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ALTERNATIVES TO INPATIENT CIVIL COMMITMENT OF SEX OFFENDERS  

 
BACKGROUND 

States have enacted civil commitment of sexually 
violent predators laws as a means to limit the danger 
posed by certain sex offenders.  Under this approach, 
sex offenders are confined to a treatment facility, 
typically following the completion of their prison terms, 
based on evidence that an "individual has a congenital 
or acquired condition that is manifested by a sexual 
disorder, a personality disorder, or other mental 
disorder or dysfunction that makes that individual 
likely to engage in further acts of sexually predatory 
conduct."  North Dakota Century Code (NDCC) 
Section 25-03.3-13.  This commitment process uses a 
civil, rather than a criminal, process and allows an 
individual to be involuntarily hospitalized if, following a 
hearing, that individual is found to pose a risk of self-
harm or harm to others.  This approach permits the 
state to confine an individual until he or she no longer 
poses a danger to society.  

In Kansas v. Hendricks, 521 U.S. 346 (1997), the 
United States Supreme Court upheld a Kansas statute 
that allowed the involuntary civil commitment of a sex 
offender who, due to a "mental abnormality or 
personality disorder," is likely to engage in "predatory 
acts of sexual violence."  In Hendricks, the respondent 
was a convicted sex offender whose pedophilia was 
considered to constitute the requisite "mental 
abnormality."  

Five years later, the Court issued a second ruling 
that clarified that Hendricks does not require that the 
state prove that sex offenders are completely 
incapable of controlling themselves before the state 
may commit them.  In Kansas v. Crane, 534 U.S. 407 
(2002), the Court established that the state is only 
required to prove that it would be "difficult" for the 
person to control his or her dangerous behavior as a 
predicate to civil commitment.  

As of 2006, 19 states have enacted civil 
commitment statutes for certain sex offenders.  In the 
1990s, 15 states, including North Dakota, passed 
sexual predator civil commitment statutes.  Since 
2000 four states have enacted civil commitment 
statutes.  According to a May 21, 2006, The New York 
Times article, "Doing More Than Their Time," the 
reasons for the decrease in the number of new sexual 
predator civil commitment statutes are the prohibitive 
cost, lack of ability to control costs, better alternative 
uses of funds and resources, lack of release back into 
the community resulting in an ever-increasing number 
of individuals committed, and lack of demonstrated 
effectiveness.   

According to the Washington State Institute for 
Public Policy, Involuntary Commitment of Sexually 
Violent Predators:  Comparing State Laws, March 
2005 (attached as an appendix) as of December 
2004, 3,943 individuals had been confined under state 

sexual predator civil commitment laws.  Of that 
number, 427 have been conditionally released or 
discharged.  According to this report, the cost of 
housing and treating an inpatient civilly committed 
individual for one day ranged from $293 in California 
to $137 in Massachusetts and Florida.  This report 
indicated that the cost per day per committed 
individual in North Dakota was $267.89 or $97,780 
per year. 

 
ALTERNATIVES TO INPATIENT CIVIL 

COMMITMENT OF SEXUAL PREDATORS 
Prison Treatment Programs and Recidivism 

The 2004 Washington Legislature directed the 
Washington State Institute for Public Policy to conduct 
a comprehensive evaluation of the impact and 
effectiveness of current sex offender sentencing 
policies.  One element of the evaluation was the effect 
of prison-based sex offender treatment programs on 
recidivism rates.  The Washington State Department 
of Corrections, which has operated a prison-based 
sex offender treatment program since 1988, uses a 
combination of treatment techniques, including group 
therapy, psychoeducational classes, behavioral 
treatment, and family involvement.  The conclusion of 
the study was that while the recidivism of the 
offenders who were unwilling to participate in sex 
offender treatment programs differed from those who 
volunteered to participate in the prison-based sex 
offender treatment program, the program, as a whole, 
did not significantly reduce the recidivism rates of its 
participants. 

 
Texas Civil Commitment Program 

Texas is among the 19 states that have enacted 
sexual predator civil commitment statutes.  The Texas 
statute, which was passed in 1999, calls for the 
involuntary commitment of those with a mental 
abnormality who are likely to engage in predatory acts 
of sexual violence.  The Texas statute, however, 
established the first outpatient sexual predator civil 
commitment program in the United States.   According 
to the Texas Department of Health Services, the 
annual cost range of the outpatient program is 
between $30,000 and $37,000 per client per year.  
The outpatient civil commitment program targets 
sexually violent predators being released from prison 
who pose a serious risk to community safety or are at 
high risk to reoffend.  According to the Texas 
Department of Health Services, the success rate for 
offenders treated in an inpatient setting is about half of 
that for offenders treated in an outpatient setting.  The 
Texas outpatient civil commitment program 
incorporates intensive outpatient sex offender 
treatment, monitoring with high-technology global 
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positioning satellite tracking, comprehensive case 
management, and Texas Department of Public Safety 
surveillance.  

To date Texas is the only state that has 
implemented an outpatient sexual predator civil 
commitment program.  In 2005, however, the North 
Dakota Legislative Assembly passed House Bill 
No. 1057.  This bill, codified as NDCC Section 
25-03.3-24, provides that following the commitment of 
a sexually dangerous individual, the executive director 
of the Department of Human Services may conduct a 
risk management assessment of the individual for the 
purpose of determining whether the individual may be 
treated safely in the community on an outpatient 
basis. 

 
Indeterminate Sentencing of Sex Offenders 

Some state laws require judges to impose what are 
called "determinate" prison sentences.  A determinate 
sentence is a fixed-term sentence pronounced by a 
judge.  Defendants who receive determinate 
sentences know the maximum period of incarceration 
when they are sentenced, but may be released earlier 
because of parole or good-time credits.  Other state 
laws require judges to give indeterminate sentences.  
Indeterminate sentences are those in which a 
legislature sets a minimum or maximum time of 

incarceration but leaves the decision as to when to 
release an inmate to prison officials.   

At least one state--Colorado--authorizes 
indeterminate, potentially lifelong sentences for sex 
offenders.  Colorado Statutes Section 18-1.3-904 
provides "[t]he district court having jurisdiction, may, 
subject to the requirements of this part 9, in lieu of the 
sentence otherwise provided by law, commit a sex 
offender to the custody of the department for an 
indeterminate term having a minimum of one day and 
a maximum of his or her natural life." 

 
CONCLUSION 

Since 1990, 19 states, including North Dakota, 
have enacted laws authorizing the involuntary civil 
commitment of sexually violent predators.  The 
constitutionality of this civil commitment process, with 
certain required procedural safeguards, has been 
upheld by the United States Supreme Court.  The high 
cost of confining and treating those sexually violent 
predators for an indefinite period of time has led 
states to look for alternatives to civil commitment while 
still maintaining public safety.  These alternatives 
include an outpatient civil commitment program and 
the use of indeterminate sentencing for certain sex 
offenders. 
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