
This memorandum describes law enforcement and
correctional officer retirement programs in Kansas,
Nebraska, and Wyoming.

KANSAS
Kansas has one retirement plan that may be char-

acterized as a law enforcement retirement plan.
Corrections employees are members of the Kansas
Public Employees Retirement System, but their bene-
fits are calculated differently than those of noncorrec-
tions employees.  Section 74-49-51 of the Kansas
Statutes Annotated provides that the purpose of the
Kansas Police and Firemen’s Retirement System is to
provide an orderly means whereby police and firemen
employed by participating employers and who have
attained retirement age or who have become disabled
may be retired from active service without prejudice and
without inflicting a hardship on the employees retired
and to enable them to accumulate reserves for them-
selves and their dependents to provide for old age,
disability, death, and termination of employment, and
for the purpose of effecting economy and efficiency in
the administration of governmental affairs.

Employees of the Kansas Highway Patrol and
Kansas Bureau of Investigation are required to be
members of the Kansas Police and Firemen’s Retire-
ment System.  Board of Regents institutions and any
county, city, township, or other political subdivision of
the state that employs one or more employees as
police officers, firefighters, emergency medical techni-
cians, or campus police are eligible to affiliate with the
system.  The system currently has 10,175 members
from 69 state and local agencies.  For purposes of the
system, police officer means an employee assigned to
a police department whose principal duties are engage-
ment in the enforcement of law and maintenance of
order within the state and its political subdivisions,
including sheriffs and sheriffs’ deputies, and who has
successfully completed the required course of instruc-
tion for law enforcement officers approved by the
Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center.  In addition,
members are classified as either Tier I or Tier II
members.  Tier I members are members who were
employed prior to July 1, 1989, and who did not elect
Tier II coverage.  Tier II members are members who
were employed prior to July 1, 1989, who did elect
Tier II coverage as well as all members employed on or
after July 1, 1989.  Finally, some current members may
also be considered either Tier I or Tier II transfer or

Brazelton members.  Transfer members are members
who are former members of a local plan who elected to
participate in the Kansas Police and Firemen’s Retire-
ment System.  Brazelton members are members who
participated in a class action lawsuit, Brazelton v.
Kansas Public Employees Retirement System, 227
K.443, 607 P.2d 510 (1980), whose contributions are
lower and whose benefits are offset by Social Security.

Contribution rates vary according to the classifica-
tion of membership.  Tier I and Tier II members
contribute 7 percent of compensation, except in the
case of a member whose employment is covered by
Social Security and the member is a member of the
class certified in the case of Brazelton v. Kansas
Public Employees Retirement System, 227 K.443,
607 P.2d 510 (1980), the employee contribution is
reduced by the amount of the member’s contribution to
Social Security.  The current contribution rate for
Brazelton members is .008 percent.  Also, the
employee contribution for Tier I and Tier II members is
reduced to 2 percent after attaining 32 complete years
of service.

Employer contribution rates fluctuate and are deter-
mined separately for each employer.  Section 74-49-67
of the Kansas Statutes Annotated provides that upon
the basis of an annual actuarial valuation and appraisal
of the system, the Kansas Public Employees Retire-
ment System Board of Trustees shall certify, on or
before July 15 of each year, to each participating
employer an actuarially determined estimate of the rate
of contribution that is required to be paid by each
participating employer to pay all the liabilities that are
to accrue under the system from and after the entry
date as determined by the board upon recommendation
of the actuary.  The rate must be uniform for all partici-
pating employers and must be comprised of a rate for
benefits accruing after June 30, 1993, and a rate for
amortization of the additional liability for benefits
provided by the system which is attributable to service
rendered before July 1, 1993.  Additional liability must
be amortized over a period of 40 years commencing on
July 1, 1993, by annual payments that increase
4 percent for each year remaining in the amortization.
The employer’s rate of contribution determined under
this section does not include the cost of administration
of the system.  For fiscal year 2002, July 1, 2001,
through June 30, 2002, the employer contribution rates
are 9.13 percent for the Kansas Highway Patrol,
7.76 percent for the Kansas Bureau of Investigation,
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6.65 percent for the Kansas Board of Regents, and
various rates for local employers.

Concerning vesting of benefits, Tier I members vest
after 20 years of service credit and Tier II members vest
after 15 years of service credit.  The retirement benefit
is calculated using a formula of final average salary
times a statutory multiplier times years of service.  The
current statutory multiplier is 2.5 percent.  Final
average salary for members who were hired before
July 1, 1993, is the average of the three highest years
of the last five years of employment, including addi-
tional compensation such as sick leave and annual
leave.  Final average salary for members hired on or
after July 1, 1993, is the average of the three highest of
the last five years of employment with no additional
compensation included.

A member is not permitted to retire for age and
service and receive retirement benefits before having
contributed to the retirement system for at least
12 months.  Age and service retirement benefits cannot
exceed 80 percent of final average salary.  The normal
retirement age and service requirement for Tier I
members is 55 years with 20 years of service credit
and the early retirement date for Tier I members is
50 years with 20 years of service credit.  The normal
retirement date for Tier II members is 50 years with
25 years of service credit, 55 years with 20 years of
service credit, or 60 years with 15 years of service
credit.  The early retirement date for Tier II members is
50 years with 20 years of service credit.  The retirement
date for transfer members is age 50 with 25 years of
service and reduced benefits are available at age 50
with 20 years of service.

A member may choose several retirement options,
including a maximum benefit with no survivor, joint and
survivor, life certain, and partial lump sum options.
Disability benefits are based upon whether the
disability was job-related, the classification of the
member, and whether the member has children.  For
Tier I members whose disability is job-related, the
disability benefit is 50 percent of final average salary
plus 10 percent for each eligible dependent to a
maximum benefit of 75 percent of final average salary.
If there are no dependents, the disability benefit is the
higher of 50 percent of final average salary or
2.5 percent for each year of service credit, to a
maximum of 80 percent of final average salary.  For
Tier II members, the disability benefit is 50 percent of
final average salary with service credit to normal retire-
ment.  However, benefits are offset $1 for every $2 of
earnings over $10,000.

Death benefits are based upon whether the member
was active or inactive, whether the death was service or
non-service-connected, and whether the member was
receiving disability benefits at the time of death.  If the
death was job-related and there is a surviving spouse or
children, the spouse receives 50 percent of final

average salary until death.  Each child, up to age 18 or
up to age 23 if a full-time student, receives 10 percent
of final average salary.  The total may not exceed
75 percent of final average salary.  If the death was
non-job-related and there is a surviving spouse or chil-
dren, the spouse receives a lump sum payment of
100 percent of final average salary plus a monthly
benefit of final average salary times 2.5 percent times
years of service up to a maximum of 50 percent of final
average salary.  If there is no surviving spouse or chil-
dren, the death benefit is 100 percent of current annual
salary less refundable contributions and interest to a
named beneficiary.

Correctional officers are members of the Kansas
Public Employees Retirement regular system, but their
benefits are calculated differently.  For purposes of
determining benefits, correctional officer members are
classified as either Group A or Group B members.
Group A members are persons certified to the board of
trustees by the Secretary of Corrections and who are
employees of the Department of Corrections and who
are in a position in a job class in the Corrections Officer
class series, including Corrections Officer I, Correc-
tions Officer II, Corrections Supervisor I, Corrections
Supervisor II, and Corrections Supervisor III or in a posi-
tion in the Corrections Counselor I, Corrections
Counselor II, Unit Team Supervisor, or Corrections
Classification Administrator job class, or who are
promoted from one of these positions to a position in a
job class of warden or deputy warden of a correctional
institution, work release supervisor, training officer
correctional institutions, or corrections administrator
security specialist if the person was employed and had
at least three consecutive years of service in any one
or more positions in the job classes described above
immediately preceding promotion to the position in a
job class of warden, deputy warden, work release
supervisor, training officer, or corrections administrator
security specialist.  Group B members are persons
certified to the board by the Secretary of Corrections
who are employed by the Department of Corrections
and who are in a position for which the duties and
responsibilities directly and primarily involve operation
of power plant facilities within a correctional institution
and involve regular contact with inmates, who are in a
position for which the duties and responsibilities
directly and primarily involve the operation of the correc-
tional industries activity of the Department of Correc-
tions within a correctional institution and involve regular
contact with inmates, who are in a position for which
the duties and responsibilities directly and primarily
involve supervision of food service operations within a
correctional institution and involve regular contact with
inmates, or who are in a position for which the duties
and responsibilities directly and primarily involve super-
vision of maintenance operations within a correctional
institution and involve regular contact with inmates.
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Concerning contributions, the member is required to
contribute 4 percent of gross earnings and, as with the
Police and Firemen’s Retirement System, the
employer contribution rate is set by the board.  For
fiscal year 2002, the employer rate is 7.44 percent for
Group A members and 6.27 percent for Group B
members.  The retirement benefit formula is final
average salary times a statutory multiplier times years
of service.  The statutory multiplier is 1.75 percent for
participating service and 1 percent for prior service.  For
members hired on or after July 1, 1993, final average
salary is the average of the three highest years of
employment excluding additional compensation such
as sick leave and annual leave.  For members hired
prior to July 1, 1993, final average salary is the greater
of either a four-year final average salary, including addi-
tional compensation, such as sick leave and annual
leave, or a three-year final average salary excluding
additional compensation.

Group A members are entitled to a normal retire-
ment benefit at age 55 or at any age when the
member’s age and years of service combined equal 85.
An early retirement benefit is available at age 50 with
10 years of service.  The early retirement reduction
factor is .2 percent for each month under age 55.
Members must have been employed for three years
immediately prior to retirement to receive a benefit.
Group B members are entitled to normal retirement
benefits to age 60 or at any age when the member’s
age and years of service combined equal 85.  An early
retirement benefit is available at age 55 with 10 years of
service.  The early retirement reduction factor is
.2 percent for each month under age 60.  As with
Group A members, Group B members must have been
employed for three years immediately prior to
retirement.

Disability is available to members who are totally
disabled for 180 consecutive days and who no longer
receive compensation from their employer.  The annual
benefit is equal to two-thirds of the member’s annual
salary less Social Security and any other employer-
provided disability benefits.  The minimum monthly
benefit is $100.  The member is also entitled to service
credit for the period of approved disability, and when
determining retirement benefits, the final average salary
is recalculated if the member is disabled for at least
five years.

Members are also entitled to death benefits.  If the
death is not job-related, the named beneficiary is enti-
tled to the actual contributions and interest and
employer-provided life insurance equal to 150 percent of
the member’s salary at the time of death.  If the
member met the age and service requirements to retire
at the time of death and the spouse is the sole named
beneficiary, the spouse may elect to receive monthly
benefits under a survivor option in lieu of receiving a
return of the contributions plus interest in a lump sum.

If a member with 15 or more years of service dies and
was not of retirement age and the spouse is the sole
beneficiary, then the spouse can elect one of the
survivor options at the time the member would have first
been of retirement age.  If the death is job-related, the
spouse and children under age 18, or up to age 23 if
full-time students, or dependent parents, in this order of
preference, are entitled to a $50,000 lump sum
payment and a monthly amount based on 50 percent of
the member’s final average salary subject to reduction
for benefits received under workers’ compensation.
This benefit is in addition to the insured death benefit
and the return of contributions plus interest as for non-
job-related deaths.  The minimum job-related death
benefit is $100 per month.

Concerning postretirement benefits, effective July 1,
2001, at retirement, a member may elect to receive a
lump sum payment of up to 50 percent of the actuarial
present value of the member’s monthly retirement
benefit.  The monthly retirement benefit is then reduced
accordingly.  There are six different survivor options
available at retirement, with “pop-up options” to the
maximum amount allowed when a survivor predeceases
the retired member.  If survivor benefits are not payable,
the named beneficiary is entitled to the return of any
contributions and interest remaining in the member’s
account.

There is a 30-day waiting period following a
member’s effective date of retirement before the
member may go back to work for a participating
employer.  If a retired member returns to work for the
same employer for whom the member worked during
the last two years of participation, the retired member
may continue to receive retirement benefits and
continue to work until earnings equal $15,000 in a
calendar year.  At that point, the retired member must
either forfeit retirement benefits for the remainder of the
calendar year or stop working for the remainder of the
calendar year.

NEBRASKA
The Nebraska Public Employees Retirement

Systems administers five statewide retirement plans
and one deferred compensation plan for the state of
Nebraska.  Three of the five statewide plans are defined
benefit plans and the other two are defined contribution
plans.  However, only one of the plans may be charac-
terized as a law enforcement retirement plan--the
Nebraska State Patrol Retirement System.

The Nebraska State Patrol Retirement System is a
defined benefit retirement plan.  Every sworn officer of
the Nebraska State Patrol who is employed on or after
September 7, 1947, is a member of the system.
Employees are required to contribute 11 percent of
their gross salary which is matched by the state.  The
maximum retirement benefit payable is 75 percent of
the retiree’s final average monthly salary.  Therefore,
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25 years is the maximum number of years that apply
toward retirement benefit calculations.  If employees
work more than 25 years, the extra years do not
increase retirement benefits, but if during those years
the salary increases, the final average monthly salary
used to calculate benefits increases.

Members are entitled to a normal retirement at
age 55 with 10 or more years of service.  The retire-
ment formula is 3 percent times years of service equals
percent of final average monthly salary (or 3% x service
= % of final average salary).  Members are entitled to
early retirement if they are at least age 50 but not yet
age 55 and if they have 10 or more years of service.
Benefits are calculated using the normal formula
reduced by five-ninths of 1 percent for each month the
member’s age precedes age 55 or five-ninths of
1 percent for each month the member’s years of
service precedes 25 years, whichever provides the
member with the greater benefit.

Members who are disabled are entitled to a
disability retirement benefit.  Disability is defined as the
complete inability of the patrol officer, for reasons of
accident or illness, to perform the duties of a patrol offi-
cer.  There is no age reduction for disability benefits,
and the disability retirement benefit is 50 percent of the
member’s regular monthly salary at the date the
member became disabled if the member had 17 years
of service or less.  If the member had more than
17 years of service at the time of disability, the amount
of the disability benefit is calculated based upon a
formula of years of service times 3 percent times salary
at date of disablement equals the calculated benefit
amount (or service x 3% x salary = benefit).  However,
by law, the calculated benefit amount may not exceed
75 percent of the final average monthly salary, which is
the maximum benefit for a normal retirement.

Members are also entitled to death benefits.  If
death occurs before retirement, benefits are calculated
as if the member had retired under disability.  The
surviving spouse and dependent children under age 19,
in the spouse’s care, are entitled to receive 100 percent
of the member’s benefit as calculated for disability
retirement until the youngest dependent child reaches
age 19.  At that time the spouse’s benefit is reduced to
75 percent of the member’s benefit for the spouse’s life
or until the spouse remarries.  If the spouse remarries
or dies before the youngest dependent child reaches
age 19, the child’s benefit is reduced to 75 percent of
the member’s benefit until age 19.  If there is no
spouse living at the date of the member’s death, either
because of death or divorce, the member’s children
under age 19, if any, are entitled to receive 75 percent
of the member’s benefit until the youngest child attains
the age of 19.  If there is more than one child under age
19 at the date of the member’s death, the benefit is
divided equally among the children.  If there are no chil-
dren under age 19 living at the time of the member’s

death, the surviving spouse receives 75 percent of the
member’s benefit for life or until remarriage.  If there is
no spouse or children under age 19, a lump sum
payment of the member’s contributions and interest is
paid to a designated beneficiary, or the member’s
estate if there is no designated beneficiary.  If death
occurs after retirement, the member’s regular benefit
continues to the member’s spouse and or children at
the same percentages that apply to death before retire-
ment.  A surviving spouse is eligible to receive benefits
only if married to the member at the time the member
retires.  If the member does not have a spouse or chil-
dren under age 19, the balance is paid to the member’s
beneficiary or estate.  Members are not covered by
Social Security.

WYOMING
Wyoming has two retirement plans that apply to law

enforcement officers.  Certain law enforcement officers
are entitled to enhanced benefits under the Wyoming
Retirement Act, and law enforcement officers employed
as highway patrolmen, game and fish wardens, and
criminal investigators may be members of the
Wyoming State Highway Patrol, Game and Fish
Warden, and Criminal Investigator Retirement System.
For purposes of the enhanced benefits under the
Wyoming Retirement Act, law enforcement officers are
members who are employed as county sheriffs, deputy
county sheriffs, municipal police officers, University of
Wyoming campus police officers, jailers, or dispatchers
for law enforcement agencies.  Law enforcement
members pay an additional 3.73 percent of their salary
in addition to the 5.57 percent contribution rate required
by the Wyoming retirement system.  The additional
3.73 percent is an employee-only contribution not
matched by the employer and is refundable along with
regular contributions and interest if the member
chooses to withdraw from the retirement system at
termination.  The employer contribution is 5.68 percent
of salary.  In addition, the state is required to pick up
and pay the employees’ contributions, and political
subdivisions may pay their employees’ contributions.

Normal retirement benefits for law enforcement offi-
cers are payable when the officer has at least
four years of service credit as a law enforcement officer
and is at least 60 years of age, has at least 25 years of
service credit as a law enforcement officer and is at
least 50 years of age, or is at least 55 years of age and
has a combined total years of service credit and years
of age that equals at least 75.  Early retirement bene-
fits are payable to law enforcement officers who have at
least four but less than 25 years of service credit and
are at least age 50 but not yet 60 years of age or are
less than 50 years of age and have at least 25 years of
service credit as a law enforcement officer.

The normal retirement benefit for a member who first
becomes covered under the Wyoming Retirement Act
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after June 30, 1981, is equal to 2.125 percent of the
highest average salary multiplied by the member’s
years of service credit for the first 15 years of service
credit and 2.25 percent of the highest average salary
multiplied by the member’s years of service credit for
any years of service credit exceeding 15 years.  The
retirement benefit for a member with service after
March 31, 1953, but prior to July 1, 1981, is equal to a
monthly benefit amount based on the actuarial equiva-
lent of double the member’s account with any appli-
cable increase or 2.125 percent of the member’s
highest average salary multiplied by the member’s
years of service credit for the first 15 years of service
credit and 2.25 percent of the member’s highest
average salary multiplied by the member’s years of
service credit for years of service credit exceeding
15 years.

The Wyoming Retirement Act also provides for
retirement benefit adjustments.  Effective July 1, 2001,
and on each July 1 thereafter, any retirement benefit,
survivor benefit, or disability benefit received by eligible
individuals is to be adjusted.  Before each July 1, the
Retirement Board is to determine the percentage
increase in the cost of living for the preceding calendar
year.  The percentage increase in the cost of living for a
calendar year is equal to the annual percentage
increase in the cost of living as of the immediately
following January 1 as shown by the Wyoming cost-of-
living index as determined by the Division of Economic
Analysis of the Department of Administration and Infor-
mation.  The benefits existing on each July 1 for each
eligible individual must be increased by the lesser of
the percentage increase in the cost of living as deter-
mined by the board or 3 percent.  The amount of any
percentage increase in the cost of living that exceeds 3
percent must be accumulated and added to the
percentage increases in the cost of living for future
years.  Individuals who have been receiving applicable
benefits for at least two years, either alone or in combi-
nation with a member, if the individual is a survivor, are
eligible for these benefits.  An increase in benefits
under this provision is effective only upon a determina-
tion by the system’s actuary that the increase is actu-
arially sound.  The actuary must annually report its
determination pursuant to this provision to the Governor
and the joint appropriations interim committee, and the
total benefit adjustment under this provision may not
exceed 3 percent in any one year.

If a member dies before retirement under the
system, the member’s account plus an additional
amount equal to the member’s account must be paid to
the member’s designated beneficiaries or in the
absence of designated beneficiaries to the member’s
estate.  If the member is vested, instead of a lump sum
payment, a beneficiary may elect to receive the actu-
arial equivalent of the lump sum of any benefit for life
which is available to a retired member.  A beneficiary,

who is the surviving spouse of the deceased member
and who elects to receive the actuarial equivalent of the
lump sum as a life benefit, may, within 18 months of
the death of the member, elect to receive the lump sum
death benefit otherwise provided plus interest accumu-
lated on that account less any payments received by
the surviving spouse.  If a member receiving benefits or
the member’s beneficiary receiving retirement benefits
dies before the total amount of benefits paid to either
the member or the member’s beneficiary or both equals
the amount of the member’s account at retirement,
then the excess, if any, must be paid to any other
named beneficiary, if any, or to the member’s estate.

A member in service who has 10 or more years of
service credit during which contributions have been paid
because of illness or injury outside of or in the scope of
employment or any law enforcement officer in service
for whom contributions have been paid because of
injury in the scope of employment may retire on
account of a total or partial disability in accordance
with rules adopted by the board.  Upon retirement for a
total disability, a member is entitled to receive a
monthly disability retirement benefit for the period of the
member’s disability equal to 100 percent of the
member’s service retirement benefit as if the member
were eligible for normal retirement benefits.  Upon
retirement for a partial disability, a member is entitled
to receive a monthly disability retirement benefit for the
period of disability equal to 50 percent of the normal
retirement benefit payable to the member as if the
member were eligible for normal retirement benefits.
Disability benefits are payable for the life of the member
or until the member is no longer disabled.

Persons employed by the Wyoming State Highway
Patrol Division as sworn law enforcement officers,
persons commissioned as full-time law enforcement
officers of the Wyoming State Game and Fish Depart-
ment, criminal investigators, and persons designated
and appointed as capitol police are entitled to partici-
pate in the Wyoming State Highway Patrol, Game and
Fish Warden, and Criminal Investigator Retirement
System.  For purposes of this plan, criminal investi-
gator means a full-time special agent employed by the
Division of Criminal Investigation of the Attorney
General’s office who is a sworn peace officer.
Employees covered by this plan contribute
11.02 percent of salary.  However, contributions are
picked up by the member’s employer.  Employers are
required to contribute 11.33 percent of all salaries paid
to their employees.

Employees retiring with 25 or more years of service
may elect to retire and receive a benefit upon attaining
age 50.  Employees in service who have attained age
65 must be retired not later than the last day of the
calendar month in which their 65th birthday occurs.

The service retirement allowance payable to an
employee at age 50 is equal to 2.5 percent of the
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employee’s highest average salary for each year of
credited service in the program, provided the retirement
allowance does not exceed 75 percent of the highest
average salary.  Effective July 1, 2001, and on each
July 1 thereafter, any service retirement allowance,
survivor benefit, or disability benefit received by eligible
individuals under the Wyoming State Highway Patrol,
Game and Fish Warden, and Criminal Investigator
Retirement System must be adjusted.  Before each
July 1, the board is required to determine the
percentage increase in the cost of living for the
preceding calendar year.  The percentage increase in
the cost of living for a calendar year is equal to the
annual percentage increase in the cost of living as of
the immediately following January 1 as shown by the
Wyoming cost-of-living index as determined by the Divi-
sion of Economic Analysis of the Department of Admin-
istration and Information.  The benefits existing on each
July 1 for each eligible individual must be increased by
the lesser of the percentage increase in the cost of
living as determined by the board or by 2.25 percent.
The amount of any percentage increase in the cost of
living that exceeds 2.25 percent must be accumulated
and added to the percentage increases in the cost of
living for future years.  Individuals who have been
receiving applicable benefits for at least two years,
either alone or in combination with an eligible employee
if the individual is a survivor, are eligible for the
increased benefit.  An increase in benefits under this
provision is effective only upon a determination by the
actuary of the Wyoming retirement system that the
increase is actuarially sound.  The actuary is required
to report its annual determination under this provision to
the Governor and joint appropriations interim
committee.  The total benefit adjustment under this
provision may not exceed 2.25 percent in any one year.

A member who suffers a partial or total disability
resulting from an individual and specific act, the type of
which would normally occur only while employed as an
employee, is eligible for a duty-connected disability
allowance.  If the specific act involves a traumatic event
that directly causes an immediate cardiovascular
condition resulting in partial or total disability, the
employee is eligible for a partial or total duty-connected
disability allowance.  An employee with 10 years of
credited service who suffers a partial or total disability
and who is not eligible for a duty-connected disability

allowance is eligible for an ordinary partial or total
disability allowance.  The determination of disability
and its cause must be made by the board after
receiving the recommendation of its medical
committee.  Disability allowances are 50 percent of the
highest average salary for duty-connected or ordinary
total disability, 35 percent of highest average salary for
duty-connected partial disability, or 25 percent of
highest average salary for ordinary partial disability.

If a member of the State Highway Patrol, Game and
Fish Warden, and Criminal Investigator Retirement
System dies as a result of an activity related to official
duty as an employee prior to retirement, a monthly
death benefit equal to 50 percent of the member’s final
actual salary at the time of death is paid to the
surviving spouse.  In addition, an amount equal to 5
percent of the final actual salary is paid as a benefit for
each unmarried child under the age of 18 years,
provided the total death benefit paid to the surviving
spouse and children does not exceed the employee’s
final actual salary.

If a member dies prior to retirement and the
member’s death is not related to official duty as an
employee, a monthly nonduty death benefit is paid to
the surviving spouse, equal to 2 percent of the
member’s final actual salary at the time of death for
each year of credited service.  The maximum nonduty
death benefit payable to a spouse may not exceed
50 percent of the member’s final actual salary.  In addi-
tion, an amount equal to 5 percent of the final actual
salary must be paid as a benefit for each unmarried
child under the age of 18 years.  The total nonduty
death benefit paid to the surviving spouse and children
may not exceed 60 percent of the employee’s final
actual salary.

If a retired member of the retirement program dies,
the spouse of the deceased member is entitled to
receive a benefit equal to 50 percent of the retirement
allowance.  In determining the benefit to be paid to the
spouse, no reduction due to Social Security may be
taken into account.  In addition, an amount equal to
5 percent of the final actual salary is paid as a benefit
for each unmarried child under the age of 18 years.
The total benefit paid to the surviving spouse and chil-
dren on the death of the retired member in accordance
with this provision may not exceed 60 percent of the
employee’s final actual salary.
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