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STATE SECURITY FREEZE LAWS 
 

A security freeze or credit freeze is a tool available 
to a consumer to lock or "freeze" the consumer's 
credit report and credit score.  When a consumer 
places a security freeze on his or her credit report, all 
third parties, such as credit lenders and other 
companies, whose use is not exempt under law are 
unable to access the consumer's credit report or credit 
score without the consumer's consent.     

At the beginning of 2005, four states had security 
freeze legislation on the books.  In California and 
Louisiana security freezes were available to all 
consumers.   In Texas and Vermont a security freeze 
was available only to victims of identity theft.   As of 
June 6, 2006, 23 states had passed security freeze 
legislation.  Security freeze legislation was or is being 
considered in 2005 or 2006 in Alaska, Arizona, 
Delaware, Georgia, Indiana, Maryland, 
Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Ohio, 
Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, 
Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.    

Following is a list of the states that have passed a 
security freeze law as well as information regarding 
the requirements of each state's security freeze and 
any fees that are assessed for placing or lifting the 
security freeze: 

California 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective January 1, 2003, subsequently 

amended to cap fees on nonidentity theft 
victims. 

• No fee for victims to place the freeze; others 
pay up to $10 per freeze; up to $10 for 
temporary lift of freeze; $12 for temporary lift 
for one creditor. 

Colorado 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective July 1, 2006. 
• No fee for first freeze; $10 to place a second 

freeze; $10 to lift freeze; $12 for temporary lift 
of freeze for one creditor. 

Connecticut 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective January 1, 2006. 
• $10 fee to place, lift, or lift freeze temporarily; 

$12 to lift freeze for one creditor. 
Florida 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective July 1, 2006. 
• No fee for identity theft victims; others pay up 

to $10 to place, lift, or suspend a freeze. 
Hawaii 
• Applies only to victims of identity theft with an 

investigative police report or complaint filed 
with a law enforcement agency. 

• Effective January 1, 2006. 

• No fees permitted. 
Illinois 
• After January 1, 2007, will apply to all 

consumers; before January 1, 2007, the law 
applies only to identity theft victims. 

• No fee for victims of identity theft and 
individuals 65 years of age and older; all 
others pay a $10 fee to place, remove, or 
temporarily remove a freeze. 

Kansas 
• Applies only to victims of identity theft with an 

investigative police report or complaint filed 
with a law enforcement agency. 

• Effective January 1, 2007. 
• No fees permitted. 

Kentucky 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective July 1, 2006. 
• No fees for identity theft victims who provide a 

police report; others pay up to $10 to place, 
remove, or temporarily suspend a freeze or to 
have a PIN reissued. 

• Freeze expires seven years from date of 
placement or earlier upon consumer's request. 

Louisiana 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective July 1, 2005. 
• No fee for victims of identity theft or individuals 

62 years of age or older; others pay $10 to 
place the freeze and $8 to lift the freeze. 

Maine 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective February 1, 2006. 
• No fees for identity theft victims who provide a 

police report; others pay up to $10 to place, 
remove, temporarily suspend, or have a PIN 
reissued; $12 to lift the freeze for a specific 
creditor. 

Minnesota 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective August 1, 2006. 
• No fees for identity theft victims who provide a 

police report; others pay $5 to place, remove, 
temporarily suspend, or lift a freeze for a 
specific creditor or to have a PIN reissued. 

Nevada 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective October 1, 2005. 
• No fee for identity theft victims who submit a 

police report; others pay $15 to place the 
freeze, $18 to lift the freeze; $20 to lift the 
freeze for a specific creditor. 

New Hampshire 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective January 1, 2007. 
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• No fees for identity theft victims who submit a 
police report, investigative report, or complaint 
to a law enforcement agency; others pay $10 
to place, temporarily remove, or to lift the 
freeze. 

New Jersey 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective January 1, 2006. 
• No fee for initial freeze; up to $5 to remove or 

temporarily lift a freeze or to have PIN 
reissued; consumers are permitted to make 
such requests directly to consumer reporting 
agencies via secured electronic mail. 

New York 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective November 1, 2006. 
• Free to place freeze the first time for everyone; 

after first time there is a $5 fee to place, lift 
temporarily, or remove a freeze, except for 
victims of identity theft. 

Oklahoma 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective January 1, 2007. 
• No fee for identity theft victims with 

investigative report and for individuals 65 years 
of age and older; others pay a $10 fee to 
place, lift, or temporarily lift a freeze. 

North Carolina 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective December 1, 2005. 
• No fees for identity theft victims with a valid 

report or complaint with a law enforcement 
agency; others pay up to $10 to place, remove, 
or suspend a freeze. 

South Dakota 
• Applies to identity theft victims with a police 

report. 
• Effective July 1, 2006. 
• No fees to place, lift, or suspend a freeze. 
• Identity theft victim can freeze only the credit 

report. 

• Freeze expires after seven years from the date 
of placement or upon consumer's request, if 
earlier. 

Texas 
• Applies only to identity theft victims with a 

police report. 
• Effective September 1, 2003. 
• No fees to place, lift, or suspend a freeze. 
• Placement of freeze at one credit reporting 

agency must be honored by all three reporting 
agencies. 

Utah 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective September 1, 2008. 
• Allows for reasonable fees. 
• Consumer can temporarily lift or "thaw" freeze 

within 15 minutes of an electronic request. 
Vermont 
• Applies to all consumers beginning July 1, 

2006.  Before July 1, 2006, only applies to 
identity theft victims with a police report or a 
complaint with a law enforcement agency. 

• Effective July 1, 2005. 
• No fees to place, lift, or suspend a freeze. 

Washington 
• Applies to identity theft victims, including 

individuals who receive a notice of a security 
breach of computerized personal information. 

• Effective July 24, 2005. 
• No fees to place, lift, or suspend a freeze. 

Wisconsin 
• Applies to all consumers. 
• Effective January 1, 2007. 
• No fees for an individual who submits evidence 

satisfactory to the consumer report agencies 
that the individual made a report to a law 
enforcement agency; up to $10 for others to 
place, lift, or suspend a freeze.

 


