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HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE MANDATES IN OTHER STATES

A health insurance coverage mandate is a law requiring an insurance company to include a specified benefit in
certain health insurance policies or to make a specified benefit available at the option of policyholders. Coverage
mandates can require that insurance policies cover a particular benefit, that coverage be provided for the services of
a category of health care providers, or that coverage be extended to a population group not otherwise covered. In
addition to coverage mandates, there are other types of mandates which may affect health insurance providers, such
as administrative mandates which may impose new requirements relating to the processing or payment of claims.

In 1965 there were only seven state-mandated benefits. By 1997 there were approximately 1,000 state-
mandated benefits. By 1999 based on a survey conducted by Blue Cross Blue Shield, the number of state health
insurance mandate laws had increased nearly 40 percent to 1,391, of which 677 mandated certain benefits, 444
mandated the coverage of specific provider services, 241 mandated specific persons be covered, and 29 mandated
coverage for specific procedures.

The Blue Cross Blue Shield publication entitled State Legislative Health Care and Insurance Issues: 2000
Survey of Plans indicates that during the year 2000, state legislatures enacted numerous benefits and other
mandates, as summarized below:

Description of Mandate

State Benefit Mandate Administrative/Other Mandate
Alabama Mental health care - Health plans covering
50 or more employees must cover the treat-
ment of mental illness.

Alaska Diabetic care - Health plans must cover
diabetic medication, supplies, and self-
management training.

Prostate cancer - An existing prostate
cancer screening mandate was expanded by
lowering the mandatory age.

Arizona Chiropractic care - Health plans are Payment of claims - Clean claims (those
required to cover chiropractic services. submitted initially with all required informa-
tion) must be paid within 30 days.

Clinical trials - Plans must cover patient
costs for treatment provided in cancer clinical
trials.

Metabolic disorders - Plans must cover
medical foods to treat metabolic disorders,
up to $5,000 per year.

Colorado Eye care - Health plans are prohibited from
imposing deductibles or coinsurance for eye
care services that are greater than those for
other medical services.

Prosthetic devices - Health plans must
cover prosthetic devices.

Connecticut Pain management - Plans must cover medi-
cally necessary medications and procedures
ordered by a physician pain management
specialist.

Ostomy-related supplies - Plans must cover
ostomy-related appliances and supplies up
to $1,000 annually.

Delaware Contraceptives - Plans must cover contra-
ceptive drugs and devices.
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State

Description of Mandate

Benefit Mandate

Administrative/Other Mandate

District of Columbia

Florida

Hawaii

Indiana

lowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Maine

Maryland

Diabetic equipment - Plans must cover
diabetic equipment and supplies.

Colorectal cancer - Plans must cover colo-
rectal cancer screening.

Cervical cancer - Plans must cover cervical
cancer screening.

Diabetic equipment - Plans must cover
diabetic equipment, supplies, and self-
management training.

Newborn hearing - Plans must cover
newborn hearing screening and any followup
evaluations.

Diabetic equipment - Plans must cover
diabetic equipment, supplies, and self-
management training.

Obesity - Plans must cover the surgical treat-
ment of morbid obesity if it has persisted for
at least five years.

Colorectal cancer - Plans must cover colo-
rectal cancer examinations and laboratory
tests.

Dental care - Plans must cover necessary
hospital and anesthesia charges for certain
individuals needing dental care.

Contraceptives - Group plans must cover
prescribed contraceptives.

Mental health care - Large group plans must
provide coverage for treatment of a mental
health condition under the same terms as
treatment of a physical health condition.

Mammograms - The existing mammography
benefit was expanded to require health plans
to cover mammograms for any covered
person, regardless of age, who has been
diagnosed with breast disease.

Metabolic diseases - Plans must pay for
foods needed to treat metabolic diseases,
up to $4,000 per year.

Clinical trials - Plans must cover routine
patient costs in clinical trials if an insured
has a life-threatening illness for which no
standard treatment is effective.

Hair prosthesis - Plans must cover one hair
prosthesis for hair loss resulting from
chemotherapy or radiation treatment for
cancer, up to a cost of $350.

Child habilitative services - Plans must
cover habilitative services for a child under
age 19 who was born with a mental or
physical disability.

Payment of claims - Plans must pay clean
claims within 30 days or be faced with a civil
money penalty.

Payment of claims - Plans must reimburse
provider clean claims within 30 days.
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Description of Mandate
State Benefit Mandate Administrative/Other Mandate

In vitro fertilization - Plans must provide
coverage for in vitro fertilization procedures
up to three attempts per live birth, not to
exceed a lifetime maximum of $100,000.

Massachusetts Emergency services - Plans must cover
emergency room screening and stabilization
services.
Mental health care - Plans must cover treat-
ment of biologically based mental health
illnesses as well as services for rape-related
mental or emotional disorders.

Michigan Claim review period - The time period
allowed for a plan to review a denied claim
was reduced from 90 to 45 days.

Minnesota Payment of claims - Plans must pay clean

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

Oklahoma

Rhode Island

Clinical trials - Plans must cover patient care
costs for clinical trials for cancer and other
life-threatening diseases.

Chiropractic visits - Managed care plans
must provide coverage for up to 12 chiro-
practic visits annually without referral from a
primary care provider.

Wellness examinations - Coverage for well-
ness examinations was changed from a
mandated offering to a required benefit.

Mammograms - The eligibility age for annual
mammography screening was lowered from
50 to 40 years of age.

Mental health care - Group health plans are
prohibited from imposing treatment limits or
financial requirements on the provision of
mental health benefits if identical limits or
requirements are not imposed on benefits
for other conditions.

Occupational therapy - Plans must cover
services provided by a licensed occupational
therapist.

Hair prosthesis - Plans sold to groups of 50
or more must cover hair prosthesis or wigs
for employees who have lost hair due to
cancer treatment.

Eye care - Plans must provide the same fee
schedule for reimbursement of optometrists
as for ophthalmologists.

Hearing aids - Plans must offer employer
groups the option of purchasing a hearing
aid coverage rider.

Prostate and colorectal cancer - Plans

claims within 30 days to avoid an interest
penalty.

Payment of claims - Plans must pay elec-
tronically submitted clean claims within

15 calendar days; nonelectronic clean claims
within 45 days.

Payment of claims - Plans must pay elec-
tronic claims within 30 days and nonelec-
tronic claims within 45 days.

Payment of claims - Plans are subject to an
interest penalty of 18 percent if they fail to
process a claim within 30 days.
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Description of Mandate

State Benefit Mandate Administrative/Other Mandate
must provide coverage for prostate and colo-
rectal examinations and laboratory tests.

Contraceptives - Plans must provide
coverage for FDA-approved prescription
contraceptive drugs and devices.

South Carolina Mental health care - Mental health parity
coverage was mandated on a pilot basis for
the state employee insurance plan.

South Dakota Prescription drugs - Plans must provide
coverage for the “off-label” use of prescription
drugs used for the treatment of cancer or life-
threatening conditions.

Tennessee Prescription drug cards - Plans that provide
coverage for prescription drugs must issue a

card to each insured with the insured’s name

and other information.

Payment of claims - Plans must pay elec-
tronically submitted clean claims within

21 days and non-electronically submitted
clean claims within 30 days.

Utah Emergency services - Plans must cover
emergency room screening and stabilization
services.

Mental health care - Small group plans must
cover catastrophic mental health services on
a limited parity basis.

Diabetic equipment - Plans must cover
diabetic equipment, supplies, and education.

Virginia Colorectal cancer - Plans must cover colo-
rectal cancer screening.

Dental anesthesia - Plans must cover dental
anesthesia when performed on an inpatient
basis.

Obesity - Plans must cover treatment for
morbid obesity.

Immunizations - Health maintenance organi-
zations must cover all routine and necessary
immunizations for children from birth to age
3.

Washington Prescription drugs - Individual plans must
cover prescription drugs up to $2,000.

Maternity care - Plans must cover maternity
care up to $2,000.

West Virginia Colorectal cancer - Plans must cover colo-
rectal cancer examinations and laboratory
tests.

Wisconsin Immunizations - Plans must cover appro-

priate and necessary immunizations from
birth to age 6 for dependent children.

The Blue Cross Blue Shield report, State Legislative Health Care and Insurance Issues: 2000 Survey of Plans,
from which the preceding information was taken, includes an appendix listing various categories of mandates and the
year enacted in each state. That information is attached as an Appendices A and B to this memorandum.
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Appendix A shows mandates grouped in “provider” and “persons covered” categories. Appendix B shows benefit
mandates.

ATTACH:2



