
CHAPTER 101-02-01 
APPLICATION AND FEES FOR APPRENTICE, LICENSURE, AND 

CERTIFICATION 

Section 
101 -02-01-01 
101-02-01-02 
101-02-01-02.1 
101-02-01-03 
101-02-01-04 
101 -02-01 -05 

Application to Take the Examination 
Application for Apprentice , Licensure, or Certification 
Denial of Application 
Filing Fees 
Payment of Permit Fees 
Replacement License or Certificate Fee [Repealed] 

101-02-01-02.1. Denial of application. If an application is denied , the board 
will notify the applicant of the denial and specify the basis for the denial. 

History: Effective July 1, 2012 
General Authority: NDCC 43-23.3-03 
Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23.3-03 

101-02-01-03. Filing fees. Fees will not be prorated . 

1. The following application fees will be charged: 

a. Apprentice appraiser permit 

b. Licensed appraiser permit 

c. Certified residential appraiser permit 

d. Certified general appraiser permit 

$100 

$400 

$400 

$400 

2. The following annual renewal fees will be charged: 

a. Apprentice appraiser permit $350 

b. Licensed appraiser permit $350 + national registry fee 

c. Certified residential permit $350 + national registry fee 

d. Certified general permit $350 + national registry fee 

e. Inactive status $100 

f. Late filing fee (per month) $100 



3. Other fees : 

a. 

b. 

Temporary practice permit-per contract 

Approval of prelicensing or precertification 
educational courses 

c. Approval of continuing educational courses: 

d. 

e. 

f . 

g. 

( 1) 

(2) 

Courses two to eight hours in length 

Courses over eight hours in length 

Appraiser list on disk 

Pocket card replacement 

Wall certificate replacement 

Change of name or address 

$150 

$ 50 

$100 

$25 

$25 

$25 

$25 

History: Effective October 1, 1992; amended effective January 1, 1995; October 1, 
1998; February 1, 2003; January 1, 2008; July 1, 2012 ; January 1. 2015. 
General Authority: NDCC 43-23.3-20 
Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23.3-05 

101-02-02-03. Apprentice appraiser. 

1. Definition. An apprentice appraiser permit must be issued to an individual 
who successfully meets all of the board requirements for such a permit. 
An apprentice appraiser permit is considered the entry level (training 
ground level) for a North Dakota appraiser. 

2. Competency. An apprentice appraiser permit is considered the entry 
level (training ground level) for a North Dakota appraiser. The apprentice 
appraiser shall assist either a licensed or a certified appraiser in appraisal 
work, provided the licensed or certified appraiser accepts full responsib ility 
for the appraisal performed . The scope of practice for the apprentice 
appraiser is the appraisal of those properties that the supervising 
appraiser is permitted and qualified to appraise. The apprentice appraiser 
shall be subject to the uniform standards of professional appraisal 
practice. 

3. Background check. An applicant for an apprentice appraiser permit 
must undergo background screening to ensure that the applicant does not 
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possess a background that could call into question public trust. The 
appl icant shall submit finger prints and any appropriate identifying 
information for submission to the federal bureau of investigation and/or 
government agency or entity authorized to receive such information in 
connection with a state and national background check. 

a. All costs associated with obtaining a background check are the 
responsibility of the applicant. 

b. An applicant will not be considered for an apprentice permit if: 

(1) The applicant has had an appraiser apprentice, license or 
certification revoked in any governmental jurisdiction within 
the five year period immediately preceding the date of 
application. 

(2) The applicant has been convicted of. or pled guilty or nolo 
contendere to . a felony in domestic or fore ign court: 

(a) during the five year period immediately preceding the 
date of the application for an apprentice permit. 

(b) at any time preceding the date of application, if such 
felony involved an act of fraud , dishonesty, or a 
breach of trust, or money laundering . 

(3) The applicant has failed to demonstrate character and 
general fitness such as to command the confidence of the 
community and to warrant a determination that the appraiser 
will operate honestly, fairly , and efficiently within the 
purposes of these criteria . 

c. The following additional background issues will be evaluated and 
considered prior to issuing an apprentice permit: 

(1) Convictions of any criminal offense involving dishonestv. 
breach of trust. or money laundering against the applicant or 
organizations controlled by the applicant, or agreements to 
enter into a pretrial diversion or similar program in 
connection with the prosecution for such an offense. 

(2) Civil judicial actions against the individual in connection with 
financial services-related activities. dismissals with 
settlements. or judicial findings that the individual violated 
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financial services-related statutes or regulations, except for 
actions dismissed without a settlement agreement. 

(3) Actions or orders by a state or federal regulatory agency or 
foreign financial regulatory authority that: 

(a) Found the applicant to have made a false statement 
or omission or been dishonest, unfair or unethical ; to 
have been involved in a violation of a financial 
services-related regulation or statute; or to have been 
a cause of a financial services-related business 
having its authorization to do business denied, 
suspended, revoked, or restricted . 

(b) Are entered against the applicant in connection with a 
financial services-related activity. 

(c) Denied, suspended, or revoked the applicant's 
apprentice, license or certification permit to engage in 
a financial-services-related business or restricted the 
applicant activities. 

(d) Barred the applicant from association with an entity or 
its officers regulated by the agency or authority of 
from engaging in a financial services-related 
business. 

(4) Final orders issued by a state or federal regulatory agency or 
foreign financial regulatory authority based on violations of 
any law or regulation that prohibits fraudulent, manipulative, 
or deceptive conduct. 

(5) Revocation or suspension of the applicant's authorization to 
act as an attorney, accountant, or state or federal contractor. 

(6) Customer-initiated financial services-related arbitration or 
civil action against the applicant that required action, 
including settlements, or which resulted in a judgment. 

J. 4. Examination. An applicant for an apprentice permit must pass an open 
book examination covering North Dakota Century Code chapter 43-23.3 
and North Dakota Administrative Code title 1 01 . 
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4 5. Education. An applicant for the apprentice appraiser permit shall meet 
all of the following education requirements : 

a. An applicant for an apprentice appraiser permit must have 
successfully completed seventy five Seventy five class hours in 
subjects related to real estate appraisal which cover the required 
core curriculum as established by the appraisal qualifications board 
of the appraisal foundation and approved as such , by the board . 

ill Coverage must include a minimum of all of the following : 

f-:4@1 Thirty hours of basic appraisal principles. 

f2-t.(Q} Thirty hours of basic appraisal procedures. 

fJt.{£)_ The fifteen-hour national uniform standards of 
appraisal practice course or its equivalent. 

9 . m Class hours will be credited only for educational offerings 
with content that follows the required core curriculum. 

c. Ql A class hour is defined as sixty minutes, of which at least 
fifty minutes are instruction attended by the student. 

th .(11 Credit toward the class hour requirement may only be 
granted when the length of the educational offering is at 
least fifteen hours, and the individual successfully completes 
a closed-book examination pertinent to that educational 
offering . 

e-:- @ The prescribed number of class hours includes time for 
examinations. 

t,- @ Uniform standards of professional appraisal practice 
qualifying education credit shall only be awarded when the 
class is instructed by at least one appraisal qualifications 
board-certified instructor who is state-certified . 

9-:- ill Credit for the class requirement may be obtained from the 
following: 

Colleges or universities. 

Community or junior colleges. 
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Real estate appraisal or real estate-related 
organizations. 

State or federal agencies or commissions. 

Proprietary schools. 

Providers approved by the board. 

The appraisal foundation or its boards. 

R:- .@l Credit toward qualifying education requirements may also be 
obtained by the completion of a graduate (master or 
doctoral) degree in real estate from an accredited degree­
granting college or university approved by the American 
association to advance ef collegiate schools of business, or 
a regional or national accreditation agency recognized by the 
United States secretary of education , provided that the 
college or university has had its curriculum reviewed and 
approved by the appraisal qualifications board. 

h fill. Applicants for the apprentice level who are awarded 
graduate degrees from approved institutions are required to 
complete all additional education required for the credential 
permit in which the approved degree is judged to be deficient 
by the appraisal qualifications board. 

h UQl All hours may be by distance education. Distance education 
is an educational process in which the student and instructor 
are geographically separated. Distance education includes 
online learning, internet-based instruction, CD-ROM 
instruction , correspondence courses , and videoconferencing . 
An acceptable distance education course must meet all of 
the following requirements: 

Provide interaction between the student and the 
instructor. Interaction is a reciprocal environment in 
which the student has verbal or written 
communication with the instructor. 

Be approved for content by the board, the appraisal 
qualifications board of the appraisal foundation , or an 
accredited college, community college, or university, 
that offers distance education programs and is 
approved or accredited by the commission on 

6 



colleges , a regional or national accreditation 
association , or by an accrediting agency that is 
recognized by the United States secretary of 
education. Nonacademic credit college courses 
provided by a college shall be approved by the 
appraisal qualifications board of the appraisal 
foundation or the board . 

fJ1 .(Ql_ Obtain course delivery mechanism approval from one 
of the following sources: 

Appraisal qualifications board-approved 
organizations providing approval of course 
design and delivery. 

A college that qualifies for content approval in 
paragraph ~ ill and that awards academic 
credit for the distance education course. 

A qualifying college or university for content 
approval with a distance education delivery 
program that approves the course design and 
delivery that incorporates interactivity. 

Require the student to successfully complete a written 
examination proctored by an official approved by the 
presenting college or university, or sponsoring 
organization. Written exam refers to an exam written 
on paper or administered electronically on a computer 
work station or other device. 

Meet the requirements for qualifying education 
established by the appraisal qualifications board of 
the appraisal foundation . 

Be equivalent to at least fifteen class hours. 

j-:- l.1.1l Courses that have received approval by the appraiser 
qualifications board of the appraisal foundation through the 
appraiser qualifications course approval program may be 
acceptable to the board without additional state review. 

k-:- .(J.ll Courses taken to satisfy the qualifying education 
requirements must not be repetitive. Uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice courses taken in different 
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years are not repetitive . Courses shall foster problem-solving 
skills in the education process by utilizing case studies as a 
major teaching method when applicable. 

J.:. .(1ll Courses taken to meet the seventy-five hour apprentice 
requirement can be creditable toward the licensure and 
certification education requirement. 

m,. l.H.l Courses taken for the class hour requirement when an 
individual seeks a different classification than that held may 
also be counted for the continuing education requirement of 
the classification held . 

fl.:. 1.1..§l The applicant must be familiar with North Dakota Century 
Code chapter 43-23.3 and North Dakota Administrative 
Code title 101 . 

(16) All qualifying education must be completed within the five 
year period prior to the date of submission of an apprentice 
application. 

b. The apprentice shall be required to complete a course that 
complies with the specifications for course content established by 
the appraisal qualifications board , which is specifically oriented to 
the requirements and responsibilities of supervisory appraisers and 
apprentice appraisers. 

(1) The course must be completed by the apprentice prior to 
obtaining an apprentice permit. 

(2) The course is not eligible towards the required seventy-five 
hours of qualifying education. 

a§.. Experience. No experience is required for the apprentice appraiser. 

e z. Apprentice appraiser responsibilities. The apprentice appraiser must 
be subject to direct supervision by a supervising appraiser who must be 
state licensed or certified in good standing. 

a. Prior to issuance of an apprentice appraiser permit the applicant for 
the apprentice level is required to register the name, office and 
address of each supervising appraiser with the board on a form 
prescribed by the board. Registration of a supervising appraiser is 
effective the day the registration forms from both the supervising 
appraiser and apprentice appraiser are received and approved. 
These forms can be obtained by contacting the board office. 
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(1) The apprentice and supervrsrng appraiser shall notify the 
board in writing within ten days of terminating supervision . 

(2) The apprentice appraiser is permitted to have more than one 
supervising appraiser. 

b. The scope of practice for the apprentice appraiser is the appraisal 
of those properties that the supervising appraiser is permitted by 
the supervising appraiser's current credential permit and that the 
supervising appraiser is qualified to appraise. 

c. To obtain experience credit for appraisals, the apprentice must sign 
the report, sign the certification , or be given credit in the certification 
as having provided significant professional assistance. 

d. The apprentice appraiser and supervising appraiser shall jointly 
maintain a log of all appraisals for which the apprentice completed 
seventy-five percent or more of the assignment. It is the 
responsibility of both the supervisory appraiser and apprentice to 
ensure the experience log is accurate and current. The log , at a 
minimum, must include the following for each appraisal: 

(1) Type of property. 

(2) Date of report. 

(3) Address of appraised property. 

(4) Description of work performed by the apprentice and scope of 
the review and supervision of the supervising appraiser. 

(5) Number of actual work hours by the apprentice f)ef on the 
assignment. 

(6) Signature and state license or certification number of the 
supervising appraiser. 

e. Separate appraisal logs must be maintained for each supervising 
appraiser. 

f. The apprentice appraiser is entitled to obtain copies of appraisal 
reports the apprentice appraiser prepared . 
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+ 8. Supervisor responsibilities. A licensed or certified appraiser who 
wishes to supervise an apprentice must register with the board on a form 
prescribed by the board . Registration of a supervising appraiser is 
effective the day the registration forms from both the supervising appraiser 
and from the apprentice appraiser are received and approved . These 
forms can be obtained by contacting the board office. 

a. The apprentice and supervising appraiser shall notify the board in 
writing within ten days of terminating supervision. 

b. The apprentice appraiser is permitted to have more than one 
supervising appraiser. 

c. The supervising appraiser shall be required to complete a course 
that complies with the specifications for course content established 
by the appraisal qualifications board, which is specifically oriented 
to the requirements and responsibilities of supervisory appraisers 
and apprentice appraisers. The course must be completed by the 
supervisory appraiser prior to supervising an apprentice appra iser. 

sci. The supervising appraiser must pass an open-book examination 
covering North Dakota Century Code chapter 43-23.3 and North 
Dakota Administrative Code title 101 . 

ae. The supervising appraiser is responsible for the training , guidance, 
and direct supervision of the apprentice appraiser. Tra ining, 
guidance, and direct supervision means: 

(1) Each supervising appraiser must accept responsibility for the 
appraisal report by signing and certifying that the report 
complies with generally accepted appraisal procedures and is 
in compliance with the uniform standards of professional 
appraisal practice. 

(2) Each supervising appraiser must review and sign the 
apprentice appraisal reports. 

(3) Each supervising appraiser must personally inspect each 
appraised property's interior and exterior with the apprentice 
appraiser on at least the first twenty-five appraisal 
assignments requiring inspection and until the supervising 
Appraiser determines the apprentice appraiser is competent in 
accordance with the competency provision of the uniform 
standards of professional appraisal practice for the property 
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type. A separate log must be maintained for these twenty-five 
appraisals. 

ef. A supervising appraiser registration may be disciplined if the board 
determines that the supervisor has failed to directly supervise an 
apprentice appraiser. 

g. A supervising appraiser shall be certified and in good standing in 
the jurisdiction in which the apprentice appraiser practices for a 
period of at least three years . 

fh . A supervising appraiser must have a license or certified permit in 
good standing and not subject to any disciplinary action within the 
last twa three years that affects the supervising appraiser's legal 
eligibility to engage in appraisal practice. 

i. A supervisory appraiser subject to disciplinary action would be 
considered to be in good standing three years after the successful 
completion or termination of the sanction imposed against the 
appraiser. 

j. A supervising appraiser must comply with the competency rule of 
the uniform standards of professional appraisal practice for the 
property type and geographic location the apprentice is being 
supervised . 

g .!s. A supervising appraiser is limited to supervising no more than three 
apprentice appraisers at one time. 

R-1. A supervising appraiser shall keep copies of appraisal reports for a 
period of five years or at least two years after final disposition of 
any judicial proceedings in which testimony was given, whichever 
period expires last. 

History: Effective October 1, 1992; amended effective October 1, 1998; February 1, 
2003; January 1, 2008; July 1, 2012; January 1, 2015 . 
General Authority: NDCC 43-23.3-03 
Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23.3-03, 43-23.3-06, 43-23.3-08, 43-23.3-09, 43-23.3-17, 
43-23.3-18 

1 01-02-02-05. Licensed appraiser. 

1. Definitions. A licensed appraiser permit must be issued to an individual 
who successfully meets all of the board requirements for such a permit. 
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2. Competency. The licensed appraiser is allowed to appraise noncomplex, 
one-to-four family res idential properties that have a transaction value of up 
to one million dollars and complex one-to-four family residential properties 
that have a transaction value of up to two hundred fifty thousand dollars. 
In addition , a licensed appraiser is allowed to appraise noncomplex, 
nonresidential properties, that have a transaction value of up to two 
hundred fifty thousand dollars. The licensed appraiser is bound by the 
competency provisions of the uniform standards of professional appraisal 
practice. 

3. Background check. An applicant for a licensed appraiser permit must 
undergo background screening to ensure that the applicant does not 
possess a background that could call into question public trust. The 
applicant shall submit finger prints and any appropriate identifying 
information for submission to the federal bureau of investigation and/or 
government agency or entity authorized to receive such information in 
connection with a state and national background check. 

a. All costs associated with obtaining a background check are the 
responsibility of the applicant. 

b. An applicant will not be considered for a licensed permit if: 

(1) The applicant has had an appraiser apprentice, license or 
certification permit revoked in any governmental jurisdiction 
within the five year period immediately preceding the date of 
application . 

(2) The applicant has been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo 
contendere to, a felony in domestic or foreign court: 

(a) during the five year period immediately preceding the 
date of the application for licensure. 

(b) at any time preceding the date of application, if such 
felony involved an act of fraud, dishonesty, or a 
breach of trust, or money laundering . 

(3) The applicant has failed to demonstrate character and 
general fitness such as to command the confidence of the 
community and to warrant a determination that the appraiser 
will operate honestly, fairly, and efficiently within the 
purposes of these criteria . 
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c. The following additional background issues will be evaluated and 
considered prior to issuing a licensed permit: 

(1) Convictions of any criminal offense involving dishonesty, 
breach of trust, or money laundering against the applicant or 
organizations controlled by the applicant, or agreements to 
enter into a pretrial diversion or similar program in 
connection with the prosecution for such an offense. 

(2) Civil judicial actions against the individual in connection with 
financial services-related activities, dismissals with 
settlements, or judicial findings that the individual violated 
financial services-related statutes or regulations, except for 
actions dismissed without a settlement agreement. 

(3) Actions or orders by a state or federal regulatory agency or 
foreign financial regulatory authority that: 

(a) Found the applicant to have made a false statement 
or omission or been dishonest, unfair or unethical ; to 
have been involved in a violation of a financial 
services-related regulation or statute; or to have been 
a cause of a financial services-related business 
having its authorization to do business denied, 
suspended, revoked, or restricted. 

(b) Are entered against the applicant in connection with a 
financial services-related activity. 

(c) Denied, suspended, or revoked the applicant's 
apprentice, license or certification permit to engage in 
a financial-services-related business or restricted the 
applicant activities. 

(d) Barred the applicant from association with an entity or 
its officers regulated by the agency or authority of 
from engaging in a financial services-related 
business. 

(4) Final orders issued by a state or federal regulatory agency or 
foreign financial regulatory authority based on violations of 
any law or regulation that prohibits fraudulent, manipulative, 
or deceptive conduct. 
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(5) Revocation or suspension of the applicant's authorization to 
act as an attorney, accountant. or state or federal contractor. 

(6) Customer-initiated financial services-related arbitration or 
civil action against the applicant that required action, 
including settlements. or which resulted in a judgment. 

~ 4. Examination. An applicant for a licensed appraiser permit must have 
successfully completed the board-approved uniform licensing examination 
or its equivalent. The only alternative to the licensure examination is 
successful completion of the certified residential examination or certified 
general examination. Successful completion of the examination is valid 
for a period of twenty-four months. The licensure permit must be obtained 
within twenty-four months of successful completion of the examination or 
the examination must be retaken . An applicant for the uniform licensure 
examination as a licensed appraiser mtJ.St-shall furnish proof to the board 
that the applicant has~ 

a. successfully completed the applicable education required by 
subsection 4 5. 

b. met the applicable experience. in hours and years . as required by 
subsection 6. 

4-5. Education. An applicant for a licensed appraiser permit shall meet all of 
the following education requirements : 

a. Thirty semester hours of college level education or higher from an 
accredited college, junior college, community college or university. 

(1) The college or university must be a degree-granting institution 
accredited by the commission on colleges. a regional or 
national accreditation association. or an accrediting agency 
that is recognized by the United States secretary of education. 
If the college or university accepts the college-level 
examination program and examinations and issues a 
transcript for the examinations. showing its approval, it will be 
considered as credit for the college course. For college-level 
courses taken in a quarterly system. one quarter credit hour is 
equivalent to two- thirds semester credit hour. 

(2) College-level education completed at a foreign college or 
university will be acceptable provided the education has been 
evaluated and deemed equivalent by one of the following : 
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(a) An accredited degree-granting domestic college or 
university. 

(b) The American association of collegiate registrars and 
admissions officers. 

(c) A foreign degree credential evaluation service company 
that is a member of the national association of credential 
evaluation services. 

(d) A foreign degree credential evaluation service company 
that provides equivalency evaluation reports accepted by 
an accredited degree-granting domestic college or 
university or by a state licensing board that issues a 
credential in another discipline. 

a b. In addition to thirty hours of college level education an applicant for 
licensure must complete GRe one hundred fifty class hours in 
subjects related to real estate appraisal which cover the required 
core curriculum as established by the appraisal qualifications board 
of the appraisal foundation and approved as such , by the board. 

ill Coverage must include a minimum of all of the following : 

f.B@l Thirty hours of basic appraisal principles. 

f2-tf.Ql Thirty hours of basic appraisal procedures. 

~,(g} The fifteen-hour national uniform standards of 
appraisal practice course or its equivalent. 

t41@ Fifteen hours of residential market analysis and 
highest and best use. 

ta1@1 Fifteen hours of residential appraiser site valuation 
and cost approach . 

(et.ill Fifteen Thirty hours of residential sales comparison 
and income approaches. 

(+t.(gl Fifteen hours of residential report writing and case 
studies. 

[1] An apprentice appraiser may satisfy the 
educational requirements for the licensed level 
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by completing the following additional 
educational hours: 

Fifteen hours of residential market 
analysis and highest and best use. 

11 Fifteen hours of residential appraiser 
site valuation and cost approach. 

iii Thirty hours of residential sales 
comparison and income approaches. 

iv Fifteen hours of residential report writing 
and case studies. 

G-:-f.fl Class hours will be credited only for educational offerings 
with content that follows the required core curriculum. 

&..Ql A class hour is defined as sixty minutes, of which at least 
fifty minutes are instruction attended by the student. 

G:-.(11 Credit toward the class hour requirement may only be 
granted when the length of the educational offering is at 
least fifteen hours, and the individual successfully completes 
a closed-book examination pertinent to that educational 
offering. 

e:-@ The prescribed number of class hours includes time for 
examinations. 

f.:.(§} Uniform standards of professional appraisal practice 
education credit shall only be awarded when the class is 
instructed by at least one appraisal qualifications board­
certified instructor who is state-certified. 

9-:-ill Credit for the class hour requirement may be obtained from 
the following: 

f+t@} Colleges or universities. 

~ f.Ql Community or junior colleges. 

tJ1 .(Ql Real estate appraisal or real estate-related 
organizations. 
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t41@ State or federal agencies or commissions. 

fat M Proprietary schools. 

~ ffiProviders approved by the board . 

f7t .{g}The appraisal foundation or its boards. 

R-:..@l There is no time limit regarding when qualifying education 
credit must have been obtained. 

h.@ All hours may be by distance education . Distance education 
is an educational process in which the student and instructor 
are geographically separated . Distance education includes 
online learning, internet-based instruction, CD-ROM 
instruction, correspondence courses, and videoconferencing. 
An acceptable distance education course must meet all of 
the following requirements: 

f+t@.l Provide interaction between the student and the 
instructor. Interaction is a reciprocal environment 
when the student has verbal or written communication 
with the instruction . 

~.(Ql Be approved for content by the board , the appraisal 
qualifications board of the appraisal foundation , or an 
accredited college, community college, or university, 
that offers distance education programs and is 
approved or accredited by the commission on 
colleges, a regional or national accreditation 
association, or by an accrediting agency that is 
recognized by the United States secretary of 
education. Nonacademic credit college courses 
provided by a college shall be approved by the 
appraisal qualifications board of the appraisal 
foundation, or the board. 

ta-119 Obtain course delivery mechanism approval from one 
of the following sources: 

[1] Appraisal qualifications board-approved 
organizations providing approval of course 
design and delivery. 
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[2] A college that qualifies for content approval in 
paragraph b that awards academic cred it for 
the distance education course. 

[3] A qualifying college or university for content 
approval with a distance education delivery 
program that approves the course design and 
delivery that incorporate interactivity. 

fGt@ Require the student to successfully complete a written 
examination proctored by an official approved by the 
presenting college, university, or sponsoring organization . 
Written exam refers to an exam written on paper or 
administered electronically on a computer work station or 
other device. 

fGt@l Meet the requirements for qualifying education 
established by the appraisal qualifications board of 
the appraisal foundation . 

~ill Be equivalent to at least fifteen class hours. 

t.-i1.Ql Courses that have received approval by the appraiser 
qualifications board of the appraisal foundation through the 
appraiser qualifications course approval program may be 
acceptable to the board without additional state review. 

k-:-f.11l Courses taken to satisfy the qualifying education 
requirements must not be repetitive. Uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice courses taken in different 
years are not repetitive . Courses shall foster problem-solving 
skills in the education process by utilizing case studies as a 
major teaching method when applicable. 

J.:.@ Courses taken for the class hour requirement when an 
individual seeks a different classification than that held may 
also be counted for the continuing education requirement of 
the classification held . 

m,.~ Credit toward qualifying education requirements may also be 
obtained by the completion of a graduate (master or 
doctoral) degree in real estate from an accredited degree­
granting college or university approved by the American 
association to advance ef collegiate schools of business, or 
a regional or national accreditation agency recognized by the 
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United States secretary of education , provided that the 
college or university has had its curriculum reviewed and 
approved by the appraisal qualifications board . Applicants 
for the licensed level who are awarded degrees from 
approved institutions are required to complete all additional 
education required for the credential in which the approved 
degree is judged to be deficient by the appraisal 
qualifications board . 

f1.1l Applicants for the licensed level who are awarded degrees 
from approved institutions are required to complete all 
additional education required for the permit in which the 
approved degree is judged to be deficient by the appraisal 
qualifications board . 

fl.:-.(1§} The applicant must be familiar with North Dakota Century 
Code chapter 43-23.3 and North Dakota Administrative 
Code title 101 . 

e-:-i1.§} Experience may not be substituted for education . 

W . Experience. A licensed appraiser must have the equivalent of two 
thousand hours of credible appraisal experience prior to obtaining the 
licensing permit. The experience requirements must be satisfied by time 
spent on the appraisal process. The appraisal process consists of 
analyzing factors that affect value, defining the problem, gathering and 
analyzing data, applying the appropriate analysis and methodology, and 
arriving at an opinion and correctly reporting the data, analysis, and 
opinion in compliance with the uniform standards of professional appraisal 
practice. The applicant for licensure must submit a log from which the 
board will select for review a minimum of three summary or self contained 
residential appraisal reports. All three of the reports must meet the current 
uniform standards of professional appraisal practice as of the effective 
date of the appraisal and must reflect that the applicant has an acceptable 
level of competency and understanding of the principles, practices, and 
procedures consistent with the body of knowledge for the licensed level. 

a. Adequate experience will be determined by the actual hours spent 
on an assignment, subject to a maximum established by the board . 

(1) Maximum hours are based on the types of appraisals 
performed and the types of properties appraised . 

(2) Types of appraisals performed include standard appraisal , 
review appraisal, and condemnation appraisal. 
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(a) A standard appraisal is the process of developing an 
appraisal using those methods commonly accepted by 
real estate appraisers as constituting the appraisal 
process and preparing a written appraisal report or file 
memorandum describing the appraisal and reporting the 
estimate of value. The appraisal process consists of an 
analysis of factors that affect value, definition of the 
problem, gathering and analyzing data , applying the 
appropriate value approaches and methodology, arriving 
at an opinion of value, and correctly reporting the opinion 
of value in compliance with the uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice. 

(b) A review appraisal is the process of critically reviewing an 
appraisal report prepared by another appraiser and 
preparing a separate written report or file memorandum 
setting forth the results of the review process. The review 
appraiser reviews the report and forms an opinion as to 
the adequacy of the report, the appropriateness of the 
methods used by the appraiser, and the reasonableness 
of the appraiser's conclusions. A review appraiser may or 
may not perform a field review. A field review includes 
inspecting the subject and comparables to verify data, to 
determine the appropriateness of the comparables 
selected and adjustments made, and to assist in 
determining the reasonableness of the value estimate. 
Review appraisal experience must conform to standard 
three of the uniform standards of professional appraisa l 
practice. Review appraisal experience should be given 
credit to the extent that it demonstrates proficiency in 
appraisal principles, techniques, or skills used by 
appraisers practicing under applicable uniform standards 
of professional appraisal practice standards. 

(c) A condemnation appraisal is an appraisal of real property 
for condemnation purposes, including situations where a 
partial taking is involved and the appraiser must develop 
both a before taking value estimate and an after taking 
value estimate. The appraiser uses those methods 
commonly accepted by real estate appraisers as 
constituting the appraisal process including a field 
inspection and preparation of a written appraisal report or 
file memorandum describing the appraisal and reporting 
the before and after value estimates. 
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(3) Types of property appraised may include the following : 

(a) Land may include farms of one hundred acres [40.47 
hectares) or more in size, undeveloped tracts, residential 
multifamily sites, commercial sites, industrial sites, and 
land in transition . 

(b) Residential multifamily, five-12 units may include 
apartments, condominiums, townhouses, and mobile 
home parks. 

(c) Residential multifamily, thirteen-plus units may include 
apartments, condominiums, townhouses, and mobile 
home parks. 

(d) Commercial single-tenant may include office building , 
retail store, restaurant, service station , bank, and day 
care center. 

(e) Commercial multitenant may include office build ing, 
shopping center, and hotel. 

(f) Industrial may include warehouse and manufacturing 
plant. 

(g) Institutional may include rest home, nursing home, 
hospital , school, church , and government building. 

(4) The number of allowable hours assigned for each appraisal 
type are assigned by the board and are included on the 
application for licensure and certification. A copy of this form 
can be obtained by contacting the board office. 

b. The two thousand hours of experience must be obtained using at 
least one year of appraisal practice gained over a period of at least 
twelve months. 

c. There is no other time limit regarding when qualifying experience 
may be obtained . 

d. Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve the 
necessary two thousand hours of appraisal experience. 
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e. Acceptable appraisal experience includes, but is not limited to , the 
following : 

(1) Fee and staff appraisal , ad valorem tax appraisal , 
condemnation appraisal , technical review appraisal , appraisal 
analysis , real estate consulting (excludes related fields such 
as real estate lending) , highest and best use analysis , and 
feasibility analysis or study. 

(a) Mass appraisal experience must conform to standard six 
of the uniform standards of professional appraisal 
practice. Mass appraisal experience claimed by the 
applicant should be given credit to the extent that it 
demonstrates proficiency in appraisal principles, 
techniques, or skills used by appraisers practicing under 
applicable standards of the uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice. 

(b) Review of real estate appraisals or real property 
consulting services, including market analysis , cash flow 
and investment analysis , and feasibility analysis , must 
conform to standards three, four, and five of the uniform 
standards of professional appraisal practice. Experience 
involving these functions should be given credit to the 
extent that it demonstrates proficiency in appraisal 
principles, techniques, or skills used by appraisers 
practicing under standard one of the uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice. 

(c) A market analysis typically performed by a real estate 
broker or sales person should be awarded experience 
credit when the analysis is prepared in conformity with 
standards one and two of the uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice, the individual can 
demonstrate that the individual is using techniques and 
methods consistent with those used by appraisers to 
value property and the individual is effectively utilizing the 
appraisal process. 

(d) Real property appraisal experience should be awarded 
for appraisals of real estate components, estates, or 
interests unless the appraiser has not complied with 
standards one, two, and six of the uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice. 
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(2) No more than two hundred hours of the total experience credit 
may be in related areas. Related experience includes 
consulting . 

f . Documentation in the form of reports, certifications, and file 
memoranda must be provided to support the experience claimed . If 
reports and file memoranda are unavailable for good cause, the 
board may accept other evidence of compliance with the uniform 
standards of professional appraisal practice. 

g. The verification for the two thousand hours of experience credit 
claimed by an applicant shall be on forms prescribed by the board 
which shall include all of the following: 

(1) Type of property. 

(2) Date of report. 

(3) Address of appraised property. 

(4) Description of work performed by the applicant and scope of 
the review and supervision of the supervising appraiser. 

(5) Number of actual work hours f3ef on the assignment. 

(6) The signature and permit number of the supervising appraiser, 
if applicable. 

f+f~ Separate appraisal logs must be maintained for each supervising 
appraiser, if applicable. 

ni . There need not be a client in order for an appraisal to qualify for 
experience. Appraisals made without clients can fulfill up to fifty 
percent of the total experience requirement. 

H. Case studies or practicum courses that are approved by the board 
or through the appraisal qualifications board of the appraisal 
foundation course approval program can satisfy the nonclient 
experience requirement. 

(1) A practicum course must include the generally applicable 
methods of appraisal practice for the credential permit 
category. Content includes all of the following : 
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(a) Requiring the student to produce credible appraisals that 
utilize an actual subject property. 

(b) Performing market research containing sales analysis. 

(c) Applying and reporting the applicable appra isal 
approaches in conformity with the uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice. 

(2) Assignments must require problem-solving skills for a variety 
of property types for the credential permit category. 

(3) Experience credit shall be granted for the actual class hours of 
instruction and hours of documented research and analysis as 
awarded from the practicum course approval process. 

t !s. All experience must be obtained after January 30 , 1989, and must 
be uniform standards of professional appraisal practice compliant, 
where the appraiser demonstrates proficiency in appraisal 
principles, methodology, procedures (development) , and reporting 
conclusions. 

k I. After accumulating a m1mmum of fifty percent of the required 
appraisal experience, an applicant for licensure may voluntarily 
submit work product to the board to be reviewed by a board 
reviewer for educational purposes only. A maximum of two reports 
may be submitted for review. The board will not initiate a complaint 
for violations identified in this review. 

History: Effective October 1, 1992; amended effective January 1, 1995; October 1, 
1998; February 1, 2003; January 1, 2008; July 1, 2012; January 1. 2015. 

General Authority: NDCC 43-23.3-03, 43-23.3-09 
Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23.3-03, 43-23.3-06, 43-23.3-07, 43-23.3-08, 43-23.3-09, 
43-23.3-17, 43-23.3-18 

101-02-02-05.1. Certified residential appraiser. 

1. Permit. A certified residential appraiser permit must be issued to an 
individual who successfully meets all of the board requirements for such a 
permit. 

2. Competency. The certified residential appraiser may appraise one-family 
to four-family family residential properties without regard to value or 
complexity. In addition , a certified residential appraiser may appraise 
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noncomplex, nonresidential properties, that have a transaction value of up 
to two hundred fifty thousand dollars. The certified residential appraiser is 
bound by the competency provision of the uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice. 

3. Background check. An applicant for a certified residential appraiser 
permit must undergo background screening to ensure that the applicant 
does not possess a background that could call into question public trust. 
The applicant shall submit finger prints and any appropriate identifying 
information for submission to the federal bureau of investigation and/or 
government agency or entity authorized to receive such information in 
connection with a state and national background check. 

a. All costs associated with obtaining a background check are the 
responsibility of the applicant. 

b. An applicant will not be considered for the certified residential 
permit if: 

(1) The applicant has had an appraiser apprentice. license or 
certification permit revoked in any governmental jurisdiction 
within the five year period immediately preceding the date of 
application. 

(2) The applicant has been convicted of. or pled guilty or nolo 
contendere to, a felony in domestic or foreign court: 

(a) during the five year period immediately preceding the 
date of the application for certification. 

(b) at any time preceding the date of application. if such 
felony involved an act of fraud , dishonesty, or a 
breach of trust. or money laundering. 

(3) The applicant has failed to demonstrate character and 
general fitness such as to command the confidence of the 
community and to warrant a determination that the appraiser 
will operate honestly, fairly, and efficiently within the 
purposes of these criteria. 

c. The following additional background issues will be evaluated and 
considered prior to issuing a certified residential permit: 

(1) Convictions of any criminal offense involving dishonestv. 
breach of trust, or money laundering against the applicant or 
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organizations controlled by the applicant, or agreements to 
enter into a pretrial diversion or similar program in 
connection with the prosecution for such an offense. 

(2) Civil judicial actions against the individual in connection with 
financial services-related activities, dismissals with 
settlements, or judicial findings that the individual violated 
financial services-related statutes or regulations, except for 
actions dismissed without a settlement agreement. 

(3) Actions or orders by a state or federal regulatory agency or 
foreign financial regulatory authority that 

(a) Found the applicant to have made a false statement 
or omission or been dishonest, unfair or uneth ical ; to 
have been involved in a violation of a financial 
services-related regulation or statute; or to have been 
a cause of a financial services-related business 
having its authorization to do business denied , 
suspended , revoked , or restricted . 

(b) Are entered against the applicant in connection with a 
financial services-related activity. 

(c) Denied, suspended, or revoked the applicant's 
apprentice, licensed or certification permit to engage 
in a financial-services-related business or restricted 
the applicant activities. 

(d) Barred the applicant from association with an entity or 
its officers regulated by the agency or authority of 
from engaging in a financial services-related 
business. 

(4) Final orders issued by a state or federal regulatory agency or 
foreign financial regulatory authority based on violations of 
any law or regulation that prohibits fraudulent, manipulative, 
or deceptive conduct. 

(5) Revocation or suspension of the applicant's authorization to 
act as an attorney, accountant, or state or federal contractor. 

(6) Customer-initiated financial services-related arbitration or 
civil action against the applicant that required action, 
including settlements, or which resulted in a judgment. 
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34. Examination. An applicant for a certified residential appraiser permit must 
have successfully completed the board-approved uniform state-certified 
residential examination or its equivalent. The only alternative to the 
certified residential examination is successful completion of the certified 
general examination. Successful completion of the examination is valid for 
a period of twenty-four months. The certified residential permit must be 
obtained within twenty-four months of successful completion of the 
examination or the examination must be retaken . An applicant for the 
uniform certified residential examination as a certified residential appraiser 
mtffit-. shall furnish proof to the board that the applicant has~ 

a. successfully completed the applicable education required by 
subsection 4 5. 

b. met the applicable experience. in hours and years, as required by 
subsection 6. 

45. Education. An applicant for a certified residential appraiser permit shall 
meet all of the following education requirements : 

a. An associate A bachelor's degree, or higher from an accred ited 
college or university. 

(1) In lieu of the associate degree, an applicant for the certified 
residential permit shall successfully complete a minimum of 
three semester credit hours in each of the following 
collegiate level subject matter courses: 

(a) English composition . 

(b) Principles of economics (micro or macro). 

(c) Finance. 

(d) Algebra , geometry, or higher mathematics. 

(e) Statistics. 

(f) Computer science. 

(g) Business or real estate law. 

All courses used in lieu of the required degree must have 
been completed at a college or university that is an 
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accredited degree granting institution. The accreditation 
must have been obtained from the commission on colleges, 
a regional or national accreditation association , or an 
accrediting agency that is recognized by the United States 
secretary of education . If the college or university accepts 
the college level examination program, and issues a 
transcript for the examinations, showing its approval , it 'Nill 
be considered as credit for the college course. For college 
level courses taken in a quarterly system, one quarter credit 
hour is equivalent to two thirds semester credit hour. 

(1) The college or university must be a degree-granting 
institution accredited by the commission on colleges. a 
regional or national accreditation association . or an 
accrediting agency that is recognized by the United States 
secretary of education. If the college or university accepts 
the college-level examination program and examinations. 
and issues a transcript for the examinations. showing its 
approval, it will be considered as credit for the college 
course. For college-level courses taken in a quarterly 
system. one quarter credit hour is equivalent to two- thirds 
semester credit hour. 

(2) College-level education completed at a foreign college or 
university will be acceptable provided the education has 
been evaluated and deemed equivalent by one of the 
following : 

(a) An accredited degree-granting domestic college or 
university. 

(b) The American association of collegiate registrars and 
admissions officers. 

(c) A foreign degree credential evaluation service 
company that is a member of the national association 
of credential evaluation services. 

(d) A foreign degree credential evaluation service 
company that provides equivalency evaluation reports 
accepted by an accredited degree-granting domestic 
college or university or by a state licensing board that 
issues a credential in another discipline. 
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b. In addition to an associate a bachelor's degree or higher, an 
applicant for certified residential must complete two hundred class 
hours in subjects related to real estate appraisal which cover the 
required core curriculum as established by the appraisal 
qualifications board of the appraisal foundation and approved as 
such by the board . 

(1) Coverage must include a minimum of all of the following: 

(a) Thirty hours of basic appraisal principles. 

(b) Thirty hours of basic appraisal procedures. 

(c) The fifteen-hour national uniform standards of 
appraisal practice course or its equivalent. 

(d) Fifteen hours of residential market analysis and 
highest and best use. 

(e) Fifteen hours of residential appraiser site valuation 
and cost approach. 

(f) Thirty hours of sales comparison and income 
approaches. 

(g) Fifteen hours of residential report writing and case 
studies. 

(h) Fifteen hours of statistics, modeling, and finance. 

(i) Fifteen hours of advanced residential applications 
and case studies. 

U) Twenty hours of appraisal subject matter electives. 

[1] An apprentice appraiser may satisfy the 
educational requirements for the certified 
residential level by completing the following 
additional educational hours: 

i. Fifteen hours of residential appraiser 
market analysis and highest and best 
use. 
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[2] 

ii . Fifteen hours of residential appraiser 
site valuation and cost approach . 

iii. Thirty hours of residential sales 
comparison and income approaches. 

iv. Fifteen hours of residential report writing 
and case studies. 

v. Fifteen hours of statistics, modeling and 
finance . 

vi Fifteen hours of advanced residential 
applications and case studies. 

vii . Twenty hours of appraisal subject 
matter electives. 

A licensed appraiser may satisfy the 
educational requirements for the certified 
residential level by completing the following 
additional educational hours: 

i. Fifteen hours of statistics, modeling and 
finance. 

ii Fifteen hours of advanced residential 
applications and case studies. 

iii. Twenty hours of appraisal subject 
matter electives. 

(2) Class hours will be credited only for educational offerings 
with content that follows the required core curriculum. 

(3) A class hour is defined as sixty minutes, of which at least 
fifty minutes are for instruction attended by the student. 

(4) Credit toward the class hour requirement may only be 
granted when the length of the educational offering is at 
least fifteen hours, and the individual successfully completes 
a closed-book examination pertinent to that educational 
offering . 
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(5) The prescribed number of class hours includes time for 
examinations. 

(6) Uniform standards of professional appraisal practice 
education credit shall only be awarded when the class is 
instructed by at least one appraisal qualifications board­
certified instructor who is state-certified. 

(7) Credit for the class requirement may be obtained from the 
following : 

(a) Colleges or universities. 

(b) Community or junior colleges. 

(c) Real estate appraisal or real estate-related 
organizations. 

(d) State or federal agencies or commissions. 

(e) Proprietary schools. 

(f) Providers approved by the board . 

(g) The appraisal foundation or its boards. 

(8) There is no time limit regarding when qualifying education 
credit must have been obtained . 

(9) All hours may be by distance education . Distance education 
is an educational process in which the student and instructor 
are geographically separated. Distance education includes 
online learning , internet-based instruction, CD-ROM 
instruction, correspondence courses, and videoconferencing. 
An acceptable distance education course must meet all of 
the following requirements: 

(a) Provide interaction between the student and the 
instructor. Interaction is a reciprocal environment 
where the student has verbal or written 
communication with the instructor. 

(b) Be approved for content by the board , the appraisal 
qualifications board of the appraisal foundation , or an 
accredited college, community college, or university 
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that offers distance education programs and is 
approved or accredited by the commission on 
colleges, a regional or national accreditation 
association, or by an accrediting agency that is 
recognized by the United States secretary of 
education. Nonacademic credit college courses 
provided by a college shall be approved by the 
appraisal qualifications board of the appraisal 
foundation or the board . 

(c) Obtain course delivery mechanism approval from one 
of the following sources: 

[1] Appraisal qualifications board-approved 
organizations providing approval of course 
design and delivery. 

[2] A college that qualifies for content approval in 
subparagraph b and that awards academic 
credit for the distance education course. 

[3] A qualifying college or university for content 
approval with a distance education delivery 
program that approves the course design and 
delivery that incorporates interactivity. 

(d) Require the student to successfully complete a written 
examination proctored by an official approved by the 
presenting college, university, or sponsoring 
organization . Written exam refers to an exam written 
on paper or administered electronically on a computer 
work station or other device. 

(e) Meet the requirements for qualifying education 
established by the appraisal qualifications board of 
the appraisal foundation . 

(f) Be equivalent to at least fifteen class hours. 

(1 0) Courses that have received approval by the appraiser 
qualifications board of the appraisal foundation through the 
appraiser qualifications course approval program may be 
acceptable to the board without additional state review. 
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(11) Courses taken to satisfy the qualifying education 
requirements must not be repetitive . Uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice courses taken in different 
years are not repetitive. Courses shall foster problem-solving 
skills in the education process by utilizing case studies as a 
major teaching method when applicable. 

(12) Courses taken for the class hour requirement when an 
individual seeks a different classification than that held may 
also be counted for the continuing education requirement of 
the classification held. 

(13) Credit toward qualifying education requirements may also be 
obtained by the completion of a graduate degree in real 
estate from an accredited degree-granting college or 
university approved by the American association to advance 
af collegiate schools of business or a regional or national 
accreditation agency recognized by the United States 
secretary of education, provided that the college or university 
has had its curriculum reviewed and approved by the 
appraisal qualifications board . 

(14) Applicants for the certified residential level who are awarded 
graduate degrees from approved institutions are required to 
complete all additional education required for the credential 
permit in which the approved degree is judged to be deficient 
by the appraisal qualifications board . 

(15) The applicant must be familiar with North Dakota Century 
Code chapter 43-23.3 and North Dakota Administrative 
Code title 101 . 

(16) Experience may not be substituted for education . 

56. Experience. A certified residential appraiser must have the equivalent of 
two thousand five hundred hours of credible appraisal experience prior to 
obtaining the certified residential appraiser certification permit. The 
experience requirements must be satisfied by time spent on the appraisal 
process. The appraisal process consists of analyzing factors that affect 
value, defining the problem, gathering and analyzing data, applying the 
appropriate analysis and methodology, and arriving at an opinion and 
correctly reporting the data, analysis, and opinion in compliance with the 
uniform standards of professional appraisal practice. The applicant for 
certified residential appraiser must submit a log from which the board will 
select for review a minimum of three summary or self contained appraisal 
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reports . Collectively the reports must include and demonstrate 
competence and a working knowledge of all three approaches to value. 
The reports submitted must meet the current uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice as of the effective date of the appraisal and 
must reflect that the applicant has an acceptable level of competency and 
understanding of the principles, practices, and procedures consistent with 
the body of knowledge for the certified residential level. 

a. Adequate experience will be determined by the actual hours spent 
on an assignment, subject to a maximum established by the board. 

(1) Maximum hours awarded are based on the types of 
appraisals performed and the types of properties appraised. 

(2) Types of appraisals performed include standard appraisal, 
review appraisal, and condemnation appraisal. 

(a) A standard appraisal is the process of developing an 
appraisal using those methods commonly accepted 
by real estate appraisers as constituting the appraisal 
process and preparing a written appraisal report or file 
memorandum describing the appraisal and reporting 
the estimate of value. The appraisal process consists 
of an analysis of factors that affect value, definition of 
the problem, gathering and analyzing data, applying 
the appropriate value approaches and methodology, 
arriving at an opinion of value , and correctly reporting 
the opinion of value in compliance with the uniform 
standards of professional appraisal practice. 

(b) A review appraisal is the process of critically 
reviewing an appraisal report prepared by another 
appraiser and preparing a separate written report or 
file memorandum setting forth the results of the 
review process. The review appraiser reviews the 
report and forms an opinion as to the adequacy of the 
report, the appropriateness of the methods used by 
the appraiser, and the reasonableness of the 
appraiser's conclusions. A review appraiser may or 
may not perform a field review. A field review includes 
inspecting the subject and comparables to verify data, 
to determine the appropriateness of the comparables 
selected and adjustments made, and to assist in 
determining the reasonableness of the value 
estimate. Review appraisal experience must conform 
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to standard three of the uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice. Review appraisal 
experience should be given credit to the extent that it 
demonstrates proficiency in appraisal principles, 
techniques, or skills used by appraisers practicing 
under applicable uniform standards of professional 
appraisal practice standards. 

(c) A condemnation appraisal is an appraisal of real 
property for condemnation purposes, including 
situations where a partial taking is involved and the 
appraiser must develop both a before taking value 
estimate and an after taking value estimate. The 
appraiser uses those methods commonly accepted by 
real estate appraisers as constituting the appraisal 
process, including a field inspection and preparation 
of a written appraisal report or file memorandum 
describing the appraisal and reporting the before and 
after value estimates. 

(3) Types of property appraised may include the following : 

(a) Land may include farms of one hundred acres [40.47 
hectares) or more in size, undeveloped tracts, 
residential multifamily sites, commercial sites, 
industrial sites, and land in transition . 

(b) Residential multifamily, five-12 units may include 
apartments, condominiums, townhouses, and mobile 
home parks. 

(c) Residential multifamily, thirteen-plus units may 
include apartments, .condominiums, townhouses, and 
mobile home parks. 

(d) Commercial single-tenant may include office building , 
retail store, restaurant, service station, bank, and day 
care center. 

(e) Commercial multitenant may include office building, 
shopping center, and hotel. 

(f) Industrial may include warehouse and manufacturing 
plant. 
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(g) Institutional may include rest home, nursing home, 
hospital , school , church , and government building . 

(4) The number of allowable hours assigned for each appraisal 
type are assigned by the board and are included on the 
application for licensure and certification . A copy of this form 
can be obtained by contacting the board office. 

b. The two thousand five hundred hours of experience must be 
obtained using at least two years of appraisal practice gained over 
a period of at least twenty-four months. 

c. There is no other time limit regarding when qualifying experience 
may be obtained . 

d. Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve the 
necessary two thousand five hundred hours of appraisal 
experience. 

e. Acceptable appraisal experience includes the following : 

(1) Fee and staff appraisal , ad valorem tax appraisal , 
condemnation appraisal , technical review appraisal , 
appraisal analysis, real estate consulting (excludes related 
fields such as real estate lending) , highest and best use 
analysis, and feasibility analysis or study. 

(a) Mass appraisal experience must conform to standard 
six of the uniform standards of professional appraisal 
practice. Mass appraisal experience claimed by the 
applicant should be given credit to the extent that it 
demonstrates proficiency in appraisal principles, 
techniques, or skills used by appraisers practicing 
under applicable uniform standards of professional 
appraisal practice standards. 

(b) Review of real estate appraisals or real property 
consulting services, including market analysis , cash 
flow and investment analysis, and feasibility analysis 
must conform to standards three, four, and five of the 
uniform standards of professional appraisal practice. 
Experience involving these functions should be given 
credit to the extent that it demonstrates proficiency in 
appraisal principles, techniques, or skills used by 
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appraisers practicing under standard one of the 
uniform standards of professional appraisal practice. 

(c) A market analysis typically performed by a real estate 
broker or salesperson should be awarded experience 
credit when the analysis is prepared in conformity with 
standards one and two of the uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice, and the individual can 
demonstrate that the individual is using techn iques 
and methods consistent with those used by 
appraisers to value property and the individual is 
effectively utilizing the appra isal process. 

(d) Real property appraisal experience should be 
awarded for appraisals of real estate components , 
estates, or interests unless the appraiser has not 
complied with standards one, two, and six of the 
uniform standards of professional appraisal practice. 

(2) No more than two hundred fifty hours of the total experience 
credit may be in related areas. Related experience includes 
consulting. 

f. Documentation in the form of reports , certifications, and file 
memoranda must be provided to support the experience claimed . If 
reports and memoranda are unavailable for good cause, the board 
may accept other evidence of compliance with the uniform 
standards of professional appraisal practice. 

g. The verification for the two thousand five hundred hours of 
experience credit claimed by an applicant shall be on forms 
prescribed by the board which shall include all of the following : 

(1) Type of property. 

(2) Date of report. 

(3) Address of appraised property. 

(4) Description of work performed by the applicant and scope of 
the review and supervision of the supervising appraiser. 

(5) Number of actual work hours ~ on the assignment. 
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(6) The signature and permit number of the supervising 
appraiser, if applicable. 

fl-)~ Separate appraisal logs must be maintained for each supervising 
appraiser, if applicable. 

l:li. There need not be a client in order for an appraisal to qualify fo r 
experience. Appraisals made without clients can fulfill up to fifty 
percent of the total experience requirement. 

f.l. Case studies or practicum courses that are approved by the board 
or through the appraisal qualifications board of the appraisal 
foundation course approval program can satisfy the nonclient 
experience requirement. 

(1) A practicum course must include the generally applicable 
methods of appraisal practice for the credential permit 
category. Content includes all of the following : 

(a) Requiring the student to produce credible appraisals 
that utilize an actual subject property. 

(b) Performing market research containing sales 
analysis . 

(c) Applying and reporting the applicable appraisal 
approaches in conformity with the uniform standards 
of professional appraisal practice. 

(2) Assignments must require problem-solving skills for a variety 
of property types for the credential permit category. 

(3) Experience credit shall be granted for the actual class hours 
of instruction and hours of documented research and 
analysis as awarded from the practicum course approval 
process. 

t.!s. All experience must be obtained after January 30, 1989, and must 
be uniform standards of professional appraisal practice compliant, 
where the appraiser demonstrates proficiency in appraisal 
principles, methodology, procedures (development) , and reporting 
conclusions. 

k-:-1. After accumulating a m1mmum of fifty percent of the required 
appraisal experience, an applicant for certified residential may 
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voluntarily submit work product to the board to be reviewed by a 
board reviewer for educational purposes only. A maximum of two 
reports may be submitted for review. The board will not initiate a 
complaint for violations identified in this review. 

History: Effective January 1, 2008; amended effective July 1, 2012; January 1, 2015. 
General Authority: NDCC 43-23.3-03 
Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23.3-03, 43-23.3-06, 43-23.3-07, 43-23.3-08, 43.23.3-09, 
43-23 .3-17, 43-23.3-18 

101-02-02-06. Certified general appraiser. 

1. Definitions. A certified general appraiser permit must be issued to an 
individual who successfully meets all of the board requirements for such a 
permit. 

2. Competency. The certified general appraiser may appraise all types of 
properties. The certified general appraiser is bound by the competency 
provision of the uniform standards of professional appraisal practice. 

3. Background check. An applicant for a certified general appraiser permit 
must undergo background screening to ensure that the applicant does not 
possess a background that could call into question public trust. The 
applicant shall submit finger prints and any appropriate identifying 
information for submission to the federal bureau of investigation and/or 
government agency or entity authorized to receive such information in 
connection with a state and national background check. 

a. All costs associated with obtaining a background check are the 
responsibility of the applicant. 

b. An applicant will not be considered for an certified general permit if: 

(1) The applicant has had an appraiser apprentice, license or 
certification permit revoked in any governmental jurisdiction 
within the five year period immediately preceding the date of 
application. 

(2) The applicant has been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo 
contendere to, a felony in domestic or foreign court: 

(a) during the five year period immediately preceding the 
date of the application for licensing or certification. 

39 



(b) at any time preceding the date of application, if such 
felony involved an act of fraud, dishonesty, or a 
breach of trust, or money laundering . 

(3) The applicant has failed to demonstrate character and 
general fitness such as to command the confidence of the 
community and to warrant a determination that the appraiser 
will operate honestly, fairly, and efficiently within the 
purposes of these criteria. 

c. The following additional background issues will be evaluated and 
considered prior to issuing a certified general permit: 

(1) Convictions of any criminal offense involving dishonesty, 
breach of trust, or money laundering against the applicant or 
organizations controlled by the applicant, or agreements to 
enter into a pretrial diversion or similar program in 
connection with the prosecution for such an offense. 

(2) Civil judicial actions against the individual in connection with 
financial services-related activities, dismissals with 
settlements, or judicial findings that the individual violated 
financial services-related statutes or regulations, except for 
actions dismissed without a settlement agreement. 

(3) Actions or orders by a state or federal regulatory agency or 
foreign financial regulatory authority that: 

(a) Found the applicant to have made a false statement 
or omission or been dishonest, unfair or unethical ; to 
have been involved in a violation of a financial 
services-related regulation or statute; or to have been 
a cause of a financial services-related business 
having its authorization to do business denied, 
suspended, revoked, or restricted. 

(b) Are entered against the applicant in connection with a 
financial services-related activity. 

(c) Denied, suspended, or revoked the applicant's 
apprentice, licensed or certification permit to engage 
in a financial-services-related business or restricted 
the applicant activities. 
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(d) Barred the applicant from association with an entity or 
its officers regulated by the agency or authority of 
from engaging in a financial services-related 
business. 

(4) Final orders issued by a state or federal regulatory agency or 
foreign financial regulatory authority based on violations of 
any law or regulation that prohibits fraudulent, manipulative, 
or deceptive conduct. 

(5) Revocation or suspension of the applicant's authorization to 
act as an attorney, accountant. or state or federal contractor. 

(6) Customer-initiated financial services-related arbitration or 
civil action against the applicant that required action, 
including settlements, or which resulted in a judgment. 

~. Examination. An applicant for a certified general appraiser permit must 
have successfully completed the board approved uniform state 
certification examination or its equivalent. There is no alternative to 
successful completion of the exam. Successful completion of the 
examination is valid for a period of twenty-four months. The certified 
general permit must be obtained within twenty-four months of successful 
completion of the examination or the examination must be retaken. An 
applicant for the uniform certified general examination as a certified 
appraiser must shall furnish proof to the board that the applicant has~ 

a. successfully completed the applicable education required by 
subsection-45. 

b. met the applicable experience, in hours and years , as required by 
subsection 6. 

45. Education. An applicant for a certified general appraiser permit shall 
meet all of the following education requirements: 

a. A bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or 
university. 

(1) In lieu of the bachelor's degree, an applicant for the certified 
general permit shall successfully complete a minimum of 
three semester credit hours in each of the follmving 
collegiate level subject matter courses: 

(a) English composition . 
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(b) Micro economics. 

(c) Macro economics. 

(d) Finance. 

(e) Algebra , geometry, or higher mathematics. 

(f) Statistics. 

(g) Computer science. 

(h) Business or real estate law. 

(i) T•.vo elective courses in accounting , geography, 
agriculture economics, business management, or real 
estate. 

/\11 courses used in lieu of the required degree must have 
been completed at a college or university that is an 
accredited degree granting institution . The accreditation 
must have been obtained from the commission on colleges, 
a regional or national accreditation association , or an 
accrediting agency that is recognized by the United States 
secretary of education . If the college or university accepts 
the college level examination program, and issues a 
transcript for the examination, showing its approval , it will be 
considered as credit for the college course. For college level 
courses taken in a quarterly system, one quarter credit hour 
is equivalent to two thirds semester credit hour. 

(1) The college or university must be a degree-granting 
institution accredited by the commission on colleges, a 
regional or national accreditation association , or an 
accred iting agency that is recognized by the United States 
secretary of education. If the college or university accepts 
the college-level examination program and examinations, 
and issues a transcript for the examinations, showing its 
approval, it will be considered as credit for the college 
course. For college-level courses taken in a quarterly 
system, one quarter credit hour is equivalent to two- thirds 
semester credit hour. 
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(2) College-level education completed at a foreign college or 
university will be acceptable provided the education has 
been evaluated and deemed equivalent by one of the 
following : 

(a) An accredited degree-granting domestic college or 
university. 

(b) The American association of collegiate registrars and 
admissions officers . 

(c) A foreign degree credential evaluation service 
company that is a member of the national association 
of credential evaluation services. 

(d) A foreign degree credential valuation service 
company that provides equivalency evaluation reports 
accepted by an accredited degree-granting domestic 
college or university or by a state licensing board that 
issues credentials in another discipline. 

b. In addition to a bachelor's degree or higher, an applicant for 
certified general must complete three hundred class hours in 
subjects related to real estate appraisal which cover the required 
core curriculum as established by the appraisal qualifications board 
of the appraisal foundation , and approved as such, by the board. 

(1) Coverage must include a minimum of all of the following : 

(a) Thirty hours of basic appraisal principles. 

(b) Thirty hours of basic appraisal procedures. 

(c) The fifteen-hour national uniform standards of 
appraisal practice course or its equivalent. 

(d) Thirty hours of general appraiser market analysis and 
highest and best use. 

(e) Fifteen hours of statistics, modeling , and finance . 

(f) Thirty hours of general appraiser sales comparison 
approach. 
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(g) Thirty hours general appraiser site valuation and cost 
approach . 

(h) Sixty hours of general appraiser income approach . 

(i) Thirty hours of general appraiser report writing and 
case studies. 

U) Thirty hours of appraisal subject matter electives. 

[1] An apprentice appraiser may satisfy the 
educational requirements for the certified 
general level by completing the following 
additional educational hours: 

[2] 

i. Thirty hours of general appraiser market 
analysis and highest and best use. 

ii . Fifteen hours of statistics. modeling and 
finance. 

iii. Thirty hours of general appraiser sales 
comparison approach. 

iv. Thirty hours of general appraiser site 
valuation and cost approach . 

v. Sixty hours of general appraiser income 
approach. 

vi . Thirty hours of general appraiser report 
writing and case studies. 

vii. Thirty hours of appraisal subject matter 
electives. 

A licensed appraiser may satisfy the 
educational requirements for the certified 
general level by completing the following 
additional educational hours: 

i. Fifteen hours of general appraiser 
market analysis and highest and best 
use. 
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ii. Fifteen hours of statistics, modeling and 
finance. 

iii. Fifteen hours of general appraiser sales 
comparison approach . 

iv. Fifteen hours of general appraiser site 
valuation and cost approach . 

v. Forty five hours of general appraiser 
income approach. 

vi. Fifteen hours of general appraiser report 
writing and case studies. 

vii. Thirty hours of appraisal subject matter 
electives. 

[3] A certified residential appraiser may satisfy the 
educational requirements for the certified 
general level by completing the following 
additional educational hours: 

i. Fifteen hours of general appraiser 
market analysis and highest and best 
use. 

ii. Fifteen hours of general appraiser sales 
comparison approach. 

iii. Fifteen hours of general appraiser site 
valuation and cost approach . 

iv. Forty five hours of general appraiser 
income approach. 

v. Ten hours of general appraiser report 
writing and case studies. 

(2) Class hours will be credited only for educational offerings 
with content that follows the required core curriculum. 

(3) A class hour is defined as sixty minutes, of which at least 
fifty minutes are for instruction attended by the student. 
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(4) Credit toward the class hour requirement may only be 
granted when the length of the educational offering is at 
least fifteen hours, and the individual successfully completes 
a closed-book examination pertinent to that educational 
offering. 

(5) The prescribed number of class hours includes time for 
examinations. 

(6) Uniform standards of professional appraisal practice 
education credit shall only be awarded when the class is 
instructed by at least one appraisal qualifications board­
certified instructor who is state-certified . 

(7) Credit for the class requirement may be obtained from the 
following : 

(a) Colleges or universities. 

(b) Community or junior colleges. 

(c) Real estate appraisal or real estate-related 
organizations. 

(d) State or federal agencies or commissions. 

(e) Proprietary schools . 

(f) Providers approved by the board. 

(g) The appraisal foundation or its boards. 

(8) There is no time limit regarding when qualifying education 
credit must have been obtained. 

(9) All hours may be by distance education . Distance education 
is an educational process in which the student and instructor 
are geographically separated . Distance education includes 
online learning , internet-based instruction, CD-ROM 
instruction, correspondence courses, and videoconferencing . 
An acceptable distance education course must meet all of 
the following requirements: 

(a) Provide interaction between the student and the 
instructor. Interaction is a reciprocal environment 
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where the student has verbal or written 
communication with the instructor. 

(b) Be approved for content by the board , the appraisal 
qualifications board of the appraisal foundation , or an 
accredited college, community college, or university, 
that offers distance education programs and is 
approved or accredited by the commission on 
colleges , a regional or national accreditation 
association, or by an accred iting agency that is 
recognized by the United States secretary of 
education . Nonacademic credit college courses 
provided by a college shall be approved by the 
appraisal qualifications board of the appraisal 
foundation or the board. 

(c) Obtain course delivery mechanism approval from one 
of the following sources: 

[1] Appraisal qualifications board-approved 
organizations providing approval of course 
design and delivery. 

[2] A college that qualifies for content approval in 

subparagraph b that awards academic credit 
for the distance education course. 

[3] A qualifying college or university for content 
approval with a distance education delivery 
program that approves the course design and 
delivery that incorporates interactivity. 

(d) Require the student to successfully complete a written 
examination proctored by an official approved by the 
presenting, college, university, or sponsoring 
organization . Written exam refers to an exam written 
on paper or administered electronically on a computer 
work station or other device. 

(e) Meet the requirements for qualifying education 
established by the appraisal qualifications board of 
the appraisal foundation . 

(f) Be equivalent to at least fifteen class hours. 
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(1 0) Courses that have received approval by the appraiser 
qualifications board of the appraisal foundation through the 
appraiser qualifications course approval program may be 
acceptable to the board without additional state review. 

(11) Courses taken to satisfy the qualifying education 
requirements must not be repetitive. Uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice courses taken in different 
years are not repetitive . Courses shall foster problem-solving 
skills in the education process by utilizing case studies as a 
major teaching method when applicable. 

(12) Courses taken for the class hour requirement when an 
individual seeks a different classification than that held may 
also be counted for the continuing education requirement of 
the classification held . 

(13) Credit toward qualifying education requirements may also be 
obtained by the completion of a graduate degree in real 
estate from an accredited degree-granting college or 
university approved by the American association ef_!Q 
advance collegiate schools of business or a regional or 
national accreditation agency recognized by the United 
States secretary of education, provided that the college or 
university has had its curriculum reviewed and approved by 
the appraisal qualifications board . 

(14) Applicants for the certified general level who are awarded 
graduate degrees from approved institutions are required to 
complete all additional education required for the credential 
permit in which the approved degree is judged to be deficient 
by the appraisal qualifications board . 

(15) The applicant must be familiar with North Dakota Century 
Code chapter 43-23.3 and North Dakota Administrative 
Code title 101. 

(Rj(16) Experience may not be substituted for education . 

W. Experience. A certified general appraiser must have the equivalent of 
three thousand hours of credible appraisal experience prior to obtaining 
the certified general appraiser certification permit. The experience 
requirements must be satisfied by time spent on the appraisal process. 
The appraisal process consists of analyzing factors that affect value, 
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defining the problem, gathering and analyzing data , applying the 
appropriate analysis and methodology, and arriving at an opinion and 
correctly reporting the data , analysis and opinion in compliance with the 
uniform standards of professional appraisal practice. The applicant for 
certification must submit a log from which the board will select for review a 
minimum of three summary or self contained nonresidential appra isal 
reports . Collectively the reports must include and demonstrate 
competence and a working knowledge of all three approaches to value. 
The reports submitted must meet the current uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice as of the effective date of the appraisal and 
must reflect that the applicant has an acceptable level of competency and 
understanding of the principles, practices, and procedures consistent with 
the body of knowledge for the certified general level. 

a. Adequate experience will be determined by the actual hours spent 
on an assignment, subject to a maximum established by the board . 

(1) Maximum hours awarded are based on the types of 
appraisals performed and the types of properties appraised . 

(2) Types of appraisals performed include standard appraisal , 
review appraisal , and condemnation appraisal. 

(a) A standard appraisal is the process of developing an 
appraisal using those methods commonly accepted 
by real estate appraisers as constituting the appraisal 
process and preparing a written appraisal report or file 
memorandum describing the appraisal and reporting 
the estimate of value. The appraisal process consists 
of an analysis of factors that affect va lue, definition of 
the problem, gathering and analyzing data, applying 
the appropriate value approaches and methodology, 
arriving at an opinion of value, and correctly reporting 
the opinion of value in compliance with the uniform 
standards of professional appraisal practice. 

(b) A review appraisal is the process of critically 
reviewing an appraisal report prepared by another 
appraiser and preparing a separate written report or 
file memorandum setting forth the results of the 
review process. The review appraiser reviews the 
report and forms an opinion as to the adequacy of the 
report, the appropriateness of the methods used by 
the appraiser, and the reasonableness of the 
appraiser's conclusions. A review appraiser may or 
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may not perform a field review. A field review includes 
inspecting the subject and comparables to verify data, 
to determine the appropriateness of the comparables 
selected and adjustments made, and to assist in 
determining the reasonableness of the value 
estimate. Review appraisal experience must conform 
to standard three of the uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice. Review appraisal 
experience should be given credit to the extent that it 
demonstrates proficiency in appraisal principles, 
techniques, or skills used by appraisers practicing 
under applicable uniform standards of professional 
appraisal practice standards. 

(c) A condemnation appraisal is an appraisal of real 
property for condemnation purposes, including 
situations where a partial taking is involved and the 
appraiser must develop both a before taking value 
estimate and an after taking value estimate. The 
appraiser uses those methods commonly accepted by 
real estate appraisers as constituting the appraisal 
process including a field inspection and preparation of 
a written appraisal report or file memorandum 
describing the appraisal and reporting the before and 
after value estimates. 

(3) Types of property appraised may include the following : 

(a) Land may include farms of one hundred acres [40.47 
hectares] or more in size, undeveloped tracts , 
residential multifamily sites, commercial sites, 
industrial sites, and land in transition. 

(b) Residential multifamily, five-12 units may include 
apartments, condominiums, townhouses, and mobile 
home parks. 

(c) Residential multifamily, thirteen-plus units may 
include apartments, condominiums, townhouses, and 
mobile home parks. 

(d) Commercial single-tenant may include office building, 
retail store, restaurant, service station, bank, and day 
care center. 
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(e) Commercial multitenant may include office building , 
shopping center, and hotel. 

(f) Industrial may include warehouse and manufacturing 
plant. 

(g) Institutional may include rest home, nursing home, 
hospital , school , church , and government building . 

(4) The number of allowable hours assigned for each appraisal 
type are assigned by the board and are included on the 
application for licensure or certification . A copy of this form 
can be obtained by contacting the board office. 

b. The three thousand hours of experience must be obtained using at 
least two and one-half years of appraisal practice gained over a 
period of at least thirty months. 

c. There is no other time limit regarding when qualifying experience 
may be obtained . 

d. Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve the 
necessary three thousand hours of appraisal experience. 

e. Acceptable appraisal experience includes the following : 

(1) Fee and staff appraisal , ad valorem tax appraisal , 
condemnation appraisal , technical review appraisal, 
appraisal analysis, real estate consulting (excludes related 
fields such as real estate lending), highest and best use 
analysis , and feasibility analysis or study. 

(a) Mass appraisal experience must conform to standard 
six of the uniform standards of professional appraisal 
practice. Mass appraisal experience claimed by the 
applicant should be given credit to the extent that it 
demonstrates proficiency in appraisal principles, 
techniques, or skills used by appraisers practicing 
under applicable uniform standards of professional 
appraisal practice standards. 

(b) Review of real estate appraisals or real property 
consulting services, including market analysis, cash 
flow and investment analysis, and feasibility analysis 
must conform to standards three, four, and five of the 
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uniform standards of professional appra isal practice. 
Experience involving these functions should be given 
credit to the extent that it demonstrates proficiency in 
appraisal principles, techniques, or skills used by 
appraisers practicing under standard one of the 
uniform standards of professional appraisal practice. 

(c) A market analysis typically performed by a real estate 
broker or sales person should be awarded experience 
credit when the analysis is prepared in conformity with 
standards one and two of the uniform standards of 
professional appraisal practice, the individual can 
demonstrate that the individual is using techniques 
and methods consistent with those used by 
appraisers to value property and the individual is 
effectively utilizing the appraisal process. 

(d) Real property appraisal experience should be 
awarded for appraisals of real estate components, 
estates, or interests unless the appraiser has not 
complied with standards one, two, and six of the 
uniform standards of professional appraisal practice. 

(2) No more than three hundred hours of the total experience 
credit may be in related areas. Related experience includes 
consulting . 

f . Documentation in the form of reports, certifications, and file 
memoranda must be provided to support the experience claimed . If 
reports and file memoranda are unavailable for good cause, the 
board may accept other evidence of compliance with the uniform 
standards of professional appraisal practice. 

g. The verification for the three thousand hours of experience credit 
claimed by an applicant shall be on forms prescribed by the board 
which shall include all of the following : 

(1) Type of property. 

(2) Date of report. 

(3) Address of appraised property. 

(4) Description of work performed by the applicant and scope of 
the review and supervision of the supervising appraiser. 
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(5) Number of actual work hours j:}ef on the assignment. 

(6) The signature and permit number of the supervising 
appraiser, if applicable. 

f+th. Separate appraisal logs must be maintained for each supervising 
appraiser, if applicable. 

fl.i . The applicant must have at least fifty percent of nonresidential 
appraisal experience. Residential is defined as one-unit to four-unit 
residential units. 

~.i There need not be a client in order for an appraisal to qualify for 
experience. Appraisals made without clients can fulfill up to fifty 
percent of the total experience requirement. 

tK Case studies or practicum courses that are approved by the board 
or through the appraisal qualifications board of the appraisal 
foundation course approval program can satisfy the nonclient 
experience requirement. 

(1) A practicum course must include the generally applicable 
methods of appraisal practice for the credential permit 
category. Content includes all of the following : 

(a) Requiring the student to produce credible appraisals 
that utilize an actual subject property. 

(b) Performing market research containing sales 
analysis. 

(c) Applying and reporting the applicable appraisal 
approaches in conformity with the uniform standards 
of professional appraisal practice. 

(2) Assignments must require problem-solving skills for a variety 
of property types for the credential permit category. 

(3) Experience credit shall be granted for the actual class hours 
of instruction and hours of documented research and 
analysis as awarded from the practicum course approval 
process. 
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kl. All experience must be obtained after January 30 , 1989, and must 
be uniform standards of professional appraisal practice compliant, 
where the appraiser demonstrates proficiency in appraisal 
principles, methodology, procedures (development) , and reporting 
conclusions. 

lm. After accumulating a mm1mum of fifty percent of the required 
appraisal experience, an applicant for certified general may 
voluntarily submit work product to the board to be reviewed by a 
board reviewer for educational purposes only. A maximum of two 
reports may be submitted for review during the experience portion 
of the certification process. The board will not initiate a compla int 
for violations identified in this review. 

History: Effective October 1, 1992; amended effective January 1, 1995; October 1, 
1998; February 1, 2003; January 1, 2008; July 1, 2012; January 1, 2015. 
General Authority: NDCC 43-23.3-03, 43-23.3-09 
Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23.3-03, 43-23.3-06, 43-23.3-07, 43-23.3-08, 43-23.3-09, 
43-23.3-17, 43-23.3-18 

101-02-02-07. Inactive status. 

1. A licensed or certified appraiser may be assigned to inactive status upon 
written request. 

2. A licensed or certified appraiser on inactive status may not directly or 
indirectly engage in , advertise, conduct the business of, or act in any 
capacity as a licensed or certified appraiser. 

3. A licensed or certified appraiser on inactive status must renew a permit as 
required by North Dakota Century Code section 43-23.3-12 and section 
1 01-02-04-01 , except a licensed or certified appraiser on inactive status is 
not required to complete the continuing education required by North 
Dakota Century Code sections 43-23.3-12 and 43-23.3-19 and North 
Dakota Administrative Code section 101-04-01-01. 

4. A licensed or certified appraiser on inactive status may be removed from 
inactive status upon written request and proof of completion of all the 
continuing education that would have been required if the licensed or 
certified appraiser was not on inactive status, including the most recent 
edition of the seven-hour national uniform standards of professional 
appraisal practice update course or its equivalent. 

History: Effective October 1, 1992; amended effective January 1, 2008; July 1, 2012. 
General Authority: NDCC 43-23.3-03, 43-23.3-12 
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Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23.3-12 , 43-23.3-19, 43-23.3-20 

Section 
101 -02-02.1-01 

101-02-02.1-02 
101-02-02.1-03 
101-02-02.1-04 

CHAPTER 101-02-02.1 
NONRESIDENT AND TEMPORARY PERMITS 

Issuance of Permits to Applicants Licensed or Certified by Another 
State 
Temporary Permit 
Nonresident Consent to Service of Process (Repealed] 
Denial of an application 

101-02-02.1-01. Issuance of permits to applicants licensed or certified by 
another state. 

1. The board shall issue a permit to an applicant who is licensed or certified 
in good standing by another state if the other state's current requirements 
to be licensed or certified are at least substantially equivalent to the 
current requirements imposed by this state, and if grounds for denial of the 
applications under North Dakota Century Code section 43-23.3-22 do not 
exist. If an applicant was licensed or certified by another state by 
reciprocity or a similar process, the current requirements of the state in 
'Nhich the applicant was originally licensed or certified must be at least 
substantially equivalent to the current requirements imposed by this state. 

2. To qualify, the applicant must meet all of the following requirements: 

a. Submit an application on a form provided by the board . 

b. Certify that the applicant is licensed or certified in good standing in 
another state. 

c. Certify that disciplinary proceedings are not pending against the 
applicant in any jurisdiction . 

d. Provide documentation of the current requirements of the state in 
which the applicant was originally licensed or certified. 

e. Pay the application fee. 

3. The board may request work product from an applicant if the appl icant has 
a history of disciplinary action. 

History: Effective January 1, 1995; amended effective October 1, 1998; January 1, 
2008; July 1, 2012; January 1. 2015. 
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General Authority: NDCC 43-23.3-03, 43-23.3-11 
Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23.3-04.1 

101-02-02.1-02. Temporary permit. 

1. A nonresident of this state who has submitted an irrevocable consent to 
service of process may obtain a temporary permit to perform a contract 
relating to the appraisal of real estate in this state. 

2. To qualify, the applicant must meet all of the following requirements: 

a. Submit an application on a form provided by the board . 

b. Certify that the applicant is licensed or certified in good standing in 
another state. 

c. Certify that disciplinary proceedings are not pending against the 
applicant in any jurisdiction. 

d. Submit a copy of the contract for appraisal services. 

e. Sign an irrevocable consent to service of process form . 

f . Pay the application fee. 

3. A temporary permit issued under this section is expressly limited to the 
grant of authority to perform the appraisal work required by the contract for 
appraisal services. 

4. An applicant may not complete more than six assignments per calendar 
year. 

5. Each temporary permit expires upon the completion of the appraisal work 
required by the contract for appraisal services. 

History: Effective January 1, 1995; amended effective October 1, 1998; January 1, 
2008; July 1, 2012. 
General Authority: NDCC 43-23.3-03, 43-23.3-11 
Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23.3-11 

101-02-02.1-04. Denial of an application. If an application is denied , the board 
will notify the applicant of the denial and specify the basis for the denial. 

History: Effective July 1, 2012 
General Authority: NDCC 43-23-03 
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Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23-03 

CHAPTER 101-02-04 
RENEWAL 

Permit Renewal 
Section 
101-02-04-01 
101 -02-04-02 Denial of an application. 

101-02-04-01. Permit renewal. 

1. All permits expire on December thirty-first of each year. 

2. A holder of an appraiser permit desiring the renewal of such permit shall , 
during the month preceding the expiration date of such permit, apply for 
same in writing upon a form approved by the board and shall forward the 
requ ired fee. Forms are available upon request to the board. 

3. Permits may be renewed up to ninety days after the date of expiration, 
with payment of late fee . The applicant who does not file a renewal 
application by the ninety-day deadline is subject to all requirements 
governing new applicants. 

4. A person who, in any way, acts as an apprenticeJ. _ _Iicensed , or certified 
appraiser while that individual's permit is expired will be subject to 
disciplinary action and penalties as described in North Dakota Century 
Code chapter 43-23.3. 

History: Effective October 1, 1992; amended effective February 1, 2003; January 1, 
2008; July 1, 2012. 
General Authority: NDCC 43-23.3-03 
Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23.3-12, 43-23.3-23 

101-02-04-02. Denial of an application. If an application is denied , the board 
will notify the applicant of the denial and specify the basis for the denial. 

History: Effective July 1, 2012. 
General Authority: N DCC 43-23-03 
Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23-03 

101-03-01-01. Copies of uniform standards of professional appraisal 
practice. Copies of the uniform standards of professional appraisal practice are 
available for purchase through the appraisal foundation . 

History: Effective October 1, 1992; amended effective January 1, 1995; July 1, 2012. 
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General Authority: NDCC 43-23.3-03 
Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23.3-18 

Section 
101-03.1-01-01 
101-03.1-01-02 
101-03.1-01 -03 
101 -03.1-01-04 

CHAPTER 101-03.1-01 
UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

Unprofessional Conduct 
Reporting Requirements 
Conflict of Interest 
Application of Standards 

101-03.1-01-01. Unprofessional conduct. Any of the following acts and 
omissions constitute a violation of the standards of professional appraisal practice and 
are grounds for disciplinary action or denial of an application: 

1 . Violation or attempted violation of North Dakota Century Code chapter 43-
23.3 or the rules adopted by the board . 

2. Failure to comply with the standards of professional appraisal practice and 
ethical rules specified by the uniform standards of professional appraisal 
practice and all other standards and ethical requirements adopted by the 
appraisal foundation . 

3. Engaging in the business of real estate appraising under an assumed or 
fictitious name. 

4. Paying a finder's fee or referral fee to any person in connection with the 
appraisal of real estate, but an intracompany payment for business 
development is not unethical. 

5. Making a false or misleading statement in that portion of a written 
appraisal report that deals with professional qualifications or in any 
testimony concerning professional qualification. 

6. Violation of the confidential nature of individual, business, or governmental 
records to which a permittee gained accesses through employment or 
engagement as an appraiser. 

7. Performance of appraisal services beyond the permittee's level of 
competence. 

8. Having been disciplined in another state, territory, or country relating to a 
permit or the authorization to practice as an appraiser. 
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9. Negligence, refusal, or incompetence in developing an appraisal , 
preparing an appraisal report, or communicating an appraisal. 

10. Failing as a licensed or certified appraiser to actively and personally 
supervise an apprentice appraiser or any person not licensed or certified 
under the provisions of North Dakota Century Code chapter 43-23.3 who 
assists the licensed or certified appraiser in performing real estate 
appraisals. 

11 . Having become permanently or temporarily unfit to engage in appraisal 
activity because of physical, mental , emotional, or other causes. 
Suspension of a permit in cases where the permittee is temporarily unfit to 
conduct appraisal activity shall only be for the period of unfitness. 

12. Commission of any act involving moral turpitude or dishonesty, whether 
the act is committed in the course of the individual's activities as an 
appraiser or otherwise. 

13. Engaging in conduct involving dishonesty, fraud , deceit, or 
misrepresentation. 

14. Filing a frivolous complaint against a permitted appraiser. 

History: Effective January 1, 1995; amended effective February 1, 2003; January 1, 
2008; July 1, 2012. 
General Authority: NDCC 43-23.3-03, 43-23.3-22 
Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23.3-18, 43-23.3-22 

101-03.1-01-04. Application of standards. The requirements of the uniform 
standards of professional appraisal practice shall not apply to the board , its agents, and 
employees when reviewing appraisals as part of the application or disciplinary 
processes. 

History: Effective July 1, 2012. 
General Authority: NDCC 43-23-03 
Law Implemented: NDCC 43-23-22 

101-04-01-01. Continuing education requirements. 

1. Purpose. The purpose of continuing education is to ensure that the 
appraiser participates in a program that maintains and increases that 
individual's skill, knowledge, and competency in real estate appraising . 
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2. Requirements. All apprentice, licensed , and certified permittees must 
meet a minimum level of continuing education. This minimum level has 
been set at twenty-eight hours over a two-year education renewal period . 
Of the twenty-eight hours, appraisers must complete the seven-hour 
national uniform standards of professional appraisal practice update 
course , or its equivalent, every two years. Equivalency must be 
determined through the appraisal qualifications board course approval 
program or by an alternate method approved by the appraisal 
qualifications board . Fourteen hours of the twenty-eight hours must 
include appraisal-specific education related to the valuation of real estate, 
and seven hours may be comprised of appraisal-related subject matter, 
approved as such by the board . 

a. The necessary twenty-eight hours may be obtained at any time 
during the two-year renewal period, except for the required national 
uniform standards of professional appraisal practice requirement. 

b. Verification of the necessary twenty-eight hours must be submitted 
by the end of the two-year renewal period. 

c. Uniform standards of professional practice (USPAP) continuing 
education credit shall only be awarded when the class is instructed 
by at least one appraisal qualifications board-certified instructor 
who is state-certified . 

d. All continuing education courses taken in this state must be 
approved by the board . 

e. Courses taken out of this state may be approved for credit, 
provided the state in which the course was taken has approved the 
course for appraiser education. 

f. A course which has not had prior approval may be approved on an 
individual basis. 

g. All continuing education must be taken in blocks of at least two 
hours. 

h. A classroom class hour is defined as fifty minutes out of each sixty­
minute segment. 

i. With the exception of distance education , no examination is 
required for continuing education courses. 
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j. Credit for the class requirement may be obtained from the 
following : 

(1) Colleges or universities. 

(2) Community or junior colleges. 

(3) Real estate appraisal or real estate-related organizations. 

(4) State or federal agencies or commissions. 

(5) Proprietary schools. 

(6) Other providers approved by the board . 

k. Credit may be granted for education offerings which are consistent 
with the purpose of continuing education stated in subsection 1 and 
cover real estate-related appraisal topics such as: 

(1) Ad valorem taxation. 

(2) Arbitration and dispute resolution. 

(3) Courses related to practice of real estate appraisal or 
consulting . 

(4) Development cost estimating. 

(5) Ethics and standards of professional practice. 

(6) Land use planning and zoning. 

(7) Management, leasing, and timesharing. 

(8) Property development and partial interests. 

(9) Real estate law, easements, and legal interests. 

(1 0) Real estate litigation, damages, and condemnation. 

(11) Real estate financing and investment. 

(12) Real estate appraisal-related computer applications. 

(13) Real estate securities and syndications. 

61 



(14) Developing opinions of real property value in appraisals that 
also include personal property and/or business value . 

(15) Seller concessions and impact on value. 

(16) Energy efficient items and green building appraisals . 

I. A professional real estate appraisal organization meeting may be 
granted credit, provided it is a formal education program of learning 
which contributes to the real estate appraisal profession . 

m. Three hours of continuing education credit, per continuing 
education cycle, may be granted for attendance at a face-to-face 
meeting of the board of at least three hours. The attendee must 
attend the meeting in its entirety. 

n. Real estate appraisal-related field trips may be granted credit. 
However, transit time to or from the field trip location should not be 
included when awarding credit if instruction does not occur. 

o. Up to one-half of an individual's continuing education credit may be 
granted for participation, other than as a student in appraisal 
educational processes and programs. Examples of activities for 
which credit may be granted are teaching , program development, 
authorship of textbooks , or similar activities which are determined 
to be equivalent to obtaining continuing education. Teaching of a 
course with the same, or substantially the same subject content 
may be claimed only once for credit within a two-year renewal 
cycle. 

p. Continuing education credit may be granted for distance education . 
Distance education is defined as any educational process based on 
the geographical separation of instructor and student. Distance 
education includes CD-ROM instruction, online learning, internet­
based instruction, correspondence courses, and videoconferencing. 
Acceptable distance education courses must meet all of the 
following requirements: 

(1) Provide interaction between the student and the instructor. 
Interaction is a reciprocal environment where the student 
has verbal or written communication with the instructor. 

(2) Be approved for content by the board, the appraisal 
qualifications board of the appraisal foundation, or an 
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accredited college, community college, or university, that 
offers distance education programs and is approved or 
accredited by the commission on colleges, a regional or 
national accreditation association, or by an accrediting 
agency that is recognized by the United States secretary of 
education. Nonacademic credit college courses provided by 
a college shall be approved by the appraisal qualifications 
board of the appraisal foundation or the board . 

(3) Be approved for delivery mechanism by one of the following 
sources: 

(a) Appraiser qualifications board-approved organizations 
providing approval of course design and delivery. 

(b) A college that qualifies for content approval in 
paragraph 2 and that awards academic credit for the 
distance education course. 

(c) A qualifying college for content approval with a 
distance education delivery program that approves 
the course design and delivery that incorporates 
i nteractivity. 

(4) Be equivalent to a minimum of two classroom class hours in 
length and meet the requirements for real estate appraisal­
related courses established by the appraiser qualifications 
board. 

(5) If intended for use as continuing education , include at least 
one of the following : 

(a) The student successfully completes a written 
examination proctored by an official approved by the 
presenting college or university or by the sponsoring 
organization. 

(b) The student successfully completes the prescribed 
course mechanisms required to demonstrate 
knowledge of the subject matter. 

q. A course with the same or substantially the same subject content 
may be claimed only once for credit within a two-year renewal 
cycle. 
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r. Excess hours of education earned in one renewal period cannot be 
carried over to the next renewal period. 

s. Courses that have received approval by the appraiser 
qualifications board of the appraisal foundation through the 
appraiser qualifications course approval program may be accepted 
by the board without additional state review. 

t. Courses that are taken as a result of a disciplinary action may not 
be credited toward continuing education. 

u. Courses taken for the class hour requirement when an individual 
seeks a different classification than that held may be 
simultaneously counted for the continuing education requirement of 
the classification held. 

v. Appraisers are required to complete continuing education for a 
partial year in a continuing education cycle as follows: 

(1) For continuing education cycle periods of one hundred 
eighty-five days or more, fourteen hours of continuing 
education are required. 

(2) For continuing education cycle periods of less than one 
hundred eighty-five days, no continuing education is 
required. 

History: Effective October 1, 1992; amended effective October 1, 1998; 
February 1, 2003; January 1, 2008; July 1, 2012; January 1, 2015 
General Authority: NDCC 43-23.3-12, 43-23.3-19 
law Implemented: NDCC 43-23.3 
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