Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly, State of North Dakota, begun in the Capitol in the City of Bismarck, on Tuesday, the fifth day of January, one thousand nine hundred and ninety-nine

SENATE BILL NO. 2267 (Senators B. Stenehjem, Christmann, Tomac) (Representatives Grande, Hanson, Henegar)

AN ACT to create and enact a new section to chapter 24-02 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to the special road committee; to amend and reenact subsection 3 of section 24-02-37 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to the special road fund; to provide an effective date; and to declare an emergency.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Subsection 3 of section 24-02-37 of the 1997 Supplement to the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

3. The state treasurer shall deposit the moneys in the state highway fund in an interest-bearing account at the Bank of North Dakota. Any The state treasurer shall deposit forty percent of the income derived from the deposit of the moneys must be retained in the state highway interest-bearing account in a special interest-bearing account in the state treasury known as the special road fund. The special road fund may be used, within the limits of legislative appropriation, exclusively for the construction and maintenance of access roads to and roads within recreational, tourist, and historical areas as designated by the special road committee. A political subdivision or state agency may request funds from the special road fund by applying to the committee on forms designated by the committee. The committee may require the political subdivision or state agency to contribute to the cost of the project as a condition of any expenditure authorized from the special road fund. Any moneys in the fund not obligated by the special road committee on June thirtieth of each odd-numbered year must revert to the state highway fund.

SECTION 2. A new section to chapter 24-02 of the North Dakota Century Code is created and enacted as follows:

Special road committee. The special road committee consists of one member of the senate and one member of the house of representatives appointed by the chairman of the legislative council, the director of the game and fish department, the director of the parks and recreation department, and the director of the department of transportation. The director of the department of transportation is chairman of the committee. The committee must meet at the call of the director to review requests for funding from the special road fund. The committee shall decide which project requests will receive funding. The director shall provide staff services to the committee. The members of the committee who are members of the legislative assembly are entitled to compensation from the department of transportation, from moneys appropriated from the special road fund, for attendance at committee meetings at the rate provided for members of the legislative assembly for attendance at interim committee meetings and are entitled to reimbursement for expenses incurred in attending the meetings in the amounts provided by law for other state officers.

SECTION 3. EFFECTIVE DATE. This Act becomes effective July 1, 1999.

SECTION 4. EMERGENCY. This Act is declared to be an emergency measure.

S. B. No. 2267 - Page 2

	President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate			Speaker of the House				
				C				
Dakota a	ind is knowr	n on the reco	ginated in the S rds of that bod d in favor of said	y as Sena	he Fifty-sixth Legi ate Bill No. 2267	islative A and that	ssembly of North two-thirds of the	
Vote:	Yeas	47	Nays	0	Absent	2		
	Presider	nt of the Sena	te	Secretary of the Senate				
This cert said law.	ifies that tw	o-thirds of the	e members-ele	ct of the H	House of Represe	entatives	voted in favor o	
Vote:	Yeas	88	Nays	8	Absent	2		
	Speaker of the House			Chief Clerk of the House				
Received by the Governor at M. on							_, 1999.	
Approved	d at	M. on					_, 1999.	
				G	overnor			
Filed in this office this day of							_, 1999,	
at o'd	clock	_ M.						
					Secretary of State			