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Section 1115 of Title XI of the Social Security Act
allows states to develop demonstration projects to
provide innovative methods to expand children’s cover-
age, promote participation in Medicaid or the state chil-
dren’s health insurance program (CHIP), and improve
the scope and quality of services available to children.
The schedule attached as an appendix shows state
pending and approved Section 1115 waiver projects.
Guidelines issued by the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS), formerly known as the
Health Care Financing Administration, provide that in
order to qualify for a Section 1115 demonstration
waiver, a state must have operated its CHIP program
for at least one year, have submitted all the required
enrollment reports and evaluations, offer its program
statewide, and have open enrollment with no waiting
lists.

A state must also:
� Provide coverage for children up to age 19 with

family incomes up to at least 200 percent of the
federal poverty level.

� Offer coverage to low-income individuals in the
group targeted by the waiver before covering the
higher-income individuals in the group.  A state
may not cover any population group at a higher
federal poverty level than the level for targeted
low-income children.  

� Demonstrate that its application and redetermi-
nation process for CHIP and Medicaid promotes
enrollment and retention of eligible children.  For
demonstrations that seek to

cover populations other than targeted low-
income children, the state must show that it
has adopted at least three of the following five
policies and procedures in its CHIP and Medi-
caid programs:

Use a joint, mail-in application and a
common application procedure (e.g., the
same verification and interview requirements
for CHIP and Medicaid).

Eliminate asset tests for eligibility
determination.

Provide continuous 12-month eligibility.

Offer presumptive eligibility for children.

Have simplified coverage renewal procedures
that allow the establishment of continuing
eligibility via mail and, if the state operates a
separate CHIP program, provide for seamless
transitions between Medicaid and CHIP when
a child’s eligibility status changes.

A January 2001 report by the National Conference of
State Legislatures entitled Exploring a New Option:
Section 1115 Demonstration Waivers Under the State
Children’s Health Insurance Program contains the
following schedule which shows, for the 38 states and
jurisdictions that as of September 30, 2000, provided
CHIP coverage to children at or above 200 percent of
the federal poverty level, the progress made by each
state in meeting the mandatory criteria established by
CMS for Section 1115 waiver eligibility.
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ELIMINATION OF MEDICAID ASSET TEST - OTHER STATES’ ACTIONS



**Pending Section 1115 waiver application, as of May 1, 2001.

*Approved Section 1115 waiver, as of May 1, 2001.

9 Wisconsin - Wisconsin covers children up to 185 percent of the federal poverty level, but allows them to stay in the
program until they surpass 200 percent of the federal poverty level.

8 South Dakota - In South Dakota, children up to age 6 are covered up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level in a
state-designed program and children above age 6 are covered up to 140 percent of the federal poverty level in a
Medicaid expansion program.

7 Ohio - In Ohio, children up to age 6 are covered up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level and children older than
age 6 are covered up to 150 percent of the federal poverty level.

6 New Hampshire - New Hampshire provides presumptive eligibility for infants from birth to age 1 under a Medicaid
expansion program.

5 Minnesota - Minnesota covers children from birth to age 2 in a Medicaid expansion plan.  Continuous eligibility is
provided for 24 months.

4 Michigan - Michigan’s CHIP plan allows for presumptive eligibility, but it has not been implemented.

3 Maine - Maine offers presumptive eligibility under its Medicaid expansion and state-designed program for pregnant
women.

2 Kentucky - In Kentucky, presumptive eligibility is allowed in the state’s CHIP plan but has not been implemented.

1 Iowa - In Iowa, children up to age 6 are covered up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level and children older than
age 6 are covered up to 185 percent of the federal poverty level.

368223635Total (38 states)
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