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DOMESTIC VIOLENCE PROTECTION ORDER PROCESS - 
BACKGROUND MEMORANDUM 

 
House Concurrent Resolution No. 3013 (attached 

as an appendix) directs a study of the statutes and 
institutional resources relating to the domestic 
violence protection order process, including criminal 
cases for alleged violation of protection orders.  
According to testimony regarding this resolution, the 
study conducted by the North Dakota Supreme 
Court's Commission on Gender Fairness in the Courts 
indicated that there are concerns about the basic 
integrity of the domestic violence protection order 
process.  It was noted that the study revealed general 
agreement, particularly among judicial officers, that 
the process does not serve the parties equally.  It was 
also noted that the study also indicated concern that 
the expedited domestic violence protection order 
process may result in proceedings in which issues 
cannot be fully considered. 

 
BACKGROUND 

Experts have described domestic violence as a 
pattern of behavior in which one intimate partner uses 
physical violence, coercion, threats, intimidation, 
isolation, and emotional, sexual, or economic abuse to 
control and change the behavior of the other partner.  
The abusive person might be a current or former 
spouse, live-in boyfriend or girlfriend, or dating 
partner.  Domestic violence happens to people of all 
ages, races, ethnicities, religions, and levels of 
economic status.  It occurs in both opposite-sex and 
same-sex relationships.  According to the National 
Coalition Against Domestic Violence, about 
95 percent of victims of domestic violence are women.  
According to this source, over 50 percent of all women 
will experience physical violence in an intimate 
relationship, and for 24 percent to 30 percent of those 
women, the battering will be regular and ongoing.  
Every state and United States territory have laws that 
allow its courts to issue protection orders, as do many 
Indian tribes. 

 
NORTH DAKOTA 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE LAW 
The North Dakota law regarding domestic violence 

is contained in North Dakota Century Code (NDCC) 
Chapter 14-07.1.  This chapter, which was initially 
enacted in 1979, provides that domestic violence 
"includes physical harm, bodily injury, sexual activity 
compelled by physical force, assault, or the infliction 
of fear of imminent physical harm, bodily injury, sexual 
activity compelled by physical force, or assault, not 
committed in self-defense, on the complaining family 
or household members."  Section 14-07.1-01 provides 
that a "family or household member" means "a 
spouse, family member, former spouse, parent, child, 
persons related by blood or marriage, persons who 

are in a dating relationship, persons who are presently 
residing together or who have resided together in the 
past, persons who have a child in common regardless 
of whether they are or have been married or have 
lived together at any time, and, for the purpose of the 
issuance of a domestic violence protection order, any 
other person with a sufficient relationship to the 
abusing person as determined by the court under 
section 14-07.1-02." 

This chapter also authorizes the appointment of a 
guardian ad litem for a minor in an action for a 
protection order.  North Dakota Century Code 
Sections 14-07.1-10 and 14-07.1-11 provide for the 
arrest procedures in a situation involving domestic 
violence.  Section 14-07.1-15 provides for the 
establishment of the domestic violence and sexual 
assault prevention fund in the state treasury.  A 
portion of the funds deposited into this fund are 
derived from the $35 supplemental marriage license 
fee provided for under Section 14-03-22.  An 
estimated $340,000 from this source is expected to be 
deposited into the domestic violence and sexual 
assault prevention fund during the 2007-09 biennium.  
Section 14-07.1-16 authorizes the State Department 
of Health to administer the money in this fund to 
domestic violence sexual assault organizations.  This 
section provides that up to 10 percent of the fund may 
be allocated to a state domestic violence sexual 
assault coalition, as recognized by the State 
Department of Health. 

 
Domestic Violence Protection Orders 

Under NDCC Section 14-07.1-02, a victim of 
domestic violence may obtain a domestic violence 
protection order.  A protection order is a court order 
that is designed to restrain, or keep someone from 
committing, violent and harassing behavior.  An action 
for a protection order may be brought in district court 
by any family or household member or by any other 
member with a sufficient relationship.  Upon receipt of 
the application, the court orders a hearing to be held 
not later than 14 days from the date of the hearing 
order.  Service must be made upon the respondent at 
least five days before the hearing.  Upon a showing of 
actual or imminent domestic violence and after due 
notice and a full hearing, the court may issue a 
domestic violence protection order.  Section 
14-07.1-02 provides that the relief granted by the 
court may include: 

a. Restraining any party from threatening, 
molesting, injuring, harassing, or having 
contact with any other person. 

b. Excluding either the respondent or any 
person with whom the respondent lives 
from the dwelling they share, from the 
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residence of another person against 
whom the domestic violence is occurring, 
or from a domestic violence care facility, 
if this exclusion is necessary to the 
physical or mental well-being of the 
applicant or others. 

c. Awarding temporary custody or 
establishing temporary visitation rights 
with regard to minor children. 

d. Recommending or requiring that either or 
both parties undergo counseling with a 
domestic violence program or other 
agency that provides professional 
services that the court deems 
appropriate.  The court may request a 
report from the designated agency within 
a time period established by the court.  
The costs of the court-ordered initial 
counseling assessment and subsequent 
reports must be borne by the parties or, 
if indigent, by the respondent's county of 
residence. 

e. Requiring a party to pay such support as 
may be necessary for the support of a 
party and any minor children of the 
parties and reasonable attorney's fees 
and costs. 

f. Awarding temporary use of personal 
property, including motor vehicles, to 
either party. 

g. Requiring the respondent to surrender 
for safekeeping any firearm or other 
specified dangerous weapon, as defined 
in section 12.1-01-04, in the 
respondent's immediate possession or 
control or subject to the respondent's 
immediate control, if the court has 
probable cause to believe that the 
respondent is likely to use, display, or 
threaten to use the firearm or other 
dangerous weapon in any further acts of 
violence.  If so ordered, the respondent 
shall surrender the firearm or other 
dangerous weapon to the sheriff, or the 
sheriff's designee, of the county in which 
the respondent resides or to the chief of 
police, or the chief's designee, of the city 
in which the respondent resides. 

Section 14-07.1-02(5) authorizes a court to issue a 
dual protection order restricting both parties if each 
party has commenced an action, and, the court, after 
a hearing, has made specific findings of fact that both 
parties committed acts of domestic violence and that 
neither party acted in self-defense.   

North Dakota Century Code Section 14-07.1-06 
provides for the penalty for violating a domestic 
violence protection order under Section 14-07.1-02 or 
an ex parte temporary protection order under Section 
14-07.1-03.  This section provides that the first 
violation of any order is a Class A misdemeanor and 
also constitutes contempt of court.  A second or 

subsequent violation of either order is a Class C 
felony.   

 
Ex Parte Temporary and 

Emergency Protection Orders 
If the application for a domestic violence protection 

order under NDCC Section 14-07.1-02 alleges an 
immediate and present danger of domestic violence to 
the applicant, Section 14-07.1-03 authorizes the court 
to order an ex parte temporary protection order 
pending a full hearing.  An ex parte temporary 
protection order may include: 

a. Restraining any party from having 
contact with or committing acts of 
domestic violence on another person. 

b. Excluding the respondent or any person 
with whom the respondent lives from the 
dwelling they share, from the residence 
of another person, or from a domestic 
violence shelter care facility. 

c. Awarding temporary custody or 
establishing temporary visitation rights 
with regard to minor children. 

d. Requiring the respondent to surrender for 
safekeeping any firearm or other 
specified dangerous weapon, as defined 
in section 12.1-01-04, in the respondent's 
immediate possession or control or 
subject to the respondent's immediate 
control, if the court has probable cause to 
believe that the respondent is likely to 
use, display, or threaten to use the 
firearm or other dangerous weapon in 
any further acts of violence.  If so 
ordered, the respondent shall surrender 
the firearm or other dangerous weapon 
to the sheriff, or the sheriff's designee, of 
the county in which the respondent 
resides or the chief of police, or the 
chief's designee, of the city in which the 
respondent resides.   

This section provides that an ex parte temporary 
protection order remains in effect until an order issued 
under NDCC Section 14-07.1-02 is served.  This 
section also provides that a full hearing, as provided 
for in Section 14-07.1-02, must be set for not later 
than 14 days from the issuance of the temporary 
order.   

North Dakota Century Code Section 14-07.1-08 
provides that an emergency protection order may be 
ordered when the court is not available for an ex parte 
temporary protection order.  Under this section, an 
emergency protection order may be signed by a local 
magistrate, such as a municipal judge or a small 
claims court referee.  This emergency protection order 
can provide the same relief as the temporary order; 
however, an order issued under this section expires in 
72 hours unless it is continued by the court or the 
local magistrate in the event of continuing 
unavailability of the court. 
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Other Domestic Violence Laws 
North Dakota Century Code Chapter 14-07.4 

provides for the Uniform Interstate Enforcement of 
Domestic Violence Protection Orders Act.  This Act 
provides for procedures that enable courts to 
recognize and enforce valid domestic protection 
orders issued in other jurisdictions.  Besides North 
Dakota, this Act has been adopted in Alabama, 
California, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Idaho, 
Indiana, Kansas, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, 
Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, 
the United States Virgin Islands, Utah, and West 
Virginia. 

 
Case Law Regarding Domestic Violence 

Protection Order Process 
One of the challenges to the domestic violence 

protection order process was the case of 
Sandbeck v. Rockwell, 524 N.W.2d 846 (N.D. 1994).  
In this case, the former boyfriend, who was accused 
of domestic violence, challenged whether he had 
received the "full hearing" as required by the statute 
and applicable rules for entering a protection order.  In 
Sandbeck, the court analyzed the procedure provided 
for in NDCC Chapter 14-07.1.  The court noted that 
the statute that authorizes a domestic violence 
protection order directs that the procedure begin not 
with a summons and complaint as other actions 
would, but with a "verified application" that is simply 
an affidavit.  The court indicated that the special 
procedure authorized in this chapter, which is an 
affidavit application, is a motion with notice by an 
order to show cause rather than notice by a summons 
and complaint for an action.  The court also noted 
Section 14-07.1-02 directs a faster motion procedure 
than the usual and longer time to answer an action 
provided for in the North Dakota Rules of Civil 
Procedure.  The court concluded that Rockwell had 
the "full hearing" required by the statute for entering a 
protection order.  According to the court, Rockwell had 
a full opportunity to present his evidence by a timely 
filed affidavit. 

 
RECENT LEGISLATION 

House Bill No. 1238 (2007) defined predominant 
aggressor as an individual who is the most significant 
but not necessarily the first aggressor.  The bill 
provided that when investigating a domestic violence 
situation, the law enforcement officer is required to 
evaluate certain factors to determine which party was 
the predominant aggressor. 

House Bill No. 1348 (2005) required the law 
enforcement officer, in a domestic violence situation, 
to evaluate each complaint separately to determine if 
either party acted in self-defense.  If self-defense is 
not a factor, the bill provided that to determine 

whether to seek an arrest warrant or to pursue further 
investigation, the officer must determine which party 
has engaged in the most immediately significant 
aggression by considering certain factors, including 
the comparative severity of injuries involved and the 
likelihood of future harm.  The bill also provided that if 
an officer determines through the course of an 
investigation that one of the individuals has engaged 
in the most immediately significant aggression, the 
report must include the name of that individual and a 
description of the evidence that supports the findings. 

House Bill No. 1072 (2003) provided for the 
adoption of the Uniform Interstate Enforcement of 
Domestic Violence Protection Orders Act.  The Act 
established uniform procedures to enable courts to 
recognize and enforce valid domestic violence 
protection orders issued in other jurisdictions.  The bill 
also repealed a section of the North Dakota Century 
Code relating to the enforceability of foreign domestic 
violence protection orders. 

Senate Bill No. 2329 (2003) clarified the penalty 
for the first and subsequent violations of a protection 
order.  The bill provided that the first violation of any 
protection order is a Class A misdemeanor and a 
second or subsequent violation of any protection order 
is a Class C felony.  The bill provided that “first 
violation” means the first time any order is violated 
and a second or subsequent violation of any 
protection order includes two or more violations of 
protection orders. 

 
SUGGESTED STUDY APPROACH 

The committee, in its study of the statutes and 
institutional resources relating to the domestic 
violence protection order process, including criminal 
cases for alleged violation of protection orders, may 
wish to approach this study as follows: 

• Receive information from representatives of the 
North Dakota Supreme Court regarding the 
findings of the Commission on Gender Fairness 
in the Courts study with respect to the domestic 
violence protection order process; 

• Receive information from domestic violence 
advocacy organizations, judges, and attorneys 
regarding the domestic violence protection 
order process and concerns about how the 
cases are handled;  

• Receive information regarding the access to 
legal services of parties to a domestic violence 
protection order process; and 

• Develop recommendations and prepare 
legislation necessary to implement the 
recommendations. 
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