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LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION INCREASES COMPARED TO INFLATION
AND STATE EMPLOYEE SALARY INCREASES - 1981 THROUGH 2006

This memorandum compares actual legislative compensation rates and legislative compensation rates
adjusted for inflation and state employee salary increases for the period 1981 through 2006.

LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION RATES
North Dakota Century Code (NDCC) Section 54-03-20 provides that each member of the Legislative Assembly
is entitled to receive compensation of $125 per calendar day during each regular, special, or organizational
session. In addition, each legislator is entitled to receive monthly compensation of $350 during each legislator’s
term of office. Section 54-35-10 provides that legislators are also entitled to receive compensation of $100 per
day for attending interim meetings of the Legislative Council and its committees.

CHANGES IN LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION SINCE 1981

Expense Reimbursement During
Session
Expense
Reimbursement
Compensation for or Compensation | Compensation for
Each Calendar for Each Month Each Day
Day During For Each Day For Each Month During Term of | Attending Interim
Year of Change Session During Session During Session Office Meetings
1981 $5" $85" $180 $62.50
1983 $40 $50° $180 $62.50
1985 $90° $600° $180° $62.50
1997 $111 $650 $250* $62.50
1999 $111 $650 $250 $75.00
2001 $125 $650 $250 $100.00
2005 $125 $900° $350° $100.00

1Legislative session compensation was constitutionally limited to $5 per calendar day, and the level of expense
reimbursement during legislative sessions was set by statute at $85 per calendar day for a total of $90 per day.

*The constitutional provision limiting legislative compensation was repealed on June 8, 1982, by voter approval of measure
No. 4, which created Section 26 of Article XI of the Constitution of North Dakota, and provides that:

The legislative, executive, and judicial branches are coequal branches of government. Elected members and
officials of each branch shall receive as compensation for their services only such amounts as may be specifically
set by law. Payment for necessary expenses shall not exceed those allowed for other state employees.

After the adoption of the 1982 constitutional amendment, the subsequent Legislative Assembly (1983) amended NDCC
Section 54-03-20 to set the levels of legislative session compensation and expense reimbursement at $40 per day and
$50 per day, respectively. As an exception to the compensation and expense reimbursement rates provided to other
legislators, legislators from Bismarck received $90 per day as compensation and no expense reimbursement.
Consequently, the total of legislative session expense reimbursement and compensation for all legislators remained
unchanged at $90 per day.

*The 1995 Legislative Assembly amended NDCC Section 54-03-20 to provide that legislators receive compensation of
$90 per calendar day during the legislative session plus reimbursement for lodging up to $600 per month. Section 54-03-20
was also amended to provide that the $180 per month payment to legislators during their terms of office was compensation
rather than reimbursement for expenses.

*The 1997 Legislative Assembly amended NDCC Section 54-03-20 to provide that compensation may be paid monthly, rather
than every six months, at the option of each legislator.

The 2005 Legislative Assembly increased legislators’ monthly compensation from $250 to $350 per month, effective July 1,
2005, and increased the maximum lodging expense reimbursement allowed during legislative sessions from $650 to
$900 per month, effective January 1, 2005.

The schedule attached as an appendix provides a comparison of actual legislative compensation rates and
legislative compensation rates adjusted for inflation and state employee salary increases for the period 1981
through 2006.
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