Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly, State of North Dakota, begun in the Capitol in the City of Bismarck, on Tuesday, the fifth day of January, one thousand nine hundred and ninety-nine

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4017 (Senators W. Stenehjem, Andrist, Holmberg) (Representatives DeKrey, Delmore, Devlin)

A concurrent resolution for the amendment of section 5 of article V of the Constitution of North Dakota, relating to the election of executive branch officers.

STATEMENT OF INTENT

This amendment provides that one-half of the elected state officials will be chosen by voters in each election year. To start this arrangement, the agriculture commissioner, attorney general, secretary of state, and tax commissioner will be elected for two-year terms in 2004, and thereafter will be elected to four-year terms.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the following proposed amendment to section 5 of article V of the Constitution of North Dakota is agreed to and must be submitted to the qualified electors of North Dakota at the primary election to be held in 2000, in accordance with section 16 of article IV of the Constitution of North Dakota.

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 5 of article V of the Constitution of North Dakota is amended and reenacted as follows:

Section 5. The qualified electors shall choose the elected state officials at a time designated by the legislative assembly. The elected state officials shall serve until their successors are duly qualified. Terms of office <u>of the elected officials except the public service commissioners</u> are four years, except that in 2004 the agriculture commissioner, attorney general, secretary of state, and tax commissioner are elected to a term of two years. The terms of the public service commissioners are six years, so arranged that one of them is elected every two years. The terms of the governor and lieutenant governor begin on December fifteenth following their election.

If two or more candidates for any executive office other than for governor and lieutenant governor receive an equal and highest number of votes, the legislative assembly in joint session shall choose one of them for the office.

 President of the Senate
 Speaker of the House

 Secretary of the Senate
 Chief Clerk of the House

 Filed in this office this ______ day of ______, 1999, at ______ o'clock _____ M.

Secretary of State