislators' expense
Not available

	2014 State Legislator Compensation—Life Insurance Benefits	
State	Life Insurance Benefit	
Alabama	Not available.	
Alaska	A small policy is available; additional is optional at legislators' expense.	
Arizona	The state pays for \$15,000; additional is paid by legislators.	
Arkansas	The state pays for \$30,000 as part of the health plan; additional is optional at	
	legislators' expense.	
California	Assembly: \$250,000 term policy. Assembly Members pay 18% of the premium.	
	plus the taxable value on coverage above \$50,000. Senators are eligible for up	
	to \$250,000 term coverage; premiums are age based; Members pay 10% of the	
	premium, plus the taxable value on coverage above \$50,000.	
Colorado	The state pays for \$50,000; additional is optional at legislators' expense.	
Connecticut	Coverage is optional at legislators' expense.	
Delaware	Coverage is optional at legislators' expense.	
Florida	The state pays the full amount.	
Georgia	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion.	
Hawaii	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion. Legislators have the	
<b>T</b> 1 1	same insurance benefit as legislative employees.	
Idaho	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion.	
Illinois	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion.	
Indiana	State legislators are offered the same life insurance plans as regular state	
T	employees.	
Iowa	The state pays for \$20,000; additional is at legislators' expense.	
Kansas	150% of annual salary if part of KPERS; additional insurance is optional at	
Vantualar	legislators' expense.	
Kentucky	The state pays for \$20,000; additional is available at legislators' expense.	
Louisiana Maine	The state pays half and legislators pay half.	
Ivianie	Legislators are eligible for a group life insurance program with coverage in amount equal to legislators' salary; plan is 100% legislator-paid.	
Maryland	Term insurance is optional at legislators' expense.	
Massachusetts	The state pays for \$5,000; additional, up to eight times the salary, is at	
Iviassaciiusetts	legislators' expense.	
Michigan	Offered at different levels as part of cafeteria plan.	
Minnesota	The state pays for \$35,000.	
Mississippi	The state pays half and legislators pay half.	
Missouri	The state pays the full amount; additional amounts are optional at legislators'	
111050 ull	expense.	
Montana	The state pays for a \$14,000 term policy; additional is at legislators' expense.	
Nebraska	Optional at legislators' expense.	
Nevada	Optional at legislators' expense.	
New	Not available.	
Hampshire		
New Jersey	Members enrolled in the pension plan have up to three times the annual salary.	
5	Members enrolled in the defined contribution plan have one and a half times the	
	annual salary. Members not covered by either plan have no death benefit.	
New Mexico	Not available.	
New York	Optional at members' expense.	
North	Optional at legislators' expense.	
Carolina		

2014 State Legislator Compensation—Life Insurance Benefits		2014 State Legislator Compensation—Life Insurance Benefits
--	--	--

State	Life Insurance Benefit
North Dakota	The state pays for a \$1,300 term life policy.
Ohio	The state pays for an amount equal to salary. Members may purchase a
	supplemental policy, which is also offered to state employees.
Oklahoma	Same as state employees benefit plan.
Oregon	Consistent with all other state employees, this is available as a legislator-paid
	option.
Pennsylvania	A group life policy is for up to the amount of salary.
Rhode Island	Optional at legislators' expense.
South	The state pays a portion, and legislators pay a portion.
Carolina	
South Dakota	Not available.
Tennessee	The state pays \$15,000, and legislators pay \$7,000.
Texas	Optional at legislators' expense.
Utah	The state pays the full amount.
Vermont	Not available.
Virginia	The state pays for a portion, and legislators pay for a portion.
Washington	The state pays for a portion, and legislators pay for a portion.
West Virginia	Optional at legislators' expense.
Wisconsin	Legislators may have up to five times their salary as life insurance under group
	term coverage. Spouses and dependents may be covered at lower levels.
	Premiums for legislators vary with salary and age.
Wyoming	Not available.
## STATE RETIREMENT PROVISIONS FOR ELECTED STATE OFFICIALS

National Conference of State Legislatures, February 2013

This table shows the retirement plans currently effective elected state officials, specifically legislators and governors. In some instances, the table also includes information on plans closed to newly elected officials that remain in effect for those elected before the current plan became effective. In most cases, more detail on legislators' plans can be found on the websites of the public employees' retirement plan of the state in question. The information in this table was taken from plan descriptions and from legislation enacted in recent years.

Information for Guam and the Virgin Islands dates from 2002.

This table was compiled by NCSL staff.

State	Participation	Plan Name &	Minimum Age	Employee	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment
	Requirement	Membership	and Service Requirement	<b>Contribution Rate</b>		after Retirement
AL	None available for	or legislators.				
AK	Optional	Public Employees Retirement System Defined Benefit Plan Membership: Employees hired prior to July 1, 2006, including legislators and governor.	Age 60 with 10 years	6.75% employee	2% (first 10 years); or 2.25% (second 10 years); or 2.5% over 20 x average over 5 highest consecutive years x years of service. Disability benefits are available.	
AK	Optional	For those elected after July 1, 2006: Public Employees Retirement System Defined Contribution Plan Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	No age and service requirements; Taxes and penalties may apply if withdrawn before age 59 1/2. Member account contributions are vested as follows: 100% vested in employee contributions from inception. Vested in employer contributions based on the following schedule: 25% after 2 years of service, 50% after 3 years, 75% after 4 years and 100% after 5 years.	8% employee pre-tax contribution and 5% employer contribution, plus an employer contribution to the Health Plan determined by actuarial valuation.	DC account balance plus investment earnings. May be received in several different payment options. No provision for post- retirement benefit increases. Disability benefits are available.	Alaska Statute 39.35.150 prohibits a member from working in a PERS covered position while receiving PERS retirement benefits. If a member returns to work in a PERS position, the retirement benefit will be suspended until the member terminates employment.

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
AZ	Mandatory except that officials subject to term limits may opt out for a term of office.	Elected Officials Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 65 with 5+ years of service; age 62 with 10+ years of service; or 20 years of service; earlier retirement with an actuarial reduction of benefits. Vesting at 5 years	7% employee	<ul> <li>4% x years of credited service x highest 3 yr. average in the past 10 years The benefit is capped at 80% of FAS.</li> <li>An elected official may purchase service credit in the plan for service earned in a non-elected position by buying it at an actuarially determined amount.</li> </ul>	If a retired member subsequently becomes an elected official, contributions shall not be made by the retired member and credited service shall not accrue while the retired member is holding office. In addition to subsection I of this section, if a retired member subsequently becomes, by reason of election or reelection, an elected official of the same office from which the member retired within a time period following the member's retirement that is less than one full term for that office, the member shall not receive a pension. If the elected official is entitled to receive the same pension the elected official was receiving when the elected official's pension was discontinued pursuant to this subsection. <i>Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 38-804(I).</i>
AZ SB 1609 0f 2011	Contribution requirements affect all members; benefit and eligibility requirements affect those elected after January 1, 2012	Elected Officials Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	For those elected to office after 1/1/2012. Age 65 with 5+ years of service; age 62 with 10+ years of service. Vesting at 5 years. No provision for retirement after 20 years or for early retirement.	2011 legislation increases contribution rates in annual steps from the present 7% of gross salary to, in FY 2014, 13% or an actuarially based calculation, which can be revised. Affects all members.	For those elected to office after 1/1/2012: 3% x years of credited service x highest 5 yr. average in the past 10 years The benefit is capped at 75% of FAS.	Same as above.

State	Participation	Plan Name &	Minimum Age	Employee	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment
	Requirement	Membership	and Service Requirement	Contribution Rate		after Retirement
AR	Optional. Those elected before 7/1/99 may have service covered as a regular state employee but must have 5 years of regular service to do so.	Arkansas Public Employees Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 65 with 10 years of service; 55/12; any age with 28 years of service; any age if serving in the General Assembly on 7/1/79; any age if in elected office on 7/1/79 with 17 and 1/2 years of service. As a regular employee, 65/5 or any age/28 years. Members of the contributory plan established in 2005 must have a minimum of 10 years legislative service if they have only legislative state employment	Non-contributory plan in effect for those elected before 2006. For those elected then and thereafter, a contributory plan that requires 5% of salary.	For service that began after 7/1/99: 2.07% x FAS x years of service. FAS based on three highest consecutive years of service. For service that began after July 1,1991, \$35 x years of service = monthly benefit. For contributory plan, 2% X FAS x years of service.	Members may not return to work for an APERS covered employer.
CA	Legislators electe 4.5.	d after 1990 are not eliş	gible for retirement benefits for lo	egislative service. See Wes	t's Ann.Cal.Const. Art. 4, §	
CA	Optional membership in the California Public Employees' Retirement System (CalPERS).	California Public Employees' Retirement System Membership: Includes and governor.	Minimum age is 50 with 5 years of service.			Members may serve in an elective office without effect on the retirement allowance unless all or a portion of the retirement allowance is based on previous service in the same elected office. If so, the portion of the retirement allowance based on that elected office service is suspended for as long as the member serves in office while retired. If the member is an active employee serving in an elective office and wishes to retire before the expiration of the current term, the member must resign from the position in order to retire. If the member is re-elected or re-appointed to the same position after retirement, the portion of the retirement allowance based on service in that elected office will be suspended for as long as the member serves in office while retired.
СО	Mandatory:	Either Public Employees' Retirement Association OR State Defined Contribution Plan. A choice is not irrevocable. Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	PERA: age 65 with 5 years of service; age 50 with 30 years of service; when age + service equals 80 or more (min. age of 55). DCP: no age requirement and immediate vesting.	Employee: 8%	<ul><li>PERA: 2.5% x FAS x years of service, capped at 100% of FAS.</li><li>DCP benefit depends upon contributions and investment return.</li></ul>	Members must terminate employment with Colorado PERA employers to receive a retirement benefit. Members may not return to work the effective month of retirement without incurring a benefit reduction. Members may only work part time without incurring a benefit reduction. All retirees working after retirement must pay a working retiree contribution equal to the member contribution rate for the employer. State legislators are exempted from the working retiree contribution requirement.

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
СТ	Mandatory	State Employees Retirement System Tier IIA Membership: Includes legislators.	Age 60 with 25 years credited service; age 62 with 10-25 years credited service; age 62 with 5 years actual state service Reduced benefit available with earlier retirement ages	2%	(.0133 X average annual salary)+(.05 X average salary over "breakpoint]) X credited service up to 35 years 2003 - \$36,400 2004 - \$38,600 2005 - \$40,900 2006 - \$43,400 2007 - \$46,000 2008 - \$48,800 2009 - \$51,700 After 2009 - increase breakpoint by 6% per year rounded to nearest \$100	If a member is reemployed by the state in a permanent position after retirement, the pension payments and benefits cease.
DE	Mandatory	State Employees Pension Plan Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 60 with 5 years of credited service; or 55 with 10 years of service	3% of annual compensation in excess of \$6,000	2% times FAS times years of service before 1997 + 1.85% times FAS times years of service from 1997 on. FAS = average of highest 3 years	Member may return to work part time after a 6- month waiting period without stopping pension benefits.
<b>DE</b> HB 81 of 2011	Mandatory for those elected after January 1, 2012	State Employees Pension Plan Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	65 with 10 years of service; or 60 with 20 years of service. Vesting at 10 years.	5% of annual compensation in excess of \$6,000	Unchanged	Same as above.
FL	Optional. Elected officials may opt out or may choose between DB and DC plans (includes legislators and governor)	Florida Retirement System: Elected Officers' Class Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Vesting in DB plan, 6 years; in DC plan, 1 year. DB plan: Age 62 with 6 years; 30 years at any age. Changed in 2011 to age 62 without a service minimum. DC plan: any age	No employee contribution. Employer contribution for 2009- 2010 for legislators is 14.48% of salary. Changed to 3% employee contribution as of July 1, 2011.	DB plan: 3% x years of creditable service x average final compensation (average of highest 5 years) DC plan: dependent upon investment experience.	There are no limits on working for an FRS employer after the member has been retired for 12 calendar months.

State	Participation	Plan Name &	Minimum Age	Employee	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment
	Requirement	Membership	and Service Requirement	Contribution Rate		after Retirement
FL SB 2100 of 2011	SB 2100 affects those enrolled in the Elected Officers' Class on or after July 1, 2011, except for a contribution requirement for all members. (includes legislators and governor)	Florida Retirement System: Elected Officers' Class Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Vesting in DB plan, 8 years. Retirement eligibility at age 65 or with 33 years of service at any age. No changes affecting the DC plan.	Employee contribution of 3% to affect all members. Employer contribution about 8% in FY 2012 and about 29% for FY 2013.	Unchanged for the DB plan except that for those enrolled in the system after July 1, 2011, average final compensation will be based on the highest 8 years.	Same as above.
GA	Optional; choice when first elected. (includes legislators and governor)	Georgia Legislative Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Vested after 8 years. Age 62 with 8 years of service; age 60 with reduction for early retirement	Employee: 3.75% + \$7 / month.	\$36/month for each year of service. Post-retirement benefit increases are not available to any person who joins the system after July 1, 2009.	If a member returns to the General Assembly after retirement and after reaching the normal retirement age, the member must either: • continue to receive a monthly retirement benefit, and not accrue any additional benefits under LRS, or • suspend monthly retirement benefits and re- establish active LRS membership.
HI	Mandatory	Public Employees Retirement System; elected officials' plan Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 55 with 5 years of service, any age with 10 years of service. Vesting at 5 years.	Main plan is noncontributory; 7.8% for elected officials' plan for annuity	3.5% x years of service as elected official x highest average salary plus annuity based on contributions as an elected official. Highest average salary = average of 3 highest 12-month periods as elected official. Annual COLA of 2.5%.	
HI Act 163 of 2011	Act 163 affects For those who enter the plan after July 1, 2012.	Public Employees Retirement System; elected officials' plan Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Any age with 10 years of service Vesting at 10 years	Contribution rate of 9.8%	Multiplier for elected officials' reduced from 3.5% to 3.0%; COLA reduced from 2.5% annually to 1.5%.	Act 179, Laws of 2010 (HB 2533), provides that retirees of the Hawaii Retirement System may not be rehired by the state or a county government unless they are re-enrolled in the retirement system. Elected officials are exempted from this restriction.
ID	Mandatory	Public Employee Retirement System of Idaho	Age 65 with 5 years of service; reduced benefit at age 55 with 5 years of service.	6.97%	Average monthly salary for highest 42 consecutive months x 2% x months of credited service	

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
IL	Optional	General Assembly Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 55 with 8 years of service or age 62 with 4 years of service	8.5% for retirement; 2% for survivors; 1% for automatic increases; total 11.5%	FAS is highest four years of the last 10, capped at \$245,000. Benefit is 3% for each of first 4 years of service; 3.5% for each of the next 2 years; 4% for each of the next 2 years; 4.5% for each of the next 4 years; 5% for each year of service above 12. Benefit capped at 85% of FAS with 20 years of service. Annual COLA at 3%, compounded and not included under the 85% cap.	If a member returns to work for the General Assembly Retirement System after retirement, the annuity is suspended.
IL SB 1946 of 2010	Optional	General Assembly Retirement System Changes effective for those taking office after 1/1/2011 Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 67 with 8 years of service; reduced benefits available at 62	Same	Formula is unchanged. FAS was changed to highest 8 of the last 10 years of service, and capped at \$106,800 with an annual adjustment in the cap at the rate of the CPI. Benefit capped at 60% of FAS. Annual COLA at the lesser of 3% or CPI, compounded.	If a member returns to work for the General Assembly Retirement System after retirement, the annuity is suspended.
IN	DB plan was mandatory for those serving before April 30, 1989, except that those serving on that day could opt to transfer to the DC plan. Defined contribution has been mandatory for those elected or appointed since 4/30/89	Legislators' Retirement System Defined Benefit (DB) Plan and Defined Contribution Plan (DC) Membership: Includes legislators.	DB plan: Vesting at 10 years Age 65 with 10 years of legislative service; or, if no longer in the legislature, these options apply: at least 10 years of service; no state salary; at age 55+ Rule of 85 applies; or age 60 with 15 years of service. Early retirement with reduced benefit. Immediate vesting in the DC plan.	DC plan: 5% employee, 20% state (of taxable income) through 2009. At present, the contribution is recalculated annually not to exceed the state contribution to the employee retirement plan. The DB plan is funded by employer and employee contributions.	DB benefit plan monthly benefit: Lesser of (a) \$40 x years of General Assembly service completed before 11/8/89 OR (b) 1/12 of the average of the three highest consecutive years of General Assembly service salary. DC plan: numerous options for withdrawing accumulations in accord with IRS regulations. Loans are available. A participant in both plans may receive a benefit from both plans.	

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
IN	Governors are entitled to participate in the Governor and Surviving Spouse pension plan.	Governor and Surviving Spouse Pension Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Benefits are vested after a governor serves part of one term. Age and service requirements vary; see benefit formula column.	Noncontributory.	Annual benefits depend on the number of terms served and age at retirement. One term: The retirement benefits to which the governor is entitled, if any , from PERF; OR At least age 62, but less than age 65, 30% of the Governor's annual salary established by IC 4-2-1-1 for life. At least age 65, 40% of the Governor's annual salary established by IC 4-2- 1-1 for life. Two terms: The retirement benefits to which the Governor is entitled, if any, from PERF; OR At least age 62, but less than age 65, 40% of the Governor's annual salary established by IC 4-2-1-1 for life. At least age 65, 50% of the Governor's annual salary established by IC 4-2-1-1 for life. At least age 65, 50% of the Governor s annual salary established by IC 4-2- 1-1 for life. The Governor chooses the initial benefit payment date and the benefit payment amount. After the Governor receives the first benefit payment, the choice of date and amount are irrevocable.	Ind. Code 4-3-3-1.1 does not contain a reemployment retirement provision.
IA	Optional	Public Employees Retirement System (IPERS) Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 65; age 62 with 20 years of service; Rule of 88; reduced benefit at 55 with at least 4 years of service.	3.7 % individual	2% times FAS. x years of service for first 30 years, + 1% times FAS times years in excess of 30 but no more than 5 in excess of 30. FAS is average of 3 highest years	Part-time elected official may start receiving benefits without giving up elected office if they notify IPERS in writing of the intent to retire, end all covered employment and end IPERS coverage for the elected position. This includes the governor.

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
KS	Optional	Public Employees Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 65, age 62 with 5 years of service, or when age plus years of service equals 85.	4% if service began before July 1, 2009; 6% if service began after that date. (base may include salary, per diem, non-session allowance, session expenses; or various combinations at the legislator's option.)	3 highest years x 1.75% x years of. service ÷ 12= monthly benefit.	Generally, members must wait 60 days before returning to work for any Retirement System employer. Members are generally subject to a \$20,000 per year earnings limit. Certain legislative positions are exempt from the earnings limit.
KY	Governors are members of the Kentucky Employees' Retirement System.	Kentucky Employees' Retirement System Membership: Includes and governor.	Retirement benefits are available at age 65 with four of service; any age with 27 of service; early retirement with reduced benefits.	5% of salary	1.97% of final average salary (FAS). FAS is the average monthly earnings for the five fiscal or partial fiscal of highest earnings including at least 48 months of salary.	An employee retiring from a hazardous or non- hazardous position but returning to work in a regular full-time non-hazardous position that would otherwise be required to participate in the Systems must observe a three (3) calendar month break in service before returning to work with a participating agency. If the employee does not observe the proper break, retirement is voided and all benefits are repaid to KRS. The employee will contribute to the appropriate retirement system.
KY 8/05	Optional. Those who opt out are covered by the state employees' plan.	Kentucky Legislators' Retirement Plan Membership: Includes legislators.	Age 65 with five years of service; any age with 30 years of service, and intermediate provisions. Early retirement with reduced benefits.	5% of creditable compensation set by law at \$27,500: not the same as actual salary. HB 1 of 2008 Special Session raised the contribution level to 6% for legislators elected after 7/1/08	<ul> <li>2.75% of FAS (based on creditable compensation) x years of service. FAS is the average monthy earnings for the 60 months preceding retirement.</li> <li>HB 1 of the 2008 Special Session reduced the annual COLA for retired legislators from the CPI (capped at 5%) to 1.5% effective on July 1, 2008. This applies to current as well as to future retirees. The statutes reserve to the legislature the power to make such changes. The amount of the COLA may be increased by the legislature if the legislature prefunds the cost of the increase.</li> </ul>	

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
LA			after January 1, 1997, is ineligible prior to January 1, 2011 are mem			s of a 1996 constitutional amendment. See LSA-
ME	Mandatory	Maine State Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 60 (if 10 years of service on $7/1/93$ ) and age 62 (if less than 10 years of service on 7/1/93). Reduced benefit available for earlier retirement.	7.65% legislators; employer contribution is actuarially determined.	2% of average final compensation (the average of the 3 high salary years) times years of service.	Members must wait 30 days after ending the position before returning to work. Members may not be paid more than 75% of the compensation established for the position and may only return to service for up to five (5) years.
MD	Optional	State Legislators' Pension Plan Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 60 with 8 years; age 50 with 8+ years creditable service for early reduced retirement	5% of annual salary	3% of legislative salary for each year of service up to 22 years 3 months. Benefits are recalculated when legislative salaries are changed.	If a legislator is reemployed by an employer who participates in the state system after retirement, the legislator may continue to receive a retirement benefit. There is no reduction or suspension of benefits during this employment. However, if the legislator returns to the General Assembly, the retirement benefit is stopped and previous service credit is restored. Legislators may elect to join the plan again and earn additional service credit. If the legislator joins again the future retirement benefit will be based on all current and prior creditable service earned (up to the maximum 22 years three months) as well as the legislative salary at the time of the second retirement.
MD	Governor is entitled to receive a retirement allowance	Governor's Pension Plan Membership: Includes governor.	Age 55 or disability.	Noncontributory.	A governor who has completed one full term of office is entitled to 1/3 the annual salary of the current governor. A governor who has completed two full terms is entitled to 1/2 the annual salary of the current governor. A surviving spouse is entitled to a benefit equal to 50% of the benefit due the former governor regardless of the former governor's age at death (added by Chapter 263, Laws of 2007).	The Board of Trustees shall suspend a retirement allowance received under this section during any period when the former Governor is employed by a unit of State government. MD Code, State Personnel and Pensions, § 22-405

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
MA	Optional after each election or re-election to the General Court.	Massachusetts State Employees Retirement System Membership: Includes elected officials.	Age 55 with 6 years of service; unreduced benefit at 65 Vesting at 6 years. Reduced benefits for retirement before age 65.	9%. Some legislators are grandfathered at lower rates.	2.5 times years of service times FAS. FAS = average of highest 36 months. Service credit is allowed for membership in other Massachusetts retirement plans.	Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws c. 32, § 91, there are limitations on the amount of time that a rehired retiree may work and the amount of money that he or she may earn.
MI	Optional	Michigan Judges' Retirement Plan (Defined Benefit Plan) Membership: Legislators and governors elected before 3/31/97. Others may join the state defined contribution plan.	Age 55 with 5 years or when age plus years of service equal 70. Employee contributions are immediately vested. Employer contributions are vested as follows: Zero after one year; 50% after two years; 75% after three years; 100% after four years.	7-10% for DB plan. For the DC plan, the state contributes 4% of salary. Members may contribute up to 3% of salary. The state will match the member's contribution in addition to the state 4% contribution.	For DB plans, various provisions, depending on when service started. For the DC plan, benefits depend upon contributions and earnings.	If a member is elected as a state official while retired, the retirement allowance is suspended during the period served in official. If a member returns to office and serves 1 full term as a state official, the retirement allowance can be recalculated based on the new final salary and include additional service credit.
MN	Mandatory	Legislators Retirement Plan before 7/1/97; Unclassified Employees Retirement Plan (Defined Contribution Plan) after 7/1/97. Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	LRP: 62 years with 6 years of service and fully vested. DCP: Age 55 and immediate vesting. LRP members do not have Social Security coverage. DCP members have Social Security coverage.	LRP: 9%; DCP: 4% from member, 6% from state.	2.7% x high 5 year average salary x years of service. DCP benefits depend upon contributions and investment return.	Unknown for LRP. Members of the Unclassified Employees Retirement Plan must wait at least 30 days after retirement to return to work. If a member returns to a position covered by MSRS, no retirement contributions will be deducted from the member's salary; however, salaries are subject to an earnings limitation.

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
MS	Mandatory	Mississippi Public Employees' Retirement System (PERS) Membership: Elected officials are members of PERS. Legislators are members of both the Supplemental Legislators Retirement Plan (SLRP)	Age 60 with 4 or more years of service, or 25 years of service	Regular: 7.25% state 9.75% to 10.75 effective July 1, 2005 Supplement for legislative service: 3%/6.33%	Legislators who qualify for regular state retirement benefits also automatically qualify for the legislators' supplemental benefits. Regular: 2% times FAS times years of service up to and including 25 years of service + 2.5% times FAS times service in excess of 25 years FAS is based on the high 4 years Supplement: 1% times FAS times years of legislative service through 25 years, + 1.25% times FAS times years of service in excess of 25	Local elected officials (municipal or county) age 62 or older may return to work for a PERS covered position without going through a waiting period; all other PERS retirees must wait at least 90 consecutive calendar days before returning to work. PERS employees returning to work must come out of retirement and suspend benefits or return to employment with a covered employer under limited part-time or partial pay conditions.
MO HB 1, 1 <sup>st</sup> Speci al Sessi on 2010	Mandatory	Missouri State Employee Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	For those entering system after January 1, 2011: Age 62; service in three full biennial assemblies (6 years) or the Rule of 90 with a minimum age of 55. Vesting at 6 years of service.	For those entering system after January 1, 2011: 4% of salary	No change	If a member retires and later return to work for the state, in a benefit-eligible position covered by MOSERS, the retirement benefit will be stopped.
MT	Optional	Public Employees Retirement System. Either a DB or a DC plan is available. Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Vesting at 5 years Age 60 with at least 5 years service; age 65 regardless of years of service; or 30 years of service regardless of age.	6.9% for DB plan. Employer contribution of 4.19% plus employee contribution of 6.9 % for DC plan	DB plan: 1/56 times years of service times FAS. Early retirement with reduced benefits is available. DC plan: Employee contributions and earnings are immediately vested. Employer contributions and earnings are vested after 5 years	

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
NE	Those elected before January 1, 2003, were members of the state employee defined contribution plan. Those elected after that date are be members of the state employee cash balance plan.	Nebraska State Employee Cash Balance Plan. Membership: Includes elected officials.	Vesting is at three years or age 55 if one terminates employment after age 55.	From the member, 4.33% of the first \$19,954 of salary and 4.8% of the excess; from the employer, 156% of the employee contribution.	The eventual benefit depends on member contributions and investment earnings. An annual return of 5% is guaranteed, but the return may be higher.	If a member ceases employment and takes a distribution of their retirement, then returns to work before 120 days, the member must repay the distribution.
NV	Mandatory; but chapter 380, Laws of 2005, allows legislators to withdraw from the system at will. The decision is final.	Legislators' Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators.	Age 60 with 10 years of service (legislators elected after July 1, 1985)	15% of session salary	Number of years x \$25 = monthly allowance	Legislators without prior Public Employees' Retirement System (PERS) service are enrolled as members of the Legislators' Retirement System (LRS). The LRS is administered at the request of the Legislature by the Public Employees' Retirement Board. Legislators currently active in PERS may take a leave of absence from their public employment to serve in the Nevada Legislature. The employee may remain a contributing member of PERS if retirement contributions are paid, by the Legislator, to the System. A public employee who elects to remain in PERS in a without pay status does not accrue any service credit for retirement under the LRS.

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
NV	Membership can only be cancelled upon refund, retirement or death of a member.	Nevada Public Employee Retirement System, Enrolled after 1/1/10 Membership: Includes governor, general membership; no special provisions for governor.	65/5; 62/10; any age with 30 of service.	9.75% of salary	Service Credit x 2.5% x Average Monthly Compensation.	Unlike general members, retired members employed by either house of the legislature or by the Legislative Counsel Bureau and members elected to public office may return to work without stopping retirement benefits (unless serving in the same office in which service credit was earned as a member). Few exceptions from return to work restrictions apply and include: Employment with either house of the Legislature or by the Legislative Counsel Bureau, Employment of certain retirees to fill positions for which there is a critical labor shortage, and Election to public office, unless servicing in the same office in which service credit was
NH	None available fo	or Legislators				earned as a member.
NH	Governors may join the NH Retirement System	New Hampshire Retirement System Membership: Includes governor.	Age 60, any age; early retirement available with reduced benefits	5%	Average final compensation (3 high)/60 * of service [equivalent to multiplier of 1.667.]	If retirees return to work full-time in an NHRS- covered position, they will be restored to NHRS active service. Retirees may return to a NHRS- covered position part-time and still collect an annuity. Chapter 0194, Laws of 2012 defines part-time as 32 hours a week or 1,200 hours a year (so long as such part-time employment does not occur outside of a 5-consecutive-month period in any 12-month period.)
NJ	Mandatory	Public Employees' Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 60; no minimum service requirement. Early retirement with no benefit reduction with 25 years of service. Vesting at 8 years	5% of sala <del>r</del> y	3% x Final Average Salary x years of service. FAS = higher of three highest years or three final years Benefit is capped at 2/3 of FAS, Other formulas apply if a legislator also has other service covered by the Public Employee Retirement System.	A member of the PERS can no longer retire and collect a PERS retirement allowance while continuing to hold an elective public office covered by the PERS. PERS retirees who were granted a retirement allowance under N.J.S.A. 43:15A-47.2 prior to its repeal on June 28, 2011, may continue to receive the pension benefit and salary provided that they continue to serve, without interruption, in the same elected office. <i>Chapter 78, P.L. 2011, the Pension and Health Benefit</i> <i>Reform Law</i> (repealed N.J.S.A. 43:15A-47.2).

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
NM	Optional	Legislative Retirement Plan Membership: Includes legislators.	Plans 1A and 1B: Age 65 with 5 years of service; 64/8; 63/11; 60/12; or any age with 14 years of service Plan 2: 65 with five years of service or at any age with 10 years of legislative service.	Plan 1A: \$100 per year for service after 1959 Plan 1B: \$200 per year (now closed to new enrollments). Plan 2: \$500/year. Increased to \$600 per year by 2012 legislation.	<ul> <li>Plan 1A: \$250 per year of service.</li> <li>Plan 1B: \$500 per year of service after 1959.</li> <li>Plan 2: 11 percent of the IRS Legislative per diem rate in effect on December 31st of the year a legislator retires x 60 x the years of credited service. For a legislator who retired in 2111 the benefit would be \$1,129 per year of credited service. Annual 3% COLA.</li> </ul>	Elected officials and legislative session workers are exempted from the return to work provisions that affect all other retirees hired on/after 7/1/10. Pensions of other retirees who return to work or a PERA employer will be suspended. If the retiree has completed a 12-month break in service from the date of retirement, service credit is not accrued for the re-employment and neither the employer nor the employee contributes.
NM	Optional	Public Employee Retirement System (includes special provisions for elected officials.) Membership: Includes governor	Age 65 with 5 years of service; 64/8; 63/11; 62/14; 61/17; 60/20; any age with 25 years of service	Plan 1: 3.83% of salary; Plan 2: 6.18% of salary.	<ul> <li>service. Annual 3% COLA.</li> <li>Plan 1: 2% of final average salary x years of service, not to exceed 60% of final average salary.</li> <li>Plan 2: 2.5% of final average salary x years of service, not to exceed 75% of final average salary.</li> <li>Plan 3: 3% of final average salary x years of service, not to exceed 80% of final average salary. Annual 3% COLA.</li> </ul>	Same as above.
NY	Mandatory	New York State and Local Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 62 with 5 years of service; 55 with 30 years; reduced benefit available at 55/5. Vesting at 5 years	3% for first 10 years of membership (Tier 4 provisions)	Tier 4: 2% x final average salary (average of 3 highest consecutive years) x years of service to 30 years; multiplier of 1.5% after 30 years For members who retire with fewer than 20 years of service, the multiplier is 1.67.	If a retiree's post-retirement employer is a public employer in New York State, there are restrictions on receiving a pension during the course of employment.
NC	Mandatory	Legislative Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators.	Age 65 with 5 years of service; reduced benefit available at earlier ages	7%	Highest annual compensation x 4.02% x years of service	If members return to service as a member of the General Assembly, benefits are suspended and the member is reinstated as a contributing member of the Legislative Retirement System.

State	Participation	Plan Name &	Minimum Age	Employee	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment
	Requirement	Membership	and Service Requirement	Contribution Rate		after Retirement
NC	Mandatory	Teachers' and State	65 with 5 of service; 60 with	6%	1.81% x average of 4	After a six-month break, members may return to
		Employees'	25 of service; any age with		highest consecutive years of	work in a position that requires in the Teachers'
		Retirement System.	30 of service.		service x years of service.	and
		Membership: Includes governor.				State Employees' Retirement System. The retirement benefit will be suspended and the employee will again become a contributing members.
ND	None available for legislators.					
ОН	Optional	Public Employees Retirement System	Age 60 with 5 years of service or 55 with 25 years of service or at any age with 30 years of service.	8.5% of gross salary. A 10% contribution rate for legislators will be phased in over three years starting in	2.2% of final average salary times years of service up to and through 30 years of service. 2.5% starting with the 31st year of service and	In most instances, re-employed retirees will continue to receive their retirement allowance during re-employment. However, if a retire becomes re-employed anytime within the first two months after the retirement benefit effective
		Membership: Includes legislators and governor.		three years starting in 2006.	the 31st year of service and every year thereafter.	date, the retiree will forfeit the retirement allowance during this two-month period

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
ОК	Legislators may retain membership as regular public employees if they have that status when elected; one time option to join elected officials' plan.	Elected Officials' Plan of the Public Employee Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Elected Officials' Plan: Age 65, or age 60 with 6 years' service. Vesting at 6 years	Optional contribution levels: 4.5%, 6%, 7.5%, 8.5%, 9% or 10%, of total compensation.	Average participating salary x length of service x computation factor depending on optional contributions ranging from 1.9% for a 4.5% contribution to 4% for a 10% contribution. S.B. 1641 (Chapter 105, Laws of 2008) provides that for people elected to office on or after July 1, 2008, the formula described here can apply only to years of service as an elected official and can be based only on the higher year of salary received as an elected official (not on any subsequent salary from a non-elective post as was possible under the original provisions). Capped benefits at 100% of salary as a member of the Oklahoma Public Employee Retirement system (not clear whether this is highest salary	State law prohibits OPERS Retirees from returning to work with the same agency from which they retired for a period of one year, unless the member waives receipt of the OPERS retirement benefit for the first year. A retiree may return to work with a different OPERS participating employer and continue to receive the OPERS benefit after the first full month of retirement, subject to the Social Security earnings limitations discussed below.
<b>OK</b> SB 794 of 2011	New provisions affect people elected to office after November 1, 2011	Elected Officials Plan of the Public Employee Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 65 or age 62 with 10 years of membership in the plan. Early retirement with reduced benefits at age 60 with 10 years of service. Vesting at 8 years.	Schedule of options was repealed. Required contribution of 3.5% of total compensation	as an elected official) 2% of final average salary times years of service. SB 2322 of 2012 allows members to choose a benefit option of 2.5% of final average salary, for which members' contributions will be increased by an amount that will equal the actuarial cost of the increased benefit.	Same as above.

Public Employee Retirement System. Those elected for a term beginning after Aug. 29, 2003, may choose to join the Oregon Public Service Retirement Plan (OPRSP)a hybrid DB/DC plan; the Oregon Savings Growth Plan—a 457 deferred comp. plan, or neither.Membership: Includes legislators and governor.State Employees' Retirement System	Normal retirement age for general service members is age 65 or age 58 with 30 years of retirement credit.	For the OPRSP DC component, employees contribute 6% of salary. The DB component is non- contributory. For the 457 plans, members may contribute amounts to limits set by IRS.	For the OPRSP individual account component, or DC component, at retirement, employees may receive the IAP as a lump-sum payment or in equal installments over a 5, 10, 15 or 20-year period. For the DB component, benefit calculation is 1.5 percent x final average salary x years of service.	A retired member who has been retired for more than six consecutive calendar months may be reemployed by a participating public employer. Any person reemployed shall resume making contributions to the retirement fund.
	Age 50 with 3 years service:			
Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	any age with 35 years scivice, any age with 35 years of service; early retirement with reduced benefit.	6.25%	3% x final average salary x credited years of service (x withdrawal factor if under 50), with a maximum benefit of 100% of FAS	If a member retires under normal or early retirement and subsequently return to state service, the monthly pension benefits from SERS will stop.
State Employees' Retirement System ate on Membership: 1, Includes legislators and governor.	Vesting at 10 years. Retirement age is 55 with 3 years of credited service or according to the Rule of 92 with a minimum of 35 years of service.	6.25% or 9.3% (member's choice). Rate will vary with actuarial conditions; these are minimums.	Like general state employees, new legislators may choose between plans with different contribution rates. The multiplier for the lower contribution will be 2% and for the higher contribution 2.5%. Cap on benefits is unchanged.	Same as above.
	After 1990, age 65 with 30 years of service	8.275%	1.5% of average earnings multiplied by the number of years of accredited service.	
-	and governor. Retirement System	and governor.Retirement System of the Employees of the Government ofAfter 1990, age 65 with 30 years of service	and governor.After 1990, age 65 with 308.275%Retirement System of the Employees of the Government of Puerto RicoAfter 1990, age 65 with 308.275%	and governor.2% and for the higher contribution 2.5%. Cap on benefits is unchanged.Retirement System of the Employees of the Government ofAfter 1990, age 65 with 30 years of service8.275%1.5% of average earnings multiplied by the number of years of accredited service.

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
RI	Governors are eligible to participate.	Employees Retirement System of Rhode Island Membership: Includes governor.	60 with 10 of service; any age with 28 of service.	8.75% of salary;	(1.7% for first 10 + 1.9% for 2nd 10 + 3% 20-34 + 2% x year 35)(avg. of 3 highest ) capped at 80 percent of final average salary	A person collecting a benefit from ERS is subject to restrictions on employment with the State of Rhode Island, any Rhode Island public school or any Rhode Island municipality participating in MERS. Any employment or reemployment may begin no earlier than 30 days after retirement. A retiree cannot go back to work full time for the State of Rhode Island or any participating municipality without
SC	Mandatory (but not available to anyone first elected to the General Assembly after November 2012).	South Carolina Retirement System: General Assembly Retirement Plan Membership: Includes legislators.	Age 60 with 8 years of service. 30 years of service regardless of age	10% 11% as of January 1, 2013	4.82% x earnable compensation x years of service. Earnable compensation" means 40 times the daily rate of remuneration, plus \$12,000, of a member of the General Assembly, as from time to time in effect.	suspension of their pension benefit. If a legislator returns to work after retirement, there is no limit on the dollar amount he or she may earn as compensation; however, certain conditions apply for members who return to work for an employer covered South Carolina Retirement System.
SC	Mandatory choice for those elected in or after November 2012: Act 278, Laws of 2012 (includes legislators and governor)	S.C. Retirement Plan (a defined benefit plan) or S.C. State Optional Retirement Plan (a defined contribution plan) Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	SCRS: vesting at 8 years; retirement benefits at age 65 with 8 years of service or in accord with the Rule of 90. Reduced benefits are available at age 60 with 8 years of service. ORP: immediate vesting in employer contributions	SCRS: 7% as of July 1, 2012, rising to 8% on July 1, 2014. ORP: 7% + 5% employer contribution, immediately vested.	SCRS: 2.25% x years of service x final average compensation, which is the average of the member's 5 highest years of earned compensation. ORP: upon retirement a member may annuitize the balance in the account or take a lump-sum or partial distribution. Federal provisions apply.	
SD	None available.				1	1

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
SD		South Dakota Retirement System Membership: Includes governor.	Early retirement at 55 and 3 years' service with reduced benefits; regular retirement at 65.	6%	South Dakota offers a variety of benefit options, including an enhanced benefit from age 55 until age 62, when a state employee becomes eligible for Social Security benefits. The Standard Formula for retirement at 65 is 1.625 times FAS times credited service for compensation before July 1, 2002, plus 1.55% times FAS times credited service for compensation after July 1, 2002. The plan provides an annual COLA.	Retirement benefits will be cancelled for any retired member who returns to covered service within three months of retirement. The retiree must repay any benefits received in the period, or accept an offsetting actuarial reduction in eventual retirement benefits. For those who return to covered employment after three months, retirement benefits shall be reduced by 15% and the member forfeits annual increases during the period of re-employment. Employee and employer contributions will be made during the period of re-employment. The employee contributions will be deposited in a deferred contributions will be made to the Retirement System without any credit to the member, and the member cannot earn additional service credit during the period of re- employment.
TN	Optional	Tennessee Consolidated Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 55 with 4 years service	5.43%	\$70 per month x years of service with a \$1,375 monthly cap 2006 legislation provides for an annual adjustment in the base amount (not an annual COLA to recipients) and provides that a legislator may reject the increase in writing.	
UT	Mandatory	Governors' and Legislators' Retirement Plan Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 62 with 10 years and an actuarial reduction; age 65 with 4 years of service for full benefits	Non-contributory	\$24.80/month (as of July 2004) x years of service; adjusted semi-annually according to consumer price index up to a maximum increase of 2%	The monthly legislative benefit ceases at the beginning of each session and is restored to the same amount at the end of the session, if the member is elected to another term or continues to serve in the legislature after retirement. If the legislator receives a benefit while serving, her or she is eligible for additional service credits and a benefit adjustment at the end of each term of office.

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
UT	2010 legislation closed the plan described above to legislators elected after July 1, 2011 and replaced it.	New Public Employees' Tier II Contributory Retirement Plan Defined Contribution Plan Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	The new DC plan will be a 401(k) with distribution of accumulations subject to federal rules	Employer will contribute 10% of compensation, which will vest after four years of service. Employees may, but are not required, to contribute.	Benefits will be based upon accumulations in the employee account.	
VT	None available.	Deferred compensation	i plan available.			
VT	Governors are members of the Vermont State Retirement System, but may choose to participate in a defined contribution plan.	Vermont State Retirement System Membership: Includes governor.	62 with 5 years of service; any age with 30 years of service. Vesting at 5 years	3.35%	1.67% x FAS (average of three highest years) x years of service	
VA	Mandatory	Virginia Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 50 with 30 years of service (unreduced); age 55 with 5 years and age 50 with 10 years (reduced)	8.91% of creditable compensation	1.7% of average final compensation x years of service	Employees who return to covered employment with a VRS-participating employer will stop receiving benefits.
WA	Optional. If before an election the legislator belonged to a state public retirement plan, he or she may continue in that by making contributions. Otherwise the new legislator may join PERS Plan 2 or Plan 3	See column to left. PERS plan 2 is a DB plan. PERS plan 3 is a hybrid DB/DC plan. Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	PERS plan 2: Age 65 with 5 years of service credit. Plan 3: Age 65 with 10 years of service credit for the DB side of the plan; immediate benefits (subject to federal restrictions) on the DC side of the plan. The member may choose various options for investment of contributions to the DC plan.	PERS plan 2: Employee contribution of 2.43% for 2002. Estimated at 3.33% for 2005-2007. Plan 3: No required member contribution for the DB component. The member may contribute from 5% to 15% of salary to the DC component.	<ul> <li>PERS plan 2: 2% x years of service credit x average final compensation.</li> <li>Plan 3: DB is 1% x service credit years x average final compensation. DC benefit depends upon the value of accumulations.</li> </ul>	

State	Participation Requirement	Plan Name & Membership	Minimum Age and Service Requirement	Employee Contribution Rate	Benefit Formula	Re-employment/Concurrent Employment after Retirement
WV	Optional	Public Employees Retirement System Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 55 - If years of service + age equal 80	4.5% gross income	2% x final average salary x years of service. Final average salary is based on 3 highest years out of last 10 years	There is a cap on how much a retired state employee can make if he or she returns to work at another state agency or contract with the state.
WI	Mandatory	Wisconsin Retirement Fund Membership: Includes legislators and governor.	Age 62 normal; age 57 with 30 years of service	2.6% of salary in 2003: adjusted annually	Higher benefit of formula (2.165% x years of service x salary for service before 2000; 2% x years of service x salary for service 2000 and after) OR money-purchase calculation. For creditable service after2011, an accrual rate of 1.6%.	Employees must wait 30 days before returning to work. If the employee returns to work for any WRS employer in a qualifying position, the employee may continue to receive the annuity but not earn additional service credits OR become covered under WRS and have the annuity stopped.
WY	None available f	or legislators.				
WY	All state officials, including the governor, are enrolled in the Public Employees Pension Plan.	Public Employees Pension Plan Membership: Includes governor. Provisions are the same as other employees.	Age 60 with 4 years of service; reduced benefit available at age 50 with 4 years of service.	11.25%, paid by the state,	2.125% of highest average salary (three highest consecutive) for each year of service with full retirement at age 60.	If a member retires and then returns to work for an employer of WRS, the member must make an election to continue to receive the retirement benefit and not contribute to WRS OR stop the benefit and begin contributing again.
DC 10/0 2	Mandatory		Age 62 with 5 years of service; age 55 with 30 years, Age 60 with 20 years	Before 10/1/87 7%; after 10/1/87 5%	Multiply high 3 years average pay by indicator under applicable years and months of service	
GU 10/0 2	Optional		Age 60 with 30 years of service. Age 55 and 15 years of service	5% or 8.5%	An amt equal to 2% of average annual salary for each of the first 10 years of credited service and 2.5% of average annual salary for each yr or part thereof of credited service over 10 years	
VI 10/0 2	Optional		Age 60 with 10 years of service.	8%	At age 60 with at least 10 years of service, at 2.5% for each year of service or at any age with at least 30 years	

For more information, contact pensions-info@ncsl.org.